GoFundMe

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
GoFundMe

Overall Rating

4.3

897 Customer Reviews

Summary

Since 2010, the GoFundMe crowdfunding platform has helped individuals and charities raise $5+ billion for a variety of causes through easy to use online campaigns. Standard processing fees apply and vary by country.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

4.3 Stars out of 897 Reviews
5 Star:76% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:13%
84% Recommend This Company
Start your review of GoFundMe:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on May 1, 2018

Crisis averted

By Katie Pfeifer, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I reached out looking for advice because my campaign had changed slightly, and I got the information I was looking for. An error was made while deleting one of my campaigns, and all of the donations on the wrong campaign were refunded. However, Michael was quick to respond to the situation and correct the error. Thank you so much for your patience and for doing what it took to bring the donations back! Without GoFundMe, we wouldn't have a chance at meeting our goals. While we are still a ways away from our goals, I know we will make it there eventually.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

May 12, 2018

We're so glad we were able to help you out with that Katie. Should you need any more help with your campaign, our team will always be right here for you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2018

Help get more views.

By Richard Herskovitz, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I contacted GoFundMe's "Help Me" page to help get my page some more views. They were very quick to respond and gave me some good ideas to try. They explained to me how posting my page on more social media pages will get me the most views, and hopefully, more views will translate to more donations.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2018

Excellent customer service

By Dom Frasca, Sherman, ME, Verified Reviewer

My experience with this company, every step of the way, was first class. Prompt, helpful, and courteous replies each and every time I needed help.

GoFundMe, thank you so much for the support you provided along the way!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2018

Excellent way to help your students!

By Sheila May-Stein, Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

I work with low-income kids who were trying really hard to establish the first student-run in-school food pantry in our school District. The kids wanted to purchase a refrigerator because fresh fruits and vegetables would help them in their goal to fight high rates of high blood pressure and stroke that stalk their communities, which are found more in canned food than in fresh food.

The kids' GoFundMe campaign exceeded their goal, and they ended up feeling so empowered and able to do things they know are important for themselves and their families. What a great lesson in leadership!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

May 11, 2018

Thanks so much for your feedback Sheila. We’re so glad to hear the campaign was a success for your students. If you and your students ever need help with a future campaign, our Customer Happiness Team will be here for you.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2018

Great app. I recommend it!

By Matthew Morrison, Callander, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I've only had GoFundMe for three days now and the amount of help from the GoFundMe support team was absolutely outstanding. I really loved that they didn't take up to 24 hours to get back to me, they only took half an hour.

One thing I would suggest though is that you guys could come up with ways to help people without social media spread the word just as well as people with it. I know that it's quite difficult to do that but if you people could then that'd be amazing (this was only constructive criticism by the way).

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

May 11, 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words, Matthew. While we do highly encourage our users to take advantage of social media to promote campaigns, our Customer Happiness Team will always be here to help you find creative solutions if you don’t use social media.

You can also take a look at this article we’ve compiled with different ways to share: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us/articles/115011175448-25-Creative-Tips-for-Sharing-your-GoFundMe

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 18, 2018

Apparent fund appropriation scam

By Sandra Rodriguez, Juncos, Puerto Rico, Verified Reviewer

To use the GoFundMe application, it is a requirement to register, including zip code and bank routing information. Although GoFundMe does not reject the registration of Puerto Rico participating entities, after all your funds are raised, GoFundMe retains those funds if the participant does not have a 50 states address and bank account. Don't use this platform! They will keep your funds!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

Apr 25, 2018

Hi there, Sandra.

Thanks for reaching out about this. We’re sorry for any confusion our platform has caused. You’re correct that our payment processors cannot send funds raised to bank accounts in US territories, including Puerto Rico. We hope to open up our ability to support the US territories in the future, but they are not available currently.

Additionally, GoFundMe will not keep your funds. Instead, we will refund the money back to your donors if you cannot withdraw them. Learn more about our supported countries and territories here: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/articles/203604044-Supported-Countries-on-GoFundMe

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 12, 2018

GoFundMe is very deceptive

By Kathleen Katz, Northern Virginia, Verified Reviewer

When we began our fundraiser, we read "no platform fees," thinking it was free, but later we saw the 2.9%, but nowhere did it say they are taking an additional 5%. That totals 8%.

We are a nonprofit and had no funds to replace a playground for students that was destroyed during a windstorm in March. We had two family members donate the bulk of the donations. Of $4600 raised, GoFundMe took $400.

If you are fine with that, then go ahead. But a warning. They require the funds to be taken within 30 days, however, they compel an organization to go through PayPal to get their funds and PayPal will only release once a month. Do see the catch?

I think it's a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2018

I love GoFundMe

By Cindy, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have a friend that went through something very tragic. She did a GoFundMe, and she was able to buy the surgery for her son. There is nothing wrong with that site! So many negative reviews, come on people! The site can take a percentage, it's okay!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

Apr 18, 2018

We're glad to see that our Team was able to support your friend and her family during a difficult time, Cindy.

While GoFundMe does have a 0% platform fee for personal campaigns created in the US, Canada, and the UK, a small payment processing fee still applies. Full pricing information can be found here: https://bit.ly/2JXjCBg.

Posted on Apr 1, 2018

They really care about your campaign and the success

By Jamie Mueller, Gaertringen, Germany, Verified Reviewer

We are raising funds for our daughter, Pia, to give her a chance to walk and live a life free of pain. From the very beginning, GoFundMe has answered all of our questions in setting up our donor page. Of course, this matters and has helped us. But what I didn't expect and appreciate so much, is knowing based on their responses that they took the time to read about our campaign, Pia's Path to Walk, and send us their very best wishes for her success. The responses are authentic and they truly care about their customer's campaigns.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

Apr 18, 2018

We are so pleased to hear that we could support you during this time, Jamie. Thank you for your kind words, and we're always here if you need us.

Posted on Mar 27, 2018

Responsive and awesome!

By Carmen Dumas, Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

Nothing but praise for ease in every aspect concerning interactions with GoFundMe!

Questions were promptly and fully addressed. Setting up the funding venue was an easy and simple process via the app.

The campaign was originally set up by a friend of my son’s for his benefit, and once I received the invitation to accept funds, everything was finalized expeditiously. The donations were received within the week. GoFundMe rocks!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

Apr 19, 2018

We're so glad to hear about your positive experience, Carmen. Our Customer Happiness Team will always be here if you need us.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2018

Very satisfied

By Janice Webb, Verified Reviewer

At first, I had issues with my withdraws on my account. But then figured out with the help of their team it was my phone and it was too slow. Thanks for all your help and support.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 749-759 of 897

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.