About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 891 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 891
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Donations cannot be withdrawn

    • USA,
    • Aug 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve used GoFundMe for two years. There have been little issues with hidden fees which have been ironed out previously.

    On this occasion, I received a substantial donation. My GoFundMe account tells me that the money has been donated and is showing on my donation timeline but when I go into withdrawal it shows $0. I was donated this money three days ago. I need it desperately - which is usually the point of GoFundMe campaigns.

    All I get is patronizing emails telling me that it takes time to process. My bank doesn’t take time to process, the funds are immediate so why the wait?

    There is no phone number to call, which is concerning.

    Also, they made me submit personal documents to make this withdrawal which they’ve never done before despite thousands of pounds of donations withdrawn previously.

    I won’t be using GoFundMe me again. I need that money desperately. Waiting for this money has actually cost me money. That shouldn’t be the point of this platform. My donor has given and GoFundMe has taken their 2.9% but withheld my money. It is appalling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No customer service

    • Texas,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend started a GoFundMe for me as a cancer patient. Funds were donated yesterday, GoFundMe says they paid them to me but have not. In questioning through contact email since you cannot talk to anyone by phone, I get no response. And every time you try to use the website, it says error, try again. Several people have tried from different locations, different computers, getting the same problem. When you need money desperately and they just take it and keep it, frustrating. I feel for the people that donated. I have sent them all notification not to donate any more through GoFundMe and now feel like I should refund their money as it was useless to me and who knows who has it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Beneficiary

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a GoFundMe page for a good friend who just lost her husband. I made the beneficiary her sister. I did not know her sister is not using her maiden name as that is what she goes by, she is using her married name because legally that's still her name I am at a loss because we raised a ton of money and now we cannot withdraw it because of this problem. How do we fix this issue?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 24, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you for reaching out about this, Michelle!

      We were able to track down your conversation with Donna and our team, and it appears that the issue was resolved and Donna was able to withdraw her money successfully. If she's still having trouble with this, we'd love to help out. We'll send an outreach to you now just in case there are still any lingering concerns.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A bunch of scammers

    • Paris, France,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am among the many who launched a campaign and could not withdraw the money. For all that, it was declared "paid" on their website admin. Impossible to talk to anyone. They claim for your ID but do not give theirs. They do whatever they want with you, your money, and the cause you defend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 14, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so sorry to hear this, Patrick, and we'd love to help you get this resolved. Would you be able to contact us directly here? https://www.gofundme.com/contact

      We're afraid we're unable to pull up your account information based on this review, but we want to make sure we can work with you to withdraw your funds. Please contact us at your earliest convenience from the email you used to set up your campaign, and we'll take it from there. We look forward to hearing from you.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe has been great

    • New York,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Facebook has been professional, timely and responsive. I set up a separate bank account for the fundraiser and received all donations within 24 hours. Each donation (or each day ) came with a summary email. On the Facebook page, each donation had a "thank you" link which was very helpful, as some donations were from strangers. I have seen these complaints about a "tip". No-one has to leave a tip! It's a drop-down menu, you just scroll to "other" and leave it blank. Seriously, who does not know how to use a drop down menu? Also, Facebook takes only a small percentage of the donations. Totally worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 11, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks for your kind words, Merry! We're so glad you had a great experience using our platform, and appreciate your understanding regarding our tip feature and our fee structure.

      However, we do want to note that Facebook and GoFundMe are actually separate platforms, so apologies for any confusion! In any case, thanks again for taking the time to leave your review.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A time of need, and GoFundMe FAILS

    • California,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter passed away three weeks ago. A GoFundMe account was set up, to assist her husband, and three small sons, with expenses, going forward. So far there is over $45,000.00 in the account, which they do not have access to. The campaign organizer, AND my son-in-law, have been trying to communicate with GoFundMe staff for weeks, via e-mails (as we all know, they refuse to publish a phone number - what does that tell you!?). So far, they have gotten absolutely nowhere with the situation. In the meantime, there's that little stipulation in the contract that states that if you do not make a withdrawal within 30 days, that GoFundMe can freeze your account. I am tempted to report this to the FBI, as this is fraud. We have hundreds of people who donated their hard earned money to help my daughter's family in this time of crisis, and GoFundMe has been completely irresponsible. My son-in-law is distraught (Why wouldn't he be? He just lost his wife!), and then he has to deal with this? We want answers! LOVE FOR THE NARAKI BOYS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 5, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you for writing in, Becky. We're so sorry to hear about the added stress during an already difficult time.

      While we wish there was more insight we could offer here, we're afraid we can't share details regarding the accounts and campaign, since you are not a campaign organizer or beneficiary. However, we can confirm that the issue had been resolved on the 19th, a few days before you had written to our team, on the 21st.

      We recommend that you contact the campaign organizer and your son-in-law to discuss the resolution of the issue, but if there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless WePay is disconnected from GoFundMe, don’t ever, ever use them. Have people donate a different way! They are horrible. And remember, any company who cannot offer phone support KNOWS they have more complaints and issues than normal. WePay is a horrible, horrible company. They ended up refunding my donor and then had the nerve to email me saying they verified it the next day and he can re-donate. Yeah, right. He sent the money to me through PayPal instead. What a saint.

    They also need to stop adding the suggestion TIP and leave that at ZERO dollars, so people don’t accidentally pay money they never intended to. It’s very scammy and I see a lot of reviews about people thinking it was a required fee or didn’t even mean to. That’s not okay. And no one can tell me they didn’t sit around and configure that on purpose.

    RUN GUYS. FAST.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 9, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks for offering your honest feedback here, Luna.

      We're glad that your donor was able to make his contribution another way, despite the trouble you ran into.

      Additionally, we do want to emphasize that tips are completely optional, and can be changed to $0 at the time of donation. Donors can also request a refund of their tip at any time, and the refund will be honored.

      We responded to your initial review on April 3rd, but we'd like to emphasize again that the donation review process is a standard security measure to ensure that we only send completely verified donations to you for withdrawal, to protect you from fraudulent donations. We know this process can be difficult if donors only have the best intentions, but these measures are in place to ensure that yourself and others are protected from fraud.

      If there is anything else we can assist with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    • Previous review
    • Mar 30, 2019

    Problems with WePay - GoFundMe not getting me necessary information.

    Up until a few days ago, I was a fan of GoFundMe. I had easy access to my account, ease with campaign setup and no issues with donor payment processing or receiving donations.

    It seems, however, that if you receive a high donation amount, all heck breaks loose and WePay (Chase) wants to hold your money hostage. I’ve received maybe about 40 donations (maybe less I’m going off the top of my head). All of my withdrawals went perfectly. The largest and last donation that came in was for $6000. All of a sudden, there is an issue getting the money to me. They’ve canceled my withdrawal twice now and the only bit of information I’ve gotten so far is that my account is still in review and they want to know my relationship to the person who sent the money.

    Excuse me, but how is that any of your concern? Doesn’t GoFundMe ENCOURAGE people to share share share so they/we can reach a wide audience and get donations from outside our network? The largest and most successful campaigns are comprised of stranger donations.

    Regardless, this was a person I went to high school with. A personal donation to my cause. But they shouldn’t be asking.

    Now, days later, I keep getting the runaround. The need to either have Chase working better and not holding peoples funds hostage, or switch processors. Either way, I want to resolve ASAP. I’m done emailing you guys back and forth since I can’t pick up a phone.

    I’ll adjust my review if things change, but until then...if you want your earned money, don’t use them. Find another platform.

    • Apr 3, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We appreciate you leaving your honest feedback here, Luna. We completely understand that the donation review process can be cumbersome, especially when donors only have the best intentions.

      We really do appreciate you working with us to get the donor verified, and they are welcome to resubmit their donation at any time now.

      However, we do want to emphasize that these security measures are in place to protect you as the campaign organizer. If our payment processor is unable to successfully verify a donation, especially one at such a high dollar amount, you as the campaign organizer could be at risk for a chargeback on your account in the event that the donation is fraudulent.

      Once again, we totally understand this can be a frustrating process if there are only good intentions. Thanks again for working with us to get your donor verified, and if there's anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Account suspended, then donations locked in National Treasury

    • California,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What started off as a honeymoon fundraiser for my mother has now turned into a major loss in personal finance. My account was suspended and all funds were frozen. After weeks of jumping through hoops and running in circles, I get an email saying donations will be reimbursed within 10 days. A month later and I get an email saying my funds have now been locked with National Treasury and I will need to apply for a license to access account.

    HUH?!

    No response except the spam link to national treasure website. An impressively unhelpful platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Unable to access withdrawals - need them for cancer treatment

    • Nantucket, MA,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently have leukemia and am seeking treatment. I personally raised $30k over a month ago now, set up my withdrawal account (twice) and went through all the necessary steps that they state on their page to get my money. I was first told I’d have it March 12th, then March 28th, now April 3rd. I cannot get in contact with anyone, and this is concerning considering I need to pay out of pocket for alternative treatment for blood cancer, and I’m currently broke. I’m even more concerned because I keep reading online that some NEVER get their money. If this is the case, you will be exposed, mark my words.

    I would appreciate it if a HUMAN could contact me and let me know what’s going on. This is absolutely ridiculous. Unless I get this money immediately, I will absolutely never recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 3, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Geddes,

      Thank you so much for reaching out about this. Our apologies for the delay, but please rest assured we want to get your funds to you, and this is an actual human typing this message!

      It looks like we contacted you on February 5th, 2019, with a message titled "Important Message from GoFundMe - Response Required," but we never heard back from you to move forward. Would you mind looking through your emails and following up with that message?

      If you don't see that message, could you please follow the "Contact Us" link in our Help Center? - https://support.gofundme.com/hc/.

      Please do that, and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Thank you GoFundMe

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would like to start by saying I was really going through it financially and my son was really sick and due to my employment issues I had trouble paying my bills. GoFundMe gave me an opportunity to raise donations and stay in my home and I am so grateful. I got my donations very quickly, and I only had 4 days! I had made my GoFundMe earlier but it didn’t get any traffic until the last second, and I was able to raise the donations in one day and received my donations immediately. I am now in my home taking care of my son when I was on the verge of homelessness. I had until the 24th of March.

    I will forever be an advocate for using GoFundMe. As long as you follow their guidelines and you’re actually in need of help, they have no problems. My advice to anyone having problems with GoFundMe is to follow their guidelines. I made sure to update my donors on all the progress I made and posted pictures that weren’t just my profile picture but pictures of the actual problem so that my donors understood what I needed and why. I added my banking information and whatever other personal documents they asked for as soon as I made the GoFundMe, which helped them verify things before the larger donations came in.

    I know some people have issues and I’m so sorry you did. I just know they probably deal with a lot of scammers and people being deceitful, so they take extra precautions when they give you those donations. You actually have people who work for GoFundMe that go through and check everything before sending your funds. It says it in the email they send you when you reach your goal. They are covering their booties and yours.

    I can never repay GoFundMe for the platform they gave to raise money for my son and I, and I am so grateful for the opportunity to stay in my home and continue to raise my son in a healthy and safe environment, and it’s because of GoFundMe and the loving and caring people who donated.

    Oh, also. The tip thing can be a little tricky, but they have an option where you don’t have to just click other and you can put $0 for a tip and maybe let your donors know that when sharing your GoFundMe so that your donors know about the feature and aren’t surprised. I know some people have way worst things going on their lives and it is horrible that we have to go through these lengths just to be heard or helped especially with the state of our country, but imagine if GoFundMe wasn’t here. So many deserving people would either be homeless, in debt, dying. It’s a lot of things you have to do, but it’s also because it’s dealing with money. They have to make sure it’s going and being received and placed in the right hands. That’s hard on a platform where again some people aren’t the most trustworthy. Take your time and donate when you can, give when you can, help when you can.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here, Jessica!

      We really appreciate your understanding in regards to our security measures and helping GoFundMe the safest place to give.

      We're so glad to hear you were able to receive the support when you needed it most. If there's anything else we can help out with, please don't hesitate to let us know.


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Broken hearted

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was diagnosed with cancer and is unable to work. I started a campaign to pay my rent for a few months while looking for a second job to support us. I have had nothing but problems with GoFundMe. Many delays setting up my first withdrawal. I had to send them my drivers license, bank statement and fill out banking information many times. The first deposit never made it to my bank account due to incorrect bank account number (my fault) and wrong name on deposit (their fault). I approved an attempt to reclaim the first deposit and THEY CLEANED OUT MY BANK ACCOUNT. So I did not receive my funds and they took an extra $385.98 out of my bank account. I am devastated! They no longer answer my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 5, 2019

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so sorry to hear about the difficulties you ran into along the way, Judi.

      In taking a closer look at your account, we do see that your first withdrawal failed due to incorrect banking information.

      Our team attempted to recover the funds from the bank account it was originally sent to, and this process takes 10 business days. Upon taking a closer look, we do see that one of your emails was missed during this time frame, but we were able to get back to you and inform you that the recovery was successful, and funds were sent out to you once more last week.

      We appreciate you offering your honest feedback here, and although your issue was resolved, this definitely isn't the situation we hope for our customers. If you ever need more assistance, or have any more feedback, we'll be right here for you.


Showing 1-11 of 891

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review