About Freedom Mentor

Created by noted real estate investor Phil Pustejovsky, Freedom Mentor claims to be one of the leading real estate investing programs that can help you become successful faster and easier than doing it on your own. With this in mind, the Freedom Mentor website claims that right now is the best time to make money in real estate, and that the secret to success in this industry is having the right mentor.

But considering that fact that all your net profits will be split 50/50, does the Freedom Mentor program really benefit you, or just put more money in Phil’s pockets? To investigate these claims we did some research, and here’s what we learned.

Who is Phil Pustejovsky?

Before getting into the details about Freedom Mentor, it might help to have a better understanding of Phil Pustejovsky’s background.

After graduating from Vanderbilt University, Phil claims that he became involved in a partying lifestyle, at which point his life began spiraling downward. In fact, at one point he claims that he was homeless and living out of his truck after he initially failed at real estate investing.

After hitting bottom though, Phil claims that he met a mentor named Tom who helped guide him through the real estate investing process. Since that time, Phil claims to have negotiated $45 million worth of short sales and to have built a large portfolio of properties through a variety of lending techniques. In fact, he now calls himself the “nation’s premier real estate mentor” by helping other investors get started, or take their businesses to the next level, using his Freedom Mentor programs.

Freedom Mentor Details

At its most basic, the Freedom Mentor program claims to partner with you and help you make fast cash and build wealth using real estate investments. Through this partnership, the company will share 50/50 of your net profits for each deal that you make, which they claim ensures that each party has equal interest in your success. In addition, Phil claims that his personal mentoring will help you avoid many of the pitfalls and dangers associated with real estate investing, while also providing you with true financial intelligence, more time, confidence, and freedom, and a useable set of skills that you can continue implementing after the mentorship program is complete.

In order to apply for the Freedom Mentoring program, you’ll need to sign up by entering your name, phone number, and email address, after which a representative from the company will contact you. According to the Freedom Mentoring website though, Phil is only interested in working with coachable, action-oriented, honest, and committed apprentices.

In addition to his mentoring program, Phil Pustejovsky also provides a free digital copy of his best-selling book titled How to be a Real Estate Investor after you sign up for his email updates. In this book, he claims that he’s simplified real estate investing in order to make the principles actionable and easy to apply. In addition, Phil claims that this book contains decades of real estate investing knowledge and real-world experience, and that it shows you all the strategies you’ll need, whether you’re a new or experienced investor.

On the Freedom Mentor website you’ll also find a fairly long list of free real estate training courses, which are comprised of 25 different articles and videos, starting with the basics and becoming progressively more complex. You’ll also find a regularly updated blog that contains short articles on everything from renting vs. owning a home, to the top 7 ways to fail as a real estate investor.

Finally, Phil also hosts several real estate investing-related events throughout the country each year, along with the likes of Robert Kiyosaki, George Ross, and others.

Freedom Mentor Pricing & Refund Policy

While Phil Pustejovsky’s book is free, along with the training sessions on his website, there is no pricing information provided for his Freedom Mentor programs. However, after piecing together different snippets of information during our research, we found one relatively recent online review claiming that the company charges $3,000 as an initial fee, a $197 monthly membership charge, on top of the 50/50 profits split.

On the other hand, a consumer who had already been screened by Freedom Mentor employees posted a review on this site, claiming that the fee is $4,750, for which you’ll receive:

  • A personalized investing plan
  • Instructional, lead-generating software
  • Access to a lender database
  • 2 conference calls per week with other mentorees
  • Daily instant messaging with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors
  • 3 live coaching calls per month with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors

It appears that there is also $1K Freedom Mentor do-it-yourself program, which seems to be a scaled down version of the full system.

As such, in order to verify Freedom’s mentorship pricing, you may want to contact the company directly at 877-693-3172 (see more about this in the following section).

What Are Other Consumers Saying About The Freedom Mentor?

Based on the hundreds of reviews and forum posts we read during our research, there appears to be a general air of skepticism surrounding the Freedom Mentor program; primarily that, while it does seem to provide legitimate methods of making money in real estate, the high entrance fee and 50/50 profit split may not ultimately be worth it in the end. More specifically, many of these reviews claimed that much of the program’s information can be found for free online and in existing books.

For a fairly detailed “insider’s view” into the Freedom Mentor program, we would recommend reading a review by “Margaret Dennis” here.

On top of this, we read numerous reviews claiming that Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors post fake positive writeups and forum comments in order to boost its appeal, and that you may experience aggressive/high pressure sales tactics after sending the company your contact information.

What’s the Bottom Line About Freedom Mentor from Phil Pustejovsky?

When it comes down to it, if you’re looking to make more money through real estate investing, is the Freedom Mentor program worthwhile? It seems that it could be, although you should keep the following in mind:

Short Sales Galore

First, it appears the majority of the Freedom Mentor program is focused on purchasing short sales through a variety of channels, including hard money lending. As such, if this isn’t your cup of tea, this may not be the mentorship program you’re looking for.

Steep Price

Next, even if you are interested in short sales, the Freedom Mentor program comes with a steep price tag. While the initial fee appears to be scalable between $1K and $8K depending on your circumstances, you’ll also be responsible for a $200 monthly fee, on top of the 50/50 profit split. Speaking of which, this split will occur until you’ve acquired anywhere from $100K to $500K in profits, again depending on your specific contract. And depending on the types of deals you find and how often you find them, this could translate into a very long—and expensive—relationship.

On top of this, several customers stated that much of the information found in the Freedom Mentor program can be found elsewhere for free, such as online, in books, and by networking with a local REI group.

Unanswered Questions

Despite the amount of time spent researching Freedom Mentor, we’re still left with some fairly important questions, such as: How selective is the application process? Exactly how does the mentorship program help you find deals and obtain financing? With this said, based on customers who had been contacted by a screener, it appears that you’ll undergo multiple calls totaling several hours of talk time, so many of these important questions might be answered at that time.

Mixed Reputation

As we mentioned above, it appears that the Freedom Mentor program has been met with a healthy dose of skepticism from the REI industry in general. To be fair though, the reality is that most of the industry’s “gurus” are more than happy to sell you the biggest dream you can imagine, while often providing very little in the way of lasting results.

However, we read several positive reviews during our research from individuals who claimed to be part of the Freedom Mentor program. Most of these admitted that the price is steep, but that the support they received really helped their real estate businesses move forward.

Bottom line: The Freedom Mentor program definitely doesn’t appear to be a scam, although multiple people have wondered if the high price is ultimately worth it. As such, be sure to ask all the questions you can if you decide to contact the company, and remember that any commitment you make might end up being a very expensive one.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for Freedom Mentor

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 66 out 71 people found this review helpful

    The Real Deal

    • Jul 7, 2015

    This article appears to be a reasonable attempt to assess the company and the program based on the bits of data the author collected online but there are several problems with the above post that need to be addressed. From someone who has been in the program a while:

    (1) The only source this author sites for views on Phil's program (and its supposed general skepticism) is an extremely biased website that is edited by moderators that despise any outsiders who mentor investors besides themselves. Meanwhile, there are plenty of videos out there of people who are absolutely thrilled by the program. Later, I will touch on why some of the people in the program are hush, hush about how good it is.

    (2) Short Sales Galore? Where did the author come up with that idea? Maybe back in 2009 when short sales were red hot? Of course Phil's program stressed short sales back in the short sale heyday. But times have changed, as have the deals Phil's students do. Phil keeps his students up to date on deals that are closing, how the deal was structured, etc, and I can't remember the last time he mentioned a short sale closing.

    (3) Steep Price? Says who? If you make a ton of money through the program, then it's a bargain. What so many people fail to recognize is that vast, vast, vast majority of people never make any money in this business no matter how many blogs they read, networking meetings they attend or hours they put in. Most people fail miserably at this. And 50% of something is a whole lot more than a 100% of nothing. I believe the most expensive way to go about it, is going it alone. I feel like what Phil charges is a bargain for what you get out of it. But then again, if you can't afford to be in it, certainly you would consider it a steep price.

    (4) Qualifications: Phil turns down people based on location, such as if he already has a student in the area. He also turns down know-it-alls and people that he thinks are going to be a nightmare to train. He definitely weeds out those that are broke. Some people get so pissed about that because he started off homeless. But from that experience, Phil learned that if you are broke, its so much harder to actually succeed with this. Better to save up your money and then get going with a little bit of seed capital than try to do it on a shoestring budget.

    (5) Not One Size Fits All: The reason why there are different upfront costs to join is that he doesn't have a one-sized-fits-all approach. They try to put together a plan that fits for each new person. Some choose to pay for a higher level of service because those who pay the most get the most hand holding whereas some folks come in with a tremendous amount of previous experience and don't need nearly as much hand holding.

    (6) Not For Everybody: Phil's program is not for everyone. He isn't looking to help people do their first deal. His goal is to train up people to be the leaders in their market. To dominate every other investor in their area. A lot of people aren't that serious about this business. Most people are dabblers. At least that is who I have met at REIA meetings over the years. He only brings in those people who his team and him feel are extremely committed to knocking this out of the park. I really like the other people I have met in the program because we all have at least one thing in common, to be the best investors in our respective area. His attitude in business is that this business is very competitive and you either lead or you get squashed. He's training people at an entirely higher level from anything else I have seen out there. And once you're inside the inner circle, although I can't speak for everyone, there are plenty of apprentices that would rather keep their mouth shut about their success because they don't want to draw any more attention to the program. They know how powerful it is and they'd rather keep it all to themselves. Small example: Phil has developed ways to find motivated sellers that no one else has can replicate which he never brings up anywhere except for when you join and it's little things like that, that give us a competitive advantage. Some of his students have visions of expanding their territory someday and would rather have areas around them stay open rather than get filled up. I'm happy with my territory so I'm cool with telling it like it is.

    Bottom Line: The program is the real deal if you can afford it and you can get in.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 31, 2014

      HighYa Team,

      Hi Michael,

      Thank you for a detailed review. We felt compelled to address some of your points: 

      • Point 1: Most of the "glowing" video reviews are very likely affiliate-based (http://www.freedommentor.com/affiliates/). After doing so much research on so many products, it's pretty easy to spot affiliate reviews vs. legitimate ones.
      • Point 2: Phil posted a video as recently as about a year ago (http://www.freedommentor.com/free-training/secret-short-sales-foreclosures/) gushing over short sales. In addition, purported students of his have posted their short sale success stories as recently as last month. Curiously, they were all posted the same day, lending credence to the affiliate point above (see: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pW7vUZvlzHw, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=coR-pXwCmQw, and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvpM64nj29o).
      • Point 3: Most of us normal folks think $45K is expensive, especially considering that Phil will take a commission from each of you sales until he's earned an additional $100K off you, on top of the fee. BiggerPockets (http://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/92/topics/112382-freedom-mentor) can provide plenty of examples of experienced RE examples who think it's too expensive and provides a low cost-to-value ratio.
      • Point 4: Considering the hard sell tactics that many people claimed to have experienced (see the reviews in the previous point), it's fairly clear that Phil doesn't hand pick each person who signs up for the program, and that qualification appears to be based more on credit card limits than worthiness.
    • Dec 17, 2014

      Michael,

      (1) That affiliate link redirects to the home page when I go to it? I don't think Phil has an affiliate program? The videos of others experiences I'm referring to don't have affiliate links.

      (2) That video shows a date of March 25, 2010 on YouTube. That's over 4 years ago. Those other videos you referenced look to be stealing Phil's videos from his channel and putting them on their own channel?

      (3) I don't know where $45K came from? But no matter because we can agree to disagree on the cost vs value.

      (4) I can't speak to that. I didn't have that experience and those I know in the program didn't tell me they had that experience either when they joined.

    • Mar 25, 2015

      Sarah

      I think I made a mistake in revealing the amount of capital I have access to. I was told it's $15-$20k to join and then profit sharing until I reach $500k. On top of that, after the information was shared with me, I was told I have 24 hours to accept the offer into the program. These numbers seem to be much higher than what they are asking other apprentices to pay which makes me extremely skeptical! However, the program does sound rewarding. I would like to hear true stories from people who have participated. Trying to find this information in less then 24 hours is difficult and maybe the truth isn't as great as they make it seem and a reason for the hard sell.

    • Apr 15, 2015

      Josmonon

      Sarah I agree with what you say. Looking back on all the conversations I had with the interviewers, they were very particular in asking how much money I have. When I refused to tell how much I have (it was kind of blunt for a random stranger to call me and the very first question they ask is how much money I have), then immediately he said it is not going to work between them and me. And then for argument sake, I said I have 25k and they offered me 3 variations of the program one each with 7K, 10K and 15K. So I wonder what packages they would have offered me if I said I have 5K. While I diligently went through Phil's training videos on his website, asking upfront money does not make sense when there is going to be profit sharing. Why can't they deduct whatever fee they think the training will cost in our first deal?

    • Apr 16, 2015

      Josmonon

      Sarah - Really where you told it is 15K to 20K? How long ago did you interact with them. I had a conversation with them just last week and I also made the same mistake of revealing the capital I had. They offered me 3 type of packages - 7K, 10K and 15K. Did they offer you 7K and 10K packages at all? If not, then it looks like everybody gets a different price depending on what they say they have saved up. That is not good and honest of them if this is the case.

    • Jun 4, 2015

      Niall,

      Such a scam.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys get you on the phone and make you think it is a prestigious program that will lead you to success. They spew the idea of leveraging your credit card to pay $15K - $25K to get into the program and then get really nasty with you when you are responsible and say credit cards and balance transfers are not smart.

    The bottom line is, if you can't get started yourself to be successful, this program won't make it so 90% of the time. I just got off the phone with a guy named Travis, who called from Freedom Mentor, and who then spent five minutes telling me that I cannot be successful without the program and that I have no common sense for not putting $15K on my credit card.

    I don't doubt Phil is a good guy, but you are paying this guy a quarter million dollars to get started! I hope this post wakes you up and gives you the courage to go do it yourself. After I had said no to this program, I went out and closed two deals, with a few others in the works. Half of that profit would have gone to a guy in Florida that I didn't know. It is scary starting by yourself, but I assure you, there are hundreds of great investors in your area that would love to help you out. I found one really easy and he has become my mentor for FREE! I urge you to do the same.

    To be honest, I would have never written a review about this program, but the phone call I got from them today really pissed me off. The nerve of this Travis guy to call me and get so angry and forceful trying to hard-line sell me and pressure me into thinking that I will fail without them was awful. Their true colors really showed, and I had to write this to hopefully save someone else the trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2017

      Phil Pustejovsky, Founder

      This review is completely inaccurate. We keep very detailed records of all of our team's correspondence with anyone applying to get into our program. This applicant, Joe from Virginia, did not have the conversations with Travis he has recounted in this review. Either Joe is confusing us with another company he has been recently corresponding with, or he is outright fabricating his account altogether.

      Here are the facts. Here is the detailed recount of all of our correspondence with Joe from Virginia:

      01/13/2017, 17:50:34 (2 minute, 20 second call): Let him know that we had received his application and Joe wanted to know a whole lot more about our program, so he was sent free access to a very detailed video course that will answer many of his questions, and then set up a follow-up call in three days.

      01/16/2017, 14:08:25 (33-second call): Joe said he hadn't reviewed the video course yet and asked for a follow-up call later in the week.

      01/21/2017, 14:00:56: Left a voicemail.

      01/23/2017, 17:52:00 (32-second call): Joe said he is was still reviewing the video course and to follow up in a couple of days.

      01/28/2017 09:10:54 (12-second call): Joe said he was driving and couldn't be on the cell phone while driving and said to call back next week.

      01/31/2017, 18:28:25 (5-second call): Joe immediately hung-up iafter picking up the phone.

      That's it. Those are the facts.

      We do not treat applicants the way Joe described. We don't pressure them in any way. In fact, it's the exact opposite. We interview them to see if they are a good fit. We turn away a very large portion of our applicants, and if they can't get it, we provide as many free trainings as we possibly can for them; from hundreds of free video trainings, to a copy of Phil's book for free, etc.

      We hope that every aspiring investor is very successful. We're not a large company so we can't possibly help the vast majority of people who want to be real estate investors. We have to be very selective of who we bring in. This Joe person obviously never even made it past round one of our interview process.

      We do not spew the idea of leveraging one's credit card into join our program. If someone doesn't have the financial wherewithal to join, we encourage them to try to earn the money through a special course that we provide for free on bird-dogging.

      We have no idea why this Joe person would write such an inaccurate account of our company, but perhaps he was corresponding with a different company at the same time he was talking to us? Maybe he was drunk? Who knows. Lastly, since this individual's account of his interactions with our company is completely incorrect, you may want to exercise extreme caution in heeding any of his other advice.

    • Feb 27, 2017

      Joe

      You kept a record of all this titled "Joe." To be honest, that is not even my name. I was a bit frightened to put my real name down because of the unprofessional phone call I received before writing my original review. These are not my recordings at all. I had an extensive contact with both Caleb and Travis. I even had contracts drawn up to begin your program until I realized the mistake I was making.

      The bottom line is, Phil your program might be all right, but some of your representatives get nasty. This isn't the first time I have read this either. To imply I was drunk or talking to another company is silly. Are there that many companies that do exactly what you do, that I would get confused about who I am talking to?

      I have said my peace, though. I am not lying about anything, and I hope whoever reads this can tell that.

    • Mar 15, 2017

      Phil Pustejovsky, Founder

      Didn't expect that! Please let me know who you are so I can sort this out. Feel free to email me directly if you don't want to share your name publicly. Then I can investigate and if you had been treated anywhere near the way you described, not only will I provide you with the deepest apology I know how to provide, but I also will need to deal with associate who did it. Such behavior is grounds for instant dismal. I have no idea why someone who is interviewing you would treat you the way you described; it makes no sense to me; we turn away a ton of applicants per month, some of which get nasty and mean that we turned them down. But regardless, what you described as to how you were treated won't be tolerated.

      Oh, and people confuse us with other companies surprisingly often. I guess copycats have popped up and named their operations similar to mine.

    • Jun 15, 2017

      Robin

      I have been through the apprentice application interview calls and I was excited about the entire operation until the final hour. In my second phone interview, I told the caller that I won't be pressured into anything. I need to take the information and one, pray about it, and two, have my attorney review the contract. The third, and final call came and in the final hour, I stated that I needed to let my attorney read the contract before I would sign it. In response, I was told that the program would not be available for me then. They also said, "No need for an attorney to get involved. If they had listened to the entire application process then they would understand and it would be ok, but since they weren't involved, I can't let you show them." My attorney sees everything I sign.

    • Jun 20, 2017

      Phil Pustejovsky, Founder

      I am very sorry that a team member of mine would ever do that, or say what you are reporting here. That is completely unacceptable. I am a huge proponent of having all agreements, contracts and paperwork reviewed by an attorney. I'll try to track down who treated you this way based on your first name, and ensure what happened to you never happens again.

      I appreciate you sharing this with me because it helps me improve my operation. I wish you all the best in the future.

    • Feb 24, 2018

      Tony

      I talked to a rep from the Freedom Mentoring program today and his attitude was awful. He was very high pressure and continually said "I am not here to convince you that this will benefit you. It would be crazy to not let us take your money because you will get it all back in the end. We are here to make you rich and why wouldn't you do this if you can spend $10,000 to $40,000 to make $250,000.... " things like that. Not his exact words but that is basically what I was hearing. I heard the "I am not trying to convince you .... but...." at least 5-6 times.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Bunch of BS

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    These guys called my phone at least 10 times before I answered and talked to them. Phil is a smart guy, and has some great info on his YouTube channel, but the people calling you? Are you serious? This guy would barely let me talk and didn't answer ANY questions. This guy was all pitch looking for a blind sheep to sell. So if you are one, then this program is for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 18, 2016

      Phil Pustejovsky, Founder

      This doesn't sound like my company representative that was calling you, at all! When someone applies to our program, we obviously call them back but if the applicant doesn't respond, we assume that they are no longer interested. Perhaps you are confusing my company with another one?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Hard Sell

    I was contacted and interviewed by an individual named Travis. When I began asking questions about their "creative" real estate strategies, his demeanor changed and he began to become very pushing and demanding. He even went so far to criticize what progress I had achieved thus far. Don’t expect a very pleasant call from this guy if you have questions and are leery of their agency being a scam. Bottom line, they want money up front. And any hesitation on your part is met with demoralizing rhetoric. Hard sell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2015

      Kelly Angam,

      I had a great conversation with Travis. I thought he was very informative and nice and we had a pleasant conversation. I kind of knew up front it would take money to make money. I learned new ways of leveraging money I never thought of before. Thanks for everything Travis, you're awesome.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Authentic

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jun 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a very different experience than what Lisa wrote in her review. There was no pressure. Instead, it matched up with what Michael Lear wrote. I really wanted to join but was turned down due to my location being Tulsa, OK. Apparently Phil already has a successful student in the area that is doing very well. I can assure you I have plenty of money, was more than willing to pay for the $15,000 level program and still got turned down. So I'm very disappointed I couldn't get in but I agree with Michael's comments that Phil is the real deal. For someone to turn away $15,000 to ensure an existing student doesn't have direct competition is putting your money where your mouth is. Say what you will about him, but I love his YouTube videos and have now experienced that he is authentic, even if it didn't work out for the best for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Hostile Sales Representative

    Expecting an apprentice program, I found another Guru.

    Where does this program make all its money?

    Is it real estate deals or LARGE upfront costs?

    The difference between a mentor and a guru lies in those two questions and I found the answer.

    I would rather spend my $5000+ failing and learning from my mistakes. With that much money to play with, I will have much better success elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Exactly what I needed

    Perhaps I just got lucky, or maybe the person who wrote this article didn’t have access to the most authoritative sources when writing it, but my experiences have been very different. I feel like joining this program was exactly what I needed. Phil is AWESOME. I'm talking amazing.

    This is a small example, but he fills in all the cracks, all the little things that used to trip me up. I was previously a part of another program, and they left me hanging over and over again, and I now realize that the reason they did was because they didn't actually know all the finer details. Real estate investing is not self-explanatory.

    There are a ton of twists and turns, and it's so easy to get stuck, but Phil and all his coaches, they really know what they are talking about. They have gotten me unstuck. I am extremely grateful that I got in because it's a game changer for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 10, 2017

      Water

      Hi Kimberly. Do you how often do you directly interact with Phil or do you only correspond with his coaches?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    30 deals in past two years

    I'm in Tennessee. I grew up and still live in East Nashville. All I had when I started following Phil was a food stamp card and a desire to give my two sons a better life, as a single father with the mother having very little time for them.

    I have closed over 30 deals in the past two years, including 21 wholesale deals, nine fix and flips, and holding four at this time. All on my own. No partners. And I have zero debt. None of this should be possible for a poor single father of two with limited education.

    By having dyslexia, reading has always been a challenge. I enjoy a challenge, but Phil video's make my life so much easier. I have never been one to take the easy way, rather the smart way.

    Phil, you may never truly know the positive change you have brought to my sons and me, if it is you reading this I say, thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2017

      Scotte Wade

      How did you join the Freedom Mentor program, if you had nothing but a food stamp card? Did he accept payments?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I disagree

    I disagree with many of the points in this article. Most likely, unbeknownst to the author, bits and pieces from inaccurate sources were used to put it together. Here are some of the things I disagree with:

    Phil doesn’t do seminars. He has a video on YouTube why he doesn’t do them, and why free real estate investing seminars are for suckers.

    Short sales galore? I’ve never done a short sale, and I’ve been in the program for a little more than a year. Short sales were common when the real estate bubble burst, but that’s been five or more years ago. Short sales aren’t galore anymore, and the program is not “heavy” on that technique at all. They focus on not being a one trick pony and being proficient in all types of deals.

    Mixed reputation? Huh? I remember before I joined, I did a ton of research and there were literally hundreds of different examples of people who closed deals and made money with the program. What most others have to say about this program is the same that I have to say, which is that if you are fortunate enough to get in, it’s incredible.

    Steep price? Sure, it’s not cheap. I paid $10,000. I don’t know where the $3,000 came from, by the way, but again, could have been incorrect information that the author collected thinking it was accurate. Was $10,000 steep? I have made a lot of money from being in this program, $76,547 to be exact, and counting. It was a bargain for me! Meanwhile, I have watched as newbies who tried it on their own quit, lost money or both. Creative Real Estate Investing is a very competitive business. Most newbies get chewed up and spit out. But not those in Phil’s program. We actually do deals, and actually make money. I hear the others on the calls. People are making a whole lot of money with this program. It’s as real as real could be.

    Unanswered questions? Phil has a 12-hour free video course that gives you a very clear, step by step, understanding of exactly what is being done, and how it is being done. Sure, they are very hush-hush about how they find the best deals, but I am glad they are. There aren’t unlimited deals to go around, and the best techniques need to remain hush-hush. But other than that, the plan on what to do is very transparent for those looking to join.

    Bottom line: I posted this because I wanted to provide an insider's view of this topic so if you’re considering joining the Apprentice Program, know this, without question, it’s the smartest real estate business decision I’ve ever made. I was fortunate to be in an area where there was an opening, and I did have the capital to afford to join it. As with anything, you get out what you put in; meaning I put in the time to actually learn what they teach, and I’ve followed their instructions. It’s not easy to do even one deal and make a profit in this business, but it’s possible with this program. I’ve made more than I ever expected. I hope this helps you better understand what it’s all about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Expensive is Relative

    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The “Bottom Line” described at the end of the above article is that Phil’s program is expensive. Well, expensive is relative to how much money you have. A better way to describe it might be that the cost is substantial for those with modest means. I saved up for two years to join. It was a very serious financial commitment for me and my family but the reason why I felt it made sense was because I saw people around me struggling to find deals, lose them to competition, lack the funds to buy them, and not actually make a profit at the end. One guy I met said he lost $20,000 on his first deal but he shrugged his shoulders and chalked it up to a really good learning lesson. Now THAT is expensive!

    At first, I was a bit taken back that Phil of all people, who started off homeless, would require money upfront to join his program. But after talking with his team about it, it made total sense. This is a different business than it was 15+ years ago when Phil got started. More competition for one, another issue being that people have changed and are now on their smartphones and laptops rather than reading newspapers or socializing with neighbors at community gatherings. Stamp prices have gone up, the cost to reach the target audience is much more. Most importantly, the game has changed so much that you have to really understand the little nuisances to be one step ahead of the next guy. You have to really know your stuff or you’ll get blown out of the water in this business. The right tools, the right resources, everything. All those things weren’t a necessity 15+ years ago.

    After joining, one thing that jumped out at me was how much I didn’t know that I didn’t know about real estate investing. There is a whole lot more to it than meets the eye. For those naïve beginners that think they can just start off by wholesaling a deal or two have a rude awakening coming. It’s a dog eat dog world out there. The seasoned pros are vying for those same deals a newbie is after. And they have more experience, more money, more resources and more contacts.

    Freedom Mentor has provided the knowledge, tools and resources to be way ahead of the competition. The cost may be substantial for those with modest means but like usual in life, you get what you pay for. This program is the best of the best. For those who can’t afford it, do what I did. Save up. For those who can afford it, just remember that you will pay your dues in learning this business one way or another. Either in losing money on bad deals or lost potential profits on deals you never did; or you can go the less costly route of joining a program like Freedom Mentor. I chose to the less costly route and it has made me all the difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    After almost one year, zero deals

    After letting Freedom Mentor charge my credit card with $10,000 in April 2017, start the program, receive all material and follow the instructions, today, after almost one year, I have zero deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review