Read 890 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 685 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 890
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Utter shambles, don't use if you need funds fast....

    • Cardiff, Wales, UK,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I created a page for a friend who had lost her 4 week old baby.

    The money was to be used for flowers etc for the funeral and the whole community chipped in.

    I hadn't realized they no longer used PayPal and when I went to withdraw the money I had to create a 'Stripe' account.

    I put the girls details in so it went straight to her, then a few days later they asked for the ID. She didn't have any so I messaged asking what I could do, it takes them days to reply, so they said put mine in and send my ID, which I did and then they said 7 days so I went mad saying it's been long enough. So they said basically nothing they can do and it will be in my account Monday.

    So then Monday it wasn't in so I messaged again and they said it would be definitely today. Still not in so I messaged back this morning and still waiting on a reply.

    I have E-mailed GoFundMe and Strip over 20 times, still to no avail.

    Very sad considering the baby was due to be buried LAST Friday, and I'm pretty sure that they could have done a lot more to help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Support is a joke

    • Dec 5, 2014

    Support told me over and over that a bug I found in the campaign dashboard didn't exist. I have a tablet and for some reason I could not withdraw my funds since I could not access the correct page. I spoke with 3 support reps who all told me "You don't know what you are saying", "GoFundMe gets millions of visitors and this is not a known issue so it must just be something you are doing wrong", and "sorry sir but it sounds like you need help learning the computer". I am not dumb or bad at technology. After one last final email, they finally escalated it to a manager who was able to replicate the issue and they had the development team fix it quickly. However, the support sucks and did not listen to me. It was a terrible experience. These guys are suckers to take your 5%. They have a great site but the people who work there aren't professional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 49 people found this review helpful

    HIGH FEES = LOTS OF MONEY FOR THEM

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 6, 2014

    This review is old. They now claim they've raised over 580 million - which means they've earned over 23 million for themselves. So who are they really helping?

    5% + 2.9% = 7.9%

    Credit cards charge fees to the vendors, so they get charged typically 3-4% for the credit card transactions. Let's say 3.9% goes to the credit card companies and that means they get 4%.

    4% of 580,000,000 = $23,200,000

    This doesn't include the 30 cents per withdrawal, nor any interest they may make on the money before people withdraw it! And overall, they probably make more than 4% just on the fees.

    Even with a few employees, it's still a ton of $$ for just a few years in business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 39 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Great for scam artists

    • Kent, NY,
    • Jan 25, 2015

    A local resident named Jeff Green started a campaign for himself, saying he couldn't work due to a bad back. He posted a picture of his dog, which tugged at my heart. But a week later he posted a photo of all the firewood he had split - some bad back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 47 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Incredibly stupid customer support

    • Baja California,
    • Feb 7, 2015

    The instructions on the site are very poor or nonexistent. I asked a straightforward question about why a title on the form was rejected and it took 9 emails and a lot of wasted time before they finally quit the runaround and answered my question. They have a very confusing and blurry distinction between charitable organization and personal campaigns. It doesn't make any sense. Like another reviewer said, their answers are obtuse and they blame the client as if the client were stupid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Profit off a Dead Person

    • New York,
    • Jul 30, 2015

    Do not help this family of a deceased police officer, they are going to use the money to enjoy themselves. Profiting off the dead is not good. This police officer did not die in the line of duty. Every death is sad but don't profit off of it for good times. Do not donate to this family, they have money. Everybody runs a scam.

    http://www.gofundme.com/k9r4vs

     

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 58 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Cannot get in touch with anyone and cannot get a refund

    Way too hard to get a person on the line. Never intended to do monthly donations to one project. Now cannot get it stopped nor refunded. Help!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 64 out 67 people found this review helpful

    I'm very disappointed.

    • Mar 23, 2015

    I can say I have been extremely disappointed. I was raising funds to help a family member with the cost of a funeral. We still have not received the money and keep getting excuse after excuse as to why it hasn't deposited into our account. Also, now the money raised is showing 20 less than what was raised initially and that particular 20 was my donation and it shows as if it's coming out of my bank account so that is very odd. I am having a hard time getting in contact with anyone over the phone. They just respond in live chat and so far given me false information about the deposits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Jamestown NY,
    • Apr 12, 2015

    This is a big scam, they have you set up a account and then they tell you to go after your family members to get money from them and then they take 40% of every dollar you get... Do you really need to pay them to help you go ask your family members for money?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe Sucks.

    • North Hollywood, CA,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    They are terrible. They take out very high fees and the withdrawal never goes through to your bank, which you won't find out until five days later. You're forced to get it through a check which you get three different answers as to how long it will take to arrive. Their customer service is a joke. They don't have a number to call, you can only email and I see why. They would be flooded with angry calls otherwise. I've been battling to get my money for almost three weeks now and still have to wait at least another week because they just can't seem to get it together. Use anything other than GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Sweetcakes removal

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    They take this site down for supposedly violating their terms and conditions. Complete nonsense. The liberal bastards wouldn't have removed a non-Christian fundraiser and need to be sued over this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 890

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review