About GoFundMe

By HighYa Staff

GoFundMe is a crowdfunding platform that allows users to raise money for a wide variety of personal causes, including medical bills, special events, and even for animals and pets. According to the company’s website, they’ve helped millions of people raise more than $5 billion over the past several years.

Founded in 2010 and based out of San Diego, CA, the company has been featured on CNN, Forbes, New York Times, and TIME, and held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 115 closed complaints (as of 4/10/18).

Combined with feedback from sites like BestCompany.com, it appears GoFundMe has a relatively positive online reputation, with common compliments citing ease of use, helpful support, and the platform’s ability to help people in need. What relatively few complaints there were referenced high fees and less-than-stellar customer service.

How GoFundMe Works

Similar to Kickstarter and Indiegogo, GoFundMe is an online crowdfunding destination that helps you raise money for something in which you strongly believe.

In fact, when compared to their competition, GoFundMe allows you to raise money for almost anything you want—including school tuition, medical bills, business ideas, travel expenses, even for animals and pets—as long as it’s not illegal and doesn’t contain inappropriate content.

The company states that getting your personal crowdfunding campaign underway takes less than a minute, and there are no required deadlines or time limits. Depending on the type of campaign you choose, you can even keep all of your donations, even if you don’t reach your ultimate goal.

From start to finish, the GoFundMe process entails four primary steps:

  • Create your GoFundMe site.
  • Share your site with friends and family, invite contacts, and post to social media sites to garner traffic.
  • Collect online donations.
  • Track results.

GoFundMe Pricing and Support

GoFundMe recently removed their five percent fee for all US, UK, and Canadian personal campaigns, although this fee still exists for certified charity campaigns.

Keep in mind that according to their Pricing and Fees page, though, even free personal campaigns will still be charged a 2.9 percent payment processing fee, along with a $0.30 fee that is assessed per donation.

As perhaps an overly simplistic example, if your campaign raised $1,000 among 20 contributions, you’d pay $29 in processing fees, and another $6 in donation fees, allowing you to keep a total of $965. Remember that this figure will vary depending on the total number of donations and their size.

The GoFundMe Guarantee “ensures that donations are protected if campaign funds are not delivered to the intended beneficiary or donors are misled by a campaign organizer or beneficiary.” If not, they could reimburse donors up to $1,000, each.

In addition, refund requests are honored if the campaign’s funds are available (i.e., the user hasn’t withdrawn them). If they have been withdrawn, a company representative advised they’re still often honored, “but [the] process is longer and requires us working with the user who withdrew” them.

When you’re ready to withdraw your money, simply provide your bank account information, and your money will be deposited within 2-5 business days. Alternately, GoFundMe can send U.S. users a paper check, though this will typically take 7-10 business days.

If necessary, you can reach customer service by filling out a contact form on their website, to which the company promises to deliver “24/7 rapid response” (in most cases, within 15-30 minutes).

Pros:

  • Has helped individuals raise more than $5 billion in funding.
  • Completely free to start and run a campaign.
  • Campaign topics are completely open, as long as they’re not promoting anything illegal, or contain inappropriate content.
  • You get to keep your donations, even if you don’t reach your monetary goal. Also, withdraw funds from your campaign whenever you wish.
  • Customer support appears to be very active.
  • Mostly positive online customer feedback.

Cons:

  • Technically free for personal campaigns in the US, UK, and Canada, although a payment processing fee applies, along with an additional $0.30 fee for each donation made.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 898 GoFundMe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 687 4 star: 72 3 star: 7 2 star: 19 1 star:  113
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 898
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    GoFundMe has been great

    • New York,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Facebook has been professional, timely and responsive. I set up a separate bank account for the fundraiser and received all donations within 24 hours. Each donation (or each day ) came with a summary email. On the Facebook page, each donation had a "thank you" link which was very helpful, as some donations were from strangers. I have seen these complaints about a "tip". No-one has to leave a tip! It's a drop-down menu, you just scroll to "other" and leave it blank. Seriously, who does not know how to use a drop down menu? Also, Facebook takes only a small percentage of the donations. Totally worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 11, 2019

      GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks for your kind words, Merry! We're so glad you had a great experience using our platform, and appreciate your understanding regarding our tip feature and our fee structure.

      However, we do want to note that Facebook and GoFundMe are actually separate platforms, so apologies for any confusion! In any case, thanks again for taking the time to leave your review.


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A time of need, and GoFundMe FAILS

    • California,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter passed away three weeks ago. A GoFundMe account was set up, to assist her husband, and three small sons, with expenses, going forward. So far there is over $45,000.00 in the account, which they do not have access to. The campaign organizer, AND my son-in-law, have been trying to communicate with GoFundMe staff for weeks, via e-mails (as we all know, they refuse to publish a phone number - what does that tell you!?). So far, they have gotten absolutely nowhere with the situation. In the meantime, there's that little stipulation in the contract that states that if you do not make a withdrawal within 30 days, that GoFundMe can freeze your account. I am tempted to report this to the FBI, as this is fraud. We have hundreds of people who donated their hard earned money to help my daughter's family in this time of crisis, and GoFundMe has been completely irresponsible. My son-in-law is distraught (Why wouldn't he be? He just lost his wife!), and then he has to deal with this? We want answers! LOVE FOR THE NARAKI BOYS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 5, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you for writing in, Becky. We're so sorry to hear about the added stress during an already difficult time.

      While we wish there was more insight we could offer here, we're afraid we can't share details regarding the accounts and campaign, since you are not a campaign organizer or beneficiary. However, we can confirm that the issue had been resolved on the 19th, a few days before you had written to our team, on the 21st.

      We recommend that you contact the campaign organizer and your son-in-law to discuss the resolution of the issue, but if there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless WePay is disconnected from GoFundMe, don’t ever, ever use them. Have people donate a different way! They are horrible. And remember, any company who cannot offer phone support KNOWS they have more complaints and issues than normal. WePay is a horrible, horrible company. They ended up refunding my donor and then had the nerve to email me saying they verified it the next day and he can re-donate. Yeah, right. He sent the money to me through PayPal instead. What a saint.

    They also need to stop adding the suggestion TIP and leave that at ZERO dollars, so people don’t accidentally pay money they never intended to. It’s very scammy and I see a lot of reviews about people thinking it was a required fee or didn’t even mean to. That’s not okay. And no one can tell me they didn’t sit around and configure that on purpose.

    RUN GUYS. FAST.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 9, 2019

      GoFundMe, Inc.

      Thanks for offering your honest feedback here, Luna.

      We're glad that your donor was able to make his contribution another way, despite the trouble you ran into.

      Additionally, we do want to emphasize that tips are completely optional, and can be changed to $0 at the time of donation. Donors can also request a refund of their tip at any time, and the refund will be honored.

      We responded to your initial review on April 3rd, but we'd like to emphasize again that the donation review process is a standard security measure to ensure that we only send completely verified donations to you for withdrawal, to protect you from fraudulent donations. We know this process can be difficult if donors only have the best intentions, but these measures are in place to ensure that yourself and others are protected from fraud.

      If there is anything else we can assist with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    • Previous review
    • Mar 30, 2019

    Problems with WePay - GoFundMe not getting me necessary information.

    Up until a few days ago, I was a fan of GoFundMe. I had easy access to my account, ease with campaign setup and no issues with donor payment processing or receiving donations.

    It seems, however, that if you receive a high donation amount, all heck breaks loose and WePay (Chase) wants to hold your money hostage. I’ve received maybe about 40 donations (maybe less I’m going off the top of my head). All of my withdrawals went perfectly. The largest and last donation that came in was for $6000. All of a sudden, there is an issue getting the money to me. They’ve canceled my withdrawal twice now and the only bit of information I’ve gotten so far is that my account is still in review and they want to know my relationship to the person who sent the money.

    Excuse me, but how is that any of your concern? Doesn’t GoFundMe ENCOURAGE people to share share share so they/we can reach a wide audience and get donations from outside our network? The largest and most successful campaigns are comprised of stranger donations.

    Regardless, this was a person I went to high school with. A personal donation to my cause. But they shouldn’t be asking.

    Now, days later, I keep getting the runaround. The need to either have Chase working better and not holding peoples funds hostage, or switch processors. Either way, I want to resolve ASAP. I’m done emailing you guys back and forth since I can’t pick up a phone.

    I’ll adjust my review if things change, but until then...if you want your earned money, don’t use them. Find another platform.

    • Apr 3, 2019

      GoFundMe, Inc.

      We appreciate you leaving your honest feedback here, Luna. We completely understand that the donation review process can be cumbersome, especially when donors only have the best intentions.

      We really do appreciate you working with us to get the donor verified, and they are welcome to resubmit their donation at any time now.

      However, we do want to emphasize that these security measures are in place to protect you as the campaign organizer. If our payment processor is unable to successfully verify a donation, especially one at such a high dollar amount, you as the campaign organizer could be at risk for a chargeback on your account in the event that the donation is fraudulent.

      Once again, we totally understand this can be a frustrating process if there are only good intentions. Thanks again for working with us to get your donor verified, and if there's anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Account suspended, then donations locked in National Treasury

    • California,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What started off as a honeymoon fundraiser for my mother has now turned into a major loss in personal finance. My account was suspended and all funds were frozen. After weeks of jumping through hoops and running in circles, I get an email saying donations will be reimbursed within 10 days. A month later and I get an email saying my funds have now been locked with National Treasury and I will need to apply for a license to access account.

    HUH?!

    No response except the spam link to national treasure website. An impressively unhelpful platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unable to access withdrawals - need them for cancer treatment

    • Nantucket, MA,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently have leukemia and am seeking treatment. I personally raised $30k over a month ago now, set up my withdrawal account (twice) and went through all the necessary steps that they state on their page to get my money. I was first told I’d have it March 12th, then March 28th, now April 3rd. I cannot get in contact with anyone, and this is concerning considering I need to pay out of pocket for alternative treatment for blood cancer, and I’m currently broke. I’m even more concerned because I keep reading online that some NEVER get their money. If this is the case, you will be exposed, mark my words.

    I would appreciate it if a HUMAN could contact me and let me know what’s going on. This is absolutely ridiculous. Unless I get this money immediately, I will absolutely never recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 3, 2019

      GoFundMe, Inc.

      Hi Geddes,

      Thank you so much for reaching out about this. Our apologies for the delay, but please rest assured we want to get your funds to you, and this is an actual human typing this message!

      It looks like we contacted you on February 5th, 2019, with a message titled "Important Message from GoFundMe - Response Required," but we never heard back from you to move forward. Would you mind looking through your emails and following up with that message?

      If you don't see that message, could you please follow the "Contact Us" link in our Help Center? - https://support.gofundme.com/hc/.

      Please do that, and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Thank you GoFundMe

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would like to start by saying I was really going through it financially and my son was really sick and due to my employment issues I had trouble paying my bills. GoFundMe gave me an opportunity to raise donations and stay in my home and I am so grateful. I got my donations very quickly, and I only had 4 days! I had made my GoFundMe earlier but it didn’t get any traffic until the last second, and I was able to raise the donations in one day and received my donations immediately. I am now in my home taking care of my son when I was on the verge of homelessness. I had until the 24th of March.

    I will forever be an advocate for using GoFundMe. As long as you follow their guidelines and you’re actually in need of help, they have no problems. My advice to anyone having problems with GoFundMe is to follow their guidelines. I made sure to update my donors on all the progress I made and posted pictures that weren’t just my profile picture but pictures of the actual problem so that my donors understood what I needed and why. I added my banking information and whatever other personal documents they asked for as soon as I made the GoFundMe, which helped them verify things before the larger donations came in.

    I know some people have issues and I’m so sorry you did. I just know they probably deal with a lot of scammers and people being deceitful, so they take extra precautions when they give you those donations. You actually have people who work for GoFundMe that go through and check everything before sending your funds. It says it in the email they send you when you reach your goal. They are covering their booties and yours.

    I can never repay GoFundMe for the platform they gave to raise money for my son and I, and I am so grateful for the opportunity to stay in my home and continue to raise my son in a healthy and safe environment, and it’s because of GoFundMe and the loving and caring people who donated.

    Oh, also. The tip thing can be a little tricky, but they have an option where you don’t have to just click other and you can put $0 for a tip and maybe let your donors know that when sharing your GoFundMe so that your donors know about the feature and aren’t surprised. I know some people have way worst things going on their lives and it is horrible that we have to go through these lengths just to be heard or helped especially with the state of our country, but imagine if GoFundMe wasn’t here. So many deserving people would either be homeless, in debt, dying. It’s a lot of things you have to do, but it’s also because it’s dealing with money. They have to make sure it’s going and being received and placed in the right hands. That’s hard on a platform where again some people aren’t the most trustworthy. Take your time and donate when you can, give when you can, help when you can.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 26, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here, Jessica!

      We really appreciate your understanding in regards to our security measures and helping GoFundMe the safest place to give.

      We're so glad to hear you were able to receive the support when you needed it most. If there's anything else we can help out with, please don't hesitate to let us know.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Broken hearted

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was diagnosed with cancer and is unable to work. I started a campaign to pay my rent for a few months while looking for a second job to support us. I have had nothing but problems with GoFundMe. Many delays setting up my first withdrawal. I had to send them my drivers license, bank statement and fill out banking information many times. The first deposit never made it to my bank account due to incorrect bank account number (my fault) and wrong name on deposit (their fault). I approved an attempt to reclaim the first deposit and THEY CLEANED OUT MY BANK ACCOUNT. So I did not receive my funds and they took an extra $385.98 out of my bank account. I am devastated! They no longer answer my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 5, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so sorry to hear about the difficulties you ran into along the way, Judi.

      In taking a closer look at your account, we do see that your first withdrawal failed due to incorrect banking information.

      Our team attempted to recover the funds from the bank account it was originally sent to, and this process takes 10 business days. Upon taking a closer look, we do see that one of your emails was missed during this time frame, but we were able to get back to you and inform you that the recovery was successful, and funds were sent out to you once more last week.

      We appreciate you offering your honest feedback here, and although your issue was resolved, this definitely isn't the situation we hope for our customers. If you ever need more assistance, or have any more feedback, we'll be right here for you.


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Trying to withdrawal funds

    • Austell, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 41-year-old sister passed recently and we didn’t have money for a proper burial so I decided to start a GoFundMe which was pretty much unsuccessful and only got $70 in donations and $20 of that was from me just to get it started. I couldn’t figure out how to withdraw the funds. So when I signed it, it said email and password were incorrect. So I tried my old email address and password thinking maybe I accidentally created it with that one, but it rejected that too. So I spent two hours on my phone trying to get some type of help and all I got was a computer generated answer. All that money that y’all collect from people who are already in need and you have no customer service number or even online live help. Couldn’t even find a link to email somebody. I guess if you make it difficult for people to collect their money then maybe they’ll just give up?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks for writing in, Loretta.

      Our apologies for the frustrating experience you've had so far.

      Our team tried looking up your name, but we were unable to find your campaign. We want to make sure that this gets resolved, so could you please contact us here?

      https://support.gofundme.com/hc/en-us

      You'll see a "Contact Us" button to send us a message directly. While we're unable to offer phone support, our team will be here to assist you via email.

      Looking forward to hearing from you.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Issues with withdrawal

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son is under the age of 18 and I had to add myself as the beneficiary, after many attempts I never received the verification email and the deadline was fast approaching. After sending numerous emails to customer support, there were no replies at all. In the meantime, my sons kept getting the reminder emails to withdraw the funds or they were going to be returned. This causes a tremendous amount of stress so I went back into the system and changed the account to my name and did the withdrawal. The confirmation came back stating it would be deposited within 3-4 business days but I have not received anything and the emails keep coming in as reminders to withdraw and asking for ID verification which I have sent.

    I really feel there should be a 1-800 number of better customer support, I have no idea where the status is now and what to do. My son has worked to raise these funds. Please someone from GoFundMe assist me directly. My e-mail address is info[at]waltergalvao.com. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks so much for reaching out about this, Walter.

      We can see that our team replied to you on February 6th, but it seems like that failed to reach you. We also don't see any other outreaches from you aside from your first message.

      Our team will be following up with you shortly. Would you mind checking your inbox soon? Additionally, we do wish we could offer phone support, but our team can only offer email support at this time. We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

      Keep an eye out for an outreach from us so we can get this resolved soon.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    The worst fundraising site IN THE WORLD!

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So a friend of mine who has fallen on hard times had his PlayStation break on him and his kids. A bunch of his friends told him to start a GoFundMe and we would all chip in to help him out. So his wife started one of these GoFundMe accounts. Within an hour or two, he had enough to replace his PlayStation so his children and himself could enjoy some form of entertainment.

    The next day I get a refund notice because my friend violated the Terms of Service for this pathetic company. We all inquired as to what the issue was when he was told that his wife needs to prove her identity. They did as instructed just to be told that it wasn't good enough and refunded everyone's money. To add to this absolute BS, thanks to these scammers that is GoFundMe, they waited to refund me when the exchange rate was less so that I don't even get my full refund back. Their scamming ways still cost me $4. Which in all honesty is nothing for me but it's the principle of them screwing all parties involved and then trying to show how wonderful they are.

    I truly believe that the REAL reason they canceled his GoFundMe was because no one would donate to their pathetic website and they choose to screw him over. NEVER would I recommend this poorly ran company to anyone after this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 23, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Hi Andrew,

      We're so sorry to hear about your experience. While we won't be able to share more details about your friend's campaign here, we can absolutely look into your refund for you.

      We searched for your name but were unable to find any ongoing conversations with our team. Would you be able to reach out to us through our contact form so we can take a closer look? Just follow this link: https://www.gofundme.com/contact

      Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.

    • Jan 27, 2019

      Andrew V.

      Thanks for the reply I guess. I see you are trying to show others that you are trying to resolve my issue. However, I have emailed you guys as requested here and I still haven’t heard back, just like my original email. What should be my next step then?

    • Feb 19, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      Thanks for following up, Andrew. We're afraid we still haven't seen an outreach under your name, however.

      Do you think you could try contacting us again, so we can look into this further for you?

    • Feb 21, 2019

      Ranae L.

      I've been trying to reach you again over the GoFundMe I set up for a nephew whose child killed himself several weeks ago. No one is responding to emails from me or the beneficiary. Last week GoFundMe put everything on hold/review to provide WePay with the info they needed and now the beneficiary is being told the EXACT same thing - it's under review. HORRIBLE customer service, especially when you are dealing with people in crisis situations that NEED the money people have donated. This is so wrong on so many levels. Unless this gets resolved today, I am reporting you to the Attorney General. It feels like we are being scammed. I even tipped GoFundMe when I made my donation. Nice...really nice. Glad to see my hard earned money at work.

    • Feb 23, 2019

      Andrew V.

      I have and got a very poor reply back. The last person I talked to made up exchange rates so that he could use it as an excuse to say "it’s not our fault, it’s your bank." Pathetic. I wish I could give you guys a -5 star. But I will take this as a lesson to do some research and use ONLY reputable donation sites that do not scam people when they can’t get a piece of the action.

    • Mar 8, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so sorry to hear that you had to go through this trouble during such a difficult time, Ranae.

      However, we can see that our team was able to work with you the day you left this comment, and your account was verified and funds were successfully sent out just a few days later.

      To clarify, these verification processes are in place for our payment processors to ensure that funds end up in the right hands. We appreciate you working with us to make GoFundMe the safest place to give.

      If you have any other feedback you'd like to offer, we're here for you.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I recommend to read every email sent by GoFundMe

    • Florida,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi guys. I trust this information can help you, especially if you are the type that likes to read reviews. I started a campaign on November 22nd. I really thought it was going to be a lot easier since to my knowledge I was doing everything right. Two days later I read on my campaign's page that the funds were on hold and to expect an email with more information. I honestly freaked out and wouldn't stop looking at the page to see if anything had changed. I probably sent about 5 emails and nothing.

    Then, I paused and prayed asking for guidance and sure enough, it hit me! I went back to check all the emails thinking I could've missed something. I was receiving so many notifications from GoFundMe notifying me of all the generous donations that I missed a very important email. There was one email explaining why the funds were on hold and actually detailed every step I needed to make so that the funds could be released. I won't lie, I was still worried, but I did everything accordingly. They were basically asking me to update the page by writing a brief story about the present status of the beneficiary for all donors to read. I needed to add details such as who was going to take the money to the beneficiary and how, his present situation, etc. They asked to be specific and write as many details as possible, so I did.

    After doing so, I received another email probably about a day later saying that the information was processed successfully and that they were lifting up the hold and depositing the money in my account within the next couples of days. I was so relieved however, not totally convinced after reading so many negative reviews. To my surprise, the funds were transferred the following day, all of it!

    So, I learned something. I should read everything carefully and follow up accordingly instead of using my judgment based on reviews only. Not that it's a bad thing, but unfortunately, one's bad experience can ruin it for others and affect a really good company's reputation. I can see why GoFundMe has so many measures. All they are trying to do is protect our generous donors, protect us as organizers because by me giving all those details, it proves my donors I'm being transparent and a good steward of their money, and at the same time the company is protecting themselves. Please read your emails carefully. The solution might be there, and try to follow as they suggest.

    I do want to say, I would use them again, but I hope they can adapt phone customer service. Thanks for reading.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2019

      James H.

      Natalie, this is great news for you, but I have never received such an email. I just reviewed every one (as I save each one) and I am assured all is in order. I would LOVE to receive such an email...but in spite of my CALLS and LETTERS (yes, I was able to actually get info on their hidden REDWOOD CITY address), I am ignored. The pity is that these funds were vitally needed weeks ago! I will shortly go on social media and do my best to STOP this scam.

    • Jan 9, 2019

      GoFundMe T., Customer Happiness Lead

      We're so glad to hear that, Natalie! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us here.

      James, we're so sorry for the continued effort here. We'll follow up with you in your original review to keep things organized.


Showing 1-11 of 898

Write a Review for GoFundMe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review