About Freelancer.com

Based in Pyrmont, NSW, Australia, Freelancer.com is an online marketplace specifically designed for freelancers looking for work, and for outsourcers and crowdsourcers looking to have work completed. In business since 2004, the company claims to be the world’s largest outsourcing marketplace, with 4.5 million projects posted, and nearly 8 million verified users. Freelancer.com focuses on a wide variety of fields, including web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and according to the company, “anything else you could think of, all for the fraction of the cost.”

Freelancer.com Features

If you’re using Freelancer.com as an employer or small business, you simply sign up and post a project to begin. You’ll need to enter the project title, project details, skills you require for all applicants, in addition to pricing options (e.g. fixed budget or hourly). You will also be able to attach files relevant to your project at this time.

Once you’re ready to post your project, you’ll be given the option to further promote your listing by attaching additional classifications, such as Featured Project, Urgent Project, Private Project, NDA Required, and more. Keep in mind that these additional classifications will entail fees ranging anywhere from $9-$200, which Freelancer.com claims can increase your project’s visibility and attract up to 80% more bids. Employers on the site can also be proactive and browse through freelancers, which can be filtered by hourly rate, location, skills, and work categories, after which they can be contacted directly and invited to place a bid.

After your project has been submitted, you’ll begin receiving bids from freelancers who would like to work on your project. At this point you can review their qualifications by analyzing their portfolio and work history, overall rating, skill sets, and test scores. The hiring process is very personalized, and is completely based on your judgement and discretion.

Once your chosen freelancer has been hired, work will begin. If your project is based on a fixed price, you will generally pay the freelancer only after work has been completed. If your project will be billed on an hourly basis, Freelancer.com now offers a “Freelancer Time Track,” which ensures that every hour logged by the contractor is actually worked, by tracking their time via a software program that captures frequent screenshots.

Once the project has been completed to your satisfaction, you’ll be able to provide feedback to the contractor, as well as to rate their performance.

If you are looking for work as a freelancer, you can browse projects based on type (e.g. featured projects, projects with low bids, projects that are ending soon, etc.), and/or based on category (e.g. graphic design, web development, 3D animation, online marketing, etc.). You’ll then only place bids on projects that are relevant to your skill set.

Freelancer.com Membership Plans and Pricing

For those looking for work, Freelancer.com offers four different membership options, which range from no cost, to $49.95 per month:

  • Free
  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Premium

The primary differences between these packages are the number of bids you’re allowed, the percentage of the associated freelancer fee, as well as the number of portfolio items and skill sets you’re able to display to prospective employers. This means that if you’re just starting out, you may be able to get by just fine with a lower package. However, once your portfolio and skill sets grow, you’ll likely need to move up to a more robust package. It’s also important to note that these packages are tailored more toward freelancers, since employers will rarely need to showcase work or place bids on projects. For an informative chart displaying all Membership options and pricing, please click here.

Once your account is setup, you can easily switch between the packages and make payment via MasterCard, AMEX, Visa, Paypal, and Skrill Moneybookers.

Is Freelancer.com a Scam?

Freelancer.com is a globally acclaimed company that is backed by substantially large investors, and is staffed by legitimate management and leadership teams. As such, there are no indications that the company is a scam.

Having said this, since Freelancer.com has been in business for several years and has accumulated a wide variety of user reviews, the most common complaint is that many freelancers (as well as some employers) have claimed that they’ve experienced payment delays after a transaction has been completed, or that payments have not been processed altogether. They state their accounts are frequently frozen and undergo some sort of “investigation,” at which point Freelancer.com’s customer service is of little to no assistance. As can be imagined, when freelancers have worked for days or weeks on a project, completed them to their employers’ satisfaction, but then find that they’re unable to withdraw their funds, they become angry and immediately begin throwing around the “scam” word. To the company’s credit, when responding to these complaints, they have acknowledged that this is an ongoing problem, and that they are actively attempting an internal restructuring to address the issue.

Should You Avoid Freelancer.com?

Overall, Freelancer.com seems to have a great vision for the freelancing community, and is not necessarily a site that you should avoid. However, as a suggestion, if you do decide to sign up, be sure to contact the company directly and undergo one of their “investigations” before you begin hiring freelancers or bidding on any projects. By addressing the issue upfront, you can proactively provide them with any additional information they may need, which will help to substantially reduce the risk of running into any future problems. Another suggestion is to be careful who you hire to work on your projects—use your discretion to judge a freelancer’s character and work experience as best you can. Freelancer.com provides employers with some of the necessary tools to help discern the difference between low and high quality work, though they do not have the resources to guarantee that all work completed will match your needs. Caveat emptor.

Pros:

  • Large online marketplace for freelancers looking for work, as well as employers looking for work to be completed.
  • In business since 2004, and backed by substantial investors and legitimate management and leadership teams.
  • Wide variety of project types in field such as web and software development, design, writing, marketing, data entry, and more.
  • Easy to set up an account and bid on/post a job.
  • A good selection of payment options.

Cons:

  • Numerous users have complained of lengthy payment delays as their accounts undergo “investigation.”
  • Customer service has a reputation of being slow to offer assistance.
  • If you're a Freelancer, you are required to pay monthly payments for membership packages just to be able place more bids on projects and increase your skill-sets

Now read: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

238 Consumer Reviews for Freelancer.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 6 2 star: 6 1 star:  209
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 238
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not use Freelancer.com!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to them to have a drawing done. I chose an illustrator. He told me I needed to pay half the money upfront and deposit and second payment into Freelancer.com as a reserve.

    The work was horrendous and took 24-hour turnarounds for one hour work. I spent a week looking at bad designs. I learned the "illustrator" was just someone who was subcontracting out the job.

    I complained to their support team and to the illustrator. Support did NOTHING. The illustrator said he would refund the money but I first needed to give him the second payment, which makes NO sense.

    I refused.

    I am in the process of getting my money back via PayPal. I received the first half back and am waiting for them to pull out the second half currently.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed

    • Czech Republic,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently got scammed by one of the freelancers on the Freelancer.com platform. He forced me to release the 50% milestone without showing any work. I did it because I am very inexperienced in this world.

    So he stole my money, and my other half milestone is also stuck in my account.

    I created a PayPal dispute as the support did not want me to help with this case. Just because I created a PayPal dispute, they limited my Freelancer account and told me to close two disputes so they can work on it. I closed the PayPal disputes, but they are not responding now! Now it is not possible to open a new PayPal dispute because you can only open once for one PayPal transaction! So Freelancer.com Support also tricked me.

    Shortly, Freelancer Support limited my account and are not helping me to solve my case!

    My 232 USD got stolen, and no one cares. Plus, I lost so much time and energy. Meanwhile, I hired another freelancer on Upwork and he finished his work in 24 hours. No scams, no support issues or anything! Don't use Freelancer, use Upwork. It is way much better.

    I want my money back Freelancer! Do your job and take care of it! Support case: #UEV-787-71325.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It is a scam and complicit in certification fraud and bid bots!

    I established an Employer account from 2015 and spent thousands of dollar in fees.

    Paid recruiter fees. Paid fees to highlight my bids. Picked up a couple of jobs worth $300-500 and when I attempted to withdraw $240, they raised Identity Verification and that funds would take upwards of two weeks to process. Yet funds were quickly drawn upon the very same business PayPal account for over two years.

    It was a total waste of time talking to "support" as they refused to acknowledge the blatant refusal to return money back into the PayPal account.

    Add to the fact that they are complicit in allowing bidding bots, 40+ bids within seconds of posting a job. Post subsequent job, same 40+ INSTANT bids with no reference to the actual job description.

    Plus how does someone (majority being non-native English speakers) read, comprehend and answer 40 questions in 41 seconds and attain a 100% score on certifications? The certification leaderboards are rampant with such cheats.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Double charged me and wouldn't give a refund

    They double charged me and wouldn't give a refund, so I had to delete my account.

    More specifically, I paid for a service 2 years ago, then randomly this week they charged me again. I did a PayPal chargeback to no avail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 7, 2017

      Anonymous

      This is exactly what happened to me. Fortunately, I paid through PayPal and they got most of my money back. I am waiting for them to credit my last payment.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What a waste of time

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't use this website; it's a pain from start to finish. You can never talk to anyone directly; it's all messaging/emails. They take days to respond. They fail to recognize your issues. They sit on your money for 10 to 15 working days when a refund is requested, and we all know money can be transferred instantly these days.

    Avoid, avoid, avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Money leeches

    • India,
    • Nov 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Freelancer.com is a very fraud company in terms of their policies on how to take money from their customers. Most of the bidders are average, with poor knowledge of work. Well, even that's not a problem for me since everyone's work was based on his/her knowledge acquired so far.

    But the main reason Freelancer.com is degradable is because they charge you heavily for all transactions. Almost 1/4th of your payment gets deducted, that milestone is a knife stabber at every stage, for every payment/transfer amount you have to pay. Project completed? Well, then pay. Delete your project? Well, pay. Just pay for every small thing.

    Also, when you make the billing agreement, money is directly transferred from your bank account or credit/debit card without your consent. No, any other freelancing site doesn't do that. You must take permission from your customers first. I completely understand from the service provider's end you have to take the precautionary stage, but this is very fraudulent behavior.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Shall I mail in my DNA sample?

    My "verification" of address wasn't good enough as our utilities are listed under my husband's name (this despite my sending in my driver's license, plus a picture of me HOLDING my driver's license, plus a picture of me holding the identification number they asked me to write on a piece of paper, plus a picture of two recent bills in my name to my address).

    I had sent in, as another verification piece, the TOP of my most recent bank statement, in my and my husband's names, including my address.

    Not good enough. They required a PDF of my entire bank statement. Yes, with the routing number, our every single expense, including monthly subscription expenses to utilities and the like, along with those code numbers, you know, all the information that could sink anyone and have his/her credit flushed down the toilet in half a second of a hacker's hands.

    Just. Freaking. No.

    I asked the rep whether a swab of the inside of my cheek plus a retinal scan would be required next. In his very broken English he robotically repeated the same canned non-sequiturs.

    Sorry, guys, nope. I'll stay with Upwork.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    My review is long but worth reading. Consider it a warning!

    Freelancer.com support agent single-handedly ruined my life.

    Freelancer.com is ruining my life, and the lives of thousands of contractors, it's not to be trusted nor used. My review is long but worth reading and will show you how no one in their right mind should use it.

    I've been a member in this platform for over 5 years, I'm in the top 0.5% of contractors, I have 57 reviews, and 56 of them are perfect 5 stars. I only mentioned all of this to show you that if they're treating me this way, then imagine how they would treat other users.

    I had an issue with the website a while back, which I'll spare you the details of, that lead me to escalate the matter to get it solved, which I did. Prior to that issue, the website was placing a two-month limitation on my account, which stopped me from being paid or getting work, and after I resolved that I issue, I must have stepped on a few toes, because the day after, my account was placed under limitation once again.

    I contacted the website asking for an explanation, and the support agent rudely told me to stop asking questions and do my work, and they'll remove it when they feel like it. They didn't use these words, but it was the gest of it. I'm a proud person, and would never beg nor plead, but I was put in a corner.

    A few months back my father passed away, and just a couple weeks later, I was in a bad car accident which left me in a bad shape and I had to use all my savings to pay my medical bills. Right after that, the account was limited for two months, as I mentioned earlier, and I was barely getting by. But once the issue was resolved and the new "open limitation" was placed, I was desperate and strapped for cash. I had $3600 in my account, which Freelancer refused to allow me to withdraw, and at the same time I had bills piling up, so I contacted them appealing to their humanity and explaining that I did absolutely nothing wrong to deserve such treatment. I'm a well-respected person in my industry, yet I was being treated like a criminal.

    It became clear later on that this limitation was placed by a support agent, which I apparently angered during the first issue, and that the website had no basis nor reason to limit me. The first time I asked for the reason I was told that there's no reason and that I should keep working, then I was told that because a client complained, and in another occasion, I was told something else that I can't quite remember.

    At the end, they stopped making excuses and told me that the limitation will be lifted on the 4th of November, the date in which I'm writing this review. And I was told so on five separate occasions, which I luckily have documented and asked for the Chat ID's (which is something you should always do when dealing with Freelancer). A one-month limitation was hard and I didn't know if I can make it, but I basically had no choice, and they knew it.

    But a few days after this, the support agent that has something against me contacted me letting me know that she will only remove my limitation once I finish all my open projects. I tried to explain to her that this can't be and that as a contractor I have no authority over clients to close projects, they can take forever with edits and improvements and new features, or just leave, or any other scenario which I have no control over. I explained that my work is my life, that I will finish my work regardless because I have a responsibility toward my clients, and that how do they expect me to survive until then if my account is limited and I don't even have access to my money. And over our conversation that lasted a few weeks, I kept contacting Freelancer and asking about the limitation and all the support agents assured me that it will be removed on the 4th, but she insisted that it won't, and apparently she won, because today I woke up and indeed the limitation is still here.

    A support agent that had something against me is ruining my life, is pushing me to depression, and shortly homelessness. Last year around this time I was a successful business owner, and due to a series of misfortunate events, I have been reduced to this. Being treated like a thief or something, and constantly being threatened and told that my account can be suspended and deleted at any time.

    I gave five years to Freelancer, I wholeheartedly trusted them, and one of their support agents basically ruined my life because I stepped on her toes. I'm at a loss for words, I don't know how I should feel, what I should do, and the only clear thought in my mind is that I should warn people about this platform and tell them to stay the heck away. Whether you're a contractor or an employer, they will screw you mercilessly and you won't have a leg to stand on. If they did all of this to me, imagine what they would do to you.

    P.S. I heard of many cases where users had their accounts suspended after complaining about this platform. I realize the risk, and I'm taking it for you good people, so you know who you're dealing. And if my account does get suspended, I'll update my review and let you know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Fake staff of Freelancer.com

    • Rome, Italy,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was working on Freelancer.com as a mechanical engineer, and I was a preferred freelancer. I have been stolen by their staff two times, and I skipped it, but this time I lost $7000 USD, which Casey Ives stole and I am sure all these recruiters are dividing this money in between themselves. I wasn't happy there. You can check out Casey Ives LinkedIn profile.

    Just for your trust guys, they stole my money. Stay away from Freelancer.com.

    Now I am working on Upwork, one of the best sites I have ever seen, because Freelancer.com is fake. In the beginning, it's ok as a freelancer, but after that, they mess with you morally and destroy your reputation. What they do is that they delete the project of the employer and profile and also for the freelancer. Now, where can you ask about that money?

    Here I care because I have files that I have done the job and the employers are waiting, but I cannot send them the files. They have deleted my account.

    Be careful guys, otherwise, you will regret using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Had money stolen from me - then a chat session completely closed by support staff.

    • California,
    • Oct 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today I was hired for a $190 project which required me to purchase and set up a $100 theme in order to complete the project. The only way to purchase the theme was by using Bitcoin. This is important because my purchase would be nonrefundable.

    I finished the project up in about an hour and a half, and payment was promptly released by the employer.

    Four hours later the $190 is gone from my account and without any notification Freelancer has reversed the project after I've done everything on my end. I didn't get an email or a notification explaining why this had happened. I opened a live chat and attempted to explain the situation.

    The Freelancer chat member explained that I completed a project that violated their terms of service. When I tried to explain further that I spent money in order to complete the project and asked for a further explanation, the chat session was closed saying that I had violated the terms of Freelancer. The chat agent literally ran away from the problem. The chat agent clearly didn't want to take the time to understand the situation and the moment he could he threw out "not part of our terms, and not our problem."

    As a result, I lost $100 for purchasing a theme, $190 for the project and Freelancer still took a $19 project fee which was never returned to me. I have done 50+ jobs on Freelancer and spent thousands of dollars in project fees, dues, and more at Freelancer.com. This experience completely turned me off of their platform. I can't believe the way I was treated and the way the freelancer community is completely exploited.

    I would recommend using any other platform after the experience I had today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Legit but not a big fan

    I joined as a company to hire a freelancer. Compared to other freelancer sites, it is not easy to use Freelancer.com. They ask for payment to post, to get featured, and the worst part, a lot of freelancers are overpricing the same service offered on other sites. They need to have a better vetting process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 238

Write a Review for Freelancer.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review