• 268 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Service
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 87%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Just stay away...

    • By Chaim S.,
    • EU,
    • May 23, 2013

    No care for security within marketplace, extorting sensitive private data and disseminating them if they just don't like you. Want to see tons of complaints? Google those: freelancer.com scam

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad practices and scam.

    • By Andres Ramos,
    • Spain,
    • Jun 24, 2013

    If you're not careful, they will change the subscription plan without asking for it and without warning just to take you all your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Both Sides of Freelancer

    • By Thomas Carey,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Personally having been scammed a number of times, I'm glad that you give both sides of this website, so that people are aware. SEOClerks.com is better than Freelancer, that's my honest opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is nothing but a scam site!

    • By Ross G,
    • Europe,
    • Jul 5, 2013

    This started 3 weeks ago when a programmer couldn't do the job and gave me the money back - Freelancer.com just took the advantage and kept holding my money!

    Tried to talk with Chat, Phone and Email support but all they said: "Can't help you". That's where I had no chance and I had to turn to PayPal for a dispute.

    1 hour later, they set my account to -$210 just because I claimed that I want my money back and even when the programmer paid me back, they set my account to $0 so I won't have a choice to take the money back.

    I'm willing to go anywhere needed and invest as much money as needed to make this issue completed and stop that online scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never trust freelancer.com. Guaranteed contest are not guaranteed at all

    • By Rhea,
    • Philippines,
    • Jul 14, 2013

    I have joined a guaranteed contest on freelancer.com. I have won a contest for $269. When I was about to withdraw my funds I was shocked to know that they deleted the withdrawal. I asked for support and said that the employer is having account issues with them so they are holding the money.

    After a week my employer had already worked with freelancer.com to resolve the issue. It has been 2 weeks now and still no progress. They also suspended the account of my employer. He can't access his account. I don't know what's wrong with freelancer.com but I don't trust this site anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • All employers should stay away from Freelancer.com

    • By Marcus Manning,
    • Houston Texas,
    • Aug 7, 2013

    Back when we used Vworker.com (Rent a Coder before that) we never had a single problem, and as an Employer and we found many talented freelance workers. However, then Freelancer.com took over last year and we suddenly had major issues. They add on hidden charges (which we discovered over a month later when our bank statement didn't match our payment invoice).

    They misinform both workers and employers, refuse to refund your money after THEY make a mistake and instead only offer future "credit" (which they claim is a refund).

    I'm very disappointed with this company and sadly would never trust them again at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor very poor

    • By Tony,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Oct 7, 2013

    I completed four jobs successfully as a freelancer and then had one client completely vanish after paying the first milestone. I did everything as directed by Freelancer but could not get back in touch with client. Freelancer still insisted on taken full commission on job, even though I only received payment for a quarter. So they made more money than me out of the job, even though I put in many man hours.

    I won't be using them again, very dodgy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM & THIEVES

    • By Mary Harris,
    • California,
    • Oct 9, 2013

    I just received a call from my bank regarding an attempt to withdraw $102.66 from Freelancer.com of whom I have never done any business with and have no idea how they got my bank card number.

    Be AWARE this is a scam and they are thieves as far as I am concerned. Lucky for me my bank declined the transaction and contacted me immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam and fraud Site

    • By Sanjay Sharma,
    • India,
    • Oct 28, 2013

    I have used this site, my experience was very bad in terms of financial policies. I am waiting my fund into my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AVOID freelancer.com because they just take your money

    • By Fatemeh,
    • Nov 12, 2013

    My review for freelancer.com Is a BIG Negative. AVOID this SCAM site if you value your TIME and your MONEY.

    They are NOTHING more than thieves sitting behind their desk and scam innocent people.

    My account is suspended for a funny excuse they blame. One of my employers had some issues with them because they took money out of his account on an monthly basis without his authorization and he had no choice just file a reversal with his PayPal account because they refused to refund him the money.

    Funny thing is that freelancer.com suspended my account and does not let me to withdraw my money out of my freelancer account because of the issue my employer has with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They limited my account with no reason

    • By Thai Nguyen,
    • Jan 3, 2014

    I have done really hard work, even on new year holiday and I have more than $700 in my account. Suddenly they limited my account and asked for my driver license, ID, a picture of mine holding verification code in 1 hand and my ID in another hand, they also keep asking me how I interacted with employers. I have sent them all to freelancer.com. Until now, my account is still limited. The support didn't help at all, they just tell you that the proper department will take care of these stuff and there is no time frame when my account's limitation will be lifted. Does anyone face this problem like me? I need some advices.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Totally not recommend this to anyone

    • By Ivan Grunev,
    • Novosibirsk, Russia,
    • Jan 22, 2014

    I have won and completed 3 project and cannot receive money for these projects. They cannot push on clients who just took apps and leave. Support is closing my tickets without my permissions. This website is a frauds. They cannot guarantee to freelancers that they can receive their money for completed projects. For now they are removing all support tickets to not allow to me to prove my case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer – Scam and Greedy

    • By Anonymous,
    • US,
    • Feb 28, 2014

    Freelance the Big Scammer: This Company is fraud and steals money. Beware of them and use other lancing sites.

    I have been scammed many times by the freelancer.com and they are fucking greedy dogs now. They are telling lie and withdrawing money from your account. 

    They stole money from your account and send you bogus email and below is one example of such email: “I hope this email finds you well. Marcus here, I'm the representative who handles complaints posted in Sitejabber.com.

    I have reviewed your ticket correspondence with my colleagues and it shows that you’re having issues with project ID: XXXXXXX, wherein payments from Emp has been reversed.

    I can feel how disappointing this must have been for you, performing the project as required and having payments being reversed because of reasons that are far beyond your control.

    As a part of our security measures, we have a specialized team who regularly screen our user's account. During their screening, the account of employer has been selected for verification. There were suspicious transactions noted on the account which resulted to its closure.

    To further clarify, the funds employer have used, as a Milestone Payment for project ID: xxx, came from a suspicious source and it is necessary to return it to its original funding source.

    We value our users and the reversal of funds was done for your own security as there was a high level of risk associated with your transaction with them. This is done to ensure that we provide you and other users a safe environment in which to do their online business. Should there would be anything that I can be of assistance, please let me know. "

    I hope Matt Freelancer, CEO to buy good diaper and whisper for their kids from the stolen user money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer

    • By Vincent,
    • UK,
    • Mar 12, 2014

    Not to be trusted with money. I have money in an account and cant get it back. All I get is lies from support staff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is the worst freelancing community

    • By Anonymous,
    • Egypt,
    • Mar 20, 2014

    Freelancer.com is where freelancers work for the favor of the website and cheating and non professional buyers (both the website and scam buyers seem to be co-operating in a way).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is a Scam. I'm sharing their contact info. and file a complaint

    • By Sam,
    • New York,
    • May 25, 2014

    Have you been victim of freelancer.com? Me too :( I have the case opened .... with no response from freelancer.com Do you know that: “Freelancer founder earns $235 million – while customers of the site are ripped off “ Freelancer, an Australian registered Internet company makes millions while abusing Australian consumer laws. Caution – use this site at your own risk as Freelancer takes no responsibility. If you want to try to contact the management team: http://www.freelancer.com/info/management.php

    1. File a government internet crime complaint with: ic3.gov/default.aspx

    2. Report fraud, visit: stopfraud.gov/report.html

    3. File an online complaint with State Attorney General: oag.ca.gov/contact/consumer-complaint-against-business-or-company

    4. File a government consumer complaint with econsumer.gov/english/report/overview.shtm

    5. Report to Australian Competition Consumer Commission: accc.gov.au/consumers/complaints-problems

    6. Report to Law Enforcement: aclei.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx

    7. Report to Scam watch: scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/693900 

    8. Report computer, internet-related, or intellectual property crime: justice.gov/criminal/cybercrime/reporting.html#C4

    9. File a complaint with Office of Fair Trading: fairtrading.qld.gov.au/make-a-complaint.htm also: acma.gov.au/Citizen/Take- action/Complaints

    10. Contact investigative reporters from TV Channels and Newspapers / magazines and all you guys will provide evidences to them. Please save all your email received from freelancer.com

    11. Register complaints with as many review sites as you can "Google Reviews, Yelp, Business reporters and other private organizations .... etc"

    12. Post Blogs. Minimum 1 SEO article per day till you will see the result on google, yahoo and bing.com. Spread the word by posting on your blogs, create new blogs, Blog Comments, Guess Posts and invite others to share their similar stories they faced with freelancer.com etc. Please keep posting on all social media....

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Incompetent, Unreliable Writers - Don't Use!

    • By Joy,
    • USA,
    • Jun 8, 2014

    I had a horrible experience with freelancer.com. I posted a simple academic project that I needed help with. I provided all the sources. Got a reasonable bid in a 3 day timeframe. When Day 3 was almost over, I contract the writer, who revealed they had not even STARTED the paper. It was due in a few hours, and I was screwed. I ended up having to write it myself when the deadline wasn't met, getting no sleep. The paper I eventually got was too late to be used, and the grammar, spelling, and sentence structure were TERRIBLE. It was obvious that the writer didn't know English well at all. This would have received a failing grade. I'm so glad I ended up writing the paper myself. BOTTOM LINE: Don't hire a foreign writer to write an academic paper in English. It will be glaringly obvious and you'll fail if you use it. I ended up paying $29 for a late paper that was not usable. Highly disappointed and feeling scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I feel this is a scam

    • By toni,
    • NJ,
    • Jun 9, 2014

    I got a free trial from this site. I really needed some extra income besides my full time job. I found this site and got the free trial. I bid on 1 project for eBay seller, and this guy messages me with all this stuff to do. He wanted me to sell items I didn't have for him on my eBay account. So he gives me all this info on the items then while we were talking, blocks me and I cant contact him again. What a scam! Never using this site again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer Lawsuit

    • By Matthew,
    • Boulder, CO,
    • Jul 19, 2014

    Our lawyer who sued Guru.com is now taking legal actions against Freelancer.com who has violated Freelancer.com user rights more than Guru.com ever did. Please do not use Freelancer as you may loose your money when the site goes down. We are sad to see such a potential freelancing site go down. Also be on the look out on Fox News and CNN about the unethical things Freelancer.com has been doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • How freelancer can ruin your startup business

    • By Nick,
    • Australia,
    • Jul 28, 2014

    So freelancer.com is a nice concept getting the freelancers and employers together, however there are a lot a lot of pitfalls you will have with these people. I make website designs and I have subscribed on freelancer on June, and I'm writing this in July, this is how fast you will turn from loving the website to hating it and losing your efforts and money; the main problem is not with employees not paying (which freelancer.com doesn't guarantee) but with the website not allowing a withdraw 2/3 of the projects I got awarded with and made have the funds still in freelancer.com and I cannot get them out due to "account issues" with the client's account that I cannot know more about.

    ITS BEEN 2 MONTHS AND I CANT SEE A CENT I EARNED FROM FREELANCER, the funny thing is both clients have multiple good reviews and have their payment method verified, even by following the "safety" regulations there is no way you can know that you won't be able to withdraw money you earned from that employee beforehand.

    When I sent an email asking about this here is their reply your withdrawal was put on hold due to your employer's account issues. We cannot go further into details about their account due to our Privacy Policy.

    As I'm working in support I can know if they genuinely don't care about what the client thinks, because frankly there are millions of you, a value of an element is lessened as there are many of it, it's like dropping a chip out of a lays bag, you wouldn't bend down to pick up the chip, you have a lot left in the bag.

    IF YOU'RE JUST STARTING DO NOT SIGN UP ON FREELANCER you will lose time in doing the work, you will not get paid, you will have a headache dealing with uncaring customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is a Scam.

    • By Tom,
    • Poland,
    • Oct 30, 2014

    I don't like the freelancer.com website. Why? There are a lot of reasons. For example, I must pay some fee even in situation where my customer cheated me. Is it fair? NO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They closed my account, took all my money and reversed all payments.

    Account closed, money gone, you don't need to know why, just shut up and keep walking.

    Freelancer.com closed my account and reversed all payments I did. Their answer was this "We cannot go further into detail with regard to this as a Privacy Policy."

    So, you took my money, closed my account and kind of telling me now to "keep walking" nothing so see here.

    They are acting exactly like a school yard bully. Freelancer does what they pleases and don't even bother to offer an explanation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com - The place where true artists never should come and work

    • By Gia ,
    • Hanoi, Vietnam,
    • Mar 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, I'm freelancing graphic designer. I wrote this review as a notice for designers / artists who plan to work with Freelancer.com.

    First thing, I want to apologize for my poor English if you feel any inconvenience, but I really want to share my experience with other freelancers so they will not step on the wrong way. (Freelancer like the other kind of workers, we want to work with best, and we also need money for running our lives, so we really want to be working with real customers.)

    After half a year working for customers on this site, I totally feel upset with the way Freelancer.com running their site and with the users that opened contests just for stolen design ideas from the other designers.

    Problem 1: There're no "Report" for entries which use stolen ideas / use stock / not original... when the contest has set the winner. This problem very usually happening when the contest runs in Sealed Mode (no-one can see other's entries). You can try to contact Support Desk Center and you probably receive some kind of replies like this one: "Rest assured that it will be forwarded to the proper department for review and consideration. If you have other concerns, please let us know." (I've reported to them other clues, but each time I do that, I received feedback like this).

    Problem 2: Again relates to "Report" button, only available to use when contest which in Unsealed Mode (every competitors can see other competitors's entries) and still in Open / Pending State. But it's just a click without any comment box for users (which really detect the stolen entries) post the clue links. And after that, user account that were reported by someone else will be blocked soon. What? Freelancer.com depends on what clues to do that? (They do not even has comment box for the one who clicked "Report" support the clues).

    And so many other problems that lead me to the decision: leave this hopeless site and move to another.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is playing the same dirty tricks in another name freemarket.com

    Freelancer.com is a notorious scam website and there is no doubt over it. Now, they are doing their scam in another name freemarket.com.

    Here is my true story: I have sold a domain through their site freemarket.com. A client funded an escrow account and Freemarket.com asks me to transfer. I transferred the site to client. The client then released escrow (informed by Freemarket) Freemarket.com then holds payment for fifteen days for "security". After fifteen days, the dashboard shows a hilarious processing date of "Mon, 5 - Tue, 6 Jan 1970" with status stating "Not enough Funds". I raised a support ticket to larao@freemarket.com. I received copy paste reply from "Frederick Newmore" that the issue is being investigated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam bogus charges

    • By Cody,
    • Atlanta ,
    • Mar 22, 2015

    They charge you exchange fees if you are in the U.S. There is no disclosure about that although they claim its in the terms. After demanding to see the terms and being given the location of where the exchange fees are disclosed, they stopped communicating with me. I wrote 11 emails and made six calls yet received zero responses. The fee was only $13 but the only way I can get my money back was just to dispute the entire charge. I did so and American Express had me my money back within 24 hours. This is nothing more than a scam with horrible service if anything. Stay away from these guys as they are only looking to rip you and the freelancer off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer.com is a scam

    • By David,
    • Bhopal, IN,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    Please be aware of this site, it's full of scam and fraud.

    Loosing money is secondary, you can be trapped by hacker or other criminal activity by criminals in this site. I just got trapped in freelancer, please be aware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Quality of work was unusable and Freelancer.com took money from my PayPal account even after I canceled.

    • By Chris,
    • California,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    I would never use Freelancer.com again. I sincerely looked for some HTML5 programmer talent and had a small project. I went with someone who was in the middle of the offers. They were non unrealistic offers and not the high ones either.

    It ended up that the guy did not have any edge code experience. He wasn't able to do anything and I couldn't get my money back.

    And now that I look at my bank account, I find that Freelancer have been charging my account after I canceled it. I would never use this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 268

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freelancer.com Reviews