About Genie Hour Glass

By HighYa Staff

Genie Hour Glass is a comfortable polypropylene “waist trainer” that’s claimed to help you instantly look 2 sizes slimmer and to give you that sought-after hourglass shape in seconds. In fact, Genie Hour Glass is claimed to continue shaping your waist the more you use it, even when it’s not being worn.

According to the manufacturer, Genie Hour Glass works by reducing and shaping your waistline, defining curves, and smoothing rolls and bulges. And as added benefits, Genie Hour Glass might even support your back and help you feel toned.

If you’re wondering how Genie Hour Glass accomplishes this, the company claims it’s due to their “double compression waist training technology” that works over 2 steps:

  1. Fasten the compression shaper around your torso.
  2. Adjust the training bands to your preference.

Before your run out and buy Genie Hour Glass though, let’s answer some of your most pressing questions:

What Is Waist Training? Is It Effective?

As the name might lead you to believe, waist training involves “training” the waist to maintain a certain shape in order to provide a slimming effect (think modern day corsets). In fact, Jessica Alba claims to have recently used a corset to train her waist after giving birth.

However, although there are some people who claim to have trained their waist using corsets and belts such as Genie Hour Glass, unless they’re worn for most of the day (and night)—and unless you go to some fairly extreme measures to maintain the shapethe effect is temporary and only lasts as long as you’re wearing the garment.

Granted, although Genie Hour Glass’s manufacturer doesn’t come right out and claim to provide a slimming effect when it’s not being worn, one of the models in the commercial alludes to this by stating, “The more I wear it, the better I look.”

Don’t be fooled though. As soon as you take off your Genie Hour Glass belt, your waist will return to its normal size.

The Waist Training Trend

As with most trends and fads, manufacturers will often jump on the bandwagon to make a quick buck, even though there’s no clinical proof that waist training works.

With this in mind, there are dozens of other “waist trainers” on the market you can choose between, including Tummy Tuck Belt, V-Shape Trainer Belt, Hot Belt, Xtreme Power Belt, and many more. Granted, none of these have been proven to work any better than Genie Hour Glass, but it’s important to keep in mind that you have options.

Does Waist Training Damage Your Body?

Despite waist training’s popularity (and the fact that it won’t help you lose weight), are there any negative side effects related to waist trainers such as Genie Hour Glass? According to medical professionals, the answer to this question is a resounding “yes.” But why?

At their most basic, waist trainers are modern versions of corsets, which are intended to “make the area between your hips and ribcage smaller, otherwise known as achieving a greater hip-to-waist ratio,” which is accomplished through restriction.

However, although this restriction might temporarily provide a slimming effect, it can also:

  • Prevent you from breathing properly, which can lead to fainting, lung infections, and even a decreased metabolism. In fact, if it’s tight enough, waist trainers can damage your ribs.

  • Prevent your bowels from functioning properly, which can result in reflux (i.e. heartburn), less effective digestion, and can even affect your bowel movements.

  • In addition to your lungs and bowels, too-tight waist trainers can damage other organs, such as your liver, spleen, and kidneys (not to mention your skin), all of which you depend on for proper functioning and health.

And while this restriction may temporarily provide core support, the lack of muscle stimulation might lead to decreased core strength with continued use.

What’s the takeaway here? As long as it’s not too tight, waist trainers might be useful for temporarily slimming your waist while you’re out on the town one night. But to wear them all day long or while working out? You might be causing more damage than you think.

What are Customers Saying About Genie Hour Glass?

Genie Hour Glass is very new to the market (URL registered March 2015) so there weren’t any online customer reviews yet at the time of our research.

However, Genie Hour Glass is manufactured by ASOTV industry giant Tristar Products, who also makes a variety of other products under the Genie brand name, including Genie Zip Bra, Ankle Genie, and more. Among these products, HighYa readers have rated them an average of 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

Despite this, Tristar Products holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on nearly 1,000 closed complaints (as of 5/12/15), many of which reference the same concerns noted above.

Genie Hour Glass Pricing & Refund Policy

Two Genie Hour Glasses (one nude and one black) are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H. The waist training belts are available in sizes S-4X, so you’ll definitely want to check their sizing chart before placing your order.

Genie Hour Glass comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you’re dissatisfied and decide to return your belts, you’ll probably end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a common tactic among “As Seen on TV” manufacturers.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund for your Genie Hour Glasses, you’ll need to contact customer service at 973-287-5133.

Can Genie Hour Glass Give You an Envy-Worthy Figure?

In short, while you’re wearing it, Genie Hour Glass can reasonably make you appear slimmer. Whether or not it will make you look 2 sizes slimmer however, or whether or not it can be comfortably worn under clothes, remains to be seen.

Regardless, keep in mind that Genie Hour Glass will only work while you’re wearing it, and will not give you an hourglass figure once it’s removed. And in addition to the big health risks we noted above, remember that Genie Hour Glass is not intended to help you lose weight in any way, as the manufacturer notes in their FAQ:

“Wearing the Genie Hourglass belt will help you look up to 2 sizes smaller instantly but it does not make you lose weight or inches. To lose weight, you must follow a reduced-calorie diet and/or do regular aerobic exercise.”

Bottom line: If you’re looking to temporarily appear slimmer, Genie Hour Glass might be a viable option, although you’ll be out a hefty chunk of change if you decide to return it. But if you’re actually looking to lose inches around your waist, only regular exercise and a healthy diet will do the trick.

See Also: Are Waist Trainers an Effective Shortcut to an Hourglass Figure?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 80 Genie Hour Glass Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE shipping

    • Pittsburg CA,
    • May 24, 2015

    I can not judge on how the waist trainer works because it is taking forever to get here. The email after ordering says out of stock but that it would be here within 2 to 3 weeks! It's been 3 weeks and it's still saying out of stock and has not been mailed. If I don't have it within a few days I will be canceling my order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 2, 2015

      Katrina Sands

      I ordered the Hour Glass shaper. A month ago and I am still waiting for it to get here. This is not looking good.

    • Jun 12, 2015

      Brittany,

      I'm also waiting for my product, it's been over a month SMH.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Waste Your Time And Money!

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Aug 28, 2015

    My biggest issue was that it took over a month for the item to ship. When it finally came, I only got 1, when the promotion says by one get one free. When I called (I literally called 2 minutes before writing this), the costumer service rep said that that I didn't choose the BOGO option. Really lady? Who would choose 1 when you can get 2 for the same price? Not to mention I know for a fact that I ordered both colors. I'm really upset and the costumer service rep didn't even try to rectify the situation. Terrible service. Absolutely terrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 18, 2015

      CeCe,

      I would not recommend this product to anyone. The hourglass left scars on my waist that seems like they do not want to go away. Now I am scarred indefinitely. I got my granddaughter one also, she had the same problem, she is 17. I am livid. What a rip-off. I can't seem to get any customer service people to help me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • New York,
    • May 30, 2015

    They send you an email saying your order has shipped yet you get nothing and you keep calling them to see what's going on. They say that in two to three weeks you receive the Genie Hour Glass, that was two months ago. So I called them and once again they gave me the run around and I told them that I no longer am interested in the product. Buyer beware.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Genie Hour Glass is a rip off in several ways

    • St. Louis MO,
    • Aug 28, 2015

    I ordered two small Genie Hour Glass - one in black one in beige. I received two X/XL - and they were huge on me. The one I opened and tried on, also did not work like they say in the commercial - it actually added thickness to my waist. That is when I discovered it was X/XL even though the outside of the mailing package shows Small. Then when I tried to simply exchange it for two small, which it clearly states on the form that came with the garments, they refused and said I would have to mail them back and order two new ones. I had to spend $8 returning them by the cheapest Post Office option available. I am certainly not going to order again, because they will likely send the wrong size or something else will be wrong with it. They keep the $15.98 shipping and handling, which leads me to think they do this on purpose - they get the merchandise back, ship it out to some other unsuspecting customer and then do it all over again. Horrible company - and of course, you have to talk with people who could care less - they're outside of the USA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 18, 2015

      CeCe,

      Please do not order this rip-off hour glass, it does not work. 

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Long Island NY,
    • May 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have not received it, yet ordered it on 4/23. I was told it would be here on 5/31/15. When I didn't get a email about shipping, I checked the status and it said out of stock. So I started a chat and the rep Mark said the expected ship date is 6/20/2015. This is absolutely unacceptable. I will be canceling this if I don't have it within a week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Lies and Lies

    • Jersey City, NJ,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    This product does not work for me. I'm only 159 lbs and it doesn't hold anything. The top belly is spilling out and the plastic cuts into my skin. I wouldn't refer this product to anyone. I think it's false advertisement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Genie Hour Glass

    • ohio,
    • Jun 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I wouldn't know how it works, because, yes, as everyone has said I haven't received mine. It's been a month now and I have yet to receive my package. I talked to a chat person and they said it will be delivered on the 10th. Hopefully it gets here by then or I'm cancelling as well. They say because of the large amounts of orders coming in at once, because it's new it's taking much longer. But all I know is if it's not here by the time I was given, I won't be trying it. No one should have to wait so long for one product. They should have been way more organized. So if you have a few months time to wait I guess it's worth a try. If not, don't bother. It better work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Genie Hourglass Belt

    • Washington, DC,
    • Aug 1, 2015

    After looking at these reviews, I wouldn’t buy the darn thing either especially from the toll free number. My intent was to see how other women liked the Genie Hourglass once used. Let’s just keep this simple. Buy it from Bed Bath and Beyond, use your $5.00 off $15.00 coupon and be happy! After purchasing my belt from my local Bed Bath and Beyond, I agree with Valarie from the July 3rd review. It looks ok under cotton shirts, but I could see the outline of the shaper especially in the back under a more form fitting outfit. I am a L/XL and it will work as long as you adjust the straps comfortably. I wouldn't wear it all day due to the boning that could possible scar. Good luck everyone!

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Don't Do It...

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 1, 2015

    Still waiting on the product, I ordered it in March. I called and they told me I would get it in June. Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 2, 2015

      Anonymous,

      I'm in the same situation. I ordered my product at the beginning of May, and have been told I will get it at the end of June. Pretty ridiculous.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Don't order, it's a scam.

    • New York,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    I placed my order on May 8th, 2015 and was told that I would receive my order in exactly two weeks. I called at the end of May and was told that the items were on back-order and they are getting a shipment the beginning of June. I then explained to the representative that I ordered at the beginning of May and that I needed them because I was invited to a dinner party later in June. The representative then told me that I would definitely receive my order the first week in June.

    I called the first week in June and was told by a different representative that they are on back order and they didn't know when a shipment was coming in so I asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor said that a shipment was coming the following week and that they would put a rush on my order.

    I never received my items so I canceled my order this morning. All this company wants is your card or bank information. Don't order from the company because they will give you the run around and keep telling you they are on back order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Waiting for product

    • San Jose, CA ,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I ordered my product May 2nd, 2015 it is now June 16th, 2015. I tried to call they don't answer. I'm very disappointed in their service. I don't know if this is a scam or what. I would not recommend this to anyone, it's ridiculous to wait this long. It's required to give them a star but really I do not give them a star. I give them a thumbs down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Genie Hour Glass!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review