What is The Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Nov 9, 2017

Promising to be an effective way to barbeque indoors without all of the smoke, the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill aims to give users the option to cook their favorite dishes all year round. The makers of the grill say that it provides the perfect amount of even heat spread over its surface area, which measures 21 inches diagonally.

The product’s commercial mentions that it is made of what the company refers to as a Ti-Cerama surface, combing a strong, titanium base with a ceramic coating that metal utensils won’t be able to scratch. They go on to state that this coating makes for a non-stick grilling surface, even when it comes to messy foods like barbecue chicken and cheese-based dishes.

So, what’s the secret to achieving that grilled perfection without all of the smoke? Can you truly expect the product to allow you to grill your favorite foods at any time of the year?

Can the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Really Work Indoors Without Any Smoke?

On the website, we’re told that the key to the product’s smokeless design lies in its cooling drip pan, which collects oils and fats, allowing them to cool slowly without creating any smoke in the process. This is due to the pan preventing these liquids from sizzling (producing smoke in the process), allowing you to grill indoors without fear of setting off the fire alarm.

Of course, this certainly sounds good, but without testing the product out ourselves, we can’t state with certainty that you can cook anything on the grill without emitting any smoke at all. Still, the product’s commercial shows users cooking many different dishes, all without any visible signs of smoke escaping in the process.

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill was available both from the manufacturer directly and on Amazon.com. From the former, it is available in installments amounting to four equal payments of $19.99, with free shipping. You also have the option of adding on a bonus griddle for an additional $10 fee.

On Amazon, the product is only sold as a one-time purchase for $79.95. Shipping is also free, though there doesn’t appear to be an option to include the additional griddle with your order.

Through the manufacturer’s website, you’ll have 90 days to reach out to customer support at 833-559-3367 in order to request a refund for any reason. They state that any defective units will be replaced free of charge as well.

On Amazon, you’ll be subject to the company’s standard 30-day return policy, which can be handled through your orders tab.

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill vs. Alternative Smokeless Grill Options

If you’ve made it this far, it’s likely that you are interested in the concept of being able to grill your favorite foods indoors whenever you like, but is the Gotham Steel offering the only one available?

As it turns out, a simple Google or Amazon search for “smokeless indoor grill” pulls up dozens of results, each with various feature sets, designs, and cooking surface areas to choose from. So, knowing this, how does the Gotham Steel product hold up to these other options in terms of pricing, features, and reviews? Let’s take a look.

On Amazon, two of the highest-rated products we found during our research were the Hamilton Beach 25361 Indoor Grill and the Kitchen + Home Stovetop Grill. While these products represent the same end-result of smokeless indoor grilling, they each feature slightly different functionalities.

For instance, the Hamilton Beach product has a closable lid that comes in both a windowless and windowed option. This lid allows you to cook without smoke, but the tradeoff is that the cooking space seems to be a bit smaller than that of the Gotham Steel product, at around 12” by 9”. The product currently sells for $47.99 or $66.83, depending upon which version you choose.

The Home + Kitchen product is actually a stove-mounted grilling plate, making it one of the cheapest options for smokeless grilling, coming in right at $17.99 as of this writing. However, you’ll need a stove to make this work, and many reviewers left comments stating that they still had a few issues with smoke, depending on the item they were cooking.

If you’re trying to decide which smokeless grilling option will be best for you, ask yourself these leading questions going into your purchase:

  • What size cooking area do you have to work with? If you have a very small, cramped space, or if you only need to feed one or two people, a product with a smaller surface area may be ideal. However, if you cook for the whole family and have room for it, a larger surface area will always give you more flexibility with your cooking.
  • Determine what essential features you are looking for. Do you need a closeable lid, or a ceramic coating? How many heat settings would you like to have? How easy is the cleanup and storage process? Asking yourself these questions early one will help guide you towards the product that is most likely to serve you well in the long run.
  • Always understand the return policy fully before pulling the trigger on a product. This is especially true when ordering online, as you won’t be able to actually get your hands on the device until after you’ve paid for it. If you find that it doesn’t meet your needs in the end, you’ll want to be able to get your money back.

The Bottom Line: Does the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Deliver?

Can you truly expect the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill to provide year-round grilling indoors without having to deal with excessive amounts of smoke? Based on the product’s design, as well as the examples shown in its commercial online, we feel as though there’s a strong possibility that the answer is yes.

That said, as we mentioned earlier, without having tested the grill out ourselves, we can’t state this outright. And even though the product may indeed work as advertised, that doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s right for everyone. As covered in the section above, it’s extremely important to decide which option will work best for you and your family’s needs.

If you’d like to jump in and give the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill a shot, keep in mind that you’ll be able to return it within 90 days (or 30 on Amazon) for a refund, should you decide that it isn’t a good fit for you in the long run.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • Does not work as advertised on TV

    • Gretna, VA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am disappointed as the TV ad claimed that you could cook just about anything with easy cleanup, but that it is not the case. Even with using PAM cooking spray everything sticks to the grill, and it is very hard to clean. I am truly considering getting rid of it as it is past the 90-day money guarantee for which I wish I had taken advantage of because I would have definitely sent it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • False promises

    • Jamestown, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had this smokeless grill for about six months. I watched the infomercials, and I believed what I saw. Shame on me. I've had the grill for six months and I've never had a meal NOT STICK.

    So now when I use it, I'm prepared to clean it with a brillo pad. By the way, many of their recipes instruct you to grease to 'lube' the grill - does that sound like NON-STICK to you?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Got my money back

    • Kansas,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this because many years ago I had an indoor grill that broke and have missed it ever since. I was excited to get this. So much that my daughter and I prepared kabobs to make on it. Set it to high and laid them on the grill. To our disappointment, it wasn't cooking very well. I laid a kabob cubed piece of chicken on it to test it out. 45 minutes later the small piece of chicken was still raw in the middle. I cleaned it up and took it back to the store and got my money back. I would not recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch

    • Oroville, CA,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Smokeless Grill as shown on TV is not what is sent for the price they quote. For the quoted price you will receive a smaller unit, NO cookbook, and get to pay extra for the grill. Sending it back will cost almost as much as one of the payments in their payment option. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    A complete scam

    • Florida,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product offered is a scam on every level. As I suffered through the ordering process, I realized they were scamming me for additional products related and not even related to the grill. They pushed and pushed additional items, and one is afraid to hang up because you will probably be charged for them. I finally did hang up in disgust and called back the order number immediately. I was told she could not place to cancel the order! Dah! I had to call another number, but they were now closed and I would have to call tomorrow. I then called a number to be sure I canceled the extra stuff they tried to push on me. The number there said closed also. I will never order from TV ads again. They are not to be trusted. I'll stick with the internet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not non-stick

    • New York,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's fine for cooking stuff that won't fall between the elements, but nothing special. It is NOT non-stick! It could be called "less stick" maybe. I just cooked a half dozen grilled chicken breast (like the ones you order from the healthy menu). I wish I had taken pictures of the mess. I spent over 20 minutes chiseling the surface with a green scrubby, and it's STILL not clean between the elements. I'm guessing I had it too high, but so what? Non-stick is non-stick, isn't it? I guess I shouldn't fuss as it was a gift from my daughter but I'll go back to a stainless frying pan that I can just rinse and air dry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Delivery

    • Texas,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been waiting three weeks now for my grill. Money has already been taken out of my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Returned

    • Clarksville, TN,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a grill sometime in March. A few weeks later they sent me another one. I did not open the second one, and I had to take it to the post office and they had me to write "refused" on the box. The first one I opened and closed it and wrapped the box and sent it back with UPS. It cost me $29.00 to return it. I'm out two grills and they keep taking $19.99 out of my account. I returned both as honest as I could. Why are they still charging me? They were $79.99 each and I can get them cheaper at Walmart. I'm closing the account to not get more payments. I want all the money back that they keep taking out of my account. They should have records of it. I think they're waiting until my 90-day return runs out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    Total piece of junk. The grill quit working within two months and has since been thrown away. Don't waste your money. The griddle still works but has only been used once. I'm sure it will burn out too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Please read, not as advertised!

    The grill was purchased on 2/8/2018. It has been used six times. The first time, the grate came clean. Afterward, with each subsequent use and no matter the temperature setting, it was impossible to get the "crud" off the grate. ALSO, the design does not allow for cleaning all the "nooks and crannies" underneath, so drippings build up with each use and smokes excessively when the unit heats. It does not matter what temperature is used to cook any type of food - it all sticks to the point of having to take a wet rag and SOAK the baked-on residue to get it to release.

    The sales department quoted 1-833-559-3367 for returns (the distribution department), who said the money would be refunded within 90 days of purchase. I have wrapped the grill in a newspaper with "crud" still attached and will be mailed tomorrow, 4/18/2018, four days UNDER the 90-day warranty.

    I forgot to mention that the distribution department rep said the center of the grate of the Gotham Grill (the "inner rim") heats to 500 degrees, while the edge (the "outer rim") heats to 350 degrees. He said to cook using the "outer rim" and to avoid the "inner rim" to avoid "crud" buildup from burned foods on the grate. For the price, I paid for this piece of "not as advertised" junk, I should be able to use the ENTIRE surface - as advertised!

    I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau AND a consumer law attorney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Does not come clean

    • Clarkston, WA,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the grill but it has burnt-on meat that I cannot clean no matter how hard I try. It says not to use metal scratch pads, that all you need to clean it is a soapy washcloth, but it does not work, and I cannot find out from the company how to clean it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review