About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

255 Consumer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 8 1 star:  223
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 255
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    BS site

    • Winnipeg, MA,
    • Mar 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is true, as I have observed this myself. For almost every project I've made a bid on, the employers NEVER ACTUALLY HIRE ANYONE. That's right, this is at least 90% of the employers who seem to be in need of service, but then totally neglect it and let the projects rot forever.

    All this time, I thought I just wasn't qualified. It turned out nobody was. Because the employers never hired anyone to begin with. I've wasted good money taking measures to stand out among the many other candidates; spotlighting my bid, highlighting my bid, providing what's equivalent to a cover letter in perfect English, all to no avail.

    If you didn't need any help to begin with, then why the heck would you bother posting a job opening about it? Such perfect logic, no?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 2, 2018

      Cha

      Yes, she is right. I had the same bad experience. There are repeatedly posting scam projects, and simply waste freelancers time. No one is even interviewed. BEWARE NOT TO WASTE YOUR TIME.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    They never responded to my emails and they blocked me from using their services. I advise no one to use this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Mar 11, 2018

    Stole money out of my account

    I remember signing up for Freelancer in 2009, but now it has become a joke. Recently they stole money out of my PayPal account without my authorization. I mean, who does that? This was on Monday and today is Friday and they still haven’t given it back yet. As soon as this is all over, I’m going to Upwork.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A nightmare for users.

    • Port Richey, FL,
    • Mar 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been on the service for YEARS and my entire time with the service has taught me a valuable lesson. For starters, job posters are usually scammers, the people applying are also scammers, and Freelancer makes no attempt to deal with any of the issues. The next being that it constantly nickel and dimes you for even the smallest $5 charges, and when a mistake arises, which happens very often, the support is never helpful, and they are not responsible for any of their own actions. Make sure to review the terms here; you may be equally horrified:

    https://www.freelancer.com/about/terms.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay far away, scammers!

    I was looking for someone to professionally photoshop a photo for me and came across Freelancer. It seemed like an easy way to find the right person to do the job. I put in my budget of $25 and described what I wanted done. Right away I received many potential bidders that wanted to do the work. I chose one that had good reviews and would do the work for $20. He showed me a protocol of what he did, and I liked it. I had to pay through Freelancer, so I set up a "milestone" of $13.60. I have no idea why that amount was selected, but it seems like a fair price, so I gave my name and PayPal info.

    Then he comes back and says now he wants $40 for the photo. I said to forget it and wanted a refund. Freelancer said they put the money in my "freelancer account," which I never requested, and to have the money put back in my PayPal account, I would have to make a special request that could take up to 45 days (now I am getting really super mad). Good thing I got notices from PayPal, after that they charged another $3.32 and then another $40.22 without my authorization all within about 15 minutes! All these were weird amounts, so I right away contacted PayPal and told them these charges were not authorized by me. I think PayPal knows about this scam company and has dealt with them before because they were blocked immediately and by the following morning I had all my money back.

    Please do not use them; they are scammers of the worse kind!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Small businesses, don't use Freelancer.com

    • Dubai, United Arab Emirates,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their system is set up in a way that makes it vulnerable to scammers. Freelancers can bid for projects, win/accept, you pay, then they do not do anything and strong-arm money from you just to get your project freed up to assign to someone who really wants to work or get your money back. Otherwise, you have to set up another project, pay another set of fees/deposits. Then, if you're lucky enough to get anything back in the first, it's just a deposit. The worst part is that you can only review them if the project is completed, so people with good ratings may have only done a few projects to get a rating, then do this to scam.

    For a first timer trying it out, I was NOT impressed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Takes money of your PayPal account

    • Moscow, Russia,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It simply scams you and tricks you into paying fees. Small fees, hidden fees and unclear situations where you get tricked.

    Just stay away from this site. There are many other useful sites that do a better job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam site

    They rejected all the credentials I provided simply because it wasn't in English and because my government only produces national ID's in Arabic, so I'm restricted from withdrawing/transferring my money, OR even talking to support. Plus they don't respond to my emails or messages on any social media account. After a couple of weeks, they'll suspend the account for not providing the info they need in English (because my country doesn't have ID's in English) and I will lose my cash inside.

    Get your job done on any other site for your own sake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Closed my account

    Freelancer closed my 3-year-old account without any notice.

    When I contacted the support team, they said that I did not violate any policy with my account, but I violated a policy with my old account in 2015. The reason my old account was closed in 2015 was that I logged in from my brother's computer and he also had an account on Freelancer. They can't punish me twice for a policy that I never violated.

    Once Freelancer also double-charged my client and caused issues between me and my client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I have come to the conclusion that Freelancer.com is a scam.

    I have had several projects utilizing Freelancer.com. All but two have resulted in online spats, fights and near loss of my money. I have come to the conclusion that Freelancer.com is a scam. It is where the scammers hang out as freelancers. They bid on a project they cannot produce. Then they try to extort the money in escrow through lies if you file a dispute. They are the misfits of programmers. They believe they know something but end up only enough to cause a whole lot of problem. From performing WP work on a working live site and not a backup to providing design work only 10% complete and wanting to be paid for it under a milestone. They will try to get you to authorize the release of a milestone just to get keep feeding you enough BS to try to get more.

    Who am I? I am an IT Manager of 25 years but need help once in awhile with my business websites. I simply can't know everything nor do I have the time, so I have reached out to Freelancer.com over the years.

    AVOID the site. It is a scam. If you end up needing support, you get nothing but a run around if you can get through to anyone at all. Freelancer.com is toxic and filled with foreign scammers. Oh, and if a freelancer doesn't get your project be ready for hack attacks, phone calls and spam emails to the tune of hundreds daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst site to work on

    • USA,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's time to move on from Freelancer.com and look for better platforms like Upwork or Guru to hunt projects. Freelancer is getting worse day by day. They are employer-centric and are biased towards them.

    Clients be aware, they only bother to get fees and no support after that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer discourages more experienced talent

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Freelancer.com is a site more for entry-level freelancers and employers seeking bargains, than for experienced freelancers. I say that for 2 reasons:

    First, this is because an experienced person is barred from bidding on anything over $1000; and bids for many jobs are priced absurdly low. The system for more serious jobs (i.e., jobs where the employer is looking for appropriately priced talent, not just a cheap bargain), requires bidders to have done a certain minimum of jobs, but to have done that, the bidder must compete with people bidding $50 or $100 for a job that should be thousands. And these are not just people from countries where you'd anticipate low bids.

    Second, in even tests such as for English proficiency, this site's focus is on their own money-making opps (understandable, but still offensive) by requiring, for example, a university professor to take levels 1, 2, 3 and so on - at increasingly higher dollar costs for each - instead of just jumping to the highest level and being done with it. PLUS, after taking levels 1 and 2, I saw there were errors in some questions!

    Those are the 2 reasons I feel Freelancer is not as serious a site as Upwork.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 255

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review