About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing & Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver "24/7 rapid response" (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

891 Consumer Reviews for GoFundMe

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 688 4 star: 71 3 star: 7 2 star: 18 1 star:  107
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 891
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I recommend to read every email sent by GoFundMe

    • Florida,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi guys. I trust this information can help you, especially if you are the type that likes to read reviews. I started a campaign on November 22nd. I really thought it was going to be a lot easier since to my knowledge I was doing everything right. Two days later I read on my campaign's page that the funds were on hold and to expect an email with more information. I honestly freaked out and wouldn't stop looking at the page to see if anything had changed. I probably sent about 5 emails and nothing.

    Then, I paused and prayed asking for guidance and sure enough, it hit me! I went back to check all the emails thinking I could've missed something. I was receiving so many notifications from GoFundMe notifying me of all the generous donations that I missed a very important email. There was one email explaining why the funds were on hold and actually detailed every step I needed to make so that the funds could be released. I won't lie, I was still worried, but I did everything accordingly. They were basically asking me to update the page by writing a brief story about the present status of the beneficiary for all donors to read. I needed to add details such as who was going to take the money to the beneficiary and how, his present situation, etc. They asked to be specific and write as many details as possible, so I did.

    After doing so, I received another email probably about a day later saying that the information was processed successfully and that they were lifting up the hold and depositing the money in my account within the next couples of days. I was so relieved however, not totally convinced after reading so many negative reviews. To my surprise, the funds were transferred the following day, all of it!

    So, I learned something. I should read everything carefully and follow up accordingly instead of using my judgment based on reviews only. Not that it's a bad thing, but unfortunately, one's bad experience can ruin it for others and affect a really good company's reputation. I can see why GoFundMe has so many measures. All they are trying to do is protect our generous donors, protect us as organizers because by me giving all those details, it proves my donors I'm being transparent and a good steward of their money, and at the same time the company is protecting themselves. Please read your emails carefully. The solution might be there, and try to follow as they suggest.

    I do want to say, I would use them again, but I hope they can adapt phone customer service. Thanks for reading.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2019

      James H.

      Natalie, this is great news for you, but I have never received such an email. I just reviewed every one (as I save each one) and I am assured all is in order. I would LOVE to receive such an email...but in spite of my CALLS and LETTERS (yes, I was able to actually get info on their hidden REDWOOD CITY address), I am ignored. The pity is that these funds were vitally needed weeks ago! I will shortly go on social media and do my best to STOP this scam.

    • Jan 9, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear that, Natalie! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us here.

      James, we're so sorry for the continued effort here. We'll follow up with you in your original review to keep things organized.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    A week later

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Amazingly, now a week later I logged in as they suggested (assuming that there is a real human being in GoFundM) with the result that they scheduled another week's delay of the funds!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 25, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you so much for reaching out, James, and our apologies for the trouble. It looks like our team has been trying to get in touch with you, but it appears you have not been receiving our replies.

      On November 14th, our team sent an outreach with the subject line: "Third Outreach to James H: Important Message From GoFundMe - Response and Action Required." Could you check your inbox for that message once more, as well as your spam or junk folders? Please let us know if you're able to find that message, and if not, we'll be right here to continue working with you.

    • Dec 9, 2018

      Bruce H.

      I also have been going through the "we sent you funds," I have been told to contact the bank, they insist nothing has been sent, GoFundMe has developed secret ways to look at account information if you look, it delays your funds an additional ten days as they reset your account. If they hadn't locked all my funds into their accounts, I would certainly avoid using these people in the future. For such a "people-oriented" service, it certainly seems you have become derailed from my expectations.

    • Dec 16, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi James,

      We can see that you reached out to our team directly on December 6th in the email titled "HELP," and our trust and safety team followed up with you that same day.

      We can see that you still have not addressed the questions from the message we had sent on November 13th, so we shared those questions with you once more on December 6th. We can assure you that if you continue to work with us by responding to our review questions, we can move this process forward. We look forward to hearing back from you.

    • Dec 16, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you for getting in touch with us here, Bruce. We can see that our team has responded to you in our ongoing email conversation, "I would like my funds." We had sent our last response on December 14th, and are still awaiting your reply. If you could kindly follow up with us there, we can continue working with you to assist with the withdrawal process. Thank you.

    • Jan 9, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi James,

      We apologize for how prolonged this experience has been for you. We've been trying to reach you for months now, as we've needed to hear a response from you directly via email before sending out your funds.

      Since this hasn't been an ideal experience, our team decided to send the funds out as of this morning. The withdrawal should reach you within 2-5 business days from today.

      If there is anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Nov 17, 2018

    Impossible to get money after being promised

    It seems that each time you seek to have the money transferred to your account so that you can distribute it to your NEEDY FRIEND, they POSTPONE the date another week! I'm very disappointed that I trusted GoFundMe with my money and that of my friends, hoping that it would be used for good. While they promise to get back to me when I print and send requests, nothing happens. Perhaps they are understaffed, overworked, or just incompetent. But when dealing with severe needs, this is inexcusable.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Did Exactly What We Needed

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Nov 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend got a brain tumor, and a group of us needed to raise money for him quick and easily. This did just that. Super easy to set up, easy to spread the word, then when we started receiving donations it was very easy to setup weekly withdrawals. The funds did need to go directly into my friend's account, it couldn't be one of us helping him. That's the only place where we hit a little friction with how we need to deal with the bills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 25, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear that your campaign was able to garner the support your friend needed, Josh. Thanks for sharing your positive experience with us.

    • Dec 19, 2018

      James H.

      Each time I connect to your website, I'm told it will be another week. Therefore I will not go back...the last time was December 14th. I have gotten no emails from you that were not computer spam. JUST SEND ME THE MONEY! You have had the info you requested back in October. I don't understand why you have time to bother with this posting when you can't be reached by landline, email, resident address, or any other way. Do you have an 800 listing?

    • Dec 20, 2018

      Kathleen L.

      I would like to raise funds for my twins to help with their meals, education, medical and prescriptions and clothes. They are seven years old.

    • Dec 22, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Kathleen!

      Thanks for reaching out here. You can absolutely raise a campaign for your two boys. Just follow this link to get started: http://www.gofundme.com/sign-up. If you do have any trouble along the way, you can contact our support team directly here: https://www.gofundme.com/contact.

      Happy Holidays!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I'm just appreciative of a service like this

    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have donated to a few causes on GoFundMe and all of them are the kinds of things that tug at your heartstrings and make you feel like there is good in the world. I'm thankful that services like GoFundMe exist to enable people to make a small difference in a few clicks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 5, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Nathan! We're so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience.

    • Nov 16, 2018

      Kiya M.

      I have a huge Instagram following and I needed a computer for school and work. I have a huge following because I used to do adult modeling in the past. I was very strict about receiving funds and what they were for. GoFundMe made a couple of mistakes with one of my donors and ended up refunding him the whole amount that was donated. He put the amount in again and this time watched the tipping area because they have that preset. They refunded all of my donors and said that I broke terms and conditions which I did not. I have sent email after email to them explaining my situation. telling them I can provide the application and the approval from FAFSA on my school loans. They will not respond back to me they just completely closed my account where I can’t log in. I think this is some sort of discrimination and I’m trying to go back to school to better myself. Why isn’t this against the law? I know the United States is a country full of over religious zealots. I was sure that they will be fair, seeing that I was completely professional and strict about what I wanted and telling my donors what I wanted donations for.

    • Nov 17, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear it, Nathan! Thanks so much for your kind words.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Lack of transparency, phone assistance, and endless fake donations.

    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    Assuming I did not meet the requirements - From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account problems which were solved after many many emails. My account was closed and reopened because they "assumed" I did not meet their bank requirement.

    Fake donations - After the initial issues were resolved, I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be at least five. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transactions were reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors (from my family and friends).

    Unexplained cancellation - Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    I have received two payments, but I don’t know whose donation they reflect.

    No phone assistance - Everything could have been solved quickly if they provided phone assistance. The email service was always courteous but the process is slow, and many emails were needed to solve problems and answer questions that were not addressed on their site (e.g., fake donations).

    Too many fake donations - I strongly feel that GoFundMe should address this aggressively. In the meantime, campaigners should be told of this problem before he/she opens an account.

    I questioned GoFundMe about this and I was told that the best solution would be to make my campaign private (friends and family). Then what’s the purpose of GoFundMe? I could have sent personal emails to the people I know and there would have been no need to use GoFundMe (and pay a fee). The whole point of crowdfunding is to appeal to strangers who believe in one’s cause.

    This was a sad and frustrating experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Esther,

      Thank you for offering your honest feedback. We completely understand this hasn’t been an ideal experience, which we never wish for any of our customers.

      We do want to clarify that our team and our payment processor review all accounts and donations to keep GoFundMe the safest place to give, and specific donations and/or campaigns and accounts may be refunded or closed as deemed necessary, as outlined in our Terms and Conditions here: https://www.gofundme.com/terms. The specifics of the review process are proprietary for security reasons, so we appreciate your understanding as we are unable to provide further details regarding the noted cancellations and failed donations.

      Rest assured that your account is currently active, and you can see the donors with successful donations listed on your campaign. Per your request on potentially refunding those donors, we’ve responded to you with the next steps. If you would like to move forward with that, please get back to us at your earliest convenience.

      We appreciate your understanding and look forward to hearing back from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 22, 2018

    Lack of transparency and no phone assistance

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account I formation problems which were solved after many many emails and a complaint I posted on the comment section of “Customer service needs serious improvement” on this site.

    GoFundMe responded and took care of the initial problems, and I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be more than 5 of these. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transaction was reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors.

    Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    GoFundMe sent me a previous email saying that they had withdrawn from the donations and transferred $71.91 to my account on the 15th of October. So far, the amount has not shown up by in my credit card bank account

    So I went to each of the donors (thank god there were only a few) and asked if they received a refund. Two are still pending. One for $10 + tip and the second, well, this is weird because GoFundMe took $27.50 from their checking credit card account without authorization.

    I just want to get this clarified, but no one is answering my emails since my campaign was canceled. I am sure all of this could be resolved via phone, but this is not possible.

    My well-intentioned cause has turned into a very frustrating and embarrassing situation. I hope I will receive answers soon.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    10 percent fee, WATCH OUT!

    • Hollywood, FL,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I make a donation to a good cause, which I have done before. GoFundMe decides to tack on a 10 percent fee out of the goodness of their hearts and my wallet! I will never make a donation to GoFundMe again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you so much for reaching out here, and apologize for the trouble. We'd love to address your concern, but we were unable to find any recent outreaches under your name. Would you be able to contact us directly, so we can continue to help? (https://www.gofundme.com/contact)

      We look forward to hearing back from you so we can get this resolved as soon as possible.

    • Oct 25, 2018

      Robert G.

      I made a donation as anonymous to a Tracy DePasquale for $500 a few weeks ago.

    • Oct 27, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for following up here, Robert!

      We took a closer look at that transaction, and it looks like a voluntary tip of $50 was left along with your donation. We've gone ahead and refunded that for you since it was unintentional. You should also see a couple emails confirming your refund, as well as an email from our team. Lastly, we wanted to clarify that tipping is entirely voluntary, and your tip amount can be changed to $0 if you wish.

      Thanks again for getting back to us so we could resolve this issue for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My experience with GoFundMe

    • Florida,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had nothing but a positive experience with this website. Easy to fill out and do updates, see who was donating and reminders to send thank yous. A lot of communication by email to us to give us ideas of different ways to promote our page, which we followed. We met our goal fairly quickly, which would not have been possible without their help. The money collected was deposited in our account within two business days. This was literally a lifesaver as we needed medication for my husband, which we now have on order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear about your experience, Susan! If you need any more help, you know how to get in touch!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Needed help to edit the text

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I saw the story that was written, I wanted to make some edits as far as grammar and spelling. I submitted the corrections I thought would enhance the story and customer service was excellent and served as a mediator to the person who had posted the story and helped fix it. A story should look good, especially if you are trying to get support from people who are educated and successful and you are hoping for their donations. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so happy that our team was able to help out with your story, Gabriele! We're always happy to help if you need us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Customer service needs serious improvement

    • Coronado, CA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Now that the DA’s office has decided that I am officially not a criminal, I wanted to say a few things about GoFundMe. I wanted to stop the suicides from occurring on a bridge in my city - The San Diego Coronado Bay Bridge. Caltrans wouldn’t pay for it, so, I went to the public for help.

    Having never started a non-profit or raised money for anything except my Brownie troops Girl Scout cookie campaign, I started the process of creating a 501c3 not for profit corp. But the corporate paperwork was not finalized yet at the time I requested disbursement, resulting in having no corporate bank account for the money to go into. So, they sent it to my personal checking account. I explained this in detail to GoFundMe. They could have easily pointed out that its a FELONY to co-mingle public donations with a private income. That if ANY of that money gets used for anything other than its intended purpose it is a crime punishable by prison time and a hefty fine.

    I was arrested on a Tuesday, by surprise, when I agreed to come into the police station to answer yet another round of questions I’d already answered many times before, the previous month. As soon as I walked in, they handcuffed me and put me in a holding cell…I was alone. No one knew I was there. That’s when the tears began…and they didn’t stop for the next 8 hours that day. I was traumatized to put it mildly. Before that memorable Tuesday, I had never even gotten a J walking ticket. Didn’t matter. I was taken to the regional women’s detention center in the back of a cop car, handcuffed, and held for two felonies that I knew I did not intentionally commit. Ironically – the money was there the entire time, just not in the same account.

    As soon as my name went on the front page of the local newspaper, the news media began calling my cell phone for comment. I am really glad to be able to say that the study is currently underway, and has the full support of the California State Senate, no thanks to GoFundMe. Anytime you’d like to help me out with the $10k in legal fees, GoFundMe, just hit me up and I’ll give you my routing number. I really hope my story helps future dogooders avoid the slammer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 1, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We’re truly sorry for the way things transpired for you, Rhonda. We work hard to keep GoFundMe the safest place to give, and always seek to best guide our customers, so we’d like to clear up what happened here.

      As noted on our site here, we can help campaign organizers safely run campaigns on behalf of legitimate non-profits, and set up withdrawals directly in the organization’s information: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/articles/204532398-Raising-Funds-for-an-Organization. Since your organization’s non-profit status was not yet finalized at the time, this method would not have applied to you.

      In the event that you personally withdraw funds, it is your responsibility to ensure that funds are appropriately routed to the ultimate recipient, and used for the purpose stated on the campaign. Failure to do so is considered fraud, as noted on our site here: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us/articles/203604694-Reporting-a-GoFundMe. By signing up for GoFundMe, you agree to our terms, outlining these details for managing your campaign.

      We apologize if those details were not fully reviewed, and appreciate your understanding as GoFundMe will cooperate with law enforcement and provide them with any information needed, should a resulting investigation occur.

    • Oct 4, 2018

      esther p.

      A few days ago I started a GoFundMe for school supplies for underprivileged children in rural India. My goal is $1500, I was up to $150 in donations and then suddenly without an explanation, the site refunded the money to the donors. I am super frustrated because there is no person I can talk to find out what happened? I've sent several messages and I am waiting for a response.

    • Oct 7, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We truly apologize for the trouble here, Esther. After reviewing your messages with our team, it looks like our payment processor refunded your donations in error because it was believed you were in an unsupported country. This is something we take very seriously, and we’re working with our payment processor to make things right. We’re currently waiting on the response from them, and we will make sure to follow up with you as soon as we gather more information, so we can get your campaign up and running once more. Please don't hesitate to follow up with us in the email conversation we already have if you have more questions.

    • Oct 8, 2018

      Esther P.

      Thank you for finally being able to address the problem. All of your customer service representatives were very kind and patient. I now hope all will be ok. In my emails, I addressed simple solutions to prevent something like this happening to other campaigners, including why not simply ask first, before assuming the campaigner’s withdrawal information was from an unsupported country? Anyway, I hope they will be considered. Regards.

    • Oct 20, 2018

      Esther P.

      I am sorry to report that after the above messages, things got worse. Suffice to say that GoFundMe closed my campaign giving me no reason and froze me out. As upset as I was, I would have left it at that, but I soon found out that one donor to my campaign has not been reimbursed and $27.50 was taken from the credit card of another donor without his authorization. In addition, GoFundMe told me that they had transferred to my bank credit card from part of the donations. Not so.

      It is a nightmare and so frustrating not to be able to speak to someone on the phone and find out what is going on and why. I have emailed many times but since they closed my campaign, I have not received a single response via email. I just want to put all of this behind me but I can’t because I feel responsible for the people who donated to my campaign, and whose money has not been reimbursing or was withdrawn from their credit card without permission. Does anyone know how I can get this resolved?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Impressive

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First time user, a young friend passed away. A fund was set up for her young daughter and husband. It was quick and easy to use, for which I was grateful.

    Subsequent issues:

    1) I didn't get a receipt. I learned from live chat person that I had transposed my email address. He immediately sent me a receipt, resolving the issue.

    2) My bank statement showed a dollar amount from GoFundMe that was not part of my donated amount. I was appalled that there was a fee that was not mentioned in the donation page!

    Live chat guy discovered I had checked a box indicating I'd leave a tip. He said if I had changed my mind he would be happy to resolve, and he did. My bank account was credited within 24 hours.

    So, live chat guy never made me feel foolish, which I strongly appreciated since I felt pretty silly. Next time I WILL leave the tip!. Thank you for the gentle handling of my issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Immediate help on campaigns offers quicker relief

    • Centereach, NY,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am desperately trying to raise enough money to simply register the van I live in to avoid homelessness. I'm fighting the clock so when my campaign was not quite right, I needed technical support quickly. Help was minutes away as if the person's nickname is "The Flash." The assistance provided corrected the situation and my campaign is up and running. Now I can only hope strangers are as kind, friendly, and caring as the GoFundMe staff is because then the fund income-generating website may fund my project, and help me in my dream of maintaining van housing until I finish the screenplay I'm writing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 891

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review