About GoFundMe

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing & Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver "24/7 rapid response" (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

806 Consumer Reviews for GoFundMe

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 619 4 star: 63 3 star: 6 2 star: 17 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 806
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Corrected a donation and tip amount

    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had inadvertently gotten my donation and tip to GoFund me backwards. GoFundMe was able to credit back both amounts, so I could re-do the transaction correctly. I would definitely recommend GoFundMe to a friend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing

    • Bradford, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site helped me fulfill my mother's last wish by helping me raise over £3k. The money I wouldn't have had in time, as the NHS isn't able to hold the body for long. The generosity of strangers, as well as people you barely know, is overwhelming and gave us hope in a time of tragedy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Helpful employees

    • Nevada,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not sure about donation guidelines and was assisted by a nice lady who gave clear and concise instructions. It's wonderful to ask once and get an answer rather than run all over a web page help section.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Overall satisfactory score.

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When attempting to retrieve the funds, customer service emailed me back in the time stated and helped me with the concern I had. I would recommend GoFundMe to anyone. It's a great way to fundraise for those in need that are not within reach.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Thank you for the fundraiser

    • Albany, NY,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On July 1, 2018, my close friends, the Melnychuk family, lost their house and all the possessions due to the fire in Ukraine. Thankful for the opportunity to be able to raise them a financial support through GoFundMe website. Thankful for the help provided by the staff on time. May God bless you all!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Outstanding service

    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    GoFundMe has provided several instances of optimal service, assisting me with setting up my new website and retrieving information from my old website. They're prompt and extremely helpful, and eager to meet my needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Had a great experience on GoFundMe

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasn't sure on how to close it out but their great staff was walking right through it. I was in dire need of money for a medical marijuana license. I've been in pain for years, and a friend of mine suggested GoFundMe. So glad I took your suggestion and everything was great. I got stuck on retrieving the money; they have a great staff that walked me right through it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great support from the GoFundMe team

    • London, England,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being very new to crowdfunding, I struggled with setting everything up at first, but their happiness team at GoFundMe are quite simply fantastic. They answered all my questions (and I had quite a few), quickly and accurately. They walked me through things and guided me every step of the way. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great customer service when I had issues

    • Palmetto, GA,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was making a donation to help a friend with a sick dog that she adopted. This poor pup that someone dumped off needed a surgery of $3,000. When I was trying to make a donation, I messed up. The GoFundMe fund site was confusing. Instead of making a donation of $100, I made a tip to GoFundMe. Nicole in customer service helped me get this straightened out. Thank you and thank God!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • GoFundMe support team

    • Christchurch Dorset, England,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The GoFundMe team have been amazing. This is a very difficult time in my life for my children and myself, we unexpectedly lost my husband. A friend of my husband set up the GoFundMe appeal which I did not know of until recently, for which we are extremely grateful and cannot believe how kind and generous people are. The GoFundMe team have been wonderful, helped guide me through the process and have shown lots of patience and empathy. They are quick to respond to my emails, always kind, and courteous.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Withdrawing money

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Within minutes I have received a response. Thank you so much, your professionalism and courtesy have been much appreciated.

    Your support has made a very happy customer here! I would recommend them anytime.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 806

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review