• 56 Customer Reviews
  • 13% Recommend This Company
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 12% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 69%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No grill yet!

    After seeing the Gotham promotion on TV, I ordered the grill over the phone on 10/26/17. When I didn't receive any email confirmation of my purchase a few days later, I called and was told they had the order and the product was on back order and would be 2 to 3 weeks. I asked for an email confirmation and was told I would receive it shortly.

    On November 21 I called again and was told it was still on back order and would be another 2 weeks. I again asked for an email confirmation of my order and was told it would be sent. December 15th I noticed they had charged my credit card for the purchase, so I called and was told "it is being shipped as we speak," and I again asked for email confirmation and a tracking number. I was told that would be done as soon as it shipped.

    One week later I have received no email or product! The only thing I can review at this time is the very deceptive customer service practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The grill, which isn't as good as I hoped

    • By Rob W.,
    • Glenrothes, Fife, Scotland,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the Gotham Steel Grill for just under two months. I purchased it after watching the advertising on High Street TV. I already own a George Foreman Grill, but I wanted something bigger, which I thought would give a better cooking result - the perfect indoor grill.

    First impressions: When I removed it from the box I thought the drip tray and frame were a bit flimsy, however, it goes together easily. I decided to use it to cook steak, tomatoes, and onions for its first use. I have to say that it cooked the steak perfectly and this was delicious, however, the tomato and onions did not cook so well, and they stuck to the grill. There was also a fair bit of smoke. The grill had a lot of black residue after use, and this was difficult to clean - it did not all come off.

    I have used it on several occasions since to cook meat and vegetables. Mostly the meat cooks reasonably to very well, however, it often sticks, so I have to coat everything with oil before cooking. Vegetables vary in their success. The more it has been used, the harder it is to clean, especially the underside, and now when I use it, there is lots of smoke, so I have to open a window and use the extractor fan.

    I do not think it is virtually smoke-free, and it is hard to keep clean. It certainly, in my opinion, does not wipe clean as advertising would suggest.

    I rate this grill as 2/5. It's okay; although I don't think it was worth the £49.95 I paid for it. In contrast, my George Foreman grill cooks meat just as well and vegetables better, it IS virtually smoke-free, nothing sticks to it, and it is a breeze to clean and keep clean. It was cheaper to buy, and I use it much more. I'd choose George Foreman over Gotham Steel any time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buy it where you can make a easy return!

    • By Bill H.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you call, be prepared to wait on the phone 10 to 20 minutes for service. Mine had a chip in the handle. No instructions on returning theproduct, so I called and was just told to just mail it to Gotham's address. Also, the ad states that it is not sold in stores, but Walmart, Amazon, and Bed Bath & Beyond ($69 plus their 20% off coupon too at Bed Bath & Beyond), to name a few, sell this Gotham S/L Grill and also include the $10 extra Bonus Griddle. Other retailers are much cheaper too, $30 to $40 less then the $90 TV price. Check online first!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is BS

    We found the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill selling at Target for $25, so we bought it and like everyone else's review, they are nothing but LIERS! It DOES smoke, it DOES get scratched, and your food WILL stick! And no, it does NOT taste like you grilled it outside. Boy, this company is a huge LETDOWN!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as seen on TV

    • By Donna Reaume,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this grill, used it the first time, and it was great for the burgers we cooked. Next time, we cooked steaks, but they stuck, and the leftover residue from the steaks WON'T come off. We tried burgers again and the burgers cooked. Tried sausages, and they STUCK to the grill. So don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Deception from the start

    • By Vince Silmon,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my order for the Deluxe model on 11/17/2017. I waited about two weeks before I called customer service to ask about the status of my order. I was informed that my order was on back order. I wasn’t notified of the delay and suggested to cancel the order. The operator offered a ten dollar reduction in price to keep the order. I accepted.

    Two weeks later I called customer service to inquire about the order status. I was informed that the order was shipped but no documentation of payment had been shown. I was given a date of payment from the bank, but no proof from my bank. I called again later that day and asked about the status only to be told that the order was on back order AND an order of a replacement part had been placed.

    After all of this, my bank showed a withdrawal of $109.00 on 12/20/17. I was told to expect the product after Christmas! I doubt I’ll open it, just send it back for a refund. If you really record your customer service transactions, learn from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not order!

    • By Amie Tate,
    • Jonesboro, Arkansas,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the grill with the extra $10.00 to upgrade for the griddle to be included (which was what I really wanted). I got the griddle finally without the griddle or the shish kabob skewer thing that was also supposed to be included.

    It is impossible to contact the company by phone. It would only offer you more and more crap that you obviously do not want after receiving the incorrect order already. The recording even told me to "hang up the phone now," and when I didn't, it started spewing a high pitched noise and disconnected the call.

    I plan to contact the BBB, which they are surely familiar with already. Do NOT order. If you really want it, order from Amazon or someone reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No money back/refund

    • By Mary Lewis,
    • Republic, WA,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered the grill, and then my husband said we already have a grill, it's not theirs, but we don't need it. When it was delivered, it was refused at our door to the carrier who took it back. That was a couple of weeks ago, and there is still no refund to our $39.99.

    We have reported it to the attorney general, and we'll see if we get any results! $39.99 is a lot of money to us; we are retired and not wealthy retirees either!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money. If I could give it zero stars, I would.

    • By Susan Connor,
    • Whitehall, MT,
    • Dec 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this grill from a catalog. The first time I tried to use it, I couldn't get the plug to fit into the grill as the prongs on the grill did not even match up to the holes in the control. It states to "insert firmly," but that is a joke because if the holes don't line up, you can't insert it at all. I also don't like the fact that the TV infomercial shows you can put everything in the dishwasher. That is a lie. It states right in the book that the grill cannot be put in the dishwasher.

    It is going back. I have to wait for a return label, which the catalog customer service says could take 24-48 hours. I just want to get rid of this thing and get my money back. It is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy at all

    • By Ernie England,
    • Hamilton, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made beef kabobs on the smokeless grill for my first time using it. I had the temperature up to high for 15 minutes before putting them on. I had to cook them for 25 minutes each side just to get them rare. I used to BBQ them on low for 15 minutes total and they were just right. I moved into an apartment so BBQ is no longer an option. It does not cook evenly and does not get hot enough for steaks. There were large stains on the cooking surface after the first use that I could not get clean. I will go back to broiling in the oven and deal with the smoke in the apartment.

    Don't waste your money on the Gotham Smokeless Grill. Mine went in the garbage after the first use. I can't be bothered to try and get a refund; they can keep my $100.00 and I will never buy or recommend Gotham again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not exactly what I expected

    All the advertisements want to make you believe that the grill marks will create a grill taste. It doesn't. Yes, it cooks the steak with grill marks. Tender and flavorful, yes. But no, it does not taste like it just came off an outside grill with charcoal. The grill marks do not infuse a grill flavor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really bad service

    • By Elaine,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Feb 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has such horrible customer service; it should be shut down.

    I ordered the grill with upgrades. But I only received the grill at first. Then after 3 times contacting customer service and many many promises, I have only received the extra griddle, and that took more than 3 months. The other extras I paid for still have not received.

    Do NOT buy from these guys! You can do better at a local Walmart, and I don't like them either. This company is really bad with many promises that don't deliver. I hate to write bad reviews, but this one was worth it. Plus the product does not stand up with hard usage. You must take very mild care. The pans and grill do scratch. Be very very careful with this cookware. This company and commercials are very distrustful. Do not believe them. EVER.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It sticks!

    • By Sue Saumure,
    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After watching the infomercial for this grill, I was impressed. I went to a local store and purchased one. I went home, cooked a steak, which was delicious, and I liked the grill marks on my steak. When I went to go clean the grill, it was horrible. I can't get the the grill clean, and the gunk gets in between and is impossible to clean. I am very disappointed in that. Otherwise, it cooked my food really good, including asparagus.

    I wish Gotham would help with this issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Please read, not as advertised!

    The grill was purchased on 2/8/2018. It has been used six times. The first time, the grate came clean. Afterward, with each subsequent use and no matter the temperature setting, it was impossible to get the "crud" off the grate. ALSO, the design does not allow for cleaning all the "nooks and crannies" underneath, so drippings build up with each use and smokes excessively when the unit heats. It does not matter what temperature is used to cook any type of food - it all sticks to the point of having to take a wet rag and SOAK the baked-on residue to get it to release.

    The sales department quoted 1-833-559-3367 for returns (the distribution department), who said the money would be refunded within 90 days of purchase. I have wrapped the grill in a newspaper with "crud" still attached and will be mailed tomorrow, 4/18/2018, four days UNDER the 90-day warranty.

    I forgot to mention that the distribution department rep said the center of the grate of the Gotham Grill (the "inner rim") heats to 500 degrees, while the edge (the "outer rim") heats to 350 degrees. He said to cook using the "outer rim" and to avoid the "inner rim" to avoid "crud" buildup from burned foods on the grate. For the price, I paid for this piece of "not as advertised" junk, I should be able to use the ENTIRE surface - as advertised!

    I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau AND a consumer law attorney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible purchase

    • By Mike G.,
    • Florida,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This smokeless grill is not even close to what it's advertised as. Do yourself a favor and don't even think about buying this junk. Food sticks to it, it takes forever to cook. Just a piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A complete scam

    • By Judith B.,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product offered is a scam on every level. As I suffered through the ordering process, I realized they were scamming me for additional products related and not even related to the grill. They pushed and pushed additional items, and one is afraid to hang up because you will probably be charged for them. I finally did hang up in disgust and called back the order number immediately. I was told she could not place to cancel the order! Dah! I had to call another number, but they were now closed and I would have to call tomorrow. I then called a number to be sure I canceled the extra stuff they tried to push on me. The number there said closed also. I will never order from TV ads again. They are not to be trusted. I'll stick with the internet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work as advertised on TV

    • By Cynthia F.,
    • Gretna, VA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am disappointed as the TV ad claimed that you could cook just about anything with easy cleanup, but that it is not the case. Even with using PAM cooking spray everything sticks to the grill, and it is very hard to clean. I am truly considering getting rid of it as it is past the 90-day money guarantee for which I wish I had taken advantage of because I would have definitely sent it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst product I have ever purchased

    • By Carl P.,
    • Virginia,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Claims to be non-stick, however, not even close, and the smokeless part - forget about it. I can show you my kitchen full of smoke right now from using it inside. I am extremely unhappy with this purchase. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money

    Total piece of junk. The grill quit working within two months and has since been thrown away. Don't waste your money. The griddle still works but has only been used once. I'm sure it will burn out too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do NOT recommend

    I got mine as a gift and only used it a couple of times. It does not heat evenly, nor is it easy to clean up. Mine doesn't heat evenly and is blackened from use. I wipe mine clean every time I use it and I cannot get it to not stick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By James Hoover,
    • Irwin, PA,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered before Christmas and still haven’t received my extras. I called again and they said they canceled them because they are no longer making the extras, but they would leave a message for the supervisor. And like the other reviews, it is very hard to clean. This is not a stand-up company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • By Carolyn Miles,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Mar 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It cooks terribly and is overpriced. If I knew what I know now, I would not have bought it. The first time it did not get hot in the center and not on the sides. It took forever to cook my steak and then I had to cook it in the oven. I gave it one star so I could post this and warn other people. DONT BUY, BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False promises

    • By Bernard C.,
    • Jamestown, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had this smokeless grill for about six months. I watched the infomercials, and I believed what I saw. Shame on me. I've had the grill for six months and I've never had a meal NOT STICK.

    So now when I use it, I'm prepared to clean it with a brillo pad. By the way, many of their recipes instruct you to grease to 'lube' the grill - does that sound like NON-STICK to you?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Should've done more research

    • By Michael W.,
    • Cary, NC,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not impressed. When I used my flat grill this morning to cook eggs, they stuck right away, hey, but wait, the commercial showed everything sliding off without the use of oil...hummm. Yea, I'm a little disappointed. I guess I will just have to get used to using oil. But it's not good business to lie to the consumer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not come clean

    • By Bruce Moen,
    • Clarkston, WA,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the grill but it has burnt-on meat that I cannot clean no matter how hard I try. It says not to use metal scratch pads, that all you need to clean it is a soapy washcloth, but it does not work, and I cannot find out from the company how to clean it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Gotham frying pan - didn't deliver as advertised

    • By Ron A.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Gotham frying pan a few months back. Though initial use it was what I expected? But after several uses, it failed. The bottom got scorched as well as burnt the food I was cooking in the frying pan.

    I have thrown out the pan instead of returning. I will never purchase a Gotham product in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Delivery

    • By Michael P.,
    • Texas,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been waiting three weeks now for my grill. Money has already been taken out of my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 56

Write a Review for Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Reviews