About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

288 Consumer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 9 1 star:  251
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 288
Sort reviews by:

  • Just terrible. Period!

    • Kraljevo, Serbia,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't want to bother the readers with all the details, but basically, as soon as you ACCEPT the project, you're immediately charged a fee of 10% of the project bid amount, regardless of whether the employer even verified their payment method!

    The worst circumstance of that is the fact that if something happens with the project, and you and your client mutually agree to cancel it, you can do it; however, the initial project fee the site took will NOT BE REFUNDED. It makes no sense, and it is absolutely cruel to freelancers.

    Let alone the fact that the clients can basically receive the finished product and simply decide to cancel the project with imaginary reasons, the site will NEVER support the freelancer/worker in case of any dispute.

    Because of the above-mentioned reasons, which basically kill any probability of Freelancer.com growing into a BETTER marketplace, my mark is 1 star, and if I could, I would rate it -10.

    Thank you for reading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Paid Freelancer.com $362 US, 3 months later nothing

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I posted a request to load my content on a Real Estate website theme from theme forest. I received several counter offers from Freelancer to complete my job within 10 days. I accepted one from Pratiksha Sharma at Wave. Pratiksha and I exchanged many good conversations and emails, but all I got was promises to work on the site. This went on for three months. The site says it is risk-free, but this is not true. I lost $362.00 in deposits. I protested my credit card but too much time had passed. I think it's a scam site as no work was completed, and "risk-free" is part of the lure to make you feel safe. This took place May through September 2018.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No protection for freelancers from scamming clients.

    • Jasper, FL,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been hired by a lot of clients, but two of them stand out very much. I was hired by them to do article assignments. I showed all the work before they marked the project complete and then paid me. Once I was paid, I was then blocked by the clients. The next day I have a payment reversal from said clients. They stole my work and passed it off as their own, and I have no way to write Freelancer and get them to see how I was done. Freelancer has NO protection for their freelancers about this kind of situation. For them, the client is ALWAYS right and us hard working employees are just there to make the clients happy. I've always written in the report a project on both of these several times because a client left a bad review but yet in messaging said the work was great and he wanted to rehire me. Once I saw his review, of course, I refused working further with him.

    My point is, if we the freelancers have no protection from scamming clients then we are all at risk of doing work and then our pay being reversed, and there is nothing Freelancer.com will do about it. It is sad that a website that claims to be a leading employment site has no insurance for said employees. In my opinion, Freelancer.com should be investigated or either have some type of "contact us" form for when employees have been wronged. Without us, there are NO freelancers to work for the site.

    I am very disappointed about the way the site is run. There are many fake projects posted that are usually foreigners wanting sexting or other adult entertainment. Clients hiring people should have rules they follow. For instance, if they look the work over and then pay the freelancer for the work, it should NOT be allowed to be reversed at all. The client is only accepting the work as complete because it met their standards for the said project. Disgraceful really how freelancers are done on that site. I do NOT recommend it to anyone. If you can get a place on Upwork that would be a lot better as freelancers are usually paid promptly, and I never had a person reverse a payment of mine on Upwork.

    Thank you for reading, and best of luck if you do wish to work on Freelancer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Okay - but not very productive for freelancers

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the platform for about a year. Actually putting some details into my bids yet have never received a followup response from job posters. Lots of international competition, likely pushing salaries to the floor as with the other platforms in this space. Lots of spam jobs posted as well; some clearly requesting a solution be explained before they even choose to meet, which can be copied immediately instead of hired. Most projects seem to be website development; I have this space, but not interested. Lots of duplicates.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • You don't have control of violating their policy

    • Haryana, India,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Many people are saying you don't violate Freelancer policy, but you don't have control over this.

    When some fraud employer give you work and sends you partial money, and after your work, he will do some violation of Freelancer so that his account gets deleted and the partial money you received gets reversed.

    Their support will say your employer has violated their policy and you can contact the employer directly. How can we contact directly? Why is Freelancer for?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazed this Business Can Exist

    • Texas,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Came here with a project and experienced the worst customer service I've ever had - that is saying a lot this day and age.

    They won't let you hold an interview with the people you consider hiring.

    They won't accommodate your service requirements.

    They'll cancel your account if you violate one of their terms indefinitely. Set aside a few hours to study the website if you even consider using their service. Read the terms and agreements thoroughly if you want to get on your knees and be graced by their service.

    Make sure your computer security is at the highest level so you don't get scammed by the picture and text you hire.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The entire site is now utter garbage

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Years ago it was one of the sites I used regularly as a freelancer. I had received tons of good reviews, high standing, and I got paid through it regularly with no problems.

    Recently I decided to pick up some freelance work in my spare time, so I gave them another try. At first, everything was as I remembered - sure, 99.9% of it is idiots asking for labor cheaper than it would cost to keep slaves or freelancers blatantly lying about their skill set, but if you know how to look, you can get connected.

    BUT...

    Once you pick up work, that's where the crap hits the fan. Despite having in the past done tons of transactions, they forced me to go through this ridiculous and completely unnecessary (for anyone who knows anything about security) process for getting your funds out.

    Call me crazy, but I suspect they're data mining and it has nothing to do with security.

    There were WAY more fees than I ever remember. They took a huge chunk of my money.

    Then, get this, even after you give them all the info anyone would need to completely steal your identity, they make you wait 15 days to get your money unless you "upgrade."

    Seriously, forget you, Freelancer, give me my money so I can close my account and never use you again, please.

    Anyway. If you are a freelancer, DO NOT USE THIS SITE. There is a very high likelihood you will never be able to get your money out. I can see tons of people not able to go through their "this is how you steal someone's identity" security process.

    And frankly, I won't be shocked at all if they figure out some reason to not release the money I earned.

    Keep in mind, this is work completed, released by the client and which the client loved. That's the money Freelancer is trying not to pay me, and every freelancer I imagine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Site is a scam

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is nothing but a scam. This was the biggest waste of money and time. I went to the site looking for names and logos for a new website I was building. I got nothing but useless and dumb names. Something that could be done on 8th-grade level. When I complained to the company that out of nearly 2000 submissions of ideas that none were nearly suitable for what my company was looking for. That I still would have to give the money to someone even though they did not give me a name or logo worth using.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Account blocked

    • Germany,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday on Freelancer.com after a long brainstorming, I hired a programmer and created a milestone for $150. Today morning I had an email saying thank you, here is "receipt for deposits on freelancer," and after 3 hours, I wanted to log in to say hello to my programmer, but it was not possible. I was blocked. I couldn't believe it. I wanted to know what the problem is. After 3-4 hours, they answered, "you violated the rules." I am shocked because I am not aware of violating rules. I don't know, maybe it's a misunderstanding or maybe they confused me with somebody...suddenly in the middle of the project, you get blocked.

    1. I don't know what the programmer is doing, I can't log in to write to him to stop.

    2. I don't know what's gonna happen with $150.

    3. I don't know when I get an answer that I wanted to know which rules I violated..."thank you for your message, it can take 48 hours." Now I am in the middle of nowhere.

    An unreliable way of working. I learned something new...thank you for teaching me this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE - website is a scam with poor quality freelancers

    • Australia,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not post your jobs here, you are better of using UpWork or some other freelancer website. All the bids freelancer posts are fake. After posting a project, so many of the freelancers were unable to actually complete the job despite accepting the job in the first place.

    A massive waste of time. The freelancer I finally awarded the job to wasted two months and delivered nothing. After constantly chasing and giving pointers on what to do, they were still unable to deliver.

    Upon trying to cancel the project to get a refund. Freelancer.com prevents you from doing this. It's virtually impossible to get your money back, so if you sink thousands in a project, you could be left with absolutely nothing.

    Never EVER use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Too many scams and cam girl offers!

    • New Hampshire,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found what I had thought to be was a freelance position working as the operator of an online art gallery and turned out to be an online scam that cost me $2500 out of pocket. I am a struggling college student who doesn't have that kind of money, but it was taken out of my bank account. I did not share the bank information, but a returned check from this company has destroyed me. Freelancer.com does nothing to vet businesses, protect freelancers, or create an acceptable exchange for business ventures. I would absolutely not recommend this site, at all. It is horrible and should be shut down. Most of this site is also cam girl offers, which is not a freelance position. There are no vetting or community managers at all and reporting someone does nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 288

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review