Read 253 Freelancer.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  222
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 253
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Just terrible. Period!

    • Kraljevo, Serbia,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't want to bother the readers with all the details, but basically, as soon as you ACCEPT the project, you're immediately charged a fee of 10% of the project bid amount, regardless of whether the employer even verified their payment method!

    The worst circumstance of that is the fact that if something happens with the project, and you and your client mutually agree to cancel it, you can do it; however, the initial project fee the site took will NOT BE REFUNDED. It makes no sense, and it is absolutely cruel to freelancers.

    Let alone the fact that the clients can basically receive the finished product and simply decide to cancel the project with imaginary reasons, the site will NEVER support the freelancer/worker in case of any dispute.

    Because of the above-mentioned reasons, which basically kill any probability of Freelancer.com growing into a BETTER marketplace, my mark is 1 star, and if I could, I would rate it -10.

    Thank you for reading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Paid Freelancer.com $362 US, 3 months later nothing

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I posted a request to load my content on a Real Estate website theme from theme forest. I received several counter offers from Freelancer to complete my job within 10 days. I accepted one from Pratiksha Sharma at Wave. Pratiksha and I exchanged many good conversations and emails, but all I got was promises to work on the site. This went on for three months. The site says it is risk-free, but this is not true. I lost $362.00 in deposits. I protested my credit card but too much time had passed. I think it's a scam site as no work was completed, and "risk-free" is part of the lure to make you feel safe. This took place May through September 2018.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No protection for freelancers from scamming clients.

    • Jasper, FL,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been hired by a lot of clients, but two of them stand out very much. I was hired by them to do article assignments. I showed all the work before they marked the project complete and then paid me. Once I was paid, I was then blocked by the clients. The next day I have a payment reversal from said clients. They stole my work and passed it off as their own, and I have no way to write Freelancer and get them to see how I was done. Freelancer has NO protection for their freelancers about this kind of situation. For them, the client is ALWAYS right and us hard working employees are just there to make the clients happy. I've always written in the report a project on both of these several times because a client left a bad review but yet in messaging said the work was great and he wanted to rehire me. Once I saw his review, of course, I refused working further with him.

    My point is, if we the freelancers have no protection from scamming clients then we are all at risk of doing work and then our pay being reversed, and there is nothing Freelancer.com will do about it. It is sad that a website that claims to be a leading employment site has no insurance for said employees. In my opinion, Freelancer.com should be investigated or either have some type of "contact us" form for when employees have been wronged. Without us, there are NO freelancers to work for the site.

    I am very disappointed about the way the site is run. There are many fake projects posted that are usually foreigners wanting sexting or other adult entertainment. Clients hiring people should have rules they follow. For instance, if they look the work over and then pay the freelancer for the work, it should NOT be allowed to be reversed at all. The client is only accepting the work as complete because it met their standards for the said project. Disgraceful really how freelancers are done on that site. I do NOT recommend it to anyone. If you can get a place on Upwork that would be a lot better as freelancers are usually paid promptly, and I never had a person reverse a payment of mine on Upwork.

    Thank you for reading, and best of luck if you do wish to work on Freelancer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Okay - but not very productive for freelancers

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the platform for about a year. Actually putting some details into my bids yet have never received a followup response from job posters. Lots of international competition, likely pushing salaries to the floor as with the other platforms in this space. Lots of spam jobs posted as well; some clearly requesting a solution be explained before they even choose to meet, which can be copied immediately instead of hired. Most projects seem to be website development; I have this space, but not interested. Lots of duplicates.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    You don't have control of violating their policy

    • Haryana, India,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Many people are saying you don't violate Freelancer policy, but you don't have control over this.

    When some fraud employer give you work and sends you partial money, and after your work, he will do some violation of Freelancer so that his account gets deleted and the partial money you received gets reversed.

    Their support will say your employer has violated their policy and you can contact the employer directly. How can we contact directly? Why is Freelancer for?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Amazed this Business Can Exist

    • Texas,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Came here with a project and experienced the worst customer service I've ever had - that is saying a lot this day and age.

    They won't let you hold an interview with the people you consider hiring.

    They won't accommodate your service requirements.

    They'll cancel your account if you violate one of their terms indefinitely. Set aside a few hours to study the website if you even consider using their service. Read the terms and agreements thoroughly if you want to get on your knees and be graced by their service.

    Make sure your computer security is at the highest level so you don't get scammed by the picture and text you hire.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The entire site is now utter garbage

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Years ago it was one of the sites I used regularly as a freelancer. I had received tons of good reviews, high standing, and I got paid through it regularly with no problems.

    Recently I decided to pick up some freelance work in my spare time, so I gave them another try. At first, everything was as I remembered - sure, 99.9% of it is idiots asking for labor cheaper than it would cost to keep slaves or freelancers blatantly lying about their skill set, but if you know how to look, you can get connected.

    BUT...

    Once you pick up work, that's where the crap hits the fan. Despite having in the past done tons of transactions, they forced me to go through this ridiculous and completely unnecessary (for anyone who knows anything about security) process for getting your funds out.

    Call me crazy, but I suspect they're data mining and it has nothing to do with security.

    There were WAY more fees than I ever remember. They took a huge chunk of my money.

    Then, get this, even after you give them all the info anyone would need to completely steal your identity, they make you wait 15 days to get your money unless you "upgrade."

    Seriously, forget you, Freelancer, give me my money so I can close my account and never use you again, please.

    Anyway. If you are a freelancer, DO NOT USE THIS SITE. There is a very high likelihood you will never be able to get your money out. I can see tons of people not able to go through their "this is how you steal someone's identity" security process.

    And frankly, I won't be shocked at all if they figure out some reason to not release the money I earned.

    Keep in mind, this is work completed, released by the client and which the client loved. That's the money Freelancer is trying not to pay me, and every freelancer I imagine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Site is a scam

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is nothing but a scam. This was the biggest waste of money and time. I went to the site looking for names and logos for a new website I was building. I got nothing but useless and dumb names. Something that could be done on 8th-grade level. When I complained to the company that out of nearly 2000 submissions of ideas that none were nearly suitable for what my company was looking for. That I still would have to give the money to someone even though they did not give me a name or logo worth using.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Account blocked

    • Germany,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday on Freelancer.com after a long brainstorming, I hired a programmer and created a milestone for $150. Today morning I had an email saying thank you, here is "receipt for deposits on freelancer," and after 3 hours, I wanted to log in to say hello to my programmer, but it was not possible. I was blocked. I couldn't believe it. I wanted to know what the problem is. After 3-4 hours, they answered, "you violated the rules." I am shocked because I am not aware of violating rules. I don't know, maybe it's a misunderstanding or maybe they confused me with somebody...suddenly in the middle of the project, you get blocked.

    1. I don't know what the programmer is doing, I can't log in to write to him to stop.

    2. I don't know what's gonna happen with $150.

    3. I don't know when I get an answer that I wanted to know which rules I violated..."thank you for your message, it can take 48 hours." Now I am in the middle of nowhere.

    An unreliable way of working. I learned something new...thank you for teaching me this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE - website is a scam with poor quality freelancers

    • Australia,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not post your jobs here, you are better of using UpWork or some other freelancer website. All the bids freelancer posts are fake. After posting a project, so many of the freelancers were unable to actually complete the job despite accepting the job in the first place.

    A massive waste of time. The freelancer I finally awarded the job to wasted two months and delivered nothing. After constantly chasing and giving pointers on what to do, they were still unable to deliver.

    Upon trying to cancel the project to get a refund. Freelancer.com prevents you from doing this. It's virtually impossible to get your money back, so if you sink thousands in a project, you could be left with absolutely nothing.

    Never EVER use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Too many scams and cam girl offers!

    • New Hampshire,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found what I had thought to be was a freelance position working as the operator of an online art gallery and turned out to be an online scam that cost me $2500 out of pocket. I am a struggling college student who doesn't have that kind of money, but it was taken out of my bank account. I did not share the bank information, but a returned check from this company has destroyed me. Freelancer.com does nothing to vet businesses, protect freelancers, or create an acceptable exchange for business ventures. I would absolutely not recommend this site, at all. It is horrible and should be shut down. Most of this site is also cam girl offers, which is not a freelance position. There are no vetting or community managers at all and reporting someone does nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 253

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review