Read 42 Freedom Mentor Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-42 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • Talent for teaching

    • By Kathleen L.,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Phil, I want to thank you for sharing your expertise. What amazing and powerful videos you provide. You are a great teacher and definitely have a talent for teaching. I extremely enjoyed reading your book "How To Be A Real Estate Investor" too. For those that never read this book, it is a MUST.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The 1 Guarantee in Real Estate

    • By Pam B.,
    • Wallace Township, PA,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of the most tragic mistakes newbie real estate investors make is thinking that they can figure out what to do on their own, just by using online sources and stumbling along in the real world. I tried it. And I'm very, very intelligent. It's so expensive and so inefficient to go about it that way. Joining the Freedom Mentor Apprentice Program was the best real estate decision I have ever made. Agreeing to share in half of my first $500,000 in net profits with them seemed scary at first. Then I thought to myself, how much money have I made so far, bumbling along the last 2 two years on my own? Oh, yeah, close to nothing! Why should I be so concerned about sharing in profits that don't exist? Once it dawned on me that 50% of something is a whole lot more than a 100% of nothing, I joined. And for the first 5 months, I thought I was doing everything right but hadn't closed a deal yet.

    I got on the phone with Phil, explained where I was at and asked what I was doing wrong. He gave me a few small suggestions but perhaps provided the most powerful advice I could have been given. He said, "You are doing almost everything right. DO NOT change course. Stay the course. You're 3 feet from gold, you just don't realize it yet." He was adamant that when anyone does exactly what I had done, the odds were so stacked in my favor that several deals were inevitable to roll through very soon. And it happened just like he said! All the sudden, I had 4 deals working and now, a month since that avalanche of deals came in, 2 have already closed, the 3rd one is closing this week (Phil is funding the deal) which should make a little over $200,000 (yes, that is the real net profit on a single-family home flip); and the 4th one is closing the end of next week. My half of the net profits on those 4 deals will be more money in my pocket than I have made in several years at my job. And the best part is, I can duplicate these results over and over and over again.

    Getting mentored by Phil and his team (which they are amazing too) is worth every penny of the cost. What I have learned is that you are going to have to pay for your real estate education one way or another. You can't get around the cost. Either you'll pay for it in the real world with mistakes, lost opportunities and years of failures. Or you will get there MUCH faster by paying a great mentor. The real cost of real estate investing education is high, but it's better to pay for it in profits you would have never obtained otherwise. Whether you decide to join Freedom Mentor or not, remember that the cost of your investing education is significant. You won't get around that part. My dad used to say, "There are two guarantees in life, death, and taxes." Well, there is one guarantee in real estate, the cost of your education.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phil's lessons have been helpful

    • By Helena S.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I stumbled on Freedom Mentor while surfing for real estate lessons.

    Phil's lessons have been very helpful and helped kickstart my career in real estate. I'm a few properties in now and I'm looking to expand my knowledge base and broaden my vision.

    I have spent hundreds of dollars in the past to attend "professional" seminars which weren't even marginally close to providing the knowledge I got from him. Well done Phil, I'd love to learn more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Review UPDATED...

    • By Daman S.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My understanding of the terms of the program (from what I was told in my initial consultation with the representative) was that the students pay an upfront fee to get the education and then students do all the work and give away half of their profit. Hence I left the review...

    After leaving the review, Phil contacted me, on the call he explained the program to me. Turns out, they don't take away half of your profits but instead, it's a profit-sharing model where you find deals and Phil uses his money to fund your deal and then split the profits. Which I think is reasonable...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 27, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      Daman's revised review is still not accurate. I appreciate his attempt to amend his previous highly erroneous post, but unfortunately, he still didn't get it right this second time around. He's a banker by profession and thus, his only understanding of real estate investing is the traditional way. And it's his deeply embedded traditional real estate mindset that is preventing him from fully understanding how our program works.

      Our program mentors people on creating profits from real estate deals which wouldn't have otherwise existed if not for our tutelage. We share in those newly created profits 50/50. It's based on the fundamental truth that 50% of something is a whole lot more than 100% of nothing.

      And to produce those profits, requires a multitude of highly specialized skills, such as how to find the very best deals, how to structure those deals for maximum profit with the least risks as well as how to organize the closings to hopefully avoid funding altogether, just to name a few. We have literally invented techniques that enable us to do things that most other investors right now have no idea are even possible.

      Meanwhile, a traditional investing mindset person values funding over everything else (like Daman) and therefore considers splitting half the profits in exchange for funding as a reasonable arrangement. We disagree. Funding is simply not that valuable. At no other point in history has there been more access to funding for real estate deals. There are literally thousands of funding sources in America begging to fund investors deals right now. We even have a free resource on our website, called "Hard Money Locator", which helps you find those sources. Funding is everywhere and cheaper than ever. To conclude that because we fund deals for our people, that our 50/50 profit sharing arrangement is reasonable, is missing the entire value that our program provides. Rather than funding, what's truly the most valuable part of real estate investing is knowing exactly how to find, structure and close deals; which is at the core of what we provide. We teach our people how to be first class, market leading real estate investors and these days, many of the top real estate investors across North America got their start with us.

    • Previous review
    • Aug 6, 2019

    Bogus! Beware! Don't lose your money before you even begin...

    I don’t understand who could be that dumb to sign up for this program with the terms that they have. Here is how it works:

    You pay the hefty amount of money upfront, $25000.00, to get "Education" (that is available for free on other sources), and then you pay them HALF of what you make, HALF! You find leads, you find financing (IF you are lucky, they will lend you money on interest), you deal with repairs selling and assume ALL the risk there is AND THEN they will come in and take HALF. Why? Because they gave you education and support which you have paid heavily.

    After my initial consultation, when I said NO to the "director' who was talking to me, he started basing my current situation. I ran away and never looked back.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Hard Sell

    I was contacted and interviewed by an individual named Travis. When I began asking questions about their "creative" real estate strategies, his demeanor changed and he began to become very pushing and demanding. He even went so far to criticize what progress I had achieved thus far. Don’t expect a very pleasant call from this guy if you have questions and are leery of their agency being a scam. Bottom line, they want money up front. And any hesitation on your part is met with demoralizing rhetoric. Hard sell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hostile Sales Representative

    Expecting an apprentice program, I found another Guru.

    Where does this program make all its money?

    Is it real estate deals or LARGE upfront costs?

    The difference between a mentor and a guru lies in those two questions and I found the answer.

    I would rather spend my $5000+ failing and learning from my mistakes. With that much money to play with, I will have much better success elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bunch of BS

    • By Joe,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    These guys called my phone at least 10 times before I answered and talked to them. Phil is a smart guy, and has some great info on his YouTube channel, but the people calling you? Are you serious? This guy would barely let me talk and didn't answer ANY questions. This guy was all pitch looking for a blind sheep to sell. So if you are one, then this program is for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 18, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This doesn't sound like my company representative that was calling you, at all! When someone applies to our program, we obviously call them back but if the applicant doesn't respond, we assume that they are no longer interested. Perhaps you are confusing my company with another one?


  • Don't do it!

    • By Joe,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys get you on the phone and make you think it is a prestigious program that will lead you to success. They spew the idea of leveraging your credit card to pay $15K - $25K to get into the program and then get really nasty with you when you are responsible and say credit cards and balance transfers are not smart.

    The bottom line is, if you can't get started yourself to be successful, this program won't make it so 90% of the time. I just got off the phone with a guy named Travis, who called from Freedom Mentor, and who then spent five minutes telling me that I cannot be successful without the program and that I have no common sense for not putting $15K on my credit card.

    I don't doubt Phil is a good guy, but you are paying this guy a quarter million dollars to get started! I hope this post wakes you up and gives you the courage to go do it yourself. After I had said no to this program, I went out and closed two deals, with a few others in the works. Half of that profit would have gone to a guy in Florida that I didn't know. It is scary starting by yourself, but I assure you, there are hundreds of great investors in your area that would love to help you out. I found one really easy and he has become my mentor for FREE! I urge you to do the same.

    To be honest, I would have never written a review about this program, but the phone call I got from them today really pissed me off. The nerve of this Travis guy to call me and get so angry and forceful trying to hard-line sell me and pressure me into thinking that I will fail without them was awful. Their true colors really showed, and I had to write this to hopefully save someone else the trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 18, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This review is completely inaccurate. We keep very detailed records of all of our team's correspondence with anyone applying to get into our program. This applicant, Joe from Virginia, did not have the conversations with Travis he has recounted in this review. Either Joe is confusing us with another company he has been recently corresponding with, or he is outright fabricating his account altogether.

      Here are the facts. Here is the detailed recount of all of our correspondence with Joe from Virginia:

      01/13/2017, 17:50:34 (2 minute, 20 second call): Let him know that we had received his application and Joe wanted to know a whole lot more about our program, so he was sent free access to a very detailed video course that will answer many of his questions, and then set up a follow-up call in three days.

      01/16/2017, 14:08:25 (33-second call): Joe said he hadn't reviewed the video course yet and asked for a follow-up call later in the week.

      01/21/2017, 14:00:56: Left a voicemail.

      01/23/2017, 17:52:00 (32-second call): Joe said he is was still reviewing the video course and to follow up in a couple of days.

      01/28/2017 09:10:54 (12-second call): Joe said he was driving and couldn't be on the cell phone while driving and said to call back next week.

      01/31/2017, 18:28:25 (5-second call): Joe immediately hung-up iafter picking up the phone.

      That's it. Those are the facts.

      We do not treat applicants the way Joe described. We don't pressure them in any way. In fact, it's the exact opposite. We interview them to see if they are a good fit. We turn away a very large portion of our applicants, and if they can't get it, we provide as many free trainings as we possibly can for them; from hundreds of free video trainings, to a copy of Phil's book for free, etc.

      We hope that every aspiring investor is very successful. We're not a large company so we can't possibly help the vast majority of people who want to be real estate investors. We have to be very selective of who we bring in. This Joe person obviously never even made it past round one of our interview process.

      We do not spew the idea of leveraging one's credit card into join our program. If someone doesn't have the financial wherewithal to join, we encourage them to try to earn the money through a special course that we provide for free on bird-dogging.

      We have no idea why this Joe person would write such an inaccurate account of our company, but perhaps he was corresponding with a different company at the same time he was talking to us? Maybe he was drunk? Who knows. Lastly, since this individual's account of his interactions with our company is completely incorrect, you may want to exercise extreme caution in heeding any of his other advice.


  • After almost one year, zero deals

    After letting Freedom Mentor charge my credit card with $10,000 in April 2017, start the program, receive all material and follow the instructions, today, after almost one year, I have zero deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 27, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      That's not completely accurate. He joined, he received everything that we provide, but he didn't follow ALL of our instructions. The reason why after almost 1 year, he had zero deals, was because he didn't follow ALL of our instructions. We tried and tried to get him to do the things that he was missing but he just wouldn't. You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink.


Showing 34-42 of 42

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Freedom Mentor