Read 891 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 686 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 891
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    My bad experience

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    GoFundMe is the absolute WORST website. You need to raise $500 before you are ever shared globally. You have to rely on friends and sharing BEFORE you can have strangers donate to you.

    GoFundMe will shut you down once you request the funds. They shut you down for a nonsense reason. They will scam you out of your money! Their whole story about answering in 5 minutes or less isn't true because I've been waiting WEEKS.

    I want you all to stay safe so please, to avoid being scammed and suspended wrongfully, stay off of GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Daughter's mission trip issues

    Terrible customer service unless your cause raises a ton of money. My daughters mission trip was six weeks ago and she still has not received any of her funds. We have been going around and around with them and they keep making excuses. I spent the entire day emailing back and forth with them yesterday because apparently they can't pick up a phone and get it all taken care of all at once.

    Here is the real catcher: first on this email, they ask for my daughter's bank account information only to pass that email back and forth to five other employees because the same person never emails you back.

    I will never use them again and I don't suggest anyone does unless you know you are going to raise a lot of money. Her trip was in May and we still have not received the funds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Funding for fire victim

    • Beaufort, South Carolina,
    • Jul 30, 2015

    Well, somehow, my account was supposedly set up for Canada, I absolutely did not make that mistake. Secondly, I can not get the funding, they are trying to send it back to the donors, but I do not trust that that will happen at all and I do not know what to tell the donors or how to get the money. I have corresponding emails from a million "happiness reps" and nothing has been resolved. This is by far the worst experience ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Scam, they will take your donations.

    I had an account set up for our aunt with stage III cancer. We raised over a thousand dollars for her. She gave ePay her mailing address to send the check. GoFundMe changed her address so she would never get her money. I am still going round and round with them. They no longer communicate with me via email and I have no number to call. I have asked them to call me and they say they have no way of doing that! Do not use FoGundMe because they will only take your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Texas,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    My experience is somewhat different. My daughter's baby's father started a GoFundMe fundraiser to raise money for a lawyer. He put the most outrageous lies on his page. (He is now facing a lawsuit for libel because of the things he said about me). There is a very tiny nugget of truth in his claims. He is under supervised visitations, but he failed to stated that the JUDGE gave him that. This man is a convicted Felon! Yet he can go to GoFundMe and put the story out that he is the poor father that is being brutalized by us and there is NO WAY to do anything for those of us he's lied about. So beware of the stories you read on GoFundMe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 24 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe does not support 1st, 4th, 5th amendments

    • Jonesboro, AR,
    • Aug 11, 2015

    GoFundMe is a joke, they do not support any of American's rights as people of the USA. Don't waste your time. They steal your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized Removal of Funds without Explanation

    • Dallas,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    A GoFundMe was set up for our grandson for college after the death of our daughter. A donation was made and subsequently transferred into our account after the required "waiting period". 28 days later they removed the funds without any warning. We have tried no less than 15 times to contact the company even with the organizers permission and NO explanation.

    This reckless act caused our account to be overdrawn and placed us in a very bad situation. I struggle to think what would happen to people who would not have the resources to recover as it was a large amount. The original amount had already been transferred into a 529 so the funds are not accessible to us.

    The customer service is appalling. It's one thing to remove money without permission and another to totally ignore any request for an explanation.

    Poorly run company that thieves on people who are experiencing tragic and difficult situations in their lives.

    Would never recommend using them, ever! Our next step is the BBB and Attorney General. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Sep 1, 2015

    Terrible experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 38 people found this review helpful

    I have been blocked out for a week

    • Georgetown SC,
    • Sep 6, 2015

    I have been blocked out for about a week now and nothing I write seems to take care of the problem.

    I have stated that this fund was set up by me for a son that had received a catastrophic injury with many follow up visits to the eye doctors, neurosurgeon and dentist. What can I do to correct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • New Hampshire,
    • Sep 16, 2015

    GoFundMe will never show a bad review on their site. So why bother with detail but suffice it to say that the only customer service experience I have had that is WORSE than is with Comcast and the ONLY reason Comcast is worse is because it lasted years as opposed to only 24 hours of hell with this outfit. They make so much money but treat people like crap and have no human element.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    They have blocked my account making me lose hundreds of dollars and time is running out

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Sep 30, 2015

    At the moment I am extremely unhappy. My supporters are not able to donate. This is not a fake fundraiser and when I have the event on October 24th, I'll be more than happy to report GoFundMe

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 891

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review