About Freelancer.com

By HighYa Staff

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 304 Freelancer.com Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 9 1 star:  267
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 304
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lots of garbage and scams, not worth it

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this as a freelancer and have a history of good work on other sites.

    I had four people respond to bids, two were clear scams, and one was a condescending jerk who wanted the world for a few dollars and lectured me until I blocked him on loyalty (for $5.00) and how he knew how to weed out bad freelancers.

    The one bid that I actually did work for seemed legit, a few minutes of work a day for a modest sum after a month. Ten days in, he says I am doing a good job and wants to give me two more projects. Sounds good, but it actually ends up that he expects me to do three times the work, longer than expected for the same price on the same bid. This was of course bait and switch and I did not do this.

    At that point, I closed my account out. There are better sites than this scam factory out there if you need help getting freelance work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Illegally refusing to allow withdrawals

    • Singapore,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not deposit or wire funds with Freelancer. When projects are undelivered, they do not care and do not respond to feedback. When you try to withdraw your remaining funds that are left unused (because the project needs to be forfeited), they will find ways to stop you from withdrawing your money. They will wait for weeks before asking you for obsolete details such as a bank statement from a few years ago even though you have proof of other or more recent deposits wired using the same account. They simply have no intention of paying your money back. It’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Freelancers.com is a scam

    • Kiev, Ukraine,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It appears that if not all, the vast majority of the "job posts" are scam or fake accounts. Freelancer.com business is to rip the freelancers on "paid services," not on the project commissions (since there are very little genuine projects).

    Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer.com is a scam

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Avoid because:

    - Filled with scammers.

    - Freelancer.com is self-serving and offers no protection.

    - You'll be competing with ridiculously low bids within hundreds of questionable proposals.

    The site is filled with fake posts and defrauders. If you are lucky enough to find a real bid and win it, the service takes 10% of the total payout immediately. They do this regardless of whether or not the proposal "poster" has verified their payment method. So, if for some reason the project changes or cannot be done for technical reasons, limitation or lack of proper credentials, you've actually lost money because they'll charge your credit card directly for that. THEY will assuredly get their money. You can cancel a bid, but you only get your money back if that is done within several hours (24 or 48 hours). Win a bid on a Friday night, and you're screwed.

    Most of the bids are ridiculous; they want to moon for under $x where x is absurdly low.

    You can try to build up your "street cred" by doing their various $5 tests. But even there, you are competing with people that somehow managed to complete a 30 question quiz in less than 1 minute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Ruidoso, NM,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't waste your time or money on this scam of a service. After posting a job I received numerous bids from so-called "freelancers" all over the world claiming they could provide the development I required for the price that I needed. After contacting a couple of the "freelancers" and having detailed conversations for several days, the "freelancers" would disappear and stop talking to me. This put my project on hold as I attempted several times to re-connect. I expressed my frustration with the online "recruiter" that works for Freelancer.com and I was told that they have millions of "freelancers" and it is hard to police them all.

    Obviously Freelancer.com is concerned with 1) trying to get as much money out of you for shoddy service, and 2) quantity of "freelancers" over quality of "freelancers." The good news is I used Fiverr.com and found the developers I needed in order to start my project. The freelancers on Fiverr.com AND Fiverr.com are getting my money, not Freelancer.com. I DO NOT recommend Freelancer.com! Don't say you weren't warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Basically got robbed! Freelancer sucks, I changed networks.

    • Arkansas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst customer support ever, a programmer they recommend created an animation, sent me a video...and demanded money. After paying he demanded a 5-star rating before I could get the source code. Finally, after 5 days of demanding, he sent me a code with no updates. And an animation. Freelancer has done nothing. I sent a dispute, it's been days, not a "we are working on it," not a refund (minus there fee of course), no, nothing. I just got ROBBED and Freelancer let it happen!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not work for this scam company

    • California,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company offers no protections for freelancers. I worked for hours on a project only to be told that my employer hadn't set up automatic billing, so I wouldn't be getting paid AT ALL. Their solution was to email him twice, hoping he would decide to pay me. I just lost all the money I earned. No other options. No fallbacks. Just out money. They do not care at all about their freelancers. Everything is geared toward protecting employers. The guy who swindled me? His account is still active and unaffected.

    This site is WORSE than just freelancing on your own!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Insanely poor service

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fraudulent, they took back money twice from completed projects I had following a verbal altercation with customer service (the problem was I paid for 50 bids to enter projects, but they took out the 8 free monthly bids that I had already used). Then the day after I had $85 US missing. They took money from my account stating they had a problem with the projects holders (Even if they were done 8 months ago). Tried to solve it, they just shut me down and there's no way to contact them now. Also, at LEAST half of the projects are fraudulent, people only there to ask your info on another platform (that tells me they're atrociously lacking security). I strongly recommend using other sites, surely not that crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A legitimate published author with 30 years experience

    • Florida,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, let me qualify myself by sharing that I'm a fulltime freelancer and that I use other sites and have extraordinary results. I am a top provider with hundreds of satisfied clients around the globe, so I speak from experience.

    I found Freelancer.com to be entirely useless, ineffectual, and a total waste of time. When I closed my account, these gypsies continued to bill my PayPal and help themselves to MY MONEY; and they had the gall to act clueless for a MONTH as I endured a half-dozen back and forth email exchanges. As I tried to get these brainless airheads to return the money they took from me, I got the feeling that they may be trained to drag out the return/credit process as long as possible in order to hold onto the funds. Basically, Freelancer.com, from my perspective, offers ZILCH value for a legitimate fulltime freelancer. The site is antiquated, unsophisticated, and very unprofessional; and from my experience, I have no trust or faith in Freelancer.com. (Also, take note of others' complaints that the site holds onto freelancers' money for a long time before remitting it. Had I seen THAT before, I'd have never bothered to explore the site, in the first place.)

    It's just my opinion, but I suspect that we'll see this site will fall on its face and go away before long. There's no way such a poorly-run, unprofessional, desperate business can sustain itself - especially when it doesn't garner trust in the marketplace!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Finding freelancers on this platform has brought about much pain

    • Singapore,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Customer support got to a point of being ridiculous. Having to explain the situation to seven different staff (Stanley, Bailey, Oscar, Phoebe, Dana, Jessica, Eric) regarding the same issue, worse still there is no internal communications between them. How in the world do they expect to solve anything when it needs to get repeated at each stage?

    Context: I was extremely dissatisfied with the work of a freelancer I engaged (being overpromised that she could deliver everything smoothly), thus filed to void the contract with her since funds were not released. She disputed, I raised it to arbitration where it ruled in my favor. Following that, she has and still is constantly raising complaint tickets against me out of spite, pointing out I'm still using her work despite messing everything up.

    Whatever she messed up, I had already gotten my current developer to fix them, so that is in no way her work. For the minute few design details, of course, I have to keep it on!

    Look at it this way, if she had messed those up as well, my developer could have easily change those too, and the difference would be clear. But my briefs to her would have been the same regardless of who, and they'd still do the same in the end. I need my website to look like how I intended don't I?! I can't possibly change my design just because a previous developer is throwing a hissy fit, right?

    So despite explaining these to the seven different staff and numerous email trails, Jessica finally closed off the ticket, apologizing for the numerous follow-ups and showing her understanding of the situation. THE NEXT DAY, Eric sent another email raising another complaint email about the developer, saying I'm still using her work.

    Are you guys serious now?

    Do you guys even check the history of the issue, check the validity of the complaints, check between your team before harassing the employers on there. This will be the last project I'm engaging Freelancer with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to use this site for receiving a single payment since the company I was freelancing for couldn't add me as a contractor.

    Besides the worst UX experience and most complicated payment system I have ever seen, they also took 10% of the payments and I had to jump through a bunch of insane hoops, like taking photos of myself with my ID and a code, just to get my account approved to get paid. After all that crap, they are also holding the payment for two weeks.

    Using this site was a huge mistake. I understand most of the people using it are freelancers from third world countries, trying to compete for small projects. I have no experience there, but the fact this site charges nutty fees for these people to receive work is straight up criminal. Absolutely terrible. Definitely a mistake I won't make again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 304

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review