Gorilla Glue Reviews

Gorilla Glue

Overall Rating

2.5

56 Customer Reviews

Summary

Gorilla Glue is a polyurethane-based indoor/outdoor glue that claims to be incredibly strong and to bond to almost any surface, including wood, metal, and more. Learn how customers rating this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.5 Stars out of 56 Reviews
5 Star:32% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:57%
39% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Gorilla Glue:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 22, 2020

Upset and extremely disappointed

By Michael T M., Yorktown, VA, Verified Reviewer

This is the 3rd time I have discarded a bottle of glue after using it once. I am extremely frustrated that I cannot depend on a product more than once.

The problems are very similar to other complaints. Each time I've used YOUR Gorilla Glue I can only use it once because:

1. Nozzle hardens and blocks nozzle tip preventing further use, and

2. Layer of hardened glue on top of the remaining glue in the bottle, making it impossible to use.

The product is useless. Never buying another one!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not reliable when needed

Hardening of the glue after one use, bottle cap tightened

You can only use product once, waste of money

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Doesn’t work

By Lee B., Martinez, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have tried this glue on several surfaces and it does not work. An adhesive from the dollar store works better. So disappointed because I was hoping with the price it would work well.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Price

Doesn’t work

Bought a large size

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Awful, never works

By Dimitry P., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

I've used Gorilla Glue many times hoping it would work on some different materials. It requires wetness to bond plastics together, but still doesn't bond for long. Apply any use or pressure to the 'fixed' items and they will break again.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work as promised

Doesn't work at all

Extremely weak bond

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2020

Don’t waste your money

By Dennis R., Erie, PA, Verified Reviewer

It sucks. Use your money on something that works. I wouldn’t ever spend another cent on this garbage. Consider yourself warned.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn’t work

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 26, 2020

Not what it is advertised like

By Stephen P., Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I would not recommend using this glue, it’s overpriced and doesn’t work as advertised. I tried to use it to glue a plastic handle together. It took an extremely long time to dry but would not hold anything.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It really doesn’t work like it advertised

Way too expensive

Doesn’t hold

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 28, 2020

Garbage

By Steven W., Canada, Verified Reviewer

This stuff is garbage.

I've used the epoxy and the "super glue" and neither worked on plastic. No paint, Sanded Rough connection on the plastic, and neither epoxy nor the glue works. I've worked with fiberglass and other types of epoxy, so I have a good understanding of how to mix them, and the epoxy is just a garbage waste of money. I've tried the epoxy 4 times thinking it was just old epoxy and nope. It’s just junk.

The black Gorilla duct tape doesn’t even stick to anything these products are just a complete waste of money.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The products are garbage

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Waste of money

By Lloyd M., Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Tried to glue toothpicks to plastic to shim a gap to a metal shive and it wouldn't bond toothpicks together.

Waited 1 hour without any success, I've tried other Gorilla products with the same success, going to literally stick with lock-tight adhesive products.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2020

Should be sold in little tiny single-use tubes

By Mike B., California, Verified Reviewer

Great glue, but no shelf life (bottle will harden after having been opened and it will be useless when you need it again). Regular white glue or thick crazy glue in single-use tubes is a better option.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 25, 2020

Worthless Gorilla Glue product

By Phil T., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased a can of Gorilla Glue spray adhesive for use affixing labels to packages. What comes out of the can is mostly solvent with little actual adhesive. Once dry, I have actually had labels simply fall off the packages they were applied to. Heavier applications cause the printed label addresses to run until they are no longer readable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2020

Very happy customer

By AJ P., Herts, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Gorilla Glue for a number of different jobs, including cork to spin aluminum, leather to plastic (sole to a shoe) and cloth to wood.

As long as I followed the directions and didn't forget to slightly moisten the surface, I found the glue easy to use and very effective.

I have not had the problems with the nozzle that others have experienced, probably because I am careful to replace the cap as soon as I have applied the adhesive.

I love this product!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2019

Overhyped and pretty useless

By Roy M., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Fell into the trap of believing the hype that this was the toughest glue on the market. Sadly, not so. Used two different Gorilla Glues for fairly straight forward jobs (mending a child's toy, and a DIY job). Used the "expanding" resin for the DIY job, and the "superglue" for the toy. The expanding resin was messy, took ages to bond and dry, and failed within a week. The superglue was a loooong way from "super", and (again) came apart within a few days. Plenty of better and more reliable glues on the market, so I won't be using the Gorilla brand again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2019

Worse than useless

By Joshua J., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Tried using Gorilla Glue to fix a prop antler to its plaque, held antler in place for over 15 minutes, glue hasn't even started to set. Proceeded to remove antler from plaque again and attempted to clean glue off of both items, in spite of the glue still not setting AT ALL, this became a difficult task, the viscous fluid was difficult to mop away with a cloth and left a mildly stick (and not in a helpful way) residue on both items, resulting in a need to leave the items to dry overnight before I could attempt a more reliable method of adhesion.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2019

Waste of money

By Kenny M., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Gorilla super glue does not work. This glue takes a very long time to set for a super glue, in excess of 10 minutes on plastic. The bond that it forms is very week, in fact, totally useless.

I tried to repair the broken leg of a pair of spectacles and this product was worse than useless.

Best stick with the real Loctite Super Glue.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2019

It's the package, stupid!

By Don Y., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Love the product but this glue sets with moisture and is really good for my jobs but the "squeeze" bottle SUCKS moist air back in which starts a film setting on the liquid and another inside the nozzle hole. This product is a scam because it guarantees you buy another before this one can be used up and the nozzle cap won't stop the suck-back forever, EH?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2019

Not anywhere as good as it is claimed

By Martin R., Verified Reviewer

I purchased Gorilla Glue clear 50ml to help with model making. What a complete waste of money. After 24 hours curing and being taped as recommended by Gorilla, the pieces just dropped apart. A problem which has never occurred before with other less expensive glues as this is costly compared to other competitors. I would not recommend this to anyone. I have tried it on different surfaces with the same result.

So I would not purchase this again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2019

Lessons learned

By Kelly M., California, Verified Reviewer

Occasionally I will need an adhesive for something. What guy doesn't? Occasionally I make the mistake of getting Gorilla Glue products and curse my mistake EVERY TIME. From alternatives to small dropper super glue applications to spray adhesive, Gorilla Glue doesn't hold. I would probably get a comparable amount of adhesion from licking the two objects. I have never had an issue with JB Weld, Super Glue, Krazy Glue (not my preferred), even off-brand versions of the above. But Gorilla Glue? Never holds no matter what the material is. This is with me giving it pressure for 10 times as long as I do the others even.

Buy at your own risk or just save the time and get any alternative. Elmer's school glue would do better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

Sucks

By Christopher K., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I can't relay in words how much Gorilla Glue SUCKS! Does not adhere to anything but your fingers. I did exactly as the instructions indicated. I had others tell me it was awful but I had to try. Terrible product. Expands like "Great Stuff" spray insulation. Terrible product. Didn't even hold. Super Glue is a far superior product. I rely on quality gluing in my profession and Gorilla Glue is the worst of the worst. Negative 5 stars for this terrible product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 1, 2019

Poor

By Freda J., Barrhead, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I used the glue most successfully but after cleaning the lid and storing for a week the glue had gone hard and could not be used. This was most disappointing as the glue could not be used again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2019

Well worth the price.

By Derrick P., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have a metal floor lamp that was in need of repair. I tried other glues and even tape to secure the two broken segments to no avail. But after using Gorilla Glue with a little water, the bond was permanent. I should note the use of the smallest amount is recommended as the glue will expand. Not sure how others were disappointed but I highly recommend Gorilla Glue. I've worked with their wood glue and tape as well with satisfying results.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2019

Disappointed customer

By Esa X., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

This product really sucks. It does not glue anything.

This is a real scam.

I bought it at Bed Bath & Beyond.

Tried on several surfaces using the instructions from the case, nothing. Bubble gum is better for the purpose.

I'll never buy any products made by this company. The product is a real scam. I do not recommend to anybody this one, this does not work. I really do not understand how they can sell this as a glue; it is water.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2019

Don't buy this rubbish

By Mark M., Wrexham County Borough, Wales, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have tried this product at home and at work, it's absolutely useless. I followed the instructions, sprayed water and only used a bit on one surface. I have never known it to stick anything. Top tip sticks to super glue.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2019

Saved the holiday

By Chris S., Picton, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

On January 12th, while getting ready to leave on a Caribbean cruise, I dropped my denture in the sink. I broke one front tooth in half and another front right out. It was Saturday so no dentists or denturists were available. I used Gorilla Glue to reattach both and it worked fantastically. No problems on a week-long cruise and still holding on January 22nd. THANKS.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 18, 2019

Dries at snail's pace, does not hold

By Greg M., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I attempted to repair a ceramic Christmas statue. After about one hour of dry time, the lightweight piece just fell off. I'm a woodworker by avocation (and pre-retirement in construction) so am good with my hands, but have had previous poor results with Gorilla products as well (okay, I'm a slow learner) and am done. Stick with Super Glue or Titebond products. You will be happier.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2018

Shifty glue

By Alfred B., Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

My glasses broke and I cleaned the metal frame. I clamped the frame per instructions. I let it dry for 3 hours. I unclamped it and they fell apart. The worst glue I have ever bought. 99-cent super glue works better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2018

Like a rock

By Laura A., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

Brand new bottle of Gorilla Glue, just opened it for the first time to use. And as a side note, there were no directions on the bottle about how to open it. I finally cut the top to open it. At this point, I discover that the glue is as hard as a rock. Not happy. Going back to my old standby, Elmer’s!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2018

Antique glass shade restored

By Tom O., Bristol, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Recently I purchased at an auction a pair of antique candlesticks fitted with glass chimneys, one of which was broken and held together with tape. Though not essential, they were original, so I decided to try Gorilla Glue to mend the broken glass. This worked far in excess of expectation, and the broken globe is once more in one piece, not perfect obviously, but certainly acceptable for display. To be honest, if I had known how well this was going to work, I would have been a bit fussier about making the joint by using less glue!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2018

Messy but it works

By Allan A., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I used the glue to bond my car key that broke from the fob. Don't forget to lightly wet the surface before application. So far so good. I tried three products, including super glue, on this task and Gorilla Glue is the only one to work. I saved over £150 for a new key.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-27 of 56

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.