About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Read 894 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 684 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  114
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 894
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • The company is taking 30% of every donation, what a shame

    • By Abou M.,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a shame this GoFundMe company is taking 30% from every donation, plus 5%.

    That's nothing but stealing from the vulnerable, as people try to raise money for the sick, disabled, we set up a GoFundMe account for a family member who has stage 4 cancer, we needed money for his treatment, by taking 30% from people for each donation, that is mere stealing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • GoFundMe HUGELY DELAYED first withdrawal

    • By Nicole S.,
    • Westport, CT,
    • Mar 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very disappointed in GoFundMe. I run a large highly visible online business www.CTbites.com, and we have organized a GoFundMe page to help the locaL healthcare workers in this medical crisis. We have raised over $20K and CANNOT GET THE MONEY OUT OF THE GoFundMe ACCOUNT. We need the money now. Everything is set up appropriately and out first withdrawal just keeps getting pushed back every day. I would never use them again and will encourage others to do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They will not pay me the money I raised!

    • By Andrea W.,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started a fundraiser for my friend who is a struggling single mom on Feb 2nd. She contacted me in tears and couldn't afford to buy groceries or diapers. Within 48 hours I had raised $500. On their site, it clearly states that money will start to be deposited daily within 2-5 business days. Because of that, I sent her $300 out of my own money so she could go get diapers for the baby and food. By Feb 18th I had not received any money. I contacted support through chat and explained the situation. The staff member asked me to send her another copy of my driver's license, so I did. She informed me that I would be getting a deposit the next day. It is now Feb 23rd and I still have not had any deposits. I've tried to contact them again through the support chat but was sent a message that they were very busy and to email them, which I did and still have not received a reply. They have no contact number so I can't call.

    I am on disability myself as I have been on chemotherapy. I am barely getting by and paying my own bills as it is. Now I can't afford to even buy my own medicine. I searched around online and found that there are a lot of other people making the same complaint about GoFundMe. This has to be illegal. What if they never send me the money? How are they getting away with this? I'd like to share this so that others won't get stuck in this position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists

    • By James W.,
    • Arizona,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had four fraudulent charges appear on my American Express card statement from GoFundMe, none of which I made. It was for two donations and two tips. Oh yes, GoFundMe also let the person who made the fraudulent charges leave big tips for them also, how nice of the thief. I disputed the charges and GoFundMe claims they would "investigate it." They then emailed me a week later claiming they investigated it and decided the charges were from me and would not back charge them. I know darn well I did not make the charges, so I called American Express to have the charges removed and also reported the fraud to them. GoFundMe is the fraud here. They should be shut down. Do not leave a credit card on file with these people, in fact, don't even use this service, they are obvious scam artists.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • GoFundMe is allowing a campaign using my photo and information to allow someone to gain money from me making false statements

    • By Henry G.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have emailed GoFundMe multiple times about someone lying and harassing me to get me to send money or they will post lies about me, and just because they aren't true once it's online it can cause my job and marriage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Donations cannot be withdrawn

    • By Andrew J.,
    • USA,
    • Aug 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve used GoFundMe for two years. There have been little issues with hidden fees which have been ironed out previously.

    On this occasion, I received a substantial donation. My GoFundMe account tells me that the money has been donated and is showing on my donation timeline but when I go into withdrawal it shows $0. I was donated this money three days ago. I need it desperately - which is usually the point of GoFundMe campaigns.

    All I get is patronizing emails telling me that it takes time to process. My bank doesn’t take time to process, the funds are immediate so why the wait?

    There is no phone number to call, which is concerning.

    Also, they made me submit personal documents to make this withdrawal which they’ve never done before despite thousands of pounds of donations withdrawn previously.

    I won’t be using GoFundMe me again. I need that money desperately. Waiting for this money has actually cost me money. That shouldn’t be the point of this platform. My donor has given and GoFundMe has taken their 2.9% but withheld my money. It is appalling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer service

    • By Sarah H.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend started a GoFundMe for me as a cancer patient. Funds were donated yesterday, GoFundMe says they paid them to me but have not. In questioning through contact email since you cannot talk to anyone by phone, I get no response. And every time you try to use the website, it says error, try again. Several people have tried from different locations, different computers, getting the same problem. When you need money desperately and they just take it and keep it, frustrating. I feel for the people that donated. I have sent them all notification not to donate any more through GoFundMe and now feel like I should refund their money as it was useless to me and who knows who has it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beneficiary

    • By Michelle H.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a GoFundMe page for a good friend who just lost her husband. I made the beneficiary her sister. I did not know her sister is not using her maiden name as that is what she goes by, she is using her married name because legally that's still her name I am at a loss because we raised a ton of money and now we cannot withdraw it because of this problem. How do we fix this issue?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 24, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you for reaching out about this, Michelle!

      We were able to track down your conversation with Donna and our team, and it appears that the issue was resolved and Donna was able to withdraw her money successfully. If she's still having trouble with this, we'd love to help out. We'll send an outreach to you now just in case there are still any lingering concerns.


  • A bunch of scammers

    • By Patrick H.,
    • Paris, France,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am among the many who launched a campaign and could not withdraw the money. For all that, it was declared "paid" on their website admin. Impossible to talk to anyone. They claim for your ID but do not give theirs. They do whatever they want with you, your money, and the cause you defend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 14, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so sorry to hear this, Patrick, and we'd love to help you get this resolved. Would you be able to contact us directly here? https://www.gofundme.com/contact

      We're afraid we're unable to pull up your account information based on this review, but we want to make sure we can work with you to withdraw your funds. Please contact us at your earliest convenience from the email you used to set up your campaign, and we'll take it from there. We look forward to hearing from you.


  • GoFundMe has been great

    • By M L.,
    • New York,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Facebook has been professional, timely and responsive. I set up a separate bank account for the fundraiser and received all donations within 24 hours. Each donation (or each day ) came with a summary email. On the Facebook page, each donation had a "thank you" link which was very helpful, as some donations were from strangers. I have seen these complaints about a "tip". No-one has to leave a tip! It's a drop-down menu, you just scroll to "other" and leave it blank. Seriously, who does not know how to use a drop down menu? Also, Facebook takes only a small percentage of the donations. Totally worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks for your kind words, Merry! We're so glad you had a great experience using our platform, and appreciate your understanding regarding our tip feature and our fee structure.

      However, we do want to note that Facebook and GoFundMe are actually separate platforms, so apologies for any confusion! In any case, thanks again for taking the time to leave your review.


  • A time of need, and GoFundMe FAILS

    • By Becky B.,
    • California,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter passed away three weeks ago. A GoFundMe account was set up, to assist her husband, and three small sons, with expenses, going forward. So far there is over $45,000.00 in the account, which they do not have access to. The campaign organizer, AND my son-in-law, have been trying to communicate with GoFundMe staff for weeks, via e-mails (as we all know, they refuse to publish a phone number - what does that tell you!?). So far, they have gotten absolutely nowhere with the situation. In the meantime, there's that little stipulation in the contract that states that if you do not make a withdrawal within 30 days, that GoFundMe can freeze your account. I am tempted to report this to the FBI, as this is fraud. We have hundreds of people who donated their hard earned money to help my daughter's family in this time of crisis, and GoFundMe has been completely irresponsible. My son-in-law is distraught (Why wouldn't he be? He just lost his wife!), and then he has to deal with this? We want answers! LOVE FOR THE NARAKI BOYS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 5, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you for writing in, Becky. We're so sorry to hear about the added stress during an already difficult time.

      While we wish there was more insight we could offer here, we're afraid we can't share details regarding the accounts and campaign, since you are not a campaign organizer or beneficiary. However, we can confirm that the issue had been resolved on the 19th, a few days before you had written to our team, on the 21st.

      We recommend that you contact the campaign organizer and your son-in-law to discuss the resolution of the issue, but if there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know.


Showing 1-11 of 894

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
GoFundMe