Read 890 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 72)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 685 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 17 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 782-792 of 890
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Help a Veteran

    Very helpful and relatively easy to navigate. The goal was reached in less than two weeks and “thank you’s” through the system were easy to use. Payment to Veteran and his wife should ease their pressure to get their lives back on track following the total loss of their doublewide by fire 2/27/18. Hopefully, the payment will be completed by Friday, March 16, 2018.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe support

    • Washington,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some issues with some of the deposits in our GoFundMe fund. I contacted the GoFundMe help desk and through a series of interactions online, no matter which person with whom I dealt, they were all prompt, clear and gracious.

    I was really impressed. Kudos to all the different people who assisted me. They were all wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    I made a contribution to a page and somehow accidentally submitted an additional charge. I contacted GuFundMe and explained the error, and within 24 hours my charge was credited back to my bank account and email sent to me to make sure everything was handled. I will not hesitate to continue to use GoFundMe in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Just a waste of time

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started a campaign on Facebook and started getting small $20 donations. Every time I tried to withdraw the funds from GoFundMe.com, my account showed $0 in donations. I tried several emails to the "contact us" link. They never responded. I had to click on every FAQ just to try and resolve this issue.

    GoFundmMe.com doesn't have any real customer service reps to speak with. This GoFundmMe.com is nothing but scammers and cheats. You will never see any money that people who care donate. I will be spreading the word.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 19, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Amy,

      We researched your account and found that you never raised funds on GoFundMe. If you started a campaign on Facebook, then you likely started a Facebook fundraiser, which is different from GoFundMe. You'll need to work with Facebook in order to secure any funds raised on that platform. On GoFundMe, we make sure our users receive the funds they raise.

      If you ever need to contact our Customer Happiness Team, you can do so quickly by filling out this form: https://www.gofundme.com/mvc.php?route=contact/suggest - We'll respond quickly, 24/7.


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    So far all is good.

    I had a good experience so far. My goal originally was $600. I raised $300 and so far they cut my first check of $50 and my second check is scheduled for December 2nd. I am hoping that nothing goes wrong from here on out. Every review that I have read has not been good, but my experience so far as I said has been positive, so I hope it continues to stay that way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience with GoFundMe Missy!


  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    The customer service was amazing!

    • Boonville, MO,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my GoFundMe fundraiser was complete, I was ready to withdraw my money. I came across a huge problem. I deleted the email I used for the account!

    I became VERY frustrated with the process and sought help from the customer service page on the GoFundMe website. I got a reply within 5 minutes, and the ladies who helped me were outstanding! I had many different problems that branched from the email issue, and they were able to help me through it all, giving me CLEAR AND PRECISE instructions on how to do it.

    While quite a few of the things they told me to do didn’t work, they stood by me the whole time and didn’t stop until my money was withdrawn. I am very blessed that I came across such a great customer service program with the GoFundMe cooperation! I will definitely use GoFundMe again and encourage my friends and family to use it as well!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you so much for those kind words Hannah! It means a lot to us to hear such high praise of our Customer Happiness Team.


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worked perfectly

    I used GoFundMe to raise money for my wife's aunt after she was put out of her home by hurricane Harvey. GoFundMe did put a hold on my fundraiser, but we were able to get it straightened out very quickly, and within 24 hours the fundraiser was live and back up and running. The customer service (in my specific situation) was helpful and fast. However, the fees are a little shocking, and I did not notice that when I did this fundraiser (was my first experience with GoFundMe). I would use this fundraiser site again, but I wouldn't use it for everything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thank you for leaving us this constructive and honest feedback Devon. It's our goal to always be transparent about our fees, and we appreciate your patience as it sounds like you went through a security check that was in place for Hurricane Harvey campaigns. Your cooperation through that process helps keep GoFundMe a safe place to give, so we thank you for that.

      One other thing to note is that we recently removed our 5% platform fee for all personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada. Please note a standard payment processing fee still applies and that fee varies by country but is generally around 3%.


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    I have never seen a business or organization with no phone number to call. The email response is so generic, and I can't reach anyone to help. I'm raising a charity for an orphanage, and we did so well in one day, and they ended up closing my account, refunding all the donations we raised with no valid reason, investigation or even responding to my emails.

    Worst company ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 19, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hello Mr. Elshaarawi,

      We can confirm that our Trust and Safety Team has been working in conjunction with our payment partner to understand why these actions were taken on the donations you raised. We do see that you have two separate campaigns on GoFundMe, one that is raising funds that will be sent directly to a charity, and then another that you set up that was a personal fundraiser. We can assure you that donations to your charity campaign have not been affected here, https://www.gofundme.com/orphanages-in-egypt-needs-your-help.

      We also have asked our Trust and Safety Team to follow up with you, to clarify how we can best continue with the second personal campaign you set up, should you wish to raise funds on two separate campaigns.


  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Customer service isn't!

    One thing GoFundMe can't claim is having customer service! I've tried five different attempts to get in touch with them with no results. I can't log into my account. I just wanted help with that. Not at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 19, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Stephen,

      In reviewing your account, it looks like our Customer Happiness Team responded to your original emails on August 4th, but you never replied back. It's possible those emails ended up in your spam folder in your email account. You wrote to us again on August 23rd and our team responded in 9 minutes, and they were quickly able to work with you to resolve the issue with your account to get you the funds for Marley's surgery.


  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I work at a non-profit organization, and we raised money for one of our members who was in a coma after a bad accident. We quickly met the goal, and I was asked for my bank account info, which was fine since he was in no condition to be dealing with bank details. My main goal was to get the family the money quickly and easily as they were waiting by his bedside.

    I gave a portion of the money to the family, and then GoFundMe put a block on my account. I don't know why they asked for all of my bank details if they did not trust me to get this man (or his family, as the case may be) the money. In any event, now they are not helping, and the best I get is what seems a computer-generated response.

    Be careful trying to do a good deed through GoFundMe, you may end up on the short end!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Sean,

      In reviewing your account and conversation with our Community Management Team, it looks like your campaign was flagged for a security review because of complications surrounding who would be the ideal person to withdraw the funds from the campaign you created since the ultimate beneficiary of the funds was not able to withdraw the funds himself.

      Our records show that a supervisor of our Community Management Team was able to resolve the situation and have the funds sent out on June 15th, 2017. Thank you for working with us to keep GoFundMe safe!


  • 61 out 63 people found this review helpful

    An absolute joke

    My daughter passed away suddenly on April the 3rd so we tried to raise funds for her funeral. After only raising £200 we will eventually receive £181. I say eventually because they are refusing to release the funds after 3 weeks of emails and all our personal details to prove we are real people.

    The evidence is still not enough and we have been left in debt and can't pay anyone for the funeral. All they state in their emails is that this will all be sorted pit in the next 24 hours. I think they mean years. Not only have we had to suffer the loss of Lucy but also now experience financial difficulty.

    Thank you very much GoFundMe. Will I ever use them again? No.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Lorraine,

      We're so sorry to hear about the loss of Lucy and the added stress of the difficulty in withdrawing the funds. When preparing for a funeral, that should be the last thing you have to worry about.

      In reviewing your conversation with us, it looks like it took longer than it should have to verify your information. While these measures are in place to keep everyone safe on GoFundMe, it's clear that undue stress was caused here. As a result, our team waived all fees for your campaign.

      Our team is wishing you peace during a difficult time.


Showing 782-792 of 890

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review