About Genie Hour Glass

By HighYa Staff

Genie Hour Glass is a comfortable polypropylene “waist trainer” that’s claimed to help you instantly look 2 sizes slimmer and to give you that sought-after hourglass shape in seconds. In fact, Genie Hour Glass is claimed to continue shaping your waist the more you use it, even when it’s not being worn.

According to the manufacturer, Genie Hour Glass works by reducing and shaping your waistline, defining curves, and smoothing rolls and bulges. And as added benefits, Genie Hour Glass might even support your back and help you feel toned.

If you’re wondering how Genie Hour Glass accomplishes this, the company claims it’s due to their “double compression waist training technology” that works over 2 steps:

  1. Fasten the compression shaper around your torso.
  2. Adjust the training bands to your preference.

Before your run out and buy Genie Hour Glass though, let’s answer some of your most pressing questions:

What Is Waist Training? Is It Effective?

As the name might lead you to believe, waist training involves “training” the waist to maintain a certain shape in order to provide a slimming effect (think modern day corsets). In fact, Jessica Alba claims to have recently used a corset to train her waist after giving birth.

However, although there are some people who claim to have trained their waist using corsets and belts such as Genie Hour Glass, unless they’re worn for most of the day (and night)—and unless you go to some fairly extreme measures to maintain the shapethe effect is temporary and only lasts as long as you’re wearing the garment.

Granted, although Genie Hour Glass’s manufacturer doesn’t come right out and claim to provide a slimming effect when it’s not being worn, one of the models in the commercial alludes to this by stating, “The more I wear it, the better I look.”

Don’t be fooled though. As soon as you take off your Genie Hour Glass belt, your waist will return to its normal size.

The Waist Training Trend

As with most trends and fads, manufacturers will often jump on the bandwagon to make a quick buck, even though there’s no clinical proof that waist training works.

With this in mind, there are dozens of other “waist trainers” on the market you can choose between, including Tummy Tuck Belt, V-Shape Trainer Belt, Hot Belt, Xtreme Power Belt, and many more. Granted, none of these have been proven to work any better than Genie Hour Glass, but it’s important to keep in mind that you have options.

Does Waist Training Damage Your Body?

Despite waist training’s popularity (and the fact that it won’t help you lose weight), are there any negative side effects related to waist trainers such as Genie Hour Glass? According to medical professionals, the answer to this question is a resounding “yes.” But why?

At their most basic, waist trainers are modern versions of corsets, which are intended to “make the area between your hips and ribcage smaller, otherwise known as achieving a greater hip-to-waist ratio,” which is accomplished through restriction.

However, although this restriction might temporarily provide a slimming effect, it can also:

  • Prevent you from breathing properly, which can lead to fainting, lung infections, and even a decreased metabolism. In fact, if it’s tight enough, waist trainers can damage your ribs.

  • Prevent your bowels from functioning properly, which can result in reflux (i.e. heartburn), less effective digestion, and can even affect your bowel movements.

  • In addition to your lungs and bowels, too-tight waist trainers can damage other organs, such as your liver, spleen, and kidneys (not to mention your skin), all of which you depend on for proper functioning and health.

And while this restriction may temporarily provide core support, the lack of muscle stimulation might lead to decreased core strength with continued use.

What’s the takeaway here? As long as it’s not too tight, waist trainers might be useful for temporarily slimming your waist while you’re out on the town one night. But to wear them all day long or while working out? You might be causing more damage than you think.

What are Customers Saying About Genie Hour Glass?

Genie Hour Glass is very new to the market (URL registered March 2015) so there weren’t any online customer reviews yet at the time of our research.

However, Genie Hour Glass is manufactured by ASOTV industry giant Tristar Products, who also makes a variety of other products under the Genie brand name, including Genie Zip Bra, Ankle Genie, and more. Among these products, HighYa readers have rated them an average of 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

Despite this, Tristar Products holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on nearly 1,000 closed complaints (as of 5/12/15), many of which reference the same concerns noted above.

Genie Hour Glass Pricing & Refund Policy

Two Genie Hour Glasses (one nude and one black) are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H. The waist training belts are available in sizes S-4X, so you’ll definitely want to check their sizing chart before placing your order.

Genie Hour Glass comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you’re dissatisfied and decide to return your belts, you’ll probably end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a common tactic among “As Seen on TV” manufacturers.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund for your Genie Hour Glasses, you’ll need to contact customer service at 973-287-5133.

Can Genie Hour Glass Give You an Envy-Worthy Figure?

In short, while you’re wearing it, Genie Hour Glass can reasonably make you appear slimmer. Whether or not it will make you look 2 sizes slimmer however, or whether or not it can be comfortably worn under clothes, remains to be seen.

Regardless, keep in mind that Genie Hour Glass will only work while you’re wearing it, and will not give you an hourglass figure once it’s removed. And in addition to the big health risks we noted above, remember that Genie Hour Glass is not intended to help you lose weight in any way, as the manufacturer notes in their FAQ:

“Wearing the Genie Hourglass belt will help you look up to 2 sizes smaller instantly but it does not make you lose weight or inches. To lose weight, you must follow a reduced-calorie diet and/or do regular aerobic exercise.”

Bottom line: If you’re looking to temporarily appear slimmer, Genie Hour Glass might be a viable option, although you’ll be out a hefty chunk of change if you decide to return it. But if you’re actually looking to lose inches around your waist, only regular exercise and a healthy diet will do the trick.

See Also: Are Waist Trainers an Effective Shortcut to an Hourglass Figure?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 80 Genie Hour Glass Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE shipping

    • Pittsburg CA,
    • May 24, 2015

    I can not judge on how the waist trainer works because it is taking forever to get here. The email after ordering says out of stock but that it would be here within 2 to 3 weeks! It's been 3 weeks and it's still saying out of stock and has not been mailed. If I don't have it within a few days I will be canceling my order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 2, 2015

      Katrina Sands

      I ordered the Hour Glass shaper. A month ago and I am still waiting for it to get here. This is not looking good.

    • Jun 12, 2015

      Brittany,

      I'm also waiting for my product, it's been over a month SMH.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Long Island NY,
    • May 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have not received it, yet ordered it on 4/23. I was told it would be here on 5/31/15. When I didn't get a email about shipping, I checked the status and it said out of stock. So I started a chat and the rep Mark said the expected ship date is 6/20/2015. This is absolutely unacceptable. I will be canceling this if I don't have it within a week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • New York,
    • May 30, 2015

    They send you an email saying your order has shipped yet you get nothing and you keep calling them to see what's going on. They say that in two to three weeks you receive the Genie Hour Glass, that was two months ago. So I called them and once again they gave me the run around and I told them that I no longer am interested in the product. Buyer beware.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Don't Do It...

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 1, 2015

    Still waiting on the product, I ordered it in March. I called and they told me I would get it in June. Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 2, 2015

      Anonymous,

      I'm in the same situation. I ordered my product at the beginning of May, and have been told I will get it at the end of June. Pretty ridiculous.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed

    • Virginia Beach, VA ,
    • Jun 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very disappointed with the service of this company. I placed an order in March and keep getting the run around. I guess when they say, "it's too good to be true", this is what they meant. Very bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    I'm still waiting for product

    • San Jose CA ,
    • Jun 6, 2015

    I don't know about the actual product. Still waiting on them to send it to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Have not received the order

    • Georgia ,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish Genie would tell you that their product is out of stock before you order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    No

    • Jun 9, 2015

    I called to ask questions about the concerns and comments I'm hearing on here. I didn't order anything, I simply told them that I'm hearing that it takes forever and people are not receiving their orders. And what do you know, the women went hush mouth on me, I assumed she hung up when I heard nothing. Although I didn't order anything, I say don't do it, because she had nothing to say regarding my concerns or questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Genie Hour Glass

    • ohio,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I wouldn't know how it works, because, yes, as everyone has said I haven't received mine. It's been a month now and I have yet to receive my package. I talked to a chat person and they said it will be delivered on the 10th. Hopefully it gets here by then or I'm cancelling as well. They say because of the large amounts of orders coming in at once, because it's new it's taking much longer. But all I know is if it's not here by the time I was given, I won't be trying it. No one should have to wait so long for one product. They should have been way more organized. So if you have a few months time to wait I guess it's worth a try. If not, don't bother. It better work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • New Iberia LA,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I ordered this on May 4th, it is now June 7th. I've been getting the run around, these foreigners keep telling me it's out of stock 7 to 10 business days, this is a bunch of B.S. They can forget it. I don't think I'll be ordering anything from this company ever again. I'm going to Amazon or eBay, at least they're honest about how long it's going to take.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Literally Scums Of The Earth

    • Bronx NY,
    • Jun 13, 2015

    I place an order May 5, 2015, It's June 8 2015. Just called and nothing, they said about 7 days. Basically run around. I am taking action and suggest all of you do that. People are still placing orders and it needs to stop. Don't let your cash go down the drain because that is exactly what they want you to do.

    I have no respect for Indians, at least some of them because I can see they're the one running these scams. They will not get away with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2015

      Eileen,

      So your bottom line is the Indians must be behind it because you can see "they are the ones running these scams"? May you and Donald Trump live long enough to know better.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Genie Hour Glass!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review