Gotham Steel Crisper Tray Reviews

Gotham Steel Crisper Tray

Overall Rating

2.3

26 Customer Reviews

Summary

Using a Ti-Cerama surface, Gotham Steel Crisper Tray promises to deliver the fried taste you love, but without the butter, oil, grease, and fat of deep frying. See how customers are sharing their experiences on this tray.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 26 Reviews
5 Star:15% 4 Star:19% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:7% 1 Star:53%
42% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Gotham Steel Crisper Tray:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 27, 2020

Crisper Tray

By Sue T., Greenville, TX, Verified Reviewer

First time to use it. No book or instructions came in the box so have to guess or spend time trying to google it. One site says it can't go in the dishwasher, the box says dishwasher safe. Bacon grease splashes all over the bottom and some splashes the oven.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 4, 2019

Cleaning issues

By David W., N6K 4L8 , Verified Reviewer

Using this tray for about a year for fries, wings, etc. The screen itself is easy enough to clean with a soak and a scrub with a plastic scrub pad. It's the pan I have a problem with.

Grease splatter bakes on and is difficult if not impossible to get off. I've tried soaking and dissolving a dishwasher pod and letting it sit but still can't scrub it off nor will it come off in the dishwasher. The finish is not the same as the frying pans so can't resist abrasives.

All in all, it's a good product except for the cleaning issue. Anyone have any suggestions for a good cleaner?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Nov 1, 2019

50/50

By Ana N., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

The cooking is great. The cleanup does not match the description. After a year of careful use and maintenance, items stick. I wish it worked as promoted. I will never buy any Copper Crisper item again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2018

Like the product

By Reg R., West Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Everything we cook turns out well. Our only complaint is the tray does stain and the marks won’t come off. No big deal, but the ads do show everything wiping off easily. Also, I bought a bacon cooker but it is a pain to clean. The bacon was delicious.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

Gotham Steel Crisper Tray

By Jennie S., Hermitage, PA, Verified Reviewer

Love the tray, but no cookbook came in the box. I've had to guess how to use it. Some things are ok but I still wish it came with the book it was advertised to have in the box. SAD...

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2018

Crisper Tray

By Gail Roe, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I love my Gotham Steel Crisper Tray. It fries what it says it does and is perfect for fish and chips, chicken strips, nuggets, etc. It cooks the food evenly so you do not have to turn it. I don't even own a deep fryer anymore; I don't need one. The only issue with it is it's not very big, but I solved that issue by buying two.

I have several Gotham Steel cookwear items, and I recommend them; they are great and are so easy to clean.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2017

Great

By Tracy Owens, Denton, TX, Verified Reviewer

I received the Gotham Steel Crisper Tray, and it works great, with no sticking. I used frozen fries, and they came out perfect; nice and crispy and golden brown. I do not like buying frozen fries but with this product, I will now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 17, 2017

Rip off

By Virginia A Smith, Hudson, FL, Verified Reviewer

No directions or recipes. You have to go online and buy the book or go on Kindle. Ridiculous! Nothing that I have tried to fry has worked. Totally disgusted. What a rip off. Don't waste your time or money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 8, 2017

Awesome!

By Teresa Stiles, Wilmington, NC, Verified Reviewer

I love all my Gotham pots and pans. If you go to Bed Bath and Beyond to buy these products, you don't have to pay shipping and handling (FREE SHIPPING). There is no sticking when you cook with these pans. Very easy clean up. I don't know what you other people are doing wrong (how can you screw up using these pans?). Nothing sticks. Read the instructions.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 22, 2017

Cooking food as pictured with the crisper

By Elaine Gales, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

The item came with little instructions. I didn't know how to make the chicken or fries as pictured. I seasoned chicken and placed it on the crisper. I was pleased. Though not as shown, the chicken was fairly crisp outside and juicy inside.

Fries fries were a disaster. I tried lightly oiling them and baked, and the grease remained on top and left a greasy product. I tried cooking without the oil, and the potatoes took forever to cook and were too hard to eat. I had tested them along the way. AWFUL is the word. Perhaps frozen fries or frozen breaded chicken might work. I must say it was a disappointment.

I purchased three; gave one away and still have one I can't give to anyone else. DISAPPOINTED.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 3, 2017

Tricked senior citizens

By Sandra, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I love the product, but they trick you by upgrading your order without authorization. My 81-year-old mother ordered the "$19.99 and get one additional" by phone. What she got was three "Deluxe" trays and then charged over $76.00. She did NOT upgrade. Watch out for these people; they also don't give you a total at the end! This from the customer sales person I spoke to.

Extremely bad customer service!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 14, 2017

Gotham Copper Crisper

By Laura Parrish, Verified Reviewer

The buy one, get one free with the handling of $6.95, so it cost $19.98. The pans are small, 9" by 12." It is so easy to clean. No scrubbing.

Also, you can buy these crispers in Ollie's Bargaining Outlet for $9.98 each, not $19.98 in Bed Bath & Beyond.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2017

Gotham Steel Crisper

By Regina Silver, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

It works pretty good, but not as good as I thought it would. Not as crispy, but not bad. All of Gotham's products are awesome! You get what you pay for. And, it saves you money! So, it's a great deal, all in all.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2017

Excellent product.

By Gerry Kee-Chaston, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have just read complaints about "no recipes." If you google "Gotham Steel Crisper Tray Recipe Book" you can find a link to 50 recipes including appetizers, main dishes, sides and vegetables, desserts and sweets - all free to download.

Mine just arrived yesterday, and I cooked bacon - it was fantastic! I preheated the oven as directed and it took 15 minutes. I'm looking forward to trying many other recipes. I ordered two trays so I can cook double for a crowd.

Good luck.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2017

Worked for me

By Bonnie Jaremka, Clearlake Oaks, CA, Verified Reviewer

I was very skeptical because I love fried food. I MUST cut out the deep frying due to health issues. I tried this pan with frozen fries. I was pleasantly pleased with the results. The fries made a crunch sound when I bit into it. It passed my first test. It's worth it, even if I only use it for fries. My next test is chicken wings. I will post another review with the results.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on May 23, 2017

No directions or recipes

By Elaine Calvert, Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

No instructions or recipes. I haven't been able to use it since there are no Recipes or instructions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on May 21, 2017

False advertising

By C. Sculthorpe, Chesapeake, VA, Verified Reviewer

When you place your order, the buy one, get one free isn't true! By the time you buy one for $19.99 and pay separate processing and handling, you end up paying $49.98. Rip off! Not only that, they charge your account twice to put a hold on their money, and they say one of them will fall off in 24 hours.

I will never purchase from them again!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on May 19, 2017

No recipes

By Marilee Kosik, Wabamun, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

One reason I bought it was because it said it included 50 recipes. I got home and opened it only to find I had to go on the computer to get recipes.

So, although I am angry that the recipes were not included as advertised, I went on the net and can find NO RECIPES. So I have this so-called wonderful product that I can't use as I have no idea how.

I suggest they get my recipes to me immediately or I will post this on every page I can access on the net. False advertising at least.

I'm glad I didn't give in to my idea of purchasing a couple of other products that looked good in the box!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2017

Does not cook as described

By Melanie Gunnels, Anderson, SC, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the Crisper at Bed Bath & Beyond and was very excited to try it out.

I decided to cook fresh cut fries for lunch. I took everything out of the box and looked for some kind of cooking instructions. There were none. All it said was to cook as directed for particular foods. I cooked them for almost two hours, and they never got done. There was a picture on the box of fried chicken, so I thought if it would fry chicken, why wouldn't it cook fries?

All in all, I was extremely disappointed. It does no perform as stated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on May 11, 2017

New pan

By Ina Hartman, Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I bought this pan thinking I actually could fry southern fried chicken from scratch, but so far I found no recipes that even are similar and none included with the pan. I am beginning to think advertising was over inflated. I could already do french fries in my oven without a special pan. It is kind of like "fake news;" not quite truthful. I am very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2017

Disappointed.

By Inge Westlin, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I cooked sliced bacon in the over for 20 minutes at 425 degrees, and it really stuck to the pan. I had an awful time cleaning it, and even the pan below had brown burn spots that were hard to clean. It works well for french fries.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 23, 2017

Crisper Tray

By Emogene Maloney, California, Verified Reviewer

What the heck. I bought this Crisper Tray, and I don't know how to cook in it. I'm so disappointed. I want my money back. I cannot find any instruction pamphlet or anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2017

Can't find the FREE 50 recipes online

By John Wilson, Tracy, CA, Verified Reviewer

So I bought this product and got it home only to find that I have to log in to www.gothamsteelrecipes.com. After searching the many (well, I should have said thousands of) recipes for Gotham products, except the steel basket with the pan. I could buy the 50 recipes for $8.00. It is a waste of money if I can't download the free 50 recipes. My guess is they want you to spend $8.00. There are no 50 FREE recipes that I could find. SAVE your money, and DON'T buy this product.

If a lawyer is reading this, maybe it's time to start a class action lawsuit on this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2017

How to use?

By BB, Florida, Verified Reviewer

There are no recipes, and I ended up over cooking chicken!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2017

Don't buy this

By Kristi Kemp, Sarasota, Florida, Verified Reviewer

There is no instruction book or recipe book like advertised. When I called customer service, they hung up on me. This is no good without an instruction book, and I would not buy this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 7, 2017

Size matters

By Paul Waldron, Warrington, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

All of the Copper products I have get four stars. The five-star rating isn't given because I'd love to see something larger than 9.5 inches, especially those I'd use in the oven.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 36 People Have Voted
Showing 1-26 of 26

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.