Start your review of GoFundMe:
  • 896 Customer Reviews
  • 84% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 76% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 12%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Help get more views.

    Overall Experience:

    I contacted GoFundMe's "Help Me" page to help get my page some more views. They were very quick to respond and gave me some good ideas to try. They explained to me how posting my page on more social media pages will get me the most views, and hopefully, more views will translate to more donations.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent customer service

    • By Dom Frasca,
    • Sherman, ME,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with this company, every step of the way, was first class. Prompt, helpful, and courteous replies each and every time I needed help.

    GoFundMe, thank you so much for the support you provided along the way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent way to help your students!

    Overall Experience:

    I work with low-income kids who were trying really hard to establish the first student-run in-school food pantry in our school District. The kids wanted to purchase a refrigerator because fresh fruits and vegetables would help them in their goal to fight high rates of high blood pressure and stroke that stalk their communities, which are found more in canned food than in fresh food.

    The kids' GoFundMe campaign exceeded their goal, and they ended up feeling so empowered and able to do things they know are important for themselves and their families. What a great lesson in leadership!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks so much for your feedback Sheila. We’re so glad to hear the campaign was a success for your students. If you and your students ever need help with a future campaign, our Customer Happiness Team will be here for you.


  • Great app. I recommend it!

    Overall Experience:

    I've only had GoFundMe for three days now and the amount of help from the GoFundMe support team was absolutely outstanding. I really loved that they didn't take up to 24 hours to get back to me, they only took half an hour.

    One thing I would suggest though is that you guys could come up with ways to help people without social media spread the word just as well as people with it. I know that it's quite difficult to do that but if you people could then that'd be amazing (this was only constructive criticism by the way).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Matthew. While we do highly encourage our users to take advantage of social media to promote campaigns, our Customer Happiness Team will always be here to help you find creative solutions if you don’t use social media.

      You can also take a look at this article we’ve compiled with different ways to share: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us/articles/115011175448-25-Creative-Tips-for-Sharing-your-GoFundMe


  • Apparent fund appropriation scam

    Overall Experience:

    To use the GoFundMe application, it is a requirement to register, including zip code and bank routing information. Although GoFundMe does not reject the registration of Puerto Rico participating entities, after all your funds are raised, GoFundMe retains those funds if the participant does not have a 50 states address and bank account. Don't use this platform! They will keep your funds!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 25, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi there, Sandra.

      Thanks for reaching out about this. We’re sorry for any confusion our platform has caused. You’re correct that our payment processors cannot send funds raised to bank accounts in US territories, including Puerto Rico. We hope to open up our ability to support the US territories in the future, but they are not available currently.

      Additionally, GoFundMe will not keep your funds. Instead, we will refund the money back to your donors if you cannot withdraw them. Learn more about our supported countries and territories here: https://support.gofundme.com/hc/articles/203604044-Supported-Countries-on-GoFundMe


  • GoFundMe is very deceptive

    • By Kathleen Katz,
    • Northern Virginia,
    • Apr 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When we began our fundraiser, we read "no platform fees," thinking it was free, but later we saw the 2.9%, but nowhere did it say they are taking an additional 5%. That totals 8%.

    We are a nonprofit and had no funds to replace a playground for students that was destroyed during a windstorm in March. We had two family members donate the bulk of the donations. Of $4600 raised, GoFundMe took $400.

    If you are fine with that, then go ahead. But a warning. They require the funds to be taken within 30 days, however, they compel an organization to go through PayPal to get their funds and PayPal will only release once a month. Do see the catch?

    I think it's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I love GoFundMe

    • By Cindy,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a friend that went through something very tragic. She did a GoFundMe, and she was able to buy the surgery for her son. There is nothing wrong with that site! So many negative reviews, come on people! The site can take a percentage, it's okay!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're glad to see that our Team was able to support your friend and her family during a difficult time, Cindy.

      While GoFundMe does have a 0% platform fee for personal campaigns created in the US, Canada, and the UK, a small payment processing fee still applies. Full pricing information can be found here: https://bit.ly/2JXjCBg.


  • They really care about your campaign and the success

    • By Jamie Mueller,
    • Gaertringen, Germany,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We are raising funds for our daughter, Pia, to give her a chance to walk and live a life free of pain. From the very beginning, GoFundMe has answered all of our questions in setting up our donor page. Of course, this matters and has helped us. But what I didn't expect and appreciate so much, is knowing based on their responses that they took the time to read about our campaign, Pia's Path to Walk, and send us their very best wishes for her success. The responses are authentic and they truly care about their customer's campaigns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 18, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We are so pleased to hear that we could support you during this time, Jamie. Thank you for your kind words, and we're always here if you need us.


  • Responsive and awesome!

    • By Carmen Dumas,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Mar 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing but praise for ease in every aspect concerning interactions with GoFundMe!

    Questions were promptly and fully addressed. Setting up the funding venue was an easy and simple process via the app.

    The campaign was originally set up by a friend of my son’s for his benefit, and once I received the invitation to accept funds, everything was finalized expeditiously. The donations were received within the week. GoFundMe rocks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 19, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so glad to hear about your positive experience, Carmen. Our Customer Happiness Team will always be here if you need us.


  • Very satisfied

    Overall Experience:

    At first, I had issues with my withdraws on my account. But then figured out with the help of their team it was my phone and it was too slow. Thanks for all your help and support.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good service, need to figure out a way to derive payment.

    • By Tom Culp,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have donated to several GoFundMe campaigns. I recently donated to one and encountered a "tip page" to pay for the GoFundMe service. This was the first time, and I want not willing to "tip" at the levels they wanted, and I tried to enter my own. The tip got messed up. I was able to resolve it very quickly on a Saturday night with the help of a service rep, Jenna. My experience with GoFundMe has been great, I just think that they need to be consistent with a funding mechanism. In my opinion, tipping is not the way to do that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 749-759 of 896

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
GoFundMe