Read 35 Freedom Mentor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A cut above the rest

    I'm 70 years young, and I've seen a whole lot in my life. Back in January, my son asked me to be his guest at a seminar he had paid $1,000 to attend. The "instructors" were very convincing, and at the end of the three days, somehow they had convinced us to pay them $25,000.

    For as smart as I thought I was (I have a Ph.D.), I sure didn't go down no "Success Path," but instead I got taken by that seminar company! They made all kinds of empty promises, and although I learned a few things, my son and I were more confused after two months with that company than before we ever went to that first seminar. While at a training being held by that group, we were instructed to go to YouTube when we were back in our hotel rooms and search about a topic they were teaching. When I did, Phil's video popped up. So I got a free copy of his book. I read it. Then I began watching his other videos. And then it dawned on me; I need to learn from the man himself, Phil, and get our butts away from that lying seminar company! So we did.

    And let me tell you, having seen what Phil provides versus what an HGTV show star seminar company provides, Freedom Mentor is a gigantic cut above the rest.

    First off, Phil's entire team that I have dealt with, Ed, Paul, Shannon, Kirby, Tara, Brian, Jeremy, and Stefanie are all first class. Phil surrounds himself with great people. They really know their stuff.

    Second, I hear the deals being closed by other apprentices on coaching calls. They are doing deals. A lot of them. It's very inspiring. Deals that that seminar company claimed they did, but Phil's people actually do them.

    Third, Phil is very accessible. I have spoken with him several times, and we have corresponded back and forth a lot. I never once got a chance to speak with the HGTV stars that supposedly led that seminar company.

    I have only been in Phil's program for about one month now, but the difference between his company versus that seminar company is night and day. He shows you the important details that the seminar company left out. I think because he has an engineering degree, Phil is just a very meticulous and detailed person, so he makes sure that nothing is missing.

    At first, I really got mad at myself for being duped by that seminar company; but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that had I not gone through that experience, I would have never found Phil (although in a round about way).

    I would strongly recommend Freedom Mentor to anyone looking to get into real estate investing. I am a huge fan of Phil, his team, his teachings and his program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The best real estate mentoring program out there

    I just want to say that I am loving this wonderful program. I hope everyone knows that this is the best real estate mentoring program out there. Nothing even comes close. I wish I would have found Phil 20 years ago.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    What it means to have a mentor

    Phil's mentoring is better than I expected, and I had high expectations. You think he is passionate on his YouTube videos, but you haven't seen anything until you are in the throws of a deal that is about to make $38,986 and it's on the rocks and could fall apart. He gets real intense then. Without his help though, that deal would have never closed, and I would have made $0. He can be tough. But looking back, that's exactly what I needed.

    When I first got started, I guess I thought that they would mentor me the way that I wanted; but instead, they mentored me on what I needed. Which was a very big difference. I've not only made good money, but I have grown as a person. I now understand what it means to have a mentor. They aren't your best friend or your shoulder to cry on; they are your success coaches leading you to a place of personal excellence you've never been before and can't get to on your own.

    If you want a mentor in real estate investing, you've found it in Freedom Mentor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Expensive is Relative

    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The “Bottom Line” described at the end of the above article is that Phil’s program is expensive. Well, expensive is relative to how much money you have. A better way to describe it might be that the cost is substantial for those with modest means. I saved up for two years to join. It was a very serious financial commitment for me and my family but the reason why I felt it made sense was because I saw people around me struggling to find deals, lose them to competition, lack the funds to buy them, and not actually make a profit at the end. One guy I met said he lost $20,000 on his first deal but he shrugged his shoulders and chalked it up to a really good learning lesson. Now THAT is expensive!

    At first, I was a bit taken back that Phil of all people, who started off homeless, would require money upfront to join his program. But after talking with his team about it, it made total sense. This is a different business than it was 15+ years ago when Phil got started. More competition for one, another issue being that people have changed and are now on their smartphones and laptops rather than reading newspapers or socializing with neighbors at community gatherings. Stamp prices have gone up, the cost to reach the target audience is much more. Most importantly, the game has changed so much that you have to really understand the little nuisances to be one step ahead of the next guy. You have to really know your stuff or you’ll get blown out of the water in this business. The right tools, the right resources, everything. All those things weren’t a necessity 15+ years ago.

    After joining, one thing that jumped out at me was how much I didn’t know that I didn’t know about real estate investing. There is a whole lot more to it than meets the eye. For those naïve beginners that think they can just start off by wholesaling a deal or two have a rude awakening coming. It’s a dog eat dog world out there. The seasoned pros are vying for those same deals a newbie is after. And they have more experience, more money, more resources and more contacts.

    Freedom Mentor has provided the knowledge, tools and resources to be way ahead of the competition. The cost may be substantial for those with modest means but like usual in life, you get what you pay for. This program is the best of the best. For those who can’t afford it, do what I did. Save up. For those who can afford it, just remember that you will pay your dues in learning this business one way or another. Either in losing money on bad deals or lost potential profits on deals you never did; or you can go the less costly route of joining a program like Freedom Mentor. I chose to the less costly route and it has made me all the difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Naysayers got Phil all wrong

    • Virginia Beach, Virginia,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got back from Phil’s top secret annual retreat last weekend that he does every year with only his Apprentices. Here’s the shocker, it was free. He didn’t charge a penny for me or anyone to attend. AND he didn’t sell anything either. It’s the first real estate investing seminar I have ever been to in my entire life where I paid nothing and was sold nothing, but instead, for three straight days, Phil personally shared the results of all his tests from the previous 12 months, new techniques, what strategies he thinks will work in the upcoming year AND my personal favorite, we got on a huge bus one day and drove us around to nine different deals he had recently done, showing every minute detail of what he did and how he did it.

    He said he holds that one event every year to help his mentees do more deals, and it’s the only “seminar” he does.

    I just joined the program a few weeks ago, so I have not closed my first deal yet; but at the event, I personally talked to at least 20 different people in the group that had closed deals, and plenty more than that were in the room too that I didn’t connect with.

    Phil broke down some of their deals at the event; from how they found them, to how they structured it, etc. Many of them, Phil either funded the deals or showed the person how to do the deal without funding.

    Seeing this one young couple who didn’t seem to be all that smart, holding a little newborn, talking about how they just had made $78,000 on a deal, completely blew me away. All I could think about was how I wish I had found him when I was their age, and boy would my life be different.

    Someone reading this probably thinks I am blowing smoke, but I can assure you I am not. I joined with plenty of skepticism, but after being at Mastery last weekend, I am now a gigantic fan of Phil personally and of this program.

    People on the outside looking in at this company and this program that have anything negative to say about them have no idea what they are talking about, including what the author of the above article wrote. Naysayers got Phil all wrong.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Out of my comfort zone

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Apr 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Joining this program a few months ago was definitely outside my comfort zone. My spouse thought I was crazy at first, but after diving in and following the steps along with me, they came around. We finished our first deal this week, and the net profit was $50,351.04. We bought it with our own money, had it cosmetically renovated and resold it. Phil and his team helped us every step of the way.

    We were both scared out of our minds because this was all so foreign to us, but the mentors were patient and explained what to expect. One thing that really jumped out at me was that the mentoring team seemed to be able to tell the future because what they said was going to happen next, seemed to always happen! It was freaky. But Phil said that after doing a few thousand deals, you pretty much have seen it all, and the twists and turns of a deal become fairly predictable.

    I hope this encourages anyone who is scared like we were. If you have Freedom Mentor in your corner, you’ll be fine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Closed my first deal today

    I’m having a great day today. Just closed my first deal with this program. Didn’t make a ton of money, $4,237.14 to be exact, but it was an awesome learning experience, and I’ve got several others lined up right behind it.

    I’m not going to sugar coat it, creative real estate investing is much more involved than it looks. There are so many little details to it. Without this program, there is no way I would have done this deal. Absolutely no way. From how to close a subject to outside of a closing attorney to how to make sure the deal didn’t fall apart with the new buyer a few weeks later; it was a lot. But this program covered everything, and the mentors were available when I needed them.

    I wouldn’t recommend a beginner try to dive into creative investing without a mentoring team behind them because there is so much to it. But if you can get into this program and work with Phil, you’ll be all set.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys get you on the phone and make you think it is a prestigious program that will lead you to success. They spew the idea of leveraging your credit card to pay $15K - $25K to get into the program and then get really nasty with you when you are responsible and say credit cards and balance transfers are not smart.

    The bottom line is, if you can't get started yourself to be successful, this program won't make it so 90% of the time. I just got off the phone with a guy named Travis, who called from Freedom Mentor, and who then spent five minutes telling me that I cannot be successful without the program and that I have no common sense for not putting $15K on my credit card.

    I don't doubt Phil is a good guy, but you are paying this guy a quarter million dollars to get started! I hope this post wakes you up and gives you the courage to go do it yourself. After I had said no to this program, I went out and closed two deals, with a few others in the works. Half of that profit would have gone to a guy in Florida that I didn't know. It is scary starting by yourself, but I assure you, there are hundreds of great investors in your area that would love to help you out. I found one really easy and he has become my mentor for FREE! I urge you to do the same.

    To be honest, I would have never written a review about this program, but the phone call I got from them today really pissed me off. The nerve of this Travis guy to call me and get so angry and forceful trying to hard-line sell me and pressure me into thinking that I will fail without them was awful. Their true colors really showed, and I had to write this to hopefully save someone else the trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 18, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This review is completely inaccurate. We keep very detailed records of all of our team's correspondence with anyone applying to get into our program. This applicant, Joe from Virginia, did not have the conversations with Travis he has recounted in this review. Either Joe is confusing us with another company he has been recently corresponding with, or he is outright fabricating his account altogether.

      Here are the facts. Here is the detailed recount of all of our correspondence with Joe from Virginia:

      01/13/2017, 17:50:34 (2 minute, 20 second call): Let him know that we had received his application and Joe wanted to know a whole lot more about our program, so he was sent free access to a very detailed video course that will answer many of his questions, and then set up a follow-up call in three days.

      01/16/2017, 14:08:25 (33-second call): Joe said he hadn't reviewed the video course yet and asked for a follow-up call later in the week.

      01/21/2017, 14:00:56: Left a voicemail.

      01/23/2017, 17:52:00 (32-second call): Joe said he is was still reviewing the video course and to follow up in a couple of days.

      01/28/2017 09:10:54 (12-second call): Joe said he was driving and couldn't be on the cell phone while driving and said to call back next week.

      01/31/2017, 18:28:25 (5-second call): Joe immediately hung-up iafter picking up the phone.

      That's it. Those are the facts.

      We do not treat applicants the way Joe described. We don't pressure them in any way. In fact, it's the exact opposite. We interview them to see if they are a good fit. We turn away a very large portion of our applicants, and if they can't get it, we provide as many free trainings as we possibly can for them; from hundreds of free video trainings, to a copy of Phil's book for free, etc.

      We hope that every aspiring investor is very successful. We're not a large company so we can't possibly help the vast majority of people who want to be real estate investors. We have to be very selective of who we bring in. This Joe person obviously never even made it past round one of our interview process.

      We do not spew the idea of leveraging one's credit card into join our program. If someone doesn't have the financial wherewithal to join, we encourage them to try to earn the money through a special course that we provide for free on bird-dogging.

      We have no idea why this Joe person would write such an inaccurate account of our company, but perhaps he was corresponding with a different company at the same time he was talking to us? Maybe he was drunk? Who knows. Lastly, since this individual's account of his interactions with our company is completely incorrect, you may want to exercise extreme caution in heeding any of his other advice.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Zero to hero

    I applied but got denied because they already have someone in my market. I remember when the guy who has the spot in my area used to attend our local REIA meetings. He was a complete beginner, asking a bunch of stupid questions and just bumbling around.

    Now he is by far the dominate investor player in our market. The old dogs at the REIA meetings are now scratching their heads trying to figure out how he went from a bumbling newbie to the market leader. I did some research and figured out that it was this program! So I tried to apply, but they denied me because of my location, being that I was so close to him.

    So if they can take that zero and turn him into a hero, it must be good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I disagree

    I disagree with many of the points in this article. Most likely, unbeknownst to the author, bits and pieces from inaccurate sources were used to put it together. Here are some of the things I disagree with:

    Phil doesn’t do seminars. He has a video on YouTube why he doesn’t do them, and why free real estate investing seminars are for suckers.

    Short sales galore? I’ve never done a short sale, and I’ve been in the program for a little more than a year. Short sales were common when the real estate bubble burst, but that’s been five or more years ago. Short sales aren’t galore anymore, and the program is not “heavy” on that technique at all. They focus on not being a one trick pony and being proficient in all types of deals.

    Mixed reputation? Huh? I remember before I joined, I did a ton of research and there were literally hundreds of different examples of people who closed deals and made money with the program. What most others have to say about this program is the same that I have to say, which is that if you are fortunate enough to get in, it’s incredible.

    Steep price? Sure, it’s not cheap. I paid $10,000. I don’t know where the $3,000 came from, by the way, but again, could have been incorrect information that the author collected thinking it was accurate. Was $10,000 steep? I have made a lot of money from being in this program, $76,547 to be exact, and counting. It was a bargain for me! Meanwhile, I have watched as newbies who tried it on their own quit, lost money or both. Creative Real Estate Investing is a very competitive business. Most newbies get chewed up and spit out. But not those in Phil’s program. We actually do deals, and actually make money. I hear the others on the calls. People are making a whole lot of money with this program. It’s as real as real could be.

    Unanswered questions? Phil has a 12-hour free video course that gives you a very clear, step by step, understanding of exactly what is being done, and how it is being done. Sure, they are very hush-hush about how they find the best deals, but I am glad they are. There aren’t unlimited deals to go around, and the best techniques need to remain hush-hush. But other than that, the plan on what to do is very transparent for those looking to join.

    Bottom line: I posted this because I wanted to provide an insider's view of this topic so if you’re considering joining the Apprentice Program, know this, without question, it’s the smartest real estate business decision I’ve ever made. I was fortunate to be in an area where there was an opening, and I did have the capital to afford to join it. As with anything, you get out what you put in; meaning I put in the time to actually learn what they teach, and I’ve followed their instructions. It’s not easy to do even one deal and make a profit in this business, but it’s possible with this program. I’ve made more than I ever expected. I hope this helps you better understand what it’s all about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    30 deals in past two years

    I'm in Tennessee. I grew up and still live in East Nashville. All I had when I started following Phil was a food stamp card and a desire to give my two sons a better life, as a single father with the mother having very little time for them.

    I have closed over 30 deals in the past two years, including 21 wholesale deals, nine fix and flips, and holding four at this time. All on my own. No partners. And I have zero debt. None of this should be possible for a poor single father of two with limited education.

    By having dyslexia, reading has always been a challenge. I enjoy a challenge, but Phil video's make my life so much easier. I have never been one to take the easy way, rather the smart way.

    Phil, you may never truly know the positive change you have brought to my sons and me, if it is you reading this I say, thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 35

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review