• 268 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Service
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 87%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Base on my Experience

    • By AshleyPerez,
    • Philippines,
    • Mar 26, 2014

    Sorry Guys! but for me Freelancer.com was not a scam. I already won more or less $500 just joining the contest and they give it to me with no hassle. Their site really cares for freelancers. as long as you are not doing the wrong thing they wont terminate or suspend you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love freelancer.com

    • By Charles,
    • Poland,
    • Feb 28, 2016

    It's a great opportunity to meet people and do a good job for them and earn sitting at home and sipping coffee. I have a lot of happy clients. Yes, I met some unpleasantness, but rather from contractors, never from freelancer.com.

    People are different, you can always meet a fraud on your way, but most are the right people. My experience shows that fraudsters are about 2% of all users.

    I think it's worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer provides 24 hours of good service and support for all the registered users.

    • By Sona,
    • Delhi, India,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an amazing platform to get a quality pool of candidates in the stipulated timeframe. We have very few digital platforms to source interns round the year, and Freelancer is undoubtedly the best amongst all. The Freelancer team enabled us to hire the right talent suited for a particular project requirement we had at www.hecmo.com. The quality of applications received was excellent, and the process from the Freelancer team very well thought through and executed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great support from Kayla B.

    • By QL,
    • Singapore,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed help on project feedback, and Kayla B did a good job in answering my inquiry. Great job. I would like to compliment him on good customer service.

    As a consumer, live chat support is important, and Kayla did a great job in helping to answer my inquiry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's nice speaking with Erwin C

    • By Yogesh D,
    • India,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    He is very fast with the inquiries, and I got the appropriate answer of my question. He explained me everything what I have to do and how they resolve the issue. I hope that with his suggestion, I will get the solution.

    Thank You

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Project fee problem

    I got a project and the employer agreed to pay me $15. But then in the project budget, it was written $320, so I got a $32 fee, which of course cost me more damage. He said it was a mistake and was trying to call support, and so am I. So the support suggested for me to request a bid change to $15 and wait for the employer to approve it. But when the bid change was approved by the employer, he released $15 milestone and ended the project. I still get cost damages from this, and the $32 fee still won't be affected.

    I contacted the support again and explained the situation (his name is Joshua G). He helped me by adjusting the project fee. He told me to check my Transaction History, and he is right, I got my $32 back and got a $5 fee. He is really helpful and knows what to do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great assistance

    • By Said Oudaani,
    • Tifelt, Morocco,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm so happy to be a part of this platform. The assistance gets better day after day; no delay for a response, just contact the support department and your issue will be resolved. Just be honest and work hard, and your place is here.

    Thank you Freelancer.com.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Chat with Josie

    I've been chatting with Josie in order to get some additional info on how to proceed as a newbie. Josie has been extremely kind and competent and did solve my problems very efficiently. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Chat assistance with review issue

    • By Melinda Hardisty,
    • Johannesburg, South Africa,
    • Oct 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Freelancer.com's Brenda A. solved my query/issue quickly and efficiently. She clarified my complaint, checked up via project ID's and solved my issue effectively. It is great when online issues can be so easily sorted out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I want to say good things about their staff's Kayla B

    • By WenGuo Han,
    • Dalian, China,
    • Oct 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    She had kindness for my many questions and was very fast to respond to customers. I want to say I am proud of the staff in the Freelancer team.

    Customers are coming to them to staff for their problems in general, and they answered their customers kindly and on time. In fact, I was surprised that she is very kind.

    Thank you Kayla.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Logo withdrawn post contest closed date

    • By Jay Rughani,
    • Essex, England,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Brenda A was patient and excellent in determining was happened to the entry I was considering awarding the contest to. She was also kind enough to help me with how I could best move forward.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very good support team

    • By Brahma Putra,
    • Bandung, Indonesia,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have loss 50 Euros because of the fraudsters employer, but Barry N from Freelancer support help me so much. Good job! This site is highly recommended for you to work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Superb

    • By Sandip Jena,
    • Meghalaya, India,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got all my answers, and they cleared all my confusion. I was chatting with Kimberly, and she was very nice and friendly. I am fully satisfied with this conversation and am fully satisfied with Freelancer. I will tell all my friends who want to do part-time work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My profile was not showing on Freelancer directory

    • By Sohail,
    • Islamabad, Pakistan,
    • Oct 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kayla B. (CX Specialist - Live Chat) is really rapid responsive, intelligent, problem-solving customer support agent, she assisted me well, generate a ticket regarding my issue and emailed me for my satisfaction that my complaint has been sent to the relevant department within 5 minutes.

    Thanks Kayla B.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer support prompt and professional

    • By Lorin Tui,
    • Romania,
    • Oct 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very fast and trouble solved without much effort from me. I recommend Freelancer.com support, especially Josie G, who solved my problem promptly and professionally. Thanks Freelancer.com.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is not a scam

    • By Vamsi Krishna,
    • Telangana, India,
    • Jan 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the hottest questions searched these days on the web. As a freelancer that has a completed 570 projects in a span of 5 years, I will provide my own first-hand experience of having used Freelancer.com without any bias or favoritism.

    Freelancer.com is a global marketplace that connects freelancers and clients under different categories and skills to do business. Their website offers an in-depth knowledge base and has a lot of useful information, but the pity is that both sides (and I say this without any hesitation) don’t bother adhering to the laid terms and guidelines and invite trouble and start blaming the management and support team.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great support!

    • By Wales N.,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kayla was a great help! I made a mistake with posting a contest instead of a project, and she assisted in swiftly refunding and crediting my Freelancer account for me to post a project.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Issue resolved

    I had contact with Kayla B who was very helpful to resolve my issue. I was fully satisfied. Thank you so much Kayla B. Very fast and very good response to my concern on project fees. Kayla B also provided guidance on project and client cross check.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Refund request

    • By Cathy M.,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After sharing with Kayla B. my dissatisfaction with the results I received, she was very nice and professional, offered solutions to give me additional services and went above my expectations by her response and escalations. Although I did not get my work as I wished, people like her makes you want to give it a second try.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very helpful

    • By Kivanc K.,
    • Istanbul, Turkey,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    "Kayla B." was very helpful and fast. I want to thank you again. So have a nice day you guys. See you again. Thanks, Freelancer and thanks, Kayla B.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Customer support with Kayla B.

    • By Maria-Jose P.,
    • Santiago, Chile,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Problem: an employer awarded me a project. I started the conversation so we could talk about it. The client never answered my messages. I kept on sending him chats, but he was very unresponsive from the beginning.

    My first thought was that maybe the employer awarded me the project by mistake, and he didn't know how to cancel it. However, it's been 2 days, and I've seen him online through the weekend.

    I was also worried about the freelancer.com fee that I had to pay when being awarded. But, if the client was unresponsive, no work nor payment would be released for me.

    Customer Support Kayla B. was very eager to help, and said she contacted the client on my behalf, stating to contact her again if he wouldn't answer within the next 48 hours.

    Also, she said that, as a one-time-only event, the fee would be refunded to me if the employer decided to cancel the project, which for me if the fair thing to do.

    In general, Kayla B. helped right away, was very quick and understanding. I am completely satisfied with her help.

    Also, as a suggestion for freelancer.com's agreement, awarded projects that have to be canceled because of employers' misbehaviors should always be refunded to freelancers.

    If we are not going to get any work discussion done, nor get paid, why would we pay Freelancer.com? Also, employers should be punished for this kind of behavior – it is an offense for freelancers' intellectual work and time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Legitimate place to start

    Definitely a valuable resource for anyone looking to the freelance community.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 23, 2017

    Disappointed with Freelancer.com

    I have utilized Freelancer.com for a considerable amount of time offering writing services. Up until this point, enjoyed every moment of it, though after having the bad fortune of accepting work with a client who became hostile and refused to fund milestones (the site's payment method) my experience has soured.

    Sad hostile client retaliated against me for essentially refusing to work for free and take his hostilities by leaving a negative and unwarranted review.

    After taking this up with customer service, I was essential told that I should have known better and that the review would only be removed at the request of the client.

    Seems like the platform doesn't care too much for its freelancers that bring them money and instead implicitly allow clients to abuse the review system to extort free work from hard working freelancers.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Legit but not a big fan

    I joined as a company to hire a freelancer. Compared to other freelancer sites, it is not easy to use Freelancer.com. They ask for payment to post, to get featured, and the worst part, a lot of freelancers are overpricing the same service offered on other sites. They need to have a better vetting process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good freelancers

    • By Meg J.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a good experience hiring an art freelancer. The site is very easy to use and helpful and I would recommend it to others. The only issue was that freelancer's background did not meet my qualifications.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is Sorely Disappointing

    • By Khusairy Chen,
    • Sarawak, Malaysia,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I came back and signed up for an account on freelancer.com recently and there were a lot of changes going on. It is quite hard to get a project for a new freelancer, so I took 2 exams to increase my chance of getting projects, and each of them cost $5! And then, you'll need to pay extra money to increase the position of your bid or highlight it. I decided to close my account after an incident where a project owner awarded me a project but canceled it before we even begin. I end up with a -$22.20 account balance because of that and there's no way to reverse it. The support staff told me they will not cancel the fees because everything is deducted right after the project is awarded and there is no refund for any cancellation. I am not going back there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't Recommend

    I've used Freelancer to find people to help with web design and programming. I was not impressed with the quality of the people; it was hard to get good candidates, and I simply didn't like what I found. I tried working with a couple of them, but in the end, gave up and found people through Craigslist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Automated

    • By MS,
    • Feb 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't worked with anyone yet as I just posted my first job. Seconds after I had posted my carefully formulated job, I already had over 20 bids. I was like, "what?" Bid after bid came in.

    Barely any of the freelancers referred to what I had written in my post or provided the information I had requested, so it took me forever to look at their profiles and portfolios in order to find out if they could be a match. I talked to a few of them, and it turned out that their bids were just too low to get my attention. After that, they went way beyond my budget, and I had to say, "Sorry, but it says in my post how much I'll be able to pay!"

    What a waste of time. I wanted to stop the bids from coming in as I was totally overwhelmed with the amount and closed the job. It said I could still award it to any of the freelancers that were on my list, so that was good. After I had finally picked out a handful of seemingly capable freelancers, I wanted to contact them and ask them the questions that nobody had answered. But that was not possible. Once a job is closed, you can't do anything anymore. Great, I had to start over.

    After another post with even clearer requirements that obviously nobody read, I received 50+ more automated standard applications with no questions answered, with 50+ portfolios to go through and people quadrupling their initial price. Man, this will be interesting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 268

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freelancer.com Reviews