About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

273 Consumer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 8 1 star:  241
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 273
Sort reviews by:

  • Freelancer will not pay me

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bid on a project to review a site on my own blog. I originally bid at $188, but agreed with the project owner to do it for $40. I completed the posts, and the project owner was happy and paid $40. In my Freelancer account, only $21.20 appeared. Without any notice I could find, Freelancer took $18.80 of my $40 fee.

    When I tried to withdraw the $21.20, I got a message saying the minimum I could withdraw was $30.

    After numerous attempts to reach Customer Service, the answers I received were useless. They merely ended up stating to me that I had to have a minimum of $30 in the account, and that I could bid for more jobs, to get to $30, so I could withdraw the paltry $20.

    No explanation for why they took out so much.

    As I told them, I will not bid for any more jobs. Many are only $1-3. It would take me months, if I won the bids, to work up a $30 minimum.

    Against Federal law, they won't give me my money. I also believe they exploit people from other countries, especially those trying to bid from Africa and the Middle East. Taking almost half of the writer's fee is ridiculous

    Stay away from them and live and learn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I got hacked by a Freelancer from India

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Freelancer got a hold of my account, logged in, paid himself and closed my user. Then he tried hacking into my email and Facebook account. I created a new account with Freelancer to report this fraud. They did nothing. They didn't care, communication was horrible, i.e., no number to call, chat take so much time to get an agent and you can go hours and hours without anyone responding to your support ticket. Eventually, I called my bank and disputed the charges. Never again I will use this platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer.com difficulty canceling project

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware of the bids you receive and demand quality of work before awarding any project! If I could give this website zero stars, I would. Freelancers would bid on a job I posted and then when I would communicate with them, they told me they were unable to do the job. My question is, then why bid the job? Many were unqualified.

    The freelancer I finally awarded the job to was not able to deliver a quality, professional looking magazine that I was looking for, even after me giving them the original source file that I was looking for. The design looked like a beginner did it. They basically took my word document and imported it into whatever program they were using and made a few simple, basic additions to it. They did not follow the look and feel of the previous edition and did not even match our brand. I did pay one milestone in good faith, and the freelancer harassed me continuously.

    I would avoid them. I have had better luck with Upwork and Fiverr, which I use all the time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No one sticks to their bid!

    I wanted to offload some work and I put a VERY SMALL task, not complicated and straight to the point. I go a few dozens "bids" as they like to call them. I call them flat lies! Basically EVERY person I talked to immediately raised their prices by 3 to 6 times the bid WITHOUT adding or modifying the job description!

    Basically, the "bid" means nothing! It is a just a way for many of these independent contractors to get your attention to start a chat. Then you find out their real price, and you have just wasted your time. I get it may change, and that the person asking for the job may not understand the full work required! In this case, there is no doubt the people bidding new what it would take and is basically LYING to get you to chat with them first!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not put your credit or debit card in Freelancer.com

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Freelancer.com to find graphic designer several times over the past three years. The worldwide talent is spectacular. But every single time I wanted to pay the designers, Freelancer.com processed my card more than once.

    At first, I thought it was just a rare mistake. But it took a long time and much effort to get any refund. I was impressed with the freelancers for hire, so I returned to hire freelancers for another project. Once again, Freelancer.com double-charged my card. When I notified them, they initially denied it. I uploaded a pic of my bank statement showing the double charge. The representative then told me to "just have my bank cancel the second charge." What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    "Guarantee" and running contests without my permission.

    • Indiana,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ran a competition, decided to quit the competition because I couldn't find one original design that fit with what I needed. I contacted the site, only to find that they'd started the second competition without my permission. When I stated that I was no longer interested in having the competition or starting a new one, it took several emails to get a response. After about one week they closed the competition and put the money in my "account" which made no sense. So then I had to "request" a withdrawal, and wait almost a month from creating the competition to get my $200 back. Just a huge headache, all I wanted was to find a legit designer who could create some designs for us regularly. I found that my time was better sent just messaging designers I had already "vetted" as legit designers on Dribble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Never had more frustration

    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is a scam. If you are making a project and want to delete it, it's $5. If you're a freelancer they will take 20%. If you are a freelancer and start a job and the project creators account breaks the terms of use you, and the freelancer will NOT get paid.

    Half the job postings on this site provide very little information so I went and asked for more information, and my account was banned for a month bidding on jobs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Illegal terms and conditions

    • Buenos Aires, Argentina,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a really bad experience with this website. I was hired for a project, the employer released the funds, everything OK so far. Then I requested to have the funds sent to my bank account, which takes some days to process. On the fifth day, the money was magically gone. Apparently, the employer violated the terms and conditions of Freelancer (on purpose, I assume), so all the money he spent on projects was reversed to him. So, I worked for free.

    Stay away from this website by all means.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Unethical profit maker

    • Narail, Bangladesh,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been working for the last three years in Freelancer.com and experienced most of the bad things the other reviewers expressed here.

    This site is only looking after the advantage of itself and the clients, there is no place of the contractors. This site produces false and baseless projects, snatches project fee as a contractor accepts a project and thus lose money without earning, allows clients to make disgusting feedback having not a tiny bit of truth, deprives contractors from speaking for them, silently takes away money from contractors earning.

    On the 7th of July 2018, Freelancer.com authority reversed a big amount of my earning from a recently completed project. The payment was fully paid by the client and the client even gave a 5-star rating. Afterward, this money is reversed without serving any notice. They did the same thing many times before but as I am a poor contractor I tried to adapt myself with the suffering. Now I find it crossed all limits.

    Can anybody give me an advice about how the fraudulent matter can be taken to the notice of an appropriate authority and get legal assistance? Any suggestion is highly appreciated.

    My advice to all is do not be attracted with the super advantages offered by the Freelancer.com team and by their advertising, sooner or later you will fall in the grip of scammers.

    The experience with Freelancer.com made me very upset. The world has turned to a safe place of the scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off the Contest Winner

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ran a contest and awarded a winner $100.

    Then I found out that the money I'd paid Freelancer.com to keep the contest off search engines hadn't done any such thing.

    After a lot of obfuscating, they returned me the fees including the prize money and scrubbed the contest from their site.

    Next thing, I hear from the winner telling me he'd had his prize money debited without any explanation.

    After weeks and weeks of complaints that they'd taken an innocent third party's money, I've ended up returning the guy's money. Because Freelancer.com simply won't.

    That's not a sign of a healthy company.

    Firstly, they took my money, guaranteeing it would not be on search engines...and it was.

    Then, instead of saying, "If you want a refund we'll take it from the hardworking winner," which I would never have agreed to as the guy deserved every penny, they just took the money from his account and won't return it.

    It's unethical and pathetically unprofessional. I will never use them again. I simply cannot trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Site best avoided

    • Germany,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not class this site as a scam, but there are so many difficulties that I will not go near it again.

    The website was difficult to navigate, so that I wasted much time chasing essential information that should have been immediately accessible.

    One result was that on two occasions I entered a dispute (there is a dispute function) with the person formatting my ebook. It turned out it was not his fault but the vagaries and the impenetrability of the freelancer web site.

    However, when the project was completed, I checked with another source who discovered that the essential formatting into the ePub form had apparently been done by cutting and pasting from a PDF version, which explained why the version I received was unreadable.

    I am getting the manuscript reworked elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 273

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review