About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 888 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 71 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  107
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 888
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 9 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied

    • Aug 6, 2014

    Thank you gofundme.com team for such a great job. We really liked the way everything worked and how secure all was. This is a great way to raise money for different occasions-sad or happy! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 24 people found this review helpful

    It literally saved my family.

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Yes, you should be an honest person who has an actual need for help. No, not all people are honest and unfortunately there are people who are scamming good hearted people. So be careful and make sure you know who is taking your donations.

    Yes, some people care more about donating to animals than people. No, not all people only donated to cats and dogs. I have seen friends and family pay some or all tuition, medical and utility bills because their friends helped them out.

    Yes, you will need to have friends on social media for this to work. I didn't reach my target, but $700 in 3 days from friends all over. I was pretty amazing to see, when faced with an eviction notice and a mother who could literally die from that stress from her heart condition, I was able to raise funds for travel and medical expenses.

    Yes, the fees are a little high, but that mostly goes to the bank and the money that comes when you need it is real. A big thumbs up for me, since my parents are now almost stress free before the holidays.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 50 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe works and their support is amazing!

    • Los Angeles,
    • May 19, 2015

    I'm extremely disappointed to see that almost every "bad" review here has nothing to do with quality of service that GoFundMe provides. Instead, these reviews are based on narrow minded individuals who are upset for political or religious reasons.

    GoFundMe has a WHOLE CATEGORY for Christians, faith, and Church. In no way do they discriminate against anyone! It's the campaigns that were removed that were discriminating!

    GoFundMe has helped millions of people during times of trouble, Shame on you for thinking that removing a campaign to raise money for defending someone charged with MURDER takes away from that. Just look at their website and all the folks whose lives are changed because of this amazing service.

    Not only that, but I know for a fact that their Customer Happiness Team is AMAZING and respond to all requests within 5 minutes! I've emailed in at 4 in the morning and gotten a response. I've even had a response within 1 minute before. NO ONE beats that.

    No idea what these other people are talking about on here. GoFundMe is an amazing sites that helps millions everyday reach people they may not have been able to before. They make Customer a priority and are always there to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Fine.

    • Florida,
    • Dec 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Though all these bad reviews are making me nervous, my experience with them was fine. My teacher friend wanted donations to buy a classroom set of Harry Potter books. I donated, and nothing weird has happened.

    Everyone on this review site is freaking out over the 5% they take. I don't consider that a big deal. Maybe the problem is when people use this for hardships, and it feels more affronting that the website gets a cut. I don't mind, I get it.

    This review is asking for my order number. I'm not sure how to find that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    The customer service was amazing!

    • Boonville, MO,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my GoFundMe fundraiser was complete, I was ready to withdraw my money. I came across a huge problem. I deleted the email I used for the account!

    I became VERY frustrated with the process and sought help from the customer service page on the GoFundMe website. I got a reply within 5 minutes, and the ladies who helped me were outstanding! I had many different problems that branched from the email issue, and they were able to help me through it all, giving me CLEAR AND PRECISE instructions on how to do it.

    While quite a few of the things they told me to do didn’t work, they stood by me the whole time and didn’t stop until my money was withdrawn. I am very blessed that I came across such a great customer service program with the GoFundMe cooperation! I will definitely use GoFundMe again and encourage my friends and family to use it as well!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you so much for those kind words Hannah! It means a lot to us to hear such high praise of our Customer Happiness Team.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    I made a contribution to a page and somehow accidentally submitted an additional charge. I contacted GuFundMe and explained the error, and within 24 hours my charge was credited back to my bank account and email sent to me to make sure everything was handled. I will not hesitate to continue to use GoFundMe in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe support

    • Washington,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some issues with some of the deposits in our GoFundMe fund. I contacted the GoFundMe help desk and through a series of interactions online, no matter which person with whom I dealt, they were all prompt, clear and gracious.

    I was really impressed. Kudos to all the different people who assisted me. They were all wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Help a Veteran

    Very helpful and relatively easy to navigate. The goal was reached in less than two weeks and “thank you’s” through the system were easy to use. Payment to Veteran and his wife should ease their pressure to get their lives back on track following the total loss of their doublewide by fire 2/27/18. Hopefully, the payment will be completed by Friday, March 16, 2018.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    5 star review

    I was having an issue with setting up my account due to my computer skills. I contacted customer service, and they quickly came to my rescue! They were awesome in explaining the things I didn't understand.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Grateful

    I am truly grateful to GoFundMe. I had unexpected medical expenses due to a detached retina. I have so far been able to pay back my friend who put the initial money down for the first half of the procedure. Now I am working towards paying off the doctor bills. Their customer service is fast and courteous!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent customer service

    • South Carolina,
    • Mar 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was my first time using GoFundMe. Due to circumstances unforeseen, the account was locked and there was a need to request a refund on contributions. When I contacted Customer Service to request a refund, I was contacted back almost immediately. They could not have been more helpful, and executed my refund within an hour of my original request. My funds will be back in my account in 3-7 business days.

    My experience with GoFundMe is an A+++++. Feel assured your contributions are safe with GoFundMe, and Customer Service has your back if any problem arises!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 888

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review