• 271 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Service
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 87%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Freelancers/Creatives, stay away from this website!

    • By James C.,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up on Freelancer.com to see about new job ops and there are many. This place is flooded with them. Good right? Bad! Most are scams and the other replies you get are people wanting a ton of work for bottom barrel pricing. All I got was angry people, yelling at me because I didn't design 40 UI app screens for $30, lol. It truly is a race to the bottom, free for all on this site, and over the past few months, I have actually over $300. They keep their service fee even if a client cancels the job and you don't get paid. Upwork refunds you, like honest people should! DO NOT WORK ON THIS SITE! It's a total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Ahmed H.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Everything was going fine with Freelancer until they started doing unauthorized billing. Horrible customer service. Horrible company that does extra charges on your credit card without any knowledge. The worst customer support. Using another platform now, good riddance.

    Also, we got our credit card canceled from Visa and they refused to release a new card unless we signed an understanding to never use Freelancer.com due to their high chargeback rate, they are rated highest on fraud level for credit cards. Your credit card will be flagged. Be warned!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Customer service
    • Fraudsters
    • Rip-off artists

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer support is awful

    • By M S.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Submitted two tickets to the Freelancer support team to dispute a project fee charge I was charged once I accepted a fixed price project I was not compensated for. They refused to help me resolve this issue and won't refund the fee because the employer won't answer. Clearly, Freelancer doesn't want to help freelancers and they favor the employers that are unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • CON ARTIST

    • By Tim D.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Feb 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    BEWARE! Stole all my money.

    Filed a dispute against a freelancer. I won the dispute for a full refund. Freelancer.com had advised that I had created a new milestone. I had asked why would I re-hire and create a milestone with a freelancer? I am sure they work with the freelancer to create a dispute and steal money from vulnerable customers. Looking at the threads of the same argument, think everyone agrees.

    Currently speaking to the time-wasting chat service. I know I am wasting my time but I have to do something. I have been conned. I wish I could get to these guys. Pure thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Mla D.,
    • Brighton, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Both Freelancer developers and Freelancer support are scammers. Support will never protect you if you post a job. Posted a job to modify the app code and agreed on the price. The job was never done, instead, the developer has used a link from GitHub where the application worked but my code was never modified and I was charged. Complaint was made but Freelancer support does not want to know. Remember Freelancer takes 10% of your money. Why would they protect you? Avoid them as there are much better platforms available.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience costing me over $600 USD

    • By Diana H.,
    • Lexington, KY,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wish I could rate them zero stars! Long story short, I performed over $600 USD in work for employers on Freelancer.com. When I tried to withdraw funds, Freelancer.com presented me with multiple requirements for identify verification. Although I did express myself in strong terms, I did comply with all of their requirements, sending ID, utility bill, photographs of myself holding ID and secured codes, and cell phone verification. They denied me at least 7 times, each time saying I had failed to provide the photograph. I took a second photograph and also expressed on my open ticket that although I could not remove the association with my PayPal account (else I could not receive the funds), I did withdraw any permission for them to continue to take funds from my account for their fees. They responded by "unregistering" my account. (I kept screenshots showing my account, including transaction history and PayPal verification - I had read that others had their accounts deleted during "Freelancer verification".)

    My research turned up numerous reviews with stories just like mine - I should have gone with my gut, but I chose to give them the benefit of the doubt. I hope this review will help prevent others from a similarly costly experience. Thankfully, I believe in justice in the end - those who steal from others will receive their due.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete fraud

    • By Kyle D.,
    • California,
    • Jan 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi. Freelancer says you get a free month but immediately takes a deposit from your credit card of $26ish. Then fraudulent individuals offer you projects and if you accept, Freelancer takes a fee from those projects even if they were fraudulent and they never contacted you with a scope of work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They stole my $750 of winnings.

    • By Andrew K.,
    • Poland,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've won a $750 design contest among 150 freelancers. I signed the agreement, transferred my design to the contest holder and got the payment. I had to wait a few days to withdraw it. But it never happened. Freelancer.com decided to block the contest holder and after that, they charged my winnings back - the money I already had on my account. Support confirmed it had been done due to security reasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rain of hidden fees

    • By Mitch A.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please note, Freelancer.com is very shady, everything goes well until later, when you check your card, and you have several small fees charged. I hired one graphic designer for 1 project at $75 and was charged several "processing fees" summing for more than 10% of the project...I email them, has been days and no one answers me...ultimately I will wait another week for an answer and will dispute with my card...DECEIVING COMPANY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Illegal employers who are employees

    • By Justice W.,
    • Online,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Any portal is neither good/bad. Freelancer must change the payment policy to pay first and then steal the time or work of freelancers. Freelancers are running the world and employees are not skilled and throwing the experts out of the company with politics. So many employees cheat by trying to hire a freelancer to do their job and have the guts to not pay even if the freelancers gave the results. Stupid employees get credit for the work done by other experts. Highly evil platform encourages evil to rule by not letting the freelancers be paid first. Are the employees not paid first even if they do not show results? The rates are too cheap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dispute resolution is a joke

    • By Jamie E.,
    • New York,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contracted a freelancer at the beginning of 2019 to help me build my current website on a different platform. We agreed on a 2-step process with payment after step one and the remaining payment upon full completion.

    I paid my freelancer $500 for step one and he went dark on me. He would pop in and give me excuses why he hadn't completed step two (holiday, his dad died, sick, etc). He would say he would show me the finished product and then immediately go dark on me. This has gone on for months. I finally simply asked him for the admin login to the site so I could assess what needed to be completed and do it myself or hire someone else to do it. He has not responded to several of my requests to do so. So, I've paid $500 for a site that I have zero access to and a freelancer who is refusing to either finish it or provide me logins so I can do so myself.

    After months of this, I finally contacted Freelancer to help resolve the issue so I can get what I paid for. My freelancer reached out to me after the company contacted him and told me he would show me my site "when I reach home". That was almost a week ago and that was the last I heard from him.

    Freelancer, the company, has basically told me there isn't anything they can do except reach out to him when they can see from my extensive chat logs that this freelancer ran, and is continuing to run, a scam on me. Yet this freelancer is still on the platform available for hire. The company is complicit in the scam and since everyone got their money, they are absolving themselves of not only their own culpability in the issue, but allowing others to be set up by the same scam by this freelancer. It's evident they don't care about resolving the issue to my satisfaction and they certainly have no plans on refunding me. I've spent thousands of dollars on Freelancer.com the last couple of years with 100% positive feedback and this is my first dispute. My record should speak for itself but retaining a scammer as a freelancer seems to take priority over retaining a good and consistent client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraud. They just want your money and would block you.

    • By Prakhar T.,
    • USA,
    • Sep 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a totally fraud website. They do not return your own money back. They blocked my account and would not return my money. They say they need identity documents to return the money to the card on which it was charged. I want to take them to court.

    This was simply mental harassment. Never use that website again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away

    • By Paula A.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I know the project fee needs to be taken out but after I have complained that the employers were just scammers, it took them so long to give my project fee money back. They won't care about you because they already have their money regardless if the people who hired you were legitimate or not. This is the second time they have done this. The first time was a charge for a canceled membership, a membership fee I canceled a month before said charge. Never again will I return to this freelancing company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam site! Stay away!

    Overall Experience:

    I was scammed by Freelancer and I would urge everyone to not allow themselves to be scammed by this site! There are so many better sites and better ways to get work or hire people. The only objective of Freelancer.com is to close accounts without notice and confiscate all the money. On being emailed, a robot would reply back repeating a standard TOS violation email. This is by far the worst scam I have experienced in my lifetime and trust me, I am old enough to have seen quite a bit of life!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Maybe scams, maybe carelessness and lack of experience

    • By Javier V.,
    • Buenos Aires, Argentina,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm new to Freelancer.com so I can't tell much about the site yet. After a long validation process almost to enter Fort Knox, I received 2 very suspicious work proposals and rejected it immediately. I have not run for work yet, I have only participated in some competition without luck so far. I believe that in this platform the responsibility for defects is shared, it is true that given so many requirements to be able to validate an account it should not be possible for the platform not to be responsible for the fraud carried out by those who do not pay for a job. I can also see so far that, many people fall for the idea that something cheap is good, big mistake, nobody will do a good job for 10% of the market price, you just need to see their portfolios and you will see that you cannot do what they promise. Personally I do 3D renderings, I think I'm pretty good at it, and I think that only 5% of those who do this work there really have an idea of ​​what it is to make a good render. Freelancer is not only a platform with many flaws, it is also a nest of violators of rules and copyright. I have grown tired of seeing profiles with stolen works, and they are not ashamed to steal from unknown people, they use works by famous 3D artists or digital artists claiming they are theirs. Now I only see participating in some interesting competition if it is a company that I can verify that it really exists, has a website or a physical address.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer service

    • By Liluy T.,
    • London, England,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I chose a freelancer and now wanted some advice on them, the payment security, etc. from the website customer services, as offered by them. An agent, with her name, appeared in the chat and asked me how she could help me. I wrote down the questions and she never replied, yet saw it. It was shocking. I had never experienced a company this unprofessional.

    A few days later, I tried again - another person asked how she could help me. I wrote the questions, she never replied. A week on, it has been impossible to validate anything or engage in conversation with a Freelancer agent/customer worker.

    Freelancers pay a lot of money to them each month yet many clients will not engage with them with larger sums of money if there is no Freelancer validation and customer services. It is disgusting behavior.

    Crooks flourish because Freelancer is not doing its job properly, otherwise, it would be a great website. It is a shame that genuine freelancers are affected by this as employers will not take huge risks if there is no validation by the website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service

    • By John H.,
    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hired a project manager, which was a joke. He was just picking random guys that have done several jobs but none in my category. You get several people that are under bidding and incompetent. My most recent project I hired someone on June 3rd and he quoted 7 days, then 14 days, then needed another 14 and doubled the budget. Still not done and it's July 22nd. He just wanted to raise the budget again! I'm going to try Upwork, using Freelancer is money and time wasted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Is this company even legal?

    • By Harris K.,
    • Istanbul, Turkey,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What an absolutely horrible experience! I own an e-commerce company based in Istanbul, Turkey. We needed some changes in our Shopify website so I hired a freelancer on Freelancer.com, I deposited some funds for a milestone payment and within 24 hours it got canceled by itself and I had to create the milestone again which means I paid the commission TWICE!

    I let it go since it was only a few bucks, when I deposited the funds again since the project took a little longer than expected, Freelancer.com wants me to authenticate my credit card for a "small charge" (what the...?). I seriously could not get my head around this total scam so I skipped and lo and behold, I must now verify my account by keeping a number given by Freelancer.com next to my ID card or the freelancer I hired won't get paid! Absolutely pathetic.

    I have been making online payments for over 10 years and this is the first time I have been asked to put my freaking ID card next to my face, right next to the number given by stupid website. Unbelievable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This company is dishonest

    • By Sergey S.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Communicating with potential freelancers on this website is very awkward due to horrible interface design. Anyway, I contracted a freelancer on Freelancer.com to make my site audit and deposited the requested amount of money. Instead of the audit, the freelancer gave me a recommendation totally unrelated to my job description - to use social media ads. I requested to cancel my contract and refund me. Approximately 10 days later I received an email from freelancer requesting more funds to continue reviewing the dispute.

    My advice - stay away from this company. This is a scam. Use their competition, like Upwork.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware, projects looking for cheap not good solutions and SCAMs

    • By Simon M.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I created a profile and looked through the projects, bid on one that was one of the few that had decent rates. There are MANY SCAM projects listed, such as people wanting someone to submit 200 Facebook posts per week from different accounts. Another wanted 100 inbound SEO referrals to his site.

    I was immediately contacted by the poster of the project, turned out he wanted custom development of an Agile solution for $800 US which is a joke, rather than what was listed as setting up/configuring a cloud-based agile platform to match client's workflow. Even QA time for a custom app at low prices would be $400+ US.

    To reiterate the vast majority of projects are looking for CHEAP solution providers, ridiculous expectations, and SCAM projects.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good freelancers

    • By Meg J.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a good experience hiring an art freelancer. The site is very easy to use and helpful and I would recommend it to others. The only issue was that freelancer's background did not meet my qualifications.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time and money

    • By David C.,
    • Germany,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an account on Freelancer and even applied to some of their contests as a freelancer. When I started to try to do the verification of my identity and address with the exact required documents for this purpose I start to receive emails to do the verification again.

    After several attempts and complaints, I was asked in one of their responses to my complaints why I was getting access to my account from different places.

    I am a digital nomad, a term established in the digital market should know. I travel a lot but with official residency in Germany.

    I feel treated like a criminal but I'm the one who was robbed since I paid monthly fees for a couple of times.

    This is nothing but a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer

    • By Antony G.,
    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told I had one day to choose a winner, that's ok - there was NO PHYSICAL WAY to choose a winner, so I contacted them (no phone just email). They got back to me after the event (two days) and said it had been closed and I had lost my money - that's it. Never ever use these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Youri B.,
    • New York,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible company. I will never use again after too many horrible experiences. It is impossible to confirm the account. Use other platforms. Their customer service is just outrageously bad. They treat you like a criminal. It is completely absurd to have to go through so many hoops to confirm an account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lots of garbage and scams, not worth it

    • By Dan S.,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried this as a freelancer and have a history of good work on other sites.

    I had four people respond to bids, two were clear scams, and one was a condescending jerk who wanted the world for a few dollars and lectured me until I blocked him on loyalty (for $5.00) and how he knew how to weed out bad freelancers.

    The one bid that I actually did work for seemed legit, a few minutes of work a day for a modest sum after a month. Ten days in, he says I am doing a good job and wants to give me two more projects. Sounds good, but it actually ends up that he expects me to do three times the work, longer than expected for the same price on the same bid. This was of course bait and switch and I did not do this.

    At that point, I closed my account out. There are better sites than this scam factory out there if you need help getting freelance work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Illegally refusing to allow withdrawals

    • By Vincent G.,
    • Singapore,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not deposit or wire funds with Freelancer. When projects are undelivered, they do not care and do not respond to feedback. When you try to withdraw your remaining funds that are left unused (because the project needs to be forfeited), they will find ways to stop you from withdrawing your money. They will wait for weeks before asking you for obsolete details such as a bank statement from a few years ago even though you have proof of other or more recent deposits wired using the same account. They simply have no intention of paying your money back. It’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancers.com is a scam

    • By Vlad O.,
    • Kiev, Ukraine,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It appears that if not all, the vast majority of the "job posts" are scam or fake accounts. Freelancer.com business is to rip the freelancers on "paid services," not on the project commissions (since there are very little genuine projects).

    Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 271

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freelancer.com Reviews