Start your review of GoFundMe:
  • 896 Customer Reviews
  • 84% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 76% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 12%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Updated review

    A week later

    • By James H.,
    • Arizona,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Amazingly, now a week later I logged in as they suggested (assuming that there is a real human being in GoFundM) with the result that they scheduled another week's delay of the funds!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 16, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi James,

      We can see that you reached out to our team directly on December 6th in the email titled "HELP," and our trust and safety team followed up with you that same day.

      We can see that you still have not addressed the questions from the message we had sent on November 13th, so we shared those questions with you once more on December 6th. We can assure you that if you continue to work with us by responding to our review questions, we can move this process forward. We look forward to hearing back from you.

    • Previous review
    • Nov 17, 2018

    Impossible to get money after being promised

    It seems that each time you seek to have the money transferred to your account so that you can distribute it to your NEEDY FRIEND, they POSTPONE the date another week! I'm very disappointed that I trusted GoFundMe with my money and that of my friends, hoping that it would be used for good. While they promise to get back to me when I print and send requests, nothing happens. Perhaps they are understaffed, overworked, or just incompetent. But when dealing with severe needs, this is inexcusable.

    • Nov 25, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you so much for reaching out, James, and our apologies for the trouble. It looks like our team has been trying to get in touch with you, but it appears you have not been receiving our replies.

      On November 14th, our team sent an outreach with the subject line: "Third Outreach to James H: Important Message From GoFundMe - Response and Action Required." Could you check your inbox for that message once more, as well as your spam or junk folders? Please let us know if you're able to find that message, and if not, we'll be right here to continue working with you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Did Exactly What We Needed

    • By Josh F.,
    • Boulder, CO,
    • Nov 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend got a brain tumor, and a group of us needed to raise money for him quick and easily. This did just that. Super easy to set up, easy to spread the word, then when we started receiving donations it was very easy to setup weekly withdrawals. The funds did need to go directly into my friend's account, it couldn't be one of us helping him. That's the only place where we hit a little friction with how we need to deal with the bills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 25, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so glad to hear that your campaign was able to garner the support your friend needed, Josh. Thanks for sharing your positive experience with us.


  • I'm just appreciative of a service like this

    • By Nathan L.,
    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have donated to a few causes on GoFundMe and all of them are the kinds of things that tug at your heartstrings and make you feel like there is good in the world. I'm thankful that services like GoFundMe exist to enable people to make a small difference in a few clicks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 5, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Nathan! We're so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience.


  • Updated review

    Lack of transparency, phone assistance, and endless fake donations.

    • By Esther P.,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    Assuming I did not meet the requirements - From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account problems which were solved after many many emails. My account was closed and reopened because they "assumed" I did not meet their bank requirement.

    Fake donations - After the initial issues were resolved, I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be at least five. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transactions were reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors (from my family and friends).

    Unexplained cancellation - Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    I have received two payments, but I don’t know whose donation they reflect.

    No phone assistance - Everything could have been solved quickly if they provided phone assistance. The email service was always courteous but the process is slow, and many emails were needed to solve problems and answer questions that were not addressed on their site (e.g., fake donations).

    Too many fake donations - I strongly feel that GoFundMe should address this aggressively. In the meantime, campaigners should be told of this problem before he/she opens an account.

    I questioned GoFundMe about this and I was told that the best solution would be to make my campaign private (friends and family). Then what’s the purpose of GoFundMe? I could have sent personal emails to the people I know and there would have been no need to use GoFundMe (and pay a fee). The whole point of crowdfunding is to appeal to strangers who believe in one’s cause.

    This was a sad and frustrating experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 24, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Esther,

      Thank you for offering your honest feedback. We completely understand this hasn’t been an ideal experience, which we never wish for any of our customers.

      We do want to clarify that our team and our payment processor review all accounts and donations to keep GoFundMe the safest place to give, and specific donations and/or campaigns and accounts may be refunded or closed as deemed necessary, as outlined in our Terms and Conditions here: https://www.gofundme.com/terms. The specifics of the review process are proprietary for security reasons, so we appreciate your understanding as we are unable to provide further details regarding the noted cancellations and failed donations.

      Rest assured that your account is currently active, and you can see the donors with successful donations listed on your campaign. Per your request on potentially refunding those donors, we’ve responded to you with the next steps. If you would like to move forward with that, please get back to us at your earliest convenience.

      We appreciate your understanding and look forward to hearing back from you.

    • Previous review
    • Oct 22, 2018

    Lack of transparency and no phone assistance

    Campaign: Children School Supplies - Indian

    Amount: $600

    From the beginning of my campaign, I encountered account I formation problems which were solved after many many emails and a complaint I posted on the comment section of “Customer service needs serious improvement” on this site.

    GoFundMe responded and took care of the initial problems, and I started to receive dozens of fake donations. Every day there would be more than 5 of these. I questioned this several times via emails and Customer Service pretty much told me there was nothing they could do. The transaction was reversed, and the balance of my campaign would go back to the total from legitimate donors.

    Then, out of the blue, I received an email from GoFundMe saying that my campaign was canceled and would not tell me the reason. I didn’t even have a chance to look at the balance of my campaign.

    GoFundMe sent me a previous email saying that they had withdrawn from the donations and transferred $71.91 to my account on the 15th of October. So far, the amount has not shown up by in my credit card bank account

    So I went to each of the donors (thank god there were only a few) and asked if they received a refund. Two are still pending. One for $10 + tip and the second, well, this is weird because GoFundMe took $27.50 from their checking credit card account without authorization.

    I just want to get this clarified, but no one is answering my emails since my campaign was canceled. I am sure all of this could be resolved via phone, but this is not possible.

    My well-intentioned cause has turned into a very frustrating and embarrassing situation. I hope I will receive answers soon.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 percent fee, WATCH OUT!

    • By Robert G.,
    • Hollywood, FL,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I make a donation to a good cause, which I have done before. GoFundMe decides to tack on a 10 percent fee out of the goodness of their hearts and my wallet! I will never make a donation to GoFundMe again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you so much for reaching out here, and apologize for the trouble. We'd love to address your concern, but we were unable to find any recent outreaches under your name. Would you be able to contact us directly, so we can continue to help? (https://www.gofundme.com/contact)

      We look forward to hearing back from you so we can get this resolved as soon as possible.


  • My experience with GoFundMe

    • By Susan S.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had nothing but a positive experience with this website. Easy to fill out and do updates, see who was donating and reminders to send thank yous. A lot of communication by email to us to give us ideas of different ways to promote our page, which we followed. We met our goal fairly quickly, which would not have been possible without their help. The money collected was deposited in our account within two business days. This was literally a lifesaver as we needed medication for my husband, which we now have on order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so glad to hear about your experience, Susan! If you need any more help, you know how to get in touch!


  • Needed help to edit the text

    • By Gabriele W.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I saw the story that was written, I wanted to make some edits as far as grammar and spelling. I submitted the corrections I thought would enhance the story and customer service was excellent and served as a mediator to the person who had posted the story and helped fix it. A story should look good, especially if you are trying to get support from people who are educated and successful and you are hoping for their donations. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 16, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so happy that our team was able to help out with your story, Gabriele! We're always happy to help if you need us.


  • Customer service needs serious improvement

    • By Rhonda H.,
    • Coronado, CA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Now that the DA’s office has decided that I am officially not a criminal, I wanted to say a few things about GoFundMe. I wanted to stop the suicides from occurring on a bridge in my city - The San Diego Coronado Bay Bridge. Caltrans wouldn’t pay for it, so, I went to the public for help.

    Having never started a non-profit or raised money for anything except my Brownie troops Girl Scout cookie campaign, I started the process of creating a 501c3 not for profit corp. But the corporate paperwork was not finalized yet at the time I requested disbursement, resulting in having no corporate bank account for the money to go into. So, they sent it to my personal checking account. I explained this in detail to GoFundMe. They could have easily pointed out that its a FELONY to co-mingle public donations with a private income. That if ANY of that money gets used for anything other than its intended purpose it is a crime punishable by prison time and a hefty fine.

    I was arrested on a Tuesday, by surprise, when I agreed to come into the police station to answer yet another round of questions I’d already answered many times before, the previous month. As soon as I walked in, they handcuffed me and put me in a holding cell…I was alone. No one knew I was there. That’s when the tears began…and they didn’t stop for the next 8 hours that day. I was traumatized to put it mildly. Before that memorable Tuesday, I had never even gotten a J walking ticket. Didn’t matter. I was taken to the regional women’s detention center in the back of a cop car, handcuffed, and held for two felonies that I knew I did not intentionally commit. Ironically – the money was there the entire time, just not in the same account.

    As soon as my name went on the front page of the local newspaper, the news media began calling my cell phone for comment. I am really glad to be able to say that the study is currently underway, and has the full support of the California State Senate, no thanks to GoFundMe. Anytime you’d like to help me out with the $10k in legal fees, GoFundMe, just hit me up and I’ll give you my routing number. I really hope my story helps future dogooders avoid the slammer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 1, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We’re truly sorry for the way things transpired for you, Rhonda. We work hard to keep GoFundMe the safest place to give, and always seek to best guide our customers, so we’d like to clear up what happened here.

      As noted on our site here, we can help campaign organizers safely run campaigns on behalf of legitimate non-profits, and set up withdrawals directly in the organization’s information: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/articles/204532398-Raising-Funds-for-an-Organization. Since your organization’s non-profit status was not yet finalized at the time, this method would not have applied to you.

      In the event that you personally withdraw funds, it is your responsibility to ensure that funds are appropriately routed to the ultimate recipient, and used for the purpose stated on the campaign. Failure to do so is considered fraud, as noted on our site here: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us/articles/203604694-Reporting-a-GoFundMe. By signing up for GoFundMe, you agree to our terms, outlining these details for managing your campaign.

      We apologize if those details were not fully reviewed, and appreciate your understanding as GoFundMe will cooperate with law enforcement and provide them with any information needed, should a resulting investigation occur.


  • Impressive

    • By Candace R.,
    • Ohio,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First time user, a young friend passed away. A fund was set up for her young daughter and husband. It was quick and easy to use, for which I was grateful.

    Subsequent issues:

    1) I didn't get a receipt. I learned from live chat person that I had transposed my email address. He immediately sent me a receipt, resolving the issue.

    2) My bank statement showed a dollar amount from GoFundMe that was not part of my donated amount. I was appalled that there was a fee that was not mentioned in the donation page!

    Live chat guy discovered I had checked a box indicating I'd leave a tip. He said if I had changed my mind he would be happy to resolve, and he did. My bank account was credited within 24 hours.

    So, live chat guy never made me feel foolish, which I strongly appreciated since I felt pretty silly. Next time I WILL leave the tip!. Thank you for the gentle handling of my issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Immediate help on campaigns offers quicker relief

    • By Thomas M.,
    • Centereach, NY,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am desperately trying to raise enough money to simply register the van I live in to avoid homelessness. I'm fighting the clock so when my campaign was not quite right, I needed technical support quickly. Help was minutes away as if the person's nickname is "The Flash." The assistance provided corrected the situation and my campaign is up and running. Now I can only hope strangers are as kind, friendly, and caring as the GoFundMe staff is because then the fund income-generating website may fund my project, and help me in my dream of maintaining van housing until I finish the screenplay I'm writing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great organization and best customer service

    • By Samone W.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My family used GoFundMe to raise fund for my aunt who was murdered and did not have benefits at work. It was a great way to reach out to hundreds of people quickly and easily to get the support that was needed. There was a mix up with the account information for the deposit, and the account had be deactivated. I sent an email to the customer service or their "customer happiness" at 7:16 pm. At 7:24 pm I got a response with all of the information needed to resolve the problem. I also received a follow-up email 30 minutes later thanking my family for using GoFundMe and making sure we didn't need any additional assistance. I would definitely recommend GoFundMe for the ease of use and great service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 896

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
GoFundMe