Read 262 Freelancer.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  229
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 262
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Insanely poor service

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fraudulent, they took back money twice from completed projects I had following a verbal altercation with customer service (the problem was I paid for 50 bids to enter projects, but they took out the 8 free monthly bids that I had already used). Then the day after I had $85 US missing. They took money from my account stating they had a problem with the projects holders (Even if they were done 8 months ago). Tried to solve it, they just shut me down and there's no way to contact them now. Also, at LEAST half of the projects are fraudulent, people only there to ask your info on another platform (that tells me they're atrociously lacking security). I strongly recommend using other sites, surely not that crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A legitimate published author with 30 years experience

    • Florida,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, let me qualify myself by sharing that I'm a fulltime freelancer and that I use other sites and have extraordinary results. I am a top provider with hundreds of satisfied clients around the globe, so I speak from experience.

    I found Freelancer.com to be entirely useless, ineffectual, and a total waste of time. When I closed my account, these gypsies continued to bill my PayPal and help themselves to MY MONEY; and they had the gall to act clueless for a MONTH as I endured a half-dozen back and forth email exchanges. As I tried to get these brainless airheads to return the money they took from me, I got the feeling that they may be trained to drag out the return/credit process as long as possible in order to hold onto the funds. Basically, Freelancer.com, from my perspective, offers ZILCH value for a legitimate fulltime freelancer. The site is antiquated, unsophisticated, and very unprofessional; and from my experience, I have no trust or faith in Freelancer.com. (Also, take note of others' complaints that the site holds onto freelancers' money for a long time before remitting it. Had I seen THAT before, I'd have never bothered to explore the site, in the first place.)

    It's just my opinion, but I suspect that we'll see this site will fall on its face and go away before long. There's no way such a poorly-run, unprofessional, desperate business can sustain itself - especially when it doesn't garner trust in the marketplace!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Finding freelancers on this platform has brought about much pain

    • Singapore,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Customer support got to a point of being ridiculous. Having to explain the situation to seven different staff (Stanley, Bailey, Oscar, Phoebe, Dana, Jessica, Eric) regarding the same issue, worse still there is no internal communications between them. How in the world do they expect to solve anything when it needs to get repeated at each stage?

    Context: I was extremely dissatisfied with the work of a freelancer I engaged (being overpromised that she could deliver everything smoothly), thus filed to void the contract with her since funds were not released. She disputed, I raised it to arbitration where it ruled in my favor. Following that, she has and still is constantly raising complaint tickets against me out of spite, pointing out I'm still using her work despite messing everything up.

    Whatever she messed up, I had already gotten my current developer to fix them, so that is in no way her work. For the minute few design details, of course, I have to keep it on!

    Look at it this way, if she had messed those up as well, my developer could have easily change those too, and the difference would be clear. But my briefs to her would have been the same regardless of who, and they'd still do the same in the end. I need my website to look like how I intended don't I?! I can't possibly change my design just because a previous developer is throwing a hissy fit, right?

    So despite explaining these to the seven different staff and numerous email trails, Jessica finally closed off the ticket, apologizing for the numerous follow-ups and showing her understanding of the situation. THE NEXT DAY, Eric sent another email raising another complaint email about the developer, saying I'm still using her work.

    Are you guys serious now?

    Do you guys even check the history of the issue, check the validity of the complaints, check between your team before harassing the employers on there. This will be the last project I'm engaging Freelancer with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to use this site for receiving a single payment since the company I was freelancing for couldn't add me as a contractor.

    Besides the worst UX experience and most complicated payment system I have ever seen, they also took 10% of the payments and I had to jump through a bunch of insane hoops, like taking photos of myself with my ID and a code, just to get my account approved to get paid. After all that crap, they are also holding the payment for two weeks.

    Using this site was a huge mistake. I understand most of the people using it are freelancers from third world countries, trying to compete for small projects. I have no experience there, but the fact this site charges nutty fees for these people to receive work is straight up criminal. Absolutely terrible. Definitely a mistake I won't make again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    In my opinion a rogue company

    • Colorado,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They overcharged my credit card for services not requested. The agreed amount was $60.99, they posted $256.05. Upon my complaint, they insisted I was to blame and threatened legal action against me. Their dispute resolution methods are a joke because they never resolve anything only delay, delay, delay. It took months to straighten out, and I had to resort to blocking further charges from Freelancer through my credit card company. My opinion - stay away from this company and these people. If I could give less than one star, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer support I have ever dealt with

    • Bucharest, Romania,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My customer support experiences were horrible! I will try to keep it short. I am a graphic designer, so these experiences are from my standpoint

    UNDERSTAFFED: They probably are understaffed since it took even 10+ minutes for me to get to talk to a CS rep through live chat. I've had tickets waiting 7+ days to be answered. I had to insist on them answering my tickets or else my guess is it would've taken longer.

    I think I could count their CS reps on my fingers. Numerous times I have talked to the same rep. Coincidence? For such a big company you would expect more CS reps. At least I would.

    POORLY PREPARED: I had to wait a lot on occasions for things that could have been easily solved and answered in a couple minutes. when the contest department needed to judge if my work was original they deemed it a "copy" even though they were presented proof of the originality of my work. Either because of lack of expertise or laziness. I have had CS reps contradict each other on some statements.

    RUDE: They didn't want to continue talking about my issue because they considered it solved (which it wasn't).

    STUBBORN: They wouldn't accept any other point of view except theirs, which by the way is relied on their "experts" (this combined with the two points above make for a terrible combo).

    UNPROFESSIONALISM: Whenever I tried to make a complaint regarding my experiences with customer support I was directed towards THE SAME CUSTOMER SUPPORT. Very professional attitude!

    Oh and on top of that are the numerous "security issues" for which your money will be reversed or not be released on to your account (yes, even for guaranteed contests). By security issues my guess is clients doing chargebacks after the projects have been finished. So you as a freelancer do all the work your client needs and then if he does a chargeback or whatever happens with his payment, you will lose the money received because as long as the money is in your account on Freelancer.com it's their money, not yours.

    Overall, I don't recommend this platform to anyone, if I would be you, I would stay away from them. If you search google for "freelancer.com bad," I think there are lots of articles worth taking into consideration when thinking about joining this platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer.com is a SCAM

    • Novi Sad, Serbia,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Avoid Freelancer.com. Don't be fooled by scammers. There are many freelance platforms, and Freelancer is the worst. They should be closed and convicted and end up in jail for stealing money and cheating with fake projects. Do not pay money if a contest has ended without payment. It is best to avoid these scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Freelancer is a scam.

    • Serbia,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a using the platform for +5 years. The first time I was robbed by the platform is when a user hired me for hourly work and after a month of payment, that user's account was closed and they took money from my bank account to settle the charges of the stolen credit card instead of using their insurance to cover for their mistake! Lastly, I entered a guaranteed contest last month and after winning it with hard work and receiving my earned price money, again they closed the contest holder's account and put my account in minus with the sum of the fee that I received, despite that I delivered my hard work after signing their waiver contract! Now, please, to all new freelancer - DO NOT USE THIS scam platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst site ever! They don't deserve one star.

    • Lagos, Nigera,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don't even deserve my one star. The most evil company in the entire universe. I think they bought these reviews because they don't even deserve any recommendations. Freelancer.com practices economic slavery and grows under the baseline of racism.

    I can prove it.

    My story is this. I started working as a freelancer in 2009 with Rent A Coder before they sold to vWorker, and I also worked with Scriptlance, and I was contented with these two before they sold out to this evil company. Before then, I joined Freelancer.com but was not comfortable with their disorderly practice, so I abandoned the site and continued with vWorker and Scriptlance.

    Scriptlance and vWorker sold to Freelancer, that's how I found myself back to Freelancer.com. I felt uneasy initially, but due to my reviews, which is over 75, I decided to ignore their administrative issues and continue with them. I worked as a service provider with Freelancer.com for eight years with over 208 reviews, before I left for post-natal leave for a year, came back and discovered my account of over 10 years was closed.

    The customer service told me they suspect fraudulent activities two months ago and I told them I gave birth and was off for more than a year. They promised to look into the issue but didn't reply again. I waited for their reply for weeks before I opened another account to ask them to reinstall my account. They told me three accounts were opened in my name. I confirmed that I abandoned one years back and I only use one account, which is the one with 208 reviews, that I need it reinstalled. The customer service promised to handle it and asked me not to open another account to chat with them, which I obliged, but they emailed me three weeks later and told me they don't need my services anymore. I asked why and got no reply until date. If I'm not a professional, I wouldn't have up to 208 good reviews.

    As for the fraudulent activity, I recur once that my Freelancer account was hacked and $80 was stolen from me. I told support, but got no refund because they told me that their database got vulnerable and some hackers hit their system then. I bear those losses without complaint, so their claim that someone used my account while I was away didn't add up. I didn't give anyone my login details. Freelancer.com support asked me all these questions, which I answered, and they promised to reinstall my account.

    Before this final reply from their manager. who emailed me that Africans are no longer needed, so "my services are no longer needed." I couldn't hold myself back because reporting people or company is not my thing, but I can't help but feel used by Freelancer to serve its clients' needs and made the company proud only to be dumped due to a racist attitude. I wasn't the only one complaining about it, two of my African colleagues working there told me their account was removed and an increasing number of white people are dominating Freelancer.com. But that database was built by the sweat of Africans and Asians. I'm not a racist since I enjoy meeting people of all race, that's why I chose to work from home. But their racist behavior made me believe there is more evil in this world than we humans know.

    I will continue to share my ugly experience until Freelancer.com becomes notoriously popular for what they did to me. It's unfair that my effort of 10 years has gone down the drain and I will devote another 10 years and use legal actions to prove my innocence in this case. Please avoid Freelancer.com! Don't use them! Evil, selfish, and inconsiderate customer support, who doesn't look at details but runs to their bosses for stupid decisions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Just terrible. Period!

    • Kraljevo, Serbia,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't want to bother the readers with all the details, but basically, as soon as you ACCEPT the project, you're immediately charged a fee of 10% of the project bid amount, regardless of whether the employer even verified their payment method!

    The worst circumstance of that is the fact that if something happens with the project, and you and your client mutually agree to cancel it, you can do it; however, the initial project fee the site took will NOT BE REFUNDED. It makes no sense, and it is absolutely cruel to freelancers.

    Let alone the fact that the clients can basically receive the finished product and simply decide to cancel the project with imaginary reasons, the site will NEVER support the freelancer/worker in case of any dispute.

    Because of the above-mentioned reasons, which basically kill any probability of Freelancer.com growing into a BETTER marketplace, my mark is 1 star, and if I could, I would rate it -10.

    Thank you for reading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Paid Freelancer.com $362 US, 3 months later nothing

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I posted a request to load my content on a Real Estate website theme from theme forest. I received several counter offers from Freelancer to complete my job within 10 days. I accepted one from Pratiksha Sharma at Wave. Pratiksha and I exchanged many good conversations and emails, but all I got was promises to work on the site. This went on for three months. The site says it is risk-free, but this is not true. I lost $362.00 in deposits. I protested my credit card but too much time had passed. I think it's a scam site as no work was completed, and "risk-free" is part of the lure to make you feel safe. This took place May through September 2018.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 262

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review