• 42 Customer Reviews
  • 86% Recommend This Company
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 85% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 11%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • An honest real estate guru?

    Overall Experience:

    I’m a retired contractor. I’ve pretty much seen it all. I bought my first investing course back in the 80s from a guy named Carleton Sheets. It was interesting, I learned some new terms, but it didn’t connect all the dots, it was missing several important pieces of the puzzle, so I was never able to close any deals with it. That experience turned me off to real estate investing courses altogether. I’d see these free seminars come to town and just roll my eyes. I got to the point where I just assumed every real estate “guru” was just a slick talking salesman that made their money selling a pig in a poke.

    Recently, after retiring though, I started getting back into the idea of investing and ran across Phil’s videos. He seemed different. I must have watched 50 videos and my attitude toward real estate investing gurus changed because of him.

    Rather than try to piece together everything on my own, I liked the idea of having someone by my side to walk me through the process from start to finish, so I applied for his program.

    The interview process was lengthy, but that encouraged me because I could tell that they weren’t just after my money; they really drilled me on all kinds of questions. Being a contractor for 30 years, I can smell a rat from a mile away, and I never got that feeling from anyone on his team. They were very genuine. I got accepted and joined the program. That was about six months ago.

    My first deal was tiny, only made about $5,100, but it was my second one that just closed, which was really nice. It made a little under $36,000. The seller was terminally ill and actually passed away before we were able to close, so it kind of stretched things out, but the mentors were there to help me get through it. In fact, right before the closing, mentor Brian was able to give me some advice and a technique on how to handle a seller objection, and it put an extra $3,500 in my pocket. We put a little bit of work into the house, but not much at all. The real key was in how it was structured using creative financing and how it was sold in such a way that it created a bidding war.

    In full disclosure, after that second deal closed, I was asked if I would be willing to write about my experiences with the program somewhere online. So I googled, and this site came up, so that’s why it’s here. I don’t know if it’s in the right place or not but I was happy to write this because Phil and his team and Freedom Mentor are fantastic. They filled in all the cracks, provided all the missing pieces, and I’ve made real money from this. And I’m now a believer. There is such thing as an honest real estate guru.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Following Phil’s instructions exactly

    • By Autumn Sass,
    • Portland, OR,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently attended Phil's annual Mastery event that he puts on for free for all his Apprentices every year. Meeting people in his program from across North America was really cool, especially hanging out with some graduates, meaning, the people that have made over a half million dollars with Freedom Mentor. What I noticed that really stuck out was that the ones who do the best, are the ones that follow the program’s instructions the closest. The ones that are struggling do some things but not others, or do very little at all. Some people are lazy but others are hard workers but they don’t do what they are taught.

    I didn't know anything when I first got started, so I just followed exactly what they taught and didn't put my own spin on anything. I have closed seven deals since joining 11 months ago. I have put $67,537 in my pocket (that's after the profit split; so I have put that exact amount in my bank account). Joining this program was the best thing I ever did. But I can see why some people don't get the same results as me. They are the ones that don't follow instructions well and instead, do their own thing; or they don’t do anything at all. So if you are the type of person that you can't possibly bring yourself to follow exact instructions, step by step, don't apply for this program. Also, if you think that you don’t have to do anything, but can just sit back and do nothing; this program won’t work for you either. P

    hil and his team are ridiculously detailed and show you exactly how to do everything; but if you don't do it the way they show you, you don't get good results. I truly believe this is the greatest real estate investing program ever created, but I have also had a great experience and have made a ton of money already, so I am a bit biased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best

    • By Donna S.,
    • Corinth, MS,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I joined about a month ago. This program is the best I've seen in the marketplace after more than 25 years of real estate investing. I can’t believe how much I didn’t know about something I have been doing the better part of my life. This company is the real deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not a typo

    • By Karen P.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My first deal finally closed with this program after being in it for 6 months. The net profit was $142,958.24. That was not a typo. After all expenses, the net profit was exactly $142,958.24. It was a creative deal that Phil and his team walked me through step by step. We used a technique that Phil invented so I am not at liberty to explain the intricate details here but suffice it to say, I am now completely debt-free and it is the greatest feeling in the world. I have no idea if you would have similar results as me because I am in the State of Washington where the average sale price on a house is much higher than in other parts of the country. The bigger the deal, the bigger the profits! I have several other deals in the pipeline so don't think I just got lucky. I'm just getting warmed up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Completely changed my life

    • By Alexa A.,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Phil has completely changed my life for the better in so many different ways. I am posting this as a gigantic thanks to him for giving me the opportunity to be a part of his program and sacrificing his time to mentor me. I am so blessed to have been apart of the Freedom Mentor Apprentice Program. It's been an honor and a privilege. I graduated recently, meaning, I have made over $500,000 with this program, and $250,000 went in my pocket. I'm a full-time real estate investor these days here in Oklahoma and loving life and making a ton of money. In fact, I make more than my father who is a specialized physician in his early 60s! My dad still can't believe that his non-college educated son out earns him. If you are given the chance to work with Freedom Mentor, jump on it. It's changed my life and it can change yours.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Homerun experience

    • By Robert E.,
    • Los Banos, CA,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with Freedom Mentor is that it has been a homerun. I did my research before joining and I think those naysayers that complain about the upfront cost as well as the sharing in profits are broke minded people. As a long time real estate agent, I understand the costs of real world real estate education. The reality is that very few so called "gurus" actually know the true-blue ins and outs of creative real estate investing. But when you acquire that knowledge, it's an insanely valuable skill. Free resources online get you nowhere in the real world of this business. If I needed help (as a long time agent), then certainly non-real estate people need it more than me. Phil and his team know their stuff. They know it better than anyone else in this country. I have closed several deals, made over $67,869.19 in net profits (after all expenses) and the next two deals I have in the hopper are huge. One of them I am holding long term for over $1,000 per month positive cashflow (plus $100,000 in equity) and the other is a sweet rehab deal that Phil is funding that should net over $90,000. Haters are going to hate and so if you listen to negativity in regards to this program because of its costs, my question to you is...how does it feel to be broke? How has that worked out for you? 50% of something is a whole lot more than 100% of nothing. I'd rather have $67,869.19 in my pocket plus a property with $100,000 in equity that gives me $1,000 per month and a new deal that should put $45,000 in my pocket (half of $90,000) than be making 100% of nothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Talent for teaching

    • By Kathleen L.,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Phil, I want to thank you for sharing your expertise. What amazing and powerful videos you provide. You are a great teacher and definitely have a talent for teaching. I extremely enjoyed reading your book "How To Be A Real Estate Investor" too. For those that never read this book, it is a MUST.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The 1 Guarantee in Real Estate

    • By Pam B.,
    • Wallace Township, PA,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One of the most tragic mistakes newbie real estate investors make is thinking that they can figure out what to do on their own, just by using online sources and stumbling along in the real world. I tried it. And I'm very, very intelligent. It's so expensive and so inefficient to go about it that way. Joining the Freedom Mentor Apprentice Program was the best real estate decision I have ever made. Agreeing to share in half of my first $500,000 in net profits with them seemed scary at first. Then I thought to myself, how much money have I made so far, bumbling along the last 2 two years on my own? Oh, yeah, close to nothing! Why should I be so concerned about sharing in profits that don't exist? Once it dawned on me that 50% of something is a whole lot more than a 100% of nothing, I joined. And for the first 5 months, I thought I was doing everything right but hadn't closed a deal yet.

    I got on the phone with Phil, explained where I was at and asked what I was doing wrong. He gave me a few small suggestions but perhaps provided the most powerful advice I could have been given. He said, "You are doing almost everything right. DO NOT change course. Stay the course. You're 3 feet from gold, you just don't realize it yet." He was adamant that when anyone does exactly what I had done, the odds were so stacked in my favor that several deals were inevitable to roll through very soon. And it happened just like he said! All the sudden, I had 4 deals working and now, a month since that avalanche of deals came in, 2 have already closed, the 3rd one is closing this week (Phil is funding the deal) which should make a little over $200,000 (yes, that is the real net profit on a single-family home flip); and the 4th one is closing the end of next week. My half of the net profits on those 4 deals will be more money in my pocket than I have made in several years at my job. And the best part is, I can duplicate these results over and over and over again.

    Getting mentored by Phil and his team (which they are amazing too) is worth every penny of the cost. What I have learned is that you are going to have to pay for your real estate education one way or another. You can't get around the cost. Either you'll pay for it in the real world with mistakes, lost opportunities and years of failures. Or you will get there MUCH faster by paying a great mentor. The real cost of real estate investing education is high, but it's better to pay for it in profits you would have never obtained otherwise. Whether you decide to join Freedom Mentor or not, remember that the cost of your investing education is significant. You won't get around that part. My dad used to say, "There are two guarantees in life, death, and taxes." Well, there is one guarantee in real estate, the cost of your education.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phil's lessons have been helpful

    • By Helena S.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I stumbled on Freedom Mentor while surfing for real estate lessons.

    Phil's lessons have been very helpful and helped kickstart my career in real estate. I'm a few properties in now and I'm looking to expand my knowledge base and broaden my vision.

    I have spent hundreds of dollars in the past to attend "professional" seminars which weren't even marginally close to providing the knowledge I got from him. Well done Phil, I'd love to learn more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Review UPDATED...

    • By Daman S.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My understanding of the terms of the program (from what I was told in my initial consultation with the representative) was that the students pay an upfront fee to get the education and then students do all the work and give away half of their profit. Hence I left the review...

    After leaving the review, Phil contacted me, on the call he explained the program to me. Turns out, they don't take away half of your profits but instead, it's a profit-sharing model where you find deals and Phil uses his money to fund your deal and then split the profits. Which I think is reasonable...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 27, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      Daman's revised review is still not accurate. I appreciate his attempt to amend his previous highly erroneous post, but unfortunately, he still didn't get it right this second time around. He's a banker by profession and thus, his only understanding of real estate investing is the traditional way. And it's his deeply embedded traditional real estate mindset that is preventing him from fully understanding how our program works.

      Our program mentors people on creating profits from real estate deals which wouldn't have otherwise existed if not for our tutelage. We share in those newly created profits 50/50. It's based on the fundamental truth that 50% of something is a whole lot more than 100% of nothing.

      And to produce those profits, requires a multitude of highly specialized skills, such as how to find the very best deals, how to structure those deals for maximum profit with the least risks as well as how to organize the closings to hopefully avoid funding altogether, just to name a few. We have literally invented techniques that enable us to do things that most other investors right now have no idea are even possible.

      Meanwhile, a traditional investing mindset person values funding over everything else (like Daman) and therefore considers splitting half the profits in exchange for funding as a reasonable arrangement. We disagree. Funding is simply not that valuable. At no other point in history has there been more access to funding for real estate deals. There are literally thousands of funding sources in America begging to fund investors deals right now. We even have a free resource on our website, called "Hard Money Locator", which helps you find those sources. Funding is everywhere and cheaper than ever. To conclude that because we fund deals for our people, that our 50/50 profit sharing arrangement is reasonable, is missing the entire value that our program provides. Rather than funding, what's truly the most valuable part of real estate investing is knowing exactly how to find, structure and close deals; which is at the core of what we provide. We teach our people how to be first class, market leading real estate investors and these days, many of the top real estate investors across North America got their start with us.

    • Previous review
    • Aug 6, 2019

    Bogus! Beware! Don't lose your money before you even begin...

    I don’t understand who could be that dumb to sign up for this program with the terms that they have. Here is how it works:

    You pay the hefty amount of money upfront, $25000.00, to get "Education" (that is available for free on other sources), and then you pay them HALF of what you make, HALF! You find leads, you find financing (IF you are lucky, they will lend you money on interest), you deal with repairs selling and assume ALL the risk there is AND THEN they will come in and take HALF. Why? Because they gave you education and support which you have paid heavily.

    After my initial consultation, when I said NO to the "director' who was talking to me, he started basing my current situation. I ran away and never looked back.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Hard Sell

    Overall Experience:

    I was contacted and interviewed by an individual named Travis. When I began asking questions about their "creative" real estate strategies, his demeanor changed and he began to become very pushing and demanding. He even went so far to criticize what progress I had achieved thus far. Don’t expect a very pleasant call from this guy if you have questions and are leery of their agency being a scam. Bottom line, they want money up front. And any hesitation on your part is met with demoralizing rhetoric. Hard sell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hostile Sales Representative

    Overall Experience:

    Expecting an apprentice program, I found another Guru.

    Where does this program make all its money?

    Is it real estate deals or LARGE upfront costs?

    The difference between a mentor and a guru lies in those two questions and I found the answer.

    I would rather spend my $5000+ failing and learning from my mistakes. With that much money to play with, I will have much better success elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bunch of BS

    • By Joe,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    These guys called my phone at least 10 times before I answered and talked to them. Phil is a smart guy, and has some great info on his YouTube channel, but the people calling you? Are you serious? This guy would barely let me talk and didn't answer ANY questions. This guy was all pitch looking for a blind sheep to sell. So if you are one, then this program is for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 18, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This doesn't sound like my company representative that was calling you, at all! When someone applies to our program, we obviously call them back but if the applicant doesn't respond, we assume that they are no longer interested. Perhaps you are confusing my company with another one?


  • Don't do it!

    • By Joe,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These guys get you on the phone and make you think it is a prestigious program that will lead you to success. They spew the idea of leveraging your credit card to pay $15K - $25K to get into the program and then get really nasty with you when you are responsible and say credit cards and balance transfers are not smart.

    The bottom line is, if you can't get started yourself to be successful, this program won't make it so 90% of the time. I just got off the phone with a guy named Travis, who called from Freedom Mentor, and who then spent five minutes telling me that I cannot be successful without the program and that I have no common sense for not putting $15K on my credit card.

    I don't doubt Phil is a good guy, but you are paying this guy a quarter million dollars to get started! I hope this post wakes you up and gives you the courage to go do it yourself. After I had said no to this program, I went out and closed two deals, with a few others in the works. Half of that profit would have gone to a guy in Florida that I didn't know. It is scary starting by yourself, but I assure you, there are hundreds of great investors in your area that would love to help you out. I found one really easy and he has become my mentor for FREE! I urge you to do the same.

    To be honest, I would have never written a review about this program, but the phone call I got from them today really pissed me off. The nerve of this Travis guy to call me and get so angry and forceful trying to hard-line sell me and pressure me into thinking that I will fail without them was awful. Their true colors really showed, and I had to write this to hopefully save someone else the trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 18, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This review is completely inaccurate. We keep very detailed records of all of our team's correspondence with anyone applying to get into our program. This applicant, Joe from Virginia, did not have the conversations with Travis he has recounted in this review. Either Joe is confusing us with another company he has been recently corresponding with, or he is outright fabricating his account altogether.

      Here are the facts. Here is the detailed recount of all of our correspondence with Joe from Virginia:

      01/13/2017, 17:50:34 (2 minute, 20 second call): Let him know that we had received his application and Joe wanted to know a whole lot more about our program, so he was sent free access to a very detailed video course that will answer many of his questions, and then set up a follow-up call in three days.

      01/16/2017, 14:08:25 (33-second call): Joe said he hadn't reviewed the video course yet and asked for a follow-up call later in the week.

      01/21/2017, 14:00:56: Left a voicemail.

      01/23/2017, 17:52:00 (32-second call): Joe said he is was still reviewing the video course and to follow up in a couple of days.

      01/28/2017 09:10:54 (12-second call): Joe said he was driving and couldn't be on the cell phone while driving and said to call back next week.

      01/31/2017, 18:28:25 (5-second call): Joe immediately hung-up iafter picking up the phone.

      That's it. Those are the facts.

      We do not treat applicants the way Joe described. We don't pressure them in any way. In fact, it's the exact opposite. We interview them to see if they are a good fit. We turn away a very large portion of our applicants, and if they can't get it, we provide as many free trainings as we possibly can for them; from hundreds of free video trainings, to a copy of Phil's book for free, etc.

      We hope that every aspiring investor is very successful. We're not a large company so we can't possibly help the vast majority of people who want to be real estate investors. We have to be very selective of who we bring in. This Joe person obviously never even made it past round one of our interview process.

      We do not spew the idea of leveraging one's credit card into join our program. If someone doesn't have the financial wherewithal to join, we encourage them to try to earn the money through a special course that we provide for free on bird-dogging.

      We have no idea why this Joe person would write such an inaccurate account of our company, but perhaps he was corresponding with a different company at the same time he was talking to us? Maybe he was drunk? Who knows. Lastly, since this individual's account of his interactions with our company is completely incorrect, you may want to exercise extreme caution in heeding any of his other advice.


  • After almost one year, zero deals

    Overall Experience:

    After letting Freedom Mentor charge my credit card with $10,000 in April 2017, start the program, receive all material and follow the instructions, today, after almost one year, I have zero deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 27, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      That's not completely accurate. He joined, he received everything that we provide, but he didn't follow ALL of our instructions. The reason why after almost 1 year, he had zero deals, was because he didn't follow ALL of our instructions. We tried and tried to get him to do the things that he was missing but he just wouldn't. You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink.


Showing 28-42 of 42

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freedom Mentor Reviews