Read 897 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 19 1 star:  113
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 897
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My daughter has been trying to get access to her funds for more than 10 days.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Setting up the campaign was easy. Access to funds keeps getting "reviewed." I have reached out to go fund me several times, but keep getting responses to review "setting up beneficiary." We feel we have received NO help. I keep asking to talk to a real person, but I read that we are not allowed to do that. They take out large fees, but no one from GoFundMe has been even willing to step in to help. Their home and all belongings were lost in the Carr Fire in Redding. They need the funds to stay in a hotel. PLEASE HELP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused here, but we're happy to say we were able to get in touch with your daughter, and she confirmed she was able to receive the funds. If you ever do need any more help, we're always available via email here: https://www.gofundme.com/contact

    • Sep 22, 2018

      Ann T.

      I am being double billed for a contribution I made on September 4th, 2018. I may have been signed up for a recurring contribution, which I certainly never intended. I can't reach the company by phone. How do I get a chat?

    • Sep 25, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Ann,

      We can see that you were able to get in touch with our team, and Mary was able to take care of your issue. If you ever need help, you can always get in touch with us via our contact form here: https://www.gofundme.com/contact.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe support team

    • New Zealand,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The GoFundMe help and support team are an amazing group of people, who help extremely fast, despite what they are doing. They find just the right help that you need. I assure you that you won't be disappointed with the team at GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very fast and helpful...

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a technical problem with my password a few days ago and needed a password reset but became frustrated as the automated process wasn't working. Despite several attempts, I never received the promised re-set password email with the reset link, so I finally contacted customer support directly.

    I received an email response very quickly and was given a link that allowed me to re-set in the same email.

    Very polite, efficient and friendly.

    So, while not impressed with their automated system, I was very impressed by their people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    High fees

    • Indiana,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently donated $100 to a GoFundMe page and were charged 15% on top of our donation. The GoFundMe page says they charge $.30 per donation and possibly up to 7.9% on other donations. So where did my $15 fee come from and can I claim this on my taxes? It appears that the GoFundMe people are funding themselves very well off of innocent people attempting to help others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2018

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Appreciate you writing in, Jon, and our apologies for any confusion. Rather than a $15 fee, it sounds like you may have left a voluntary tip to GoFundMe. However, since this was unintentional, we can absolutely refund that for you immediately. We’ll just need to track down your donation. Would you be able to share the name and/or link to the campaign you had donated to, so we can issue your refund?

      We also wanted to clarify the fee structure. There is a standard payment processing fee of 2.9% plus $0.30 per donation that allows for credit card processing and safe transfer of funds. Additionally, only donations made to a legally-registered non-profit or charity may be considered eligible for donors to claim as a tax deduction.

      Lastly, we wanted to let you know that leaving a tip is certainly not mandatory. When donating, the tip amount can be changed to $0. Just select 'Other' as your tip amount, then enter $0.00 to avoid leaving any optional tip, as seen here: https://i.imgur.com/P8JVYyP.png

      We hope to hear back from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A note of appreciation

    • Arnhem, The Netherlands,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We do find GoFundMe truly wonderful and there is no way we can imagine for someone to be unsatisfied. The girls who have been helping us, Christina S., Lindsay, Kas, and Ruki made us believe that there are at least four reasons why your team has the right to be called the customer happiness team. The girls have helped us so much. They replied to all our inquiries in detail, supported us (the people they did not know) as much as they could, encouraged us, had our backs, kept the correspondence very professional, always worked as a team and Lindsay even uploaded our problematic images to the campaign page.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe is alright with me!

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not produced a GoFundMe page. My review is based on the people that I have spoken to in regards to my nervousness over creating a page for the first time. It started out as being one representative I spoke to, and it ended up being three in all. They seem to be really nice and interested in trying to help me out. They gave me some very helpful tips and information on writing a page, and I will use it as I try and write on my page. My subject is one that is a big topic in the world at the moment, so hopefully, it will be effective in getting across to the public as my objective. So I am looking forward to more assistance from the staff at this site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great customer service

    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some issues getting my account set up for a new GoFundMe campaign. (I had set up another campaign years ago.) The customer service people were great! They are very friendly and helped get my account back up with the new campaign.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Compassionate people behind GoFundMe

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wrote into customer service at GoFundMe because non-donors were commenting some pretty nasty things about a campaign I supported, in which a pregnant woman's husband was taken away by ICE as he drove her to the hospital to give birth. The endless nasty and rude comments bothered me for a day after I saw them, so I wrote in asking if there was anything GoFundMe could do, like simply turn off the comments for anyone who didn't donate to the campaign.

    The person who replied to me Rosa C., was shocked and compassionate for the campaign leader, and immediately offered to reach out to her to let her know that she could turn the comments off if she wanted to. It made my day, and Rosa told me my compassion made her day too.

    With all of these crowdfunding platforms out there, it's really refreshing to find out there are real people behind this one, that care about more than just getting their cut of the money raised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent positive experience

    • Yorkshire, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some difficulties getting my ID accepted on the website which was causing some exasperation. I contacted the helpline and had an answer back within minutes looking into it. The next day I had contact to advise all was sorted, and then follow up to ensure all had been resolved. Obviously, it would have been better not to have the issue in the first place, but great work all round resolving this. Well done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stellar customer service

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a small issue with my GoFundMe fundraiser and reached out for assistance. I have to tell you, their customer service was absolutely wonderful. They made sure my issue was taken care of with precise instructions and follow up. They cared about my problem and worked with me to resolve quickly and efficiently! Thanks, GoFundMe, and thank YOU Lauren!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My GoFundMe experience

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first heard of GoFundMe a little over a year ago. A colleague of mine set up a page for another of our colleagues whose house burned literally to the ground. She had her car, her two dogs and the clothes on her back. We raised more than $26,000 for her to get her life started again. It was amazing.

    For me, it occurred to me to reach out with GoFundMe to see if I could help raise money for my partner Rod. He’s self-employed and newly diagnosed with aggressive cancer. He’s unable to work and has no Alberta Blue Cross to pay for drugs and medical supplies.

    Well, I’m a matter of a few days, we’ve raised over $7,000 from this campaign alone. It’s been such a blessing. We are so grateful. The staff was also so helpful when I ran into some tech challenges. Thank you GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 897

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review