About GoFundMe

By HighYa Editorial Team
Updated on: Apr 17, 2020

GoFundMe is a social fundraising platform that provides tools to raise money for people, causes and organizations including medical expenses, charities, education, and even for animals and pets. Since the company’s founding, over $9 billion has been raised for people and causes from over 120 million donations.

Founded in 2010 in San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 253 closed complaints and a 4-star rating with 115 customer reviews (as of April 2020)

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need.

What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

GoFundMe is an online social fundraising destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe in

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical expenses, charities, community projects even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and is within the company’s terms of service.

The company states that getting your personal fundraisers underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of fundraiser you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  1. Create your GoFundMe Account
  2. Share your fundraiser with friends, family, and other networks to get the word out about your cause
  3. Collect online donations
  4. Update and thank donors

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe has a 0% platform fee. The company relies on the generosity of its community through voluntary tips to cover the costs of its services and technology, including around the clock customer service, trust & safety protections and social fundraising technology. There is an industry-standard credit card processing fee of 2.9% + $0.30 per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $35 in processing fees allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

GoFundMe has the industry’s first and only refund policy, GoFundMe Guarantee which ensures the funds raised go to the intended recipient. If misuse is detected, the company will refund donors.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days.

If necessary, you can reach the GoFundMe Happiness team (customer service) by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • GoFundMe community has raised more than $9 billion for people, causes and organizations
  • Completely free to start and run a fundraiser
  • Fundraiser topics are completely open, as long as they’re within the company’s terms of service (i.e. not promoting anything illegal, or containing inappropriate content)
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • The industry-standard payment processing fee of 2.9% + $0.30 per donation applies for all fundraisers

Customer Reviews

Start your review of GoFundMe:
  • 897 Customer Reviews
  • 84% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 76% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 13%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Ridiculous

    • By Pissed off campaigner ,
    • Jul 21, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    I am all for animals because I have many myself but it's sad that people would rather donate more to animals than to people with college needs and medical needs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Go Fund Me Fraud

    • By Max ,
    • Aug 4, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Go Fund Me does appear to fund legitimate and deserving causes, but we found one that is making fraudulent claims in order to make money. We have notified Go Fund Me twice so far. Each time they promised a quick response, but that has been the last we ever heard from them. It is not possible to call them or talk to a human being as no contact information is provided. They appear to be more interested in collecting fees than protecting folks who have been scammed and others who might be scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I was totally scammed!

    • By Cat,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 4, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    No one's fault but my own - I own my mistake and gullibility. It's too easy to set up a page for donations and I will NEVER trust this site again. There are no checks by Gofundme.com to verify legitimacy of person seeking donations. It seems you collect your percentage and it's all "buyer (or donor) beware." The offender took her page down so I cannot contact her. Stupid me! Verify and research this cause yourself before you donate anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • GoFundMe Fraud.

    • By Julia Bonheur,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I've reported a woman who's raising $5000 for vet bills (but she has no animals). Last time it was a car to help her transport these animals. She claims to have an animal sanctuary and GFM is just one of her scams. I got one reply promising to look into it and then nothing. They're conducting fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too easy to be greedy and take advantage

    • By Doris,
    • Maryland,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My friend created a GFM for the reforming of her cat and told me she only needed a certain amount. When the money started rolling in and she reached her goal, she refused to close the page. Our friendship suffered because I felt she was taking advantage of people's goodwill. She figured since she would get as much as she could out of it. I'm sure there are honest, moral people out there that really need help but I find the system too easy to get a quick buck with no work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rich girl asking for money

    • By Rachel Mann,
    • Jersey City,
    • Oct 15, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    While there may be real causes on this site, there are more scams. Rich people looking for money. There is one right now out of Jersey City right now. She is rich, her parents are rich, they have property in Florida and NJ, have boats, Mercedes Benz car, new trucks, jet-skis, and continue to travel around the world while asking for money. They receive a pension of over $70,000 a year. They are on this site claiming to have no money for medical expenses. BE AWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Continue to Give is way better then GoFundMe

    • By Abigail,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Continue to Give offers more then GoFundMe. It's so frustrating that GoFundMe charges so much! Some fundraisers are legit and they really need the money! Continue to Give offered my fundraiser more then just online giving. I could setup different projects, have a text to donate and QR code, accept donation on my blog and Facebook page, and have a kiosk for a fundraising event! The best part? I didn't pay all those fees! GFM will never get my business but CTG will!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • GoFundMe and WePay Sucks

    • By Chasity Radcliff,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This company, and their use of WePay is one of the worst experiences of my life. There is no real customer support and they will suspend your campaign with no REAL explanation of why. Their reliance on WePay (which I've since researched and now see all the bad reviews) is the biggest detriment. The only real customer service support is emails and chats. Just like every other "start-up" tech company I've taken a chance on, this company has policies that hide them from any real accountability on how they treat their customers. Go with a more established brand (Kickstarter) if possible.

    I just felt very used, cheated, and disrespected after trying to use this company for my campaign. Don't believe the slick marketing campaigns! Very bad experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Switched from GoFundMe to Continue to Give.

    • By Seth,
    • Jun 19, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The review below mine is spot on. GoFundMe has too high of fees, bad customer service, and no mobile option for fundraising. I want to be able to have an option for people at fundraising events like text to donate numbers and even a type of kiosk setup. I checked out Continue to Give like the post below and they are amazing. I feel sorry for all the GoFundMe fundraiser. I want to keep my donations thank you very much, not pay all those fees. I will be using Continue to Give for my fundraising from now on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience and extremely high fees

    • By Pat Lynn,
    • Nov 29, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Go Fund me is a scam. It doesn't have any accountability and only responds via email. They charged me 10% on the funds raised and then sent my money to the wrong bank account. They don't verify your bank account on withdrawing funds only. Therefore, you stand to not receive those funds. I cannot say this strongly enough: DO NOT USE GO FUND ME! If you need to raise funds, go in a different direction but avoid this path!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Reverse racists

    • By Perry Walters,
    • Houston, Texas,
    • Dec 1, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    I tried to open a campaign for Officer Darren Wilson and was denied. They allow protesters to open campaigns but if you're pro police or pro Darren Wilson you will be denied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 897

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
GoFundMe