Read 263 Freelancer.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  230
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 263
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Beware, projects looking for cheap not good solutions and SCAMs

    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I created a profile and looked through the projects, bid on one that was one of the few that had decent rates. There are MANY SCAM projects listed, such as people wanting someone to submit 200 Facebook posts per week from different accounts. Another wanted 100 inbound SEO referrals to his site.

    I was immediately contacted by the poster of the project, turned out he wanted custom development of an Agile solution for $800 US which is a joke, rather than what was listed as setting up/configuring a cloud-based agile platform to match client's workflow. Even QA time for a custom app at low prices would be $400+ US.

    To reiterate the vast majority of projects are looking for CHEAP solution providers, ridiculous expectations, and SCAM projects.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Good freelancers

    • New York,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a good experience hiring an art freelancer. The site is very easy to use and helpful and I would recommend it to others. The only issue was that freelancer's background did not meet my qualifications.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    • Germany,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had an account on Freelancer and even applied to some of their contests as a freelancer. When I started to try to do the verification of my identity and address with the exact required documents for this purpose I start to receive emails to do the verification again.

    After several attempts and complaints, I was asked in one of their responses to my complaints why I was getting access to my account from different places.

    I am a digital nomad, a term established in the digital market should know. I travel a lot but with official residency in Germany.

    I feel treated like a criminal but I'm the one who was robbed since I paid monthly fees for a couple of times.

    This is nothing but a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was told I had one day to choose a winner, that's ok - there was NO PHYSICAL WAY to choose a winner, so I contacted them (no phone just email). They got back to me after the event (two days) and said it had been closed and I had lost my money - that's it. Never ever use these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • New York,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible company. I will never use again after too many horrible experiences. It is impossible to confirm the account. Use other platforms. Their customer service is just outrageously bad. They treat you like a criminal. It is completely absurd to have to go through so many hoops to confirm an account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Lots of garbage and scams, not worth it

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this as a freelancer and have a history of good work on other sites.

    I had four people respond to bids, two were clear scams, and one was a condescending jerk who wanted the world for a few dollars and lectured me until I blocked him on loyalty (for $5.00) and how he knew how to weed out bad freelancers.

    The one bid that I actually did work for seemed legit, a few minutes of work a day for a modest sum after a month. Ten days in, he says I am doing a good job and wants to give me two more projects. Sounds good, but it actually ends up that he expects me to do three times the work, longer than expected for the same price on the same bid. This was of course bait and switch and I did not do this.

    At that point, I closed my account out. There are better sites than this scam factory out there if you need help getting freelance work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Illegally refusing to allow withdrawals

    • Singapore,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not deposit or wire funds with Freelancer. When projects are undelivered, they do not care and do not respond to feedback. When you try to withdraw your remaining funds that are left unused (because the project needs to be forfeited), they will find ways to stop you from withdrawing your money. They will wait for weeks before asking you for obsolete details such as a bank statement from a few years ago even though you have proof of other or more recent deposits wired using the same account. They simply have no intention of paying your money back. It’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Freelancers.com is a scam

    • Kiev, Ukraine,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It appears that if not all, the vast majority of the "job posts" are scam or fake accounts. Freelancer.com business is to rip the freelancers on "paid services," not on the project commissions (since there are very little genuine projects).

    Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer.com is a scam

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Avoid because:

    - Filled with scammers.

    - Freelancer.com is self-serving and offers no protection.

    - You'll be competing with ridiculously low bids within hundreds of questionable proposals.

    The site is filled with fake posts and defrauders. If you are lucky enough to find a real bid and win it, the service takes 10% of the total payout immediately. They do this regardless of whether or not the proposal "poster" has verified their payment method. So, if for some reason the project changes or cannot be done for technical reasons, limitation or lack of proper credentials, you've actually lost money because they'll charge your credit card directly for that. THEY will assuredly get their money. You can cancel a bid, but you only get your money back if that is done within several hours (24 or 48 hours). Win a bid on a Friday night, and you're screwed.

    Most of the bids are ridiculous; they want to moon for under $x where x is absurdly low.

    You can try to build up your "street cred" by doing their various $5 tests. But even there, you are competing with people that somehow managed to complete a 30 question quiz in less than 1 minute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Ruidoso, NM,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't waste your time or money on this scam of a service. After posting a job I received numerous bids from so-called "freelancers" all over the world claiming they could provide the development I required for the price that I needed. After contacting a couple of the "freelancers" and having detailed conversations for several days, the "freelancers" would disappear and stop talking to me. This put my project on hold as I attempted several times to re-connect. I expressed my frustration with the online "recruiter" that works for Freelancer.com and I was told that they have millions of "freelancers" and it is hard to police them all.

    Obviously Freelancer.com is concerned with 1) trying to get as much money out of you for shoddy service, and 2) quantity of "freelancers" over quality of "freelancers." The good news is I used Fiverr.com and found the developers I needed in order to start my project. The freelancers on Fiverr.com AND Fiverr.com are getting my money, not Freelancer.com. I DO NOT recommend Freelancer.com! Don't say you weren't warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Basically got robbed! Freelancer sucks, I changed networks.

    • Arkansas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst customer support ever, a programmer they recommend created an animation, sent me a video...and demanded money. After paying he demanded a 5-star rating before I could get the source code. Finally, after 5 days of demanding, he sent me a code with no updates. And an animation. Freelancer has done nothing. I sent a dispute, it's been days, not a "we are working on it," not a refund (minus there fee of course), no, nothing. I just got ROBBED and Freelancer let it happen!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 263

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review