About Gorilla Glue

Gorilla Glue is an industrial strength, waterproof polyurethane glue that claims to be suitable for indoor and outdoor use, and to bond to virtually any material, including wood, stone, metal, ceramic, foam, glass, and more. As such, Gorilla Glue claims to be incredibly strong and 100% tough for essentially any application you need.

Bonding two surfaces together can be a tricky process, and it’s admittedly difficult to formulate an adhesive that works across as many different surfaces as Gorilla Glue claims. So when it comes down to it, does Gorilla Glue actually bond as well as it claims? When should you use it, and when is something else a better choice?

Gorilla Glue Products

The Gorilla Glue Company, based out of Cincinnati, OH, manufactures a wide variety of industrial strength adhesives, the most popular of which is Gorilla Glue. This polyurethane-based formula is claimed to provide immense holding power by expanding 3X into the tiny folds and crevices of nearly any material, such as wood, plastic, metal, and much more. Gorilla Glue can also be sanded, painted, and stained, making it useful for almost any situation.

With this in mind, to use Gorilla Glue you’ll need to do the following:

  1. Clean the surfaces you’ll be applying Gorilla Glue to, and if necessary, roughen them up for better adhesion. Ideally, you’ll also need to dampen the surface.
  2. Apply Gorilla Glue evenly and sparingly, and spread with a disposable brush if necessary.
  3. Press the objects together and hold in place using clamps, a heavy object, or even rubber bands if small enough.
  4. Gorilla Glue will be 80% dry in 1-2 hours and fully cured in 24 hours. After using, store the glue in a cool, dry place.

In addition to Gorilla Glue, the company also manufactures a wide range of other adhesives in the USA, including Super Glue, Wood Glue, Epoxy, Clear Repair, Tape, and Self-Standing Bags.

Gorilla Glue Pricing & Refund Policy

Gorilla products are not sold through the manufacturer’s website, although their products are available from hundreds of third-party retails, which typically range in price between $3 and $72. As such, returns/refunds will be at the discretion of each retailer.

However, if you’d like to contact Gorilla Glue about questions or concerns, customer service can be reached at 800-966-3458.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Gorilla Glue?

Overall, Gorilla Glue seems to have an overwhelmingly positive online customer reputation, although some of the most common complaints appear to revolve around glue drying inside the nozzle, thereby making it essentially useless after one application, high price when compared to the competition, and that it’s not well suited for small, detailed repairs. Also, while many customers like the fact that the glue expands into each surface, many others felt this caused a big, unnecessary mess.

Is Gorilla Glue the Best Option When Joining 2 Surfaces?

Given the fact that the DIY market is filled with all kinds of adhesives, does Gorilla Glue work as well as it claims? Should you use it for your next repair? Maybe, but remember the following:

Adhesion & Versatility

Based on customer reviews, while it appears that Gorilla Glue does have the ability to bond to most surfaces, it may not bond to every surface equally as well. As such, it seems that it bonds firmly to porous surfaces such as wood, although metal to metal seems to form the weakest bond.

On top of this, Gorilla Glue claims that it can be formed and shaped using sandpaper, a file, or even a Dremel, which can make it ideal for filling holes and cracks.

Relearn How to Use Glue

Do you normally apply as much glue as possible when bonding two surfaces? The more the merrier, right?

Not so with Gorilla Glue. Since it expands 3X in order to work its way into whatever surface you’re applying it to, it probably isn’t like any other adhesive you’ve previously used. As such, it’s important to use Gorilla Glue sparingly. Otherwise, you might have a big, sticky mess to clean up.

Also, compared to most “super glues,” Gorilla Glue has a relatively long bonding time, so it might not be ideal for last-minute fixes. And unless you’re gluing together 2 relatively heavy items, you’ll need to use clamps to achieve the best bond.

A Little Goes a Long Way

Since Gorilla Glue expands up to 3X, a little bit can go a long way. And because it comes with a relatively high price, you’ll probably want to purchase the smallest bottle you’ll need for your intended application.

Speaking of which: According to numerous customer reviews we encountered during our research, Gorilla Glue tends to dry inside the nozzle after only one use, making it essentially useless thereafter. This makes purchasing the smallest bottle required even more important. Tip: You can also cut a small portion off the tip to gain access to the glue each time you use it.

Bottom line:

For most applications, Gorilla Glue appears to be a strong adhesive that can permanently bond to most surfaces. However, it expands greatly and requires water to activate, so getting everything right might take some trial and error.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Gorilla Glue

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Messy but it works

    • London, England,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the glue to bond my car key that broke from the fob. Don't forget to lightly wet the surface before application. So far so good. I tried three products, including super glue, on this task and Gorilla Glue is the only one to work. I saved over £150 for a new key.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total rubbish

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had very high hopes, but in fact, it was total rubbish. I bought a bottle in B&Q and had tried to glue various bits and pieces of a bobble cane on my suede pumps, so it was suede to suede didn’t work! I tried a porcelain ornament, it didn’t work, tried plastic to plastic, it didn’t work. And this was allowing two days to set using a very thinly amount. My advice, it’s all a load of hype. Save your money and stick with super glue. My stuff is ruined and unrepairable, as it’s all been left with this grey mess. I can’t try any other product! AVOID.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not so great at all!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used (or tried to use) Gorilla Glue several times, and I can and will say that this stuff is not that good at all!! First of all, as it dries, it swells up a bit, didn't expect that to happen the first time I used it, so you must use it sparingly. It also does not keep it's "grip" very long!

    I spent $8 for just a tiny bottle of Gorilla Glue to glue two things back together, one was for two small wood pieces of mom's nic-nac, and the other was a ceramic handle on a small, lightweight sugar bowl. Both came back apart in no time at all, even after following directions very carefully and waiting days for the glue to really cure and harden!

    The next time I went to use the very small $8 bottle only a couple days later, the entire bottles contents was all dried up and hardened inside the bottle, so it apparently has a very short shelf life once you open it!

    So, I bought another bottle to glue four things; all four things came back apart! Gorilla Glue is not worth the ridiculous price they charge for such tiny little bottles since it does NOT hold at all! They should give me back my hard earned money! ($8 x 2 plus tax =$18!)

    I will NEVER buy their garbage ever again, and will just stick to the cheap $1 tubes of "super glue!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend

    • London, England,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not good at all. One, it takes too long to dry, and the adhesion is not that good. I think Super Glue is the best without a doubt, so if you’re looking for something that sticks quick and is long-lasting, it’s got to be the best, Super Glue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gorilla glue

    • Leicester, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is great glue. I have used it very successfully to mend the soles on my trainers. It has given them a new lease on life. Just follow the easy instructions on the packet. Also, l used it to mend metal to wood, the catch on my window was rotten and was coming apart. I bodged it together with the glue and it is 100%. Brilliant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn’t recommend Gorilla Glue

    • Centerton, AR,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Gorilla epoxy to make a repair and am not satisfied at all. I bought Loctite brand to repair the broken item correctly. A huge let down. Obviously, there are a lot of negative reviews. Save your money and buy something that actually works!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Gorilla Glue

    • Kingston, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always loved Gorilla Glue. It worked on anything until today. My belt leather separated (due to heat I'm assuming) and the glue did not stick my belt back together. Bummed in Canada.

    At the end of the day, it is a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Skeptical

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical about this glue. It had sat on the shelf for two years and I never used it. I ran out of epoxy adhesives. I have used this to repair tires, plastics, everything. Very strong. The only drawback is it takes 24 hours to cure. But just as strong as any epoxy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Just doesn’t seem to work

    • Maryland,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried this stuff maybe 10 different occasions and not once have I had success! I've used the glue and the epoxy. Results are always the same; takes forever to "set up" and always fails! Garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The best thing I saw last decade

    • Reading, United Kingdom,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You know one of these days, you put on a perfect dress and a perfectly matching shoes. That sort of shoes best for a summer party, tall and steady platform, attached to the feet only by few stripes, good to walk on grass and gravel, yet making me tall and trendy. 100% color fit too. But. After waiting for that summer party for a decade or so, my perfect shoes stripes fall off 5 minutes before we had to leave.

    With no hope, just out of stubborn love to my lost perfect look, I applied Gorilla Glue to the falling shoe stripe in the place holding the entire platform attached to my feet. I held it for a minute or so. Then put some second choice on, taking my loved ones with me to the car. Coming to the place, I put the glued shoes on and, they were fixed better than new. I walked, I danced. IT WORKS!

    That charity party ended up total BS. People as usual grab your money to spend most of it making themselves important. Not even mentioned our business for all the money we wasted. Yet, I have something good to remember - Gorilla Glue. Which made my day, my perfect look, and saved my mood. The only good thing left in our corrupt world - a product which does what said on the tin. Thank you Gorilla.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Brilliant adhesive!

    • Halesowen, United Kingdom,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve only used this on two occasions, and I’ve been very impressed so far! I’ve used it to stick wood to kitchen tiles, and it hasn’t let me down! It is so strong!

    As regards to some of the negative comments on here, I wonder if those people aren’t reading the instructions on the bottle? It says to lightly dampen one of the surfaces and put Gorilla glue on the other as the glue is cured with moisture. Also, it warns of staining, to both skin and clothes, hence the gloves provided! And it warns not to use too much as the glue will expand 3-4 times. As regards to the glue left in the nozzle, it also recommends you wipe the nozzle clean with a dry cloth.

    Admittedly for smaller jobs, I wouldn’t use it because if the expansion, but for bigger jobs definitely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Gorilla Glue!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review