• 268 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Service
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 87%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Freelancer.com difficulty canceling project

    • By Tara L.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware of the bids you receive and demand quality of work before awarding any project! If I could give this website zero stars, I would. Freelancers would bid on a job I posted and then when I would communicate with them, they told me they were unable to do the job. My question is, then why bid the job? Many were unqualified.

    The freelancer I finally awarded the job to was not able to deliver a quality, professional looking magazine that I was looking for, even after me giving them the original source file that I was looking for. The design looked like a beginner did it. They basically took my word document and imported it into whatever program they were using and made a few simple, basic additions to it. They did not follow the look and feel of the previous edition and did not even match our brand. I did pay one milestone in good faith, and the freelancer harassed me continuously.

    I would avoid them. I have had better luck with Upwork and Fiverr, which I use all the time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No one sticks to their bid!

    I wanted to offload some work and I put a VERY SMALL task, not complicated and straight to the point. I go a few dozens "bids" as they like to call them. I call them flat lies! Basically EVERY person I talked to immediately raised their prices by 3 to 6 times the bid WITHOUT adding or modifying the job description!

    Basically, the "bid" means nothing! It is a just a way for many of these independent contractors to get your attention to start a chat. Then you find out their real price, and you have just wasted your time. I get it may change, and that the person asking for the job may not understand the full work required! In this case, there is no doubt the people bidding new what it would take and is basically LYING to get you to chat with them first!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not put your credit or debit card in Freelancer.com

    • By Dingane B.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Freelancer.com to find graphic designer several times over the past three years. The worldwide talent is spectacular. But every single time I wanted to pay the designers, Freelancer.com processed my card more than once.

    At first, I thought it was just a rare mistake. But it took a long time and much effort to get any refund. I was impressed with the freelancers for hire, so I returned to hire freelancers for another project. Once again, Freelancer.com double-charged my card. When I notified them, they initially denied it. I uploaded a pic of my bank statement showing the double charge. The representative then told me to "just have my bank cancel the second charge." What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "Guarantee" and running contests without my permission.

    • By J T.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ran a competition, decided to quit the competition because I couldn't find one original design that fit with what I needed. I contacted the site, only to find that they'd started the second competition without my permission. When I stated that I was no longer interested in having the competition or starting a new one, it took several emails to get a response. After about one week they closed the competition and put the money in my "account" which made no sense. So then I had to "request" a withdrawal, and wait almost a month from creating the competition to get my $200 back. Just a huge headache, all I wanted was to find a legit designer who could create some designs for us regularly. I found that my time was better sent just messaging designers I had already "vetted" as legit designers on Dribble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never had more frustration

    • By Josh S.,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is a scam. If you are making a project and want to delete it, it's $5. If you're a freelancer they will take 20%. If you are a freelancer and start a job and the project creators account breaks the terms of use you, and the freelancer will NOT get paid.

    Half the job postings on this site provide very little information so I went and asked for more information, and my account was banned for a month bidding on jobs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Illegal terms and conditions

    • By Maria L.,
    • Buenos Aires, Argentina,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a really bad experience with this website. I was hired for a project, the employer released the funds, everything OK so far. Then I requested to have the funds sent to my bank account, which takes some days to process. On the fifth day, the money was magically gone. Apparently, the employer violated the terms and conditions of Freelancer (on purpose, I assume), so all the money he spent on projects was reversed to him. So, I worked for free.

    Stay away from this website by all means.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical profit maker

    • By Shah J.,
    • Narail, Bangladesh,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been working for the last three years in Freelancer.com and experienced most of the bad things the other reviewers expressed here.

    This site is only looking after the advantage of itself and the clients, there is no place of the contractors. This site produces false and baseless projects, snatches project fee as a contractor accepts a project and thus lose money without earning, allows clients to make disgusting feedback having not a tiny bit of truth, deprives contractors from speaking for them, silently takes away money from contractors earning.

    On the 7th of July 2018, Freelancer.com authority reversed a big amount of my earning from a recently completed project. The payment was fully paid by the client and the client even gave a 5-star rating. Afterward, this money is reversed without serving any notice. They did the same thing many times before but as I am a poor contractor I tried to adapt myself with the suffering. Now I find it crossed all limits.

    Can anybody give me an advice about how the fraudulent matter can be taken to the notice of an appropriate authority and get legal assistance? Any suggestion is highly appreciated.

    My advice to all is do not be attracted with the super advantages offered by the Freelancer.com team and by their advertising, sooner or later you will fall in the grip of scammers.

    The experience with Freelancer.com made me very upset. The world has turned to a safe place of the scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ripped off the Contest Winner

    • By Brendan P.,
    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ran a contest and awarded a winner $100.

    Then I found out that the money I'd paid Freelancer.com to keep the contest off search engines hadn't done any such thing.

    After a lot of obfuscating, they returned me the fees including the prize money and scrubbed the contest from their site.

    Next thing, I hear from the winner telling me he'd had his prize money debited without any explanation.

    After weeks and weeks of complaints that they'd taken an innocent third party's money, I've ended up returning the guy's money. Because Freelancer.com simply won't.

    That's not a sign of a healthy company.

    Firstly, they took my money, guaranteeing it would not be on search engines...and it was.

    Then, instead of saying, "If you want a refund we'll take it from the hardworking winner," which I would never have agreed to as the guy deserved every penny, they just took the money from his account and won't return it.

    It's unethical and pathetically unprofessional. I will never use them again. I simply cannot trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Site best avoided

    • By Simon B.,
    • Germany,
    • Jun 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not class this site as a scam, but there are so many difficulties that I will not go near it again.

    The website was difficult to navigate, so that I wasted much time chasing essential information that should have been immediately accessible.

    One result was that on two occasions I entered a dispute (there is a dispute function) with the person formatting my ebook. It turned out it was not his fault but the vagaries and the impenetrability of the freelancer web site.

    However, when the project was completed, I checked with another source who discovered that the essential formatting into the ePub form had apparently been done by cutting and pasting from a PDF version, which explained why the version I received was unreadable.

    I am getting the manuscript reworked elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A scam with paid tests

    • By MaryJane W.,
    • Moscow, Russia,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have decided to pass a test in order to be legit to place a bid for one of their projects. If you actually read those questions in the test, you won't be able to answer even 70% of those questions within 5 minutes. It said I failed. I have lost my money.

    On top of that, the statistics showed other people passing it within 45 seconds, which is clearly a fake because even if you press the button without reading the questions, there is no chance you will make it within 45 seconds.

    I strongly recommend staying away from this website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer care/support

    • By Abdul H.,
    • Nigeria,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a freelancer making logos and graphics. My first experience wasn't funny. I got approved for a job I bid for, then the client seized communicating with me. I sent him messages in vain. I later contacted Freelancer.com support and they said something will be done about it. NOTHING was done, and their commission was already taken!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Non-existent support

    • By Deborah M.,
    • Alexandria, VA,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A colleague uses Freelancer.com for personal business and set our company with an account. But because he accessed his personal account then accessed our corporate account, Freelancer locked our corporate account. A month later, we are still unable to unlock the account or contact anyone in support to get help. This site was happy enough to take our money but has held onto it ever since without allowing us to actually do anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • First crime is unpunishable

    • By Shaimaa I.,
    • United Arab Emirates,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was verbally abused by one of the clients because of a work disagreement. I was exposed to explicit profanity - sexual and racial. I reported the user while confident that they will suspend his account. They didn't! First of all, they didn't offer any kind of consolation for the traumatizing experience that I went through. Then, they insisted that they CAN'T do anything because it's his first instance of such behavior.

    Bottom line, I am left insulted, with a biased poor review, that contains lies, from that client that I can't even defend myself against. At the same time, the client just got away with it. Oh sorry, he got a warning email while his account is up and running.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The website allows for scammers.

    • By Kage R.,
    • victoria,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a freelancer (https://www.freelancer.com/u/Tanbir633?ref_project_id=17060312).

    The guy could not do the project. He refused to refund me my money and Freelancer.com said I have to pay $5 to take him to dispute court. Lol. Never make full milestone deposits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst freelancer experience ever

    • By Estefania G.,
    • Valencia, Spain,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst experience as a freelance in my life.

    Freelancer.com doesn't cover freelancers (which is ridiculous) and lets contractors to not pay freelancers.

    I got a project, I pay the freelancer fee at the beginning, end my tasks, and the contractor doesn't pay me. I communicate with support and have nothing. It just asks me to cancel the project, after that, I cannot write a review about the non-payer contractor, so he can go on doing the same, and the profile will remain active.

    If a project cancels after Freelancer.com has got the fee on the project, this fee is not refundable. So you as a freelancer just pay and pay and never does anybody care about you getting paid.

    Furthermore, it is a marketplace where you find an 80% false projects.

    Sio you better go to Upwork; don't lose your money and time in Freelancer.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Linda S.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is the pits. Don't use it. I had people contacting me to be a personal assistant requesting unethical services. Like creating websites without being paid, money scams. All kinds of requests that don't sound legal. Wanted me to buy supplies with my personal funds. Not happening. They contact you through Freelancer then tell you to create another email so they can set up the scam. Run in the opposite direction. Nothing good will come out of contact with Freelancer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BS site

    • By Andrew Kim,
    • Winnipeg, MA,
    • Mar 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is true, as I have observed this myself. For almost every project I've made a bid on, the employers NEVER ACTUALLY HIRE ANYONE. That's right, this is at least 90% of the employers who seem to be in need of service, but then totally neglect it and let the projects rot forever.

    All this time, I thought I just wasn't qualified. It turned out nobody was. Because the employers never hired anyone to begin with. I've wasted good money taking measures to stand out among the many other candidates; spotlighting my bid, highlighting my bid, providing what's equivalent to a cover letter in perfect English, all to no avail.

    If you didn't need any help to begin with, then why the heck would you bother posting a job opening about it? Such perfect logic, no?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    They never responded to my emails and they blocked me from using their services. I advise no one to use this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Mar 11, 2018

    Stole money out of my account

    I remember signing up for Freelancer in 2009, but now it has become a joke. Recently they stole money out of my PayPal account without my authorization. I mean, who does that? This was on Monday and today is Friday and they still haven’t given it back yet. As soon as this is all over, I’m going to Upwork.

    (read moreread less...)

  • A nightmare for users.

    • By Sean Loper,
    • Port Richey, FL,
    • Mar 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been on the service for YEARS and my entire time with the service has taught me a valuable lesson. For starters, job posters are usually scammers, the people applying are also scammers, and Freelancer makes no attempt to deal with any of the issues. The next being that it constantly nickel and dimes you for even the smallest $5 charges, and when a mistake arises, which happens very often, the support is never helpful, and they are not responsible for any of their own actions. Make sure to review the terms here; you may be equally horrified:

    https://www.freelancer.com/about/terms.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay far away, scammers!

    I was looking for someone to professionally photoshop a photo for me and came across Freelancer. It seemed like an easy way to find the right person to do the job. I put in my budget of $25 and described what I wanted done. Right away I received many potential bidders that wanted to do the work. I chose one that had good reviews and would do the work for $20. He showed me a protocol of what he did, and I liked it. I had to pay through Freelancer, so I set up a "milestone" of $13.60. I have no idea why that amount was selected, but it seems like a fair price, so I gave my name and PayPal info.

    Then he comes back and says now he wants $40 for the photo. I said to forget it and wanted a refund. Freelancer said they put the money in my "freelancer account," which I never requested, and to have the money put back in my PayPal account, I would have to make a special request that could take up to 45 days (now I am getting really super mad). Good thing I got notices from PayPal, after that they charged another $3.32 and then another $40.22 without my authorization all within about 15 minutes! All these were weird amounts, so I right away contacted PayPal and told them these charges were not authorized by me. I think PayPal knows about this scam company and has dealt with them before because they were blocked immediately and by the following morning I had all my money back.

    Please do not use them; they are scammers of the worse kind!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Small businesses, don't use Freelancer.com

    • By Jesse S,
    • Dubai, United Arab Emirates,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their system is set up in a way that makes it vulnerable to scammers. Freelancers can bid for projects, win/accept, you pay, then they do not do anything and strong-arm money from you just to get your project freed up to assign to someone who really wants to work or get your money back. Otherwise, you have to set up another project, pay another set of fees/deposits. Then, if you're lucky enough to get anything back in the first, it's just a deposit. The worst part is that you can only review them if the project is completed, so people with good ratings may have only done a few projects to get a rating, then do this to scam.

    For a first timer trying it out, I was NOT impressed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Takes money of your PayPal account

    • By Amir,
    • Moscow, Russia,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It simply scams you and tricks you into paying fees. Small fees, hidden fees and unclear situations where you get tricked.

    Just stay away from this site. There are many other useful sites that do a better job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam site

    They rejected all the credentials I provided simply because it wasn't in English and because my government only produces national ID's in Arabic, so I'm restricted from withdrawing/transferring my money, OR even talking to support. Plus they don't respond to my emails or messages on any social media account. After a couple of weeks, they'll suspend the account for not providing the info they need in English (because my country doesn't have ID's in English) and I will lose my cash inside.

    Get your job done on any other site for your own sake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Closed my account

    Freelancer closed my 3-year-old account without any notice.

    When I contacted the support team, they said that I did not violate any policy with my account, but I violated a policy with my old account in 2015. The reason my old account was closed in 2015 was that I logged in from my brother's computer and he also had an account on Freelancer. They can't punish me twice for a policy that I never violated.

    Once Freelancer also double-charged my client and caused issues between me and my client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I have come to the conclusion that Freelancer.com is a scam.

    I have had several projects utilizing Freelancer.com. All but two have resulted in online spats, fights and near loss of my money. I have come to the conclusion that Freelancer.com is a scam. It is where the scammers hang out as freelancers. They bid on a project they cannot produce. Then they try to extort the money in escrow through lies if you file a dispute. They are the misfits of programmers. They believe they know something but end up only enough to cause a whole lot of problem. From performing WP work on a working live site and not a backup to providing design work only 10% complete and wanting to be paid for it under a milestone. They will try to get you to authorize the release of a milestone just to get keep feeding you enough BS to try to get more.

    Who am I? I am an IT Manager of 25 years but need help once in awhile with my business websites. I simply can't know everything nor do I have the time, so I have reached out to Freelancer.com over the years.

    AVOID the site. It is a scam. If you end up needing support, you get nothing but a run around if you can get through to anyone at all. Freelancer.com is toxic and filled with foreign scammers. Oh, and if a freelancer doesn't get your project be ready for hack attacks, phone calls and spam emails to the tune of hundreds daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst site to work on

    • By Chonagpall,
    • USA,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's time to move on from Freelancer.com and look for better platforms like Upwork or Guru to hunt projects. Freelancer is getting worse day by day. They are employer-centric and are biased towards them.

    Clients be aware, they only bother to get fees and no support after that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Freelancer discourages more experienced talent

    • By Steve Stone,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Freelancer.com is a site more for entry-level freelancers and employers seeking bargains, than for experienced freelancers. I say that for 2 reasons:

    First, this is because an experienced person is barred from bidding on anything over $1000; and bids for many jobs are priced absurdly low. The system for more serious jobs (i.e., jobs where the employer is looking for appropriately priced talent, not just a cheap bargain), requires bidders to have done a certain minimum of jobs, but to have done that, the bidder must compete with people bidding $50 or $100 for a job that should be thousands. And these are not just people from countries where you'd anticipate low bids.

    Second, in even tests such as for English proficiency, this site's focus is on their own money-making opps (understandable, but still offensive) by requiring, for example, a university professor to take levels 1, 2, 3 and so on - at increasingly higher dollar costs for each - instead of just jumping to the highest level and being done with it. PLUS, after taking levels 1 and 2, I saw there were errors in some questions!

    Those are the 2 reasons I feel Freelancer is not as serious a site as Upwork.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 268

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Freelancer.com Reviews