About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing & Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver "24/7 rapid response" (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

893 Consumer Reviews for GoFundMe

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 71 3 star: 7 2 star: 18 1 star:  111
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 893
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Broken hearted

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was diagnosed with cancer and is unable to work. I started a campaign to pay my rent for a few months while looking for a second job to support us. I have had nothing but problems with GoFundMe. Many delays setting up my first withdrawal. I had to send them my drivers license, bank statement and fill out banking information many times. The first deposit never made it to my bank account due to incorrect bank account number (my fault) and wrong name on deposit (their fault). I approved an attempt to reclaim the first deposit and THEY CLEANED OUT MY BANK ACCOUNT. So I did not receive my funds and they took an extra $385.98 out of my bank account. I am devastated! They no longer answer my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 5, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so sorry to hear about the difficulties you ran into along the way, Judi.

      In taking a closer look at your account, we do see that your first withdrawal failed due to incorrect banking information.

      Our team attempted to recover the funds from the bank account it was originally sent to, and this process takes 10 business days. Upon taking a closer look, we do see that one of your emails was missed during this time frame, but we were able to get back to you and inform you that the recovery was successful, and funds were sent out to you once more last week.

      We appreciate you offering your honest feedback here, and although your issue was resolved, this definitely isn't the situation we hope for our customers. If you ever need more assistance, or have any more feedback, we'll be right here for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Trying to withdrawal funds

    • Austell, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 41-year-old sister passed recently and we didn’t have money for a proper burial so I decided to start a GoFundMe which was pretty much unsuccessful and only got $70 in donations and $20 of that was from me just to get it started. I couldn’t figure out how to withdraw the funds. So when I signed it, it said email and password were incorrect. So I tried my old email address and password thinking maybe I accidentally created it with that one, but it rejected that too. So I spent two hours on my phone trying to get some type of help and all I got was a computer generated answer. All that money that y’all collect from people who are already in need and you have no customer service number or even online live help. Couldn’t even find a link to email somebody. I guess if you make it difficult for people to collect their money then maybe they’ll just give up?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks for writing in, Loretta.

      Our apologies for the frustrating experience you've had so far.

      Our team tried looking up your name, but we were unable to find your campaign. We want to make sure that this gets resolved, so could you please contact us here?

      https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us

      You'll see a "Contact Us" button to send us a message directly. While we're unable to offer phone support, our team will be here to assist you via email.

      Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Issues with withdrawal

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son is under the age of 18 and I had to add myself as the beneficiary, after many attempts I never received the verification email and the deadline was fast approaching. After sending numerous emails to customer support, there were no replies at all. In the meantime, my sons kept getting the reminder emails to withdraw the funds or they were going to be returned. This causes a tremendous amount of stress so I went back into the system and changed the account to my name and did the withdrawal. The confirmation came back stating it would be deposited within 3-4 business days but I have not received anything and the emails keep coming in as reminders to withdraw and asking for ID verification which I have sent.

    I really feel there should be a 1-800 number of better customer support, I have no idea where the status is now and what to do. My son has worked to raise these funds. Please someone from GoFundMe assist me directly. My e-mail address is info[at]waltergalvao.com. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for reaching out about this, Walter.

      We can see that our team replied to you on February 6th, but it seems like that failed to reach you. We also don't see any other outreaches from you aside from your first message.

      Our team will be following up with you shortly. Would you mind checking your inbox soon? Additionally, we do wish we could offer phone support, but our team can only offer email support at this time. We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

      Keep an eye out for an outreach from us so we can get this resolved soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The worst fundraising site IN THE WORLD!

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So a friend of mine who has fallen on hard times had his PlayStation break on him and his kids. A bunch of his friends told him to start a GoFundMe and we would all chip in to help him out. So his wife started one of these GoFundMe accounts. Within an hour or two, he had enough to replace his PlayStation so his children and himself could enjoy some form of entertainment.

    The next day I get a refund notice because my friend violated the Terms of Service for this pathetic company. We all inquired as to what the issue was when he was told that his wife needs to prove her identity. They did as instructed just to be told that it wasn't good enough and refunded everyone's money. To add to this absolute BS, thanks to these scammers that is GoFundMe, they waited to refund me when the exchange rate was less so that I don't even get my full refund back. Their scamming ways still cost me $4. Which in all honesty is nothing for me but it's the principle of them screwing all parties involved and then trying to show how wonderful they are.

    I truly believe that the REAL reason they canceled his GoFundMe was because no one would donate to their pathetic website and they choose to screw him over. NEVER would I recommend this poorly ran company to anyone after this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 23, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Andrew,

      We're so sorry to hear about your experience. While we won't be able to share more details about your friend's campaign here, we can absolutely look into your refund for you.

      We searched for your name but were unable to find any ongoing conversations with our team. Would you be able to reach out to us through our contact form so we can take a closer look? Just follow this link: https://www.gofundme.com/contact

      Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.

    • Jan 27, 2019

      Andrew V.

      Thanks for the reply I guess. I see you are trying to show others that you are trying to resolve my issue. However, I have emailed you guys as requested here and I still haven’t heard back, just like my original email. What should be my next step then?

    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks for following up, Andrew. We're afraid we still haven't seen an outreach under your name, however.

      Do you think you could try contacting us again, so we can look into this further for you?

    • Feb 21, 2019

      Ranae L.

      I've been trying to reach you again over the GoFundMe I set up for a nephew whose child killed himself several weeks ago. No one is responding to emails from me or the beneficiary. Last week GoFundMe put everything on hold/review to provide WePay with the info they needed and now the beneficiary is being told the EXACT same thing - it's under review. HORRIBLE customer service, especially when you are dealing with people in crisis situations that NEED the money people have donated. This is so wrong on so many levels. Unless this gets resolved today, I am reporting you to the Attorney General. It feels like we are being scammed. I even tipped GoFundMe when I made my donation. Nice...really nice. Glad to see my hard earned money at work.

    • Feb 23, 2019

      Andrew V.

      I have and got a very poor reply back. The last person I talked to made up exchange rates so that he could use it as an excuse to say "it’s not our fault, it’s your bank." Pathetic. I wish I could give you guys a -5 star. But I will take this as a lesson to do some research and use ONLY reputable donation sites that do not scam people when they can’t get a piece of the action.

    • Mar 8, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so sorry to hear that you had to go through this trouble during such a difficult time, Ranae.

      However, we can see that our team was able to work with you the day you left this comment, and your account was verified and funds were successfully sent out just a few days later.

      To clarify, these verification processes are in place for our payment processors to ensure that funds end up in the right hands. We appreciate you working with us to make GoFundMe the safest place to give.

      If you have any other feedback you'd like to offer, we're here for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I recommend to read every email sent by GoFundMe

    • Florida,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi guys. I trust this information can help you, especially if you are the type that likes to read reviews. I started a campaign on November 22nd. I really thought it was going to be a lot easier since to my knowledge I was doing everything right. Two days later I read on my campaign's page that the funds were on hold and to expect an email with more information. I honestly freaked out and wouldn't stop looking at the page to see if anything had changed. I probably sent about 5 emails and nothing.

    Then, I paused and prayed asking for guidance and sure enough, it hit me! I went back to check all the emails thinking I could've missed something. I was receiving so many notifications from GoFundMe notifying me of all the generous donations that I missed a very important email. There was one email explaining why the funds were on hold and actually detailed every step I needed to make so that the funds could be released. I won't lie, I was still worried, but I did everything accordingly. They were basically asking me to update the page by writing a brief story about the present status of the beneficiary for all donors to read. I needed to add details such as who was going to take the money to the beneficiary and how, his present situation, etc. They asked to be specific and write as many details as possible, so I did.

    After doing so, I received another email probably about a day later saying that the information was processed successfully and that they were lifting up the hold and depositing the money in my account within the next couples of days. I was so relieved however, not totally convinced after reading so many negative reviews. To my surprise, the funds were transferred the following day, all of it!

    So, I learned something. I should read everything carefully and follow up accordingly instead of using my judgment based on reviews only. Not that it's a bad thing, but unfortunately, one's bad experience can ruin it for others and affect a really good company's reputation. I can see why GoFundMe has so many measures. All they are trying to do is protect our generous donors, protect us as organizers because by me giving all those details, it proves my donors I'm being transparent and a good steward of their money, and at the same time the company is protecting themselves. Please read your emails carefully. The solution might be there, and try to follow as they suggest.

    I do want to say, I would use them again, but I hope they can adapt phone customer service. Thanks for reading.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2019

      James H.

      Natalie, this is great news for you, but I have never received such an email. I just reviewed every one (as I save each one) and I am assured all is in order. I would LOVE to receive such an email...but in spite of my CALLS and LETTERS (yes, I was able to actually get info on their hidden REDWOOD CITY address), I am ignored. The pity is that these funds were vitally needed weeks ago! I will shortly go on social media and do my best to STOP this scam.

    • Jan 9, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear that, Natalie! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us here.

      James, we're so sorry for the continued effort here. We'll follow up with you in your original review to keep things organized.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    A week later

    • Arizona,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Amazingly, now a week later I logged in as they suggested (assuming that there is a real human being in GoFundM) with the result that they scheduled another week's delay of the funds!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 25, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you so much for reaching out, James, and our apologies for the trouble. It looks like our team has been trying to get in touch with you, but it appears you have not been receiving our replies.

      On November 14th, our team sent an outreach with the subject line: "Third Outreach to James H: Important Message From GoFundMe - Response and Action Required." Could you check your inbox for that message once more, as well as your spam or junk folders? Please let us know if you're able to find that message, and if not, we'll be right here to continue working with you.

    • Dec 9, 2018

      Bruce H.

      I also have been going through the "we sent you funds," I have been told to contact the bank, they insist nothing has been sent, GoFundMe has developed secret ways to look at account information if you look, it delays your funds an additional ten days as they reset your account. If they hadn't locked all my funds into their accounts, I would certainly avoid using these people in the future. For such a "people-oriented" service, it certainly seems you have become derailed from my expectations.

    • Dec 16, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi James,

      We can see that you reached out to our team directly on December 6th in the email titled "HELP," and our trust and safety team followed up with you that same day.

      We can see that you still have not addressed the questions from the message we had sent on November 13th, so we shared those questions with you once more on December 6th. We can assure you that if you continue to work with us by responding to our review questions, we can move this process forward. We look forward to hearing back from you.

    • Dec 16, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you for getting in touch with us here, Bruce. We can see that our team has responded to you in our ongoing email conversation, "I would like my funds." We had sent our last response on December 14th, and are still awaiting your reply. If you could kindly follow up with us there, we can continue working with you to assist with the withdrawal process. Thank you.

    • Jan 9, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi James,

      We apologize for how prolonged this experience has been for you. We've been trying to reach you for months now, as we've needed to hear a response from you directly via email before sending out your funds.

      Since this hasn't been an ideal experience, our team decided to send the funds out as of this morning. The withdrawal should reach you within 2-5 business days from today.

      If there is anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Nov 17, 2018

    Impossible to get money after being promised

    It seems that each time you seek to have the money transferred to your account so that you can distribute it to your NEEDY FRIEND, they POSTPONE the date another week! I'm very disappointed that I trusted GoFundMe with my money and that of my friends, hoping that it would be used for good. While they promise to get back to me when I print and send requests, nothing happens. Perhaps they are understaffed, overworked, or just incompetent. But when dealing with severe needs, this is inexcusable.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Did Exactly What We Needed

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Nov 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend got a brain tumor, and a group of us needed to raise money for him quick and easily. This did just that. Super easy to set up, easy to spread the word, then when we started receiving donations it was very easy to setup weekly withdrawals. The funds did need to go directly into my friend's account, it couldn't be one of us helping him. That's the only place where we hit a little friction with how we need to deal with the bills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 25, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear that your campaign was able to garner the support your friend needed, Josh. Thanks for sharing your positive experience with us.

    • Dec 19, 2018

      James H.

      Each time I connect to your website, I'm told it will be another week. Therefore I will not go back...the last time was December 14th. I have gotten no emails from you that were not computer spam. JUST SEND ME THE MONEY! You have had the info you requested back in October. I don't understand why you have time to bother with this posting when you can't be reached by landline, email, resident address, or any other way. Do you have an 800 listing?

    • Dec 20, 2018

      Kathleen L.

      I would like to raise funds for my twins to help with their meals, education, medical and prescriptions and clothes. They are seven years old.

    • Dec 22, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Kathleen!

      Thanks for reaching out here. You can absolutely raise a campaign for your two boys. Just follow this link to get started: http://www.gofundme.com/sign-up. If you do have any trouble along the way, you can contact our support team directly here: https://www.gofundme.com/contact.

      Happy Holidays!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I'm just appreciative of a service like this

    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have donated to a few causes on GoFundMe and all of them are the kinds of things that tug at your heartstrings and make you feel like there is good in the world. I'm thankful that services like GoFundMe exist to enable people to make a small difference in a few clicks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 5, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Nathan! We're so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience.

    • Nov 16, 2018

      Kiya M.

      I have a huge Instagram following and I needed a computer for school and work. I have a huge following because I used to do adult modeling in the past. I was very strict about receiving funds and what they were for. GoFundMe made a couple of mistakes with one of my donors and ended up refunding him the whole amount that was donated. He put the amount in again and this time watched the tipping area because they have that preset. They refunded all of my donors and said that I broke terms and conditions which I did not. I have sent email after email to them explaining my situation. telling them I can provide the application and the approval from FAFSA on my school loans. They will not respond back to me they just completely closed my account where I can’t log in. I think this is some sort of discrimination and I’m trying to go back to school to better myself. Why isn’t this against the law? I know the United States is a country full of over religious zealots. I was sure that they will be fair, seeing that I was completely professional and strict about what I wanted and telling my donors what I wanted donations for.

    • Nov 17, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear it, Nathan! Thanks so much for your kind words.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Lack of transparency, phone assistance, and endless fake donations.

    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    Assuming I did not meet the requirements - From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account problems which were solved after many many emails. My account was closed and reopened because they "assumed" I did not meet their bank requirement.

    Fake donations - After the initial issues were resolved, I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be at least five. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transactions were reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors (from my family and friends).

    Unexplained cancellation - Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    I have received two payments, but I don’t know whose donation they reflect.

    No phone assistance - Everything could have been solved quickly if they provided phone assistance. The email service was always courteous but the process is slow, and many emails were needed to solve problems and answer questions that were not addressed on their site (e.g., fake donations).

    Too many fake donations - I strongly feel that GoFundMe should address this aggressively. In the meantime, campaigners should be told of this problem before he/she opens an account.

    I questioned GoFundMe about this and I was told that the best solution would be to make my campaign private (friends and family). Then what’s the purpose of GoFundMe? I could have sent personal emails to the people I know and there would have been no need to use GoFundMe (and pay a fee). The whole point of crowdfunding is to appeal to strangers who believe in one’s cause.

    This was a sad and frustrating experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Esther,

      Thank you for offering your honest feedback. We completely understand this hasn’t been an ideal experience, which we never wish for any of our customers.

      We do want to clarify that our team and our payment processor review all accounts and donations to keep GoFundMe the safest place to give, and specific donations and/or campaigns and accounts may be refunded or closed as deemed necessary, as outlined in our Terms and Conditions here: https://www.gofundme.com/terms. The specifics of the review process are proprietary for security reasons, so we appreciate your understanding as we are unable to provide further details regarding the noted cancellations and failed donations.

      Rest assured that your account is currently active, and you can see the donors with successful donations listed on your campaign. Per your request on potentially refunding those donors, we’ve responded to you with the next steps. If you would like to move forward with that, please get back to us at your earliest convenience.

      We appreciate your understanding and look forward to hearing back from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 22, 2018

    Lack of transparency and no phone assistance

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account I formation problems which were solved after many many emails and a complaint I posted on the comment section of “Customer service needs serious improvement” on this site.

    GoFundMe responded and took care of the initial problems, and I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be more than 5 of these. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transaction was reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors.

    Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    GoFundMe sent me a previous email saying that they had withdrawn from the donations and transferred $71.91 to my account on the 15th of October. So far, the amount has not shown up by in my credit card bank account

    So I went to each of the donors (thank god there were only a few) and asked if they received a refund. Two are still pending. One for $10 + tip and the second, well, this is weird because GoFundMe took $27.50 from their checking credit card account without authorization.

    I just want to get this clarified, but no one is answering my emails since my campaign was canceled. I am sure all of this could be resolved via phone, but this is not possible.

    My well-intentioned cause has turned into a very frustrating and embarrassing situation. I hope I will receive answers soon.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    10 percent fee, WATCH OUT!

    • Hollywood, FL,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I make a donation to a good cause, which I have done before. GoFundMe decides to tack on a 10 percent fee out of the goodness of their hearts and my wallet! I will never make a donation to GoFundMe again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you so much for reaching out here, and apologize for the trouble. We'd love to address your concern, but we were unable to find any recent outreaches under your name. Would you be able to contact us directly, so we can continue to help? (https://www.gofundme.com/contact)

      We look forward to hearing back from you so we can get this resolved as soon as possible.

    • Oct 25, 2018

      Robert G.

      I made a donation as anonymous to a Tracy DePasquale for $500 a few weeks ago.

    • Oct 27, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for following up here, Robert!

      We took a closer look at that transaction, and it looks like a voluntary tip of $50 was left along with your donation. We've gone ahead and refunded that for you since it was unintentional. You should also see a couple emails confirming your refund, as well as an email from our team. Lastly, we wanted to clarify that tipping is entirely voluntary, and your tip amount can be changed to $0 if you wish.

      Thanks again for getting back to us so we could resolve this issue for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My experience with GoFundMe

    • Florida,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had nothing but a positive experience with this website. Easy to fill out and do updates, see who was donating and reminders to send thank yous. A lot of communication by email to us to give us ideas of different ways to promote our page, which we followed. We met our goal fairly quickly, which would not have been possible without their help. The money collected was deposited in our account within two business days. This was literally a lifesaver as we needed medication for my husband, which we now have on order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear about your experience, Susan! If you need any more help, you know how to get in touch!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 893

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review