About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing & Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver "24/7 rapid response" (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

272 Consumer Reviews for GoFundMe

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 145 4 star: 16 3 star: 2 2 star: 15 1 star:  94
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 272
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through.
  • My experience was smooth and joyous

    • Wilmington, DE,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was my first GoFundMe account. They showed me what to do step by step. When I had questions, they answered them immediately and gave me excellent ideas on how to start donations. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Satisfied

    • Ashland, MO,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very satisfied with the response time I received from the customer care when I had issues receiving the funds. They know exactly what to do. Also, it was a quick method to collect money for an important circumstance. I could also share on Facebook as many times as I wanted which was very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • We used GoFundMe for about three years until some problems developed with the service they used to move money

    We have been using GoFundMe for over three years until last year when we received notice that they were no longer going to use PayPal to process the donations, but another company called WePay.

    WePay started blocking our donations and demanding proof of who the people were that was donating the money. How are we supposed to know who the donors are personally? They demanded all kinds of proof of myself including faxing them a copy of my passport. At one point, they returned a donation to someone because they couldn't verify who the person was. I was livid the way they treated me and made me feel like a criminal. I saved ALL the emails from this problem last year, back and forth demands and stalling tactics. WePay sits on the money for up to 5 days till they review each and every donation and review our account. PayPal, on the other hand, moves the money the same day.

    We keep our account open with GoFundMe, but also changed to another service provider that helps with donations that uses PayPal to move the money. With WePay I felt we were being investigated by the government. I think WePay sits on the money for several days to gain interest on all the money they process. I was also disappointed that GoFundMe promotes some charities or campaigns on their website, but never mentioned ours, despite asking the various people if they would mention our campaign in their website as they do others. We rescue abused dogs in Mexico, which we have over 300 in our care with very little help from anyone gofundme.com/stvincentshome.

    I do NOT like WePay and I told them so, and I told GoFundMe that they would lose a lot of campaigns if they treat them as we were being treated. I am more happy with the other service that we are using that uses PayPal to process the donations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great job again!

    • Rockaway Park, NY,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend of mine passed away and the family was in need of finances to accommodate the funeral services. I remembered how GoFundMe was a great source for me in another situation I experienced a few years ago. I started a new campaign and was blessed with the results your company provided. God bless you GoFundMe and your staff! I love you guys! God bless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thanks for your assistance, amputee on the move

    • Nashville, TN,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish to thank you for allowing me to try to raise money for a wheelchair ramp. This was suggested by my health insurance representative. I also thank her for making this suggestion to me.

    The help that Shannon gave me was very helpful because I really didn’t know what I was doing in some areas.

    Thanks again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Needed help editing

    • Trabuco Canyon, CA,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rosa went the extra mile as our Tech Rep and helped us with the donation name correction that I was unable to do myself. Rosa was quick to respond and made the change instantly! Rosa had a great attitude and I was impressed.

    I rate GoFundMe's service as 5-star!

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Such excellent support

    • Hurst, TX,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I set up a GoFundMe account to assist my grandson to stay in his private school. I have been unemployed for a year. I set up the account, which was easy, and followed their directions. There was a miraculous turnabout, and he did not need the GoFundMe account. I tried to figure out how to send the money back to donors. I could not figure out how to do so. I heard from Kaitie and Jerrad who tried to explain to me how to do it and eventually did it for me. All of this took only one day to complete. I was so thankful to those who had donated to the account and wanted to get the money back to them. I could not have done it without the warm, caring people connected with GoFundMe. I highly recommend them and their help group.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing customer service

    • North Carolina,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was having an issue creating a campaign and within minutes a representative messaged me, her name was Kim. She explained what was going on simply and helped me resolve my issue in less than 5 minutes! She was super nice and fast.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Immediate help and great people doing good work!

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had made a mistake in a donation, and I was helped and the problem solved immediately! Great people! They addressed my issue immediately and were very understanding and kind! Great team!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very easy to use, wonderful idea for in the modern world

    • Gray, ME,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The app instructions are very simple, recognition and to follow the rules are easy. At first, when I had a question, it was frustrating not to have a phone number- your contact is emailing back and forth. But GoFundMe me reps are very responsive. I never thought it would do so well and I’m so happy I was able to help the family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This customer is full of happiness

    • Biloxi, MS,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started this campaign a few days ago, maybe a week. I am 60 years old and not technologically sound. I had many problems setting up my story, uploading photos. I saw the button for help and first I thought, they will give me some hard instructions and I won't be able to do this, or they will blow me off. Well I got an email back and sure enough they were gonna blow me off.

    Then Lindsay sent me an email, I told her my problems and I had many. She assured me that everything will be ok. She worked really hard in setting up my photos and instructing me on how to do it myself. She straightened out my story and again instructed me how to do it myself. The next day I was successful in putting in my photos and getting more out of my story. Things were going great.

    Then I couldn't see where my posts were going. I did not know where they were. I was worried. I contacted customer service again and again I got an email saying someone will get with me. It seemed like forever before anyone emailed me and then Shannon emailed me. I told her I was concerned about where the posts were. She said she would check it out. We tried a couple of things then she said she knew a trick. The trick worked because I could see where the posts were. Shannon fixed the problem with the Facebook connection and bingo, things happened.

    I have never been more happier with two people than I have been with Lindsay and Shannon. Lindsay did keep telling me about these links. I told Lindsay about me thinking a phone is something that hangs on the wall and a link is a sausage. Lindsay surprised me by priming my well with a donation. That really got my confidence going. Shannon told me how to get more people involved in the process. Without my "angels," as I call them, I would have given up and lost all of my memories. But THANKS TO THEM, I will keep my memories I'm sure. So now you can say this Customer is full of Happiness.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 272

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review