About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 888 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 71 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  107
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 888
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 15 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Ridiculous

    • Jul 21, 2014

    I am all for animals because I have many myself but it's sad that people would rather donate more to animals than to people with college needs and medical needs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Go Fund Me Fraud

    • Aug 4, 2014

    Go Fund Me does appear to fund legitimate and deserving causes, but we found one that is making fraudulent claims in order to make money. We have notified Go Fund Me twice so far. Each time they promised a quick response, but that has been the last we ever heard from them. It is not possible to call them or talk to a human being as no contact information is provided. They appear to be more interested in collecting fees than protecting folks who have been scammed and others who might be scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 27 people found this review helpful

    I was totally scammed!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 4, 2014

    No one's fault but my own - I own my mistake and gullibility. It's too easy to set up a page for donations and I will NEVER trust this site again. There are no checks by Gofundme.com to verify legitimacy of person seeking donations. It seems you collect your percentage and it's all "buyer (or donor) beware." The offender took her page down so I cannot contact her. Stupid me! Verify and research this cause yourself before you donate anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe Fraud.

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I've reported a woman who's raising $5000 for vet bills (but she has no animals). Last time it was a car to help her transport these animals. She claims to have an animal sanctuary and GFM is just one of her scams. I got one reply promising to look into it and then nothing. They're conducting fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Too easy to be greedy and take advantage

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    My friend created a GFM for the reforming of her cat and told me she only needed a certain amount. When the money started rolling in and she reached her goal, she refused to close the page. Our friendship suffered because I felt she was taking advantage of people's goodwill. She figured since she would get as much as she could out of it. I'm sure there are honest, moral people out there that really need help but I find the system too easy to get a quick buck with no work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Rich girl asking for money

    • Jersey City,
    • Oct 15, 2014

    While there may be real causes on this site, there are more scams. Rich people looking for money. There is one right now out of Jersey City right now. She is rich, her parents are rich, they have property in Florida and NJ, have boats, Mercedes Benz car, new trucks, jet-skis, and continue to travel around the world while asking for money. They receive a pension of over $70,000 a year. They are on this site claiming to have no money for medical expenses. BE AWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Continue to Give is way better then GoFundMe

    • Jun 8, 2015

    Continue to Give offers more then GoFundMe. It's so frustrating that GoFundMe charges so much! Some fundraisers are legit and they really need the money! Continue to Give offered my fundraiser more then just online giving. I could setup different projects, have a text to donate and QR code, accept donation on my blog and Facebook page, and have a kiosk for a fundraising event! The best part? I didn't pay all those fees! GFM will never get my business but CTG will!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe and WePay Sucks

    • Florida,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    This company, and their use of WePay is one of the worst experiences of my life. There is no real customer support and they will suspend your campaign with no REAL explanation of why. Their reliance on WePay (which I've since researched and now see all the bad reviews) is the biggest detriment. The only real customer service support is emails and chats. Just like every other "start-up" tech company I've taken a chance on, this company has policies that hide them from any real accountability on how they treat their customers. Go with a more established brand (Kickstarter) if possible.

    I just felt very used, cheated, and disrespected after trying to use this company for my campaign. Don't believe the slick marketing campaigns! Very bad experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Switched from GoFundMe to Continue to Give.

    • Jun 19, 2015

    The review below mine is spot on. GoFundMe has too high of fees, bad customer service, and no mobile option for fundraising. I want to be able to have an option for people at fundraising events like text to donate numbers and even a type of kiosk setup. I checked out Continue to Give like the post below and they are amazing. I feel sorry for all the GoFundMe fundraiser. I want to keep my donations thank you very much, not pay all those fees. I will be using Continue to Give for my fundraising from now on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience and extremely high fees

    • Nov 29, 2014

    Go Fund me is a scam. It doesn't have any accountability and only responds via email. They charged me 10% on the funds raised and then sent my money to the wrong bank account. They don't verify your bank account on withdrawing funds only. Therefore, you stand to not receive those funds. I cannot say this strongly enough: DO NOT USE GO FUND ME! If you need to raise funds, go in a different direction but avoid this path!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 69 people found this review helpful

    Reverse racists

    • Houston, Texas,
    • Dec 1, 2014

    I tried to open a campaign for Officer Darren Wilson and was denied. They allow protesters to open campaigns but if you're pro police or pro Darren Wilson you will be denied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 888

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review