Start your review of GoFundMe:
  • 897 Customer Reviews
  • 84% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 76% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 13%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Don't not use GoFundMe for fundraising

    Overall Experience:

    The process for withdrawing funds is misleading and deceptive and we were raising money to save abandoned/sick dogs. Don't use it. They took almost 8% in fees, shameful. They don't disclose it until after they take their fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fee too high

    Overall Experience:

    I am using this site to raise money for a surgery for my dog. I believe the fee is too high. My goal was $5000 and I actually made my goal and yet I am $500 away from the $5000 because of the fees I had to pay on the donations. I just think the fee is too high when every dollar counts when most people are using the site to raise money for serious things like surgeries or such.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Johanna,

      After reviewing your account, it looks like you never wrote to our customer happiness team for assistance. To clarify, the missing $500 was not from our fees, but rather it was an offline donation you added to your campaign.

      Offline donations aren’t actual payments made with a credit or debit card. Instead, they’re donations added directly to the campaign by the campaign organizer (you) as a way to represent cash or check donations you’ve received outside of GoFundMe. In short, we can't send you those funds because you already have them.

      We hope this helps clear up any misunderstanding!


  • Nightmare!

    • By Sean Joseph,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I work at a non-profit organization, and we raised money for one of our members who was in a coma after a bad accident. We quickly met the goal, and I was asked for my bank account info, which was fine since he was in no condition to be dealing with bank details. My main goal was to get the family the money quickly and easily as they were waiting by his bedside.

    I gave a portion of the money to the family, and then GoFundMe put a block on my account. I don't know why they asked for all of my bank details if they did not trust me to get this man (or his family, as the case may be) the money. In any event, now they are not helping, and the best I get is what seems a computer-generated response.

    Be careful trying to do a good deed through GoFundMe, you may end up on the short end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Sean,

      In reviewing your account and conversation with our Community Management Team, it looks like your campaign was flagged for a security review because of complications surrounding who would be the ideal person to withdraw the funds from the campaign you created since the ultimate beneficiary of the funds was not able to withdraw the funds himself.

      Our records show that a supervisor of our Community Management Team was able to resolve the situation and have the funds sent out on June 15th, 2017. Thank you for working with us to keep GoFundMe safe!


  • Terrible hypocrites

    • By Shannon,
    • Jan 12, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    GoFundMe have suspended the account and are demanding certain information be spelled out in the campaign when no other pages list anything close to what they require. This is a very frustrating process when you are simply trying to help those you care about.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run by robots

    • By Cindy Pickard,
    • Ocate, New Mexico,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went to edit my GoFundMe page and a new message pops up accusing me of raising money for Texas wildfires. My GoFundMe page is about my work with terminally ill people and parents who have lost a child. For the past 30 years, I have never raised a dime for a wildfire and never even thought about it

    The GoFundMe robots want me to remove these words 'Texas' from my page and also 'The 8th Fire' (our very timely documentary film on Native American prophecy). And now another problem: they require a code to withdraw money. I've been trying to get my code for three days now but either they don't send the code or finally when they do, it comes up as invalid. A scam it's seeming like to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Cindy,

      It looks like your account was caught up in a security filter that we had in place during the wildfires in Texas in 2017. While a warning message did appear on your account, we can confirm that you did not lose any access to your account and our Customer Happiness Team confirmed that with you during your conversation with them.

      As for the issue of receiving a code on your phone, this is a security measure to prevent unwanted individuals from logging into your account. If you received an "invalid code" error message, this means you may have waited too long before entering the code, as our text codes expire after 10-15 minutes.

      Ultimately, we can confirm that you were able to enter your code and withdraw the funds raised on your GoFundMe campaign.


  • No policy on stolen credit cards.

    • By Margarita Recoder,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My aunt set up a GoFundMe account for funeral costs and three months later they are taking money out of her account because some people who donated used stolen credit cards. It's not our fault and we don't have the money to pay that back. It's not fair and the company should be responsible for handling that. We don't even know the donor and some of them are anonymous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • GoFundMe Sucks.

    • By Missy ,
    • North Hollywood, CA,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They are terrible. They take out very high fees and the withdrawal never goes through to your bank, which you won't find out until five days later. You're forced to get it through a check which you get three different answers as to how long it will take to arrive. Their customer service is a joke. They don't have a number to call, you can only email and I see why. They would be flooded with angry calls otherwise. I've been battling to get my money for almost three weeks now and still have to wait at least another week because they just can't seem to get it together. Use anything other than GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • One of THE WORST funding services out there!

    • By Jamie,
    • New York,
    • Feb 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I set up a GoFundMe account for a trip to Canada and had raised the money I needed and have even exceeded it. The payment showed as pending, and then a few hours later I had my account banned and they refused to tell me why! I don't know if a scammer reported my account or what, but it's pretty rediculous to be banned for reaching your goals!

    This is not a good service if you need to be funded for anything, and my advice is to use FreeFunder or another funding site. Their customer service sucks as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Front end alright, back end is a nightmare

    • By Cam,
    • LA,
    • Dec 21, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    We ran a campaign for some friends and that went well. But now that it's time to get in touch with people to get their mailing addresses it's a nightmare. It's clear from my experience that they have the whole collecting money thing down but it pretty much stops there.

    I should be able to easily email everyone that requested an incentive for their donation but you can't do that. The emails don't even show up on the donor info that you can download. We requested all the emails and they sent us an un-editable PDF that should have been a spreadsheet. Finally got it to open and all the emails have been cut off. Do not use this site. They don't know what they are doing yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't do it

    • By Sydney England,
    • Presccott, AZ,
    • Jan 7, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I set up an account for my minor granddaughter. I used my bank account since she does not have one. I still have not been able to get her the money. They don't give out a phone number (should have been my first red flag) so everything is done by email and I and my granddaughter are feeling totally scammed. My friends and relatives that donated are upset as well. Most are disputing their credit card transactions at this point. It has been a horrible experience. Not to mention the fees are very high. Who gets the $400.00 raised that they won't release?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Patti Cakes,
    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Feb 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am so tired of seeing how easy it is to use and abuse this GoFundMe program. It is that easy because, regardless if it's a scam or not, you get your percentage? They should tighten up the process and try to help eliminate abuse to this program, making it harder for any low life out there to take advantage of good people. It's extrexmely sad how easy it is for people to use and manipulate someone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 897

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
GoFundMe