What Is the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Nov 9, 2017

Promising to be an effective way to barbeque indoors without all of the smoke, the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill aims to give users the option to cook their favorite dishes all year round. The makers of the grill say that it provides the perfect amount of even heat spread over its surface area, which measures 21 inches diagonally.

The product’s commercial mentions that it is made of what the company refers to as a Ti-Cerama surface, combing a strong, titanium base with a ceramic coating that metal utensils won’t be able to scratch. They go on to state that this coating makes for a non-stick grilling surface, even when it comes to messy foods like barbecue chicken and cheese-based dishes.

So, what’s the secret to achieving that grilled perfection without all of the smoke? Can you truly expect the product to allow you to grill your favorite foods at any time of the year?

Can the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Really Work Indoors Without Any Smoke?

On the website, we’re told that the key to the product’s smokeless design lies in its cooling drip pan, which collects oils and fats, allowing them to cool slowly without creating any smoke in the process. This is due to the pan preventing these liquids from sizzling (producing smoke in the process), allowing you to grill indoors without fear of setting off the fire alarm.

Of course, this certainly sounds good, but without testing the product out ourselves, we can’t state with certainty that you can cook anything on the grill without emitting any smoke at all. Still, the product’s commercial shows users cooking many different dishes, all without any visible signs of smoke escaping in the process.

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill was available both from the manufacturer directly and on Amazon.com. From the former, it is available in installments amounting to four equal payments of $19.99, with free shipping. You also have the option of adding on a bonus griddle for an additional $10 fee.

On Amazon, the product is only sold as a one-time purchase for $79.95. Shipping is also free, though there doesn’t appear to be an option to include the additional griddle with your order.

Through the manufacturer’s website, you’ll have 90 days to reach out to customer support at 833-559-3367 in order to request a refund for any reason. They state that any defective units will be replaced free of charge as well.

On Amazon, you’ll be subject to the company’s standard 30-day return policy, which can be handled through your orders tab.

Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill vs. Alternative Smokeless Grill Options

If you’ve made it this far, it’s likely that you are interested in the concept of being able to grill your favorite foods indoors whenever you like, but is the Gotham Steel offering the only one available?

As it turns out, a simple Google or Amazon search for “smokeless indoor grill” pulls up dozens of results, each with various feature sets, designs, and cooking surface areas to choose from. So, knowing this, how does the Gotham Steel product hold up to these other options in terms of pricing, features, and reviews? Let’s take a look.

On Amazon, two of the highest-rated products we found during our research were the Hamilton Beach 25361 Indoor Grill and the Kitchen + Home Stovetop Grill. While these products represent the same end-result of smokeless indoor grilling, they each feature slightly different functionalities.

For instance, the Hamilton Beach product has a closable lid that comes in both a windowless and windowed option. This lid allows you to cook without smoke, but the tradeoff is that the cooking space seems to be a bit smaller than that of the Gotham Steel product, at around 12” by 9”. The product currently sells for $47.99 or $66.83, depending upon which version you choose.

The Home + Kitchen product is actually a stove-mounted grilling plate, making it one of the cheapest options for smokeless grilling, coming in right at $17.99 as of this writing. However, you’ll need a stove to make this work, and many reviewers left comments stating that they still had a few issues with smoke, depending on the item they were cooking.

If you’re trying to decide which smokeless grilling option will be best for you, ask yourself these leading questions going into your purchase:

  • What size cooking area do you have to work with? If you have a very small, cramped space, or if you only need to feed one or two people, a product with a smaller surface area may be ideal. However, if you cook for the whole family and have room for it, a larger surface area will always give you more flexibility with your cooking.

  • Determine what essential features you are looking for. Do you need a closeable lid, or a ceramic coating? How many heat settings would you like to have? How easy is the cleanup and storage process? Asking yourself these questions early one will help guide you towards the product that is most likely to serve you well in the long run.

  • Always understand the return policy fully before pulling the trigger on a product. This is especially true when ordering online, as you won’t be able to actually get your hands on the device until after you’ve paid for it. If you find that it doesn’t meet your needs in the end, you’ll want to be able to get your money back.

The Bottom Line: Does the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill Deliver?

Can you truly expect the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill to provide year-round grilling indoors without having to deal with excessive amounts of smoke? Based on the product’s design, as well as the examples shown in its commercial online, we feel as though there’s a strong possibility that the answer is yes.

That said, as we mentioned earlier, without having tested the grill out ourselves, we can’t state this outright. And even though the product may indeed work as advertised, that doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s right for everyone. As covered in the section above, it’s extremely important to decide which option will work best for you and your family’s needs.

If you’d like to jump in and give the Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill a shot, keep in mind that you’ll be able to return it within 90 days (or 30 on Amazon) for a refund, should you decide that it isn’t a good fit for you in the long run.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Consumer Reviews for Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 8 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • THUMBS DOWN!

    • Acworth, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The grilled taste of the food is fine. But...you have to open every window in your house to keep the smoke from building up. If you have a smoke alarm, don’t even think about using this. Even after using some water in the pan, as was suggested, it still smokes. It also does not heat evenly at all and it’s very hard to clean. The food sticks a lot, especially chicken with any kind of sauce. And it does get scratched easily. Don’t fall for the hype! Don’t buy it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Contact information

    • Lake Forest, CA,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a couple Gotham grills from an advertisement seen on television. Was sent an email confirmation notice confirming my order. After a month passed, I still had not received my order. When tracking my order, I could see my grills were out of stock. That is all I could find out. This notice would not allow me to reply. When I tried to further check my order through this same link, my security software flashed a notice on my computer screen, telling me this was an unsafe link, and to immediately close it!

    You would think Gotham would have had a phone number to call within their link, right? No, they did not. After spending a long time finding a number to call, I finally stumbled upon one. The person I spoke to had no idea when my order would be in stock, so I canceled it. Gotham did cancel my order, which I do appreciate, however, the follow-up on my order was such a hassle, I will never buy another product sold via the television!

    If anyone has purchased a Gotham grill from a television advertisement, and has not received their order, here is their number to call: 1-833-559-3367.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Poor

    • Peoria, IL,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is nothing special about this product! It still smokes up your whole house and the food cooks the same as it would in a pan on the stove. I returned mine but still had to pay shipping to send it back! Not worth it, don’t waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Gotham frying pan - didn't deliver as advertised

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Gotham frying pan a few months back. Though initial use it was what I expected? But after several uses, it failed. The bottom got scorched as well as burnt the food I was cooking in the frying pan.

    I have thrown out the pan instead of returning. I will never purchase a Gotham product in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Smokeless Grill

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst product I have ever purchased. It IS NOT smokeless! I moved it closer to the vent and it helped but still set off the smoke alarm. Mine doesn't really stick, BUT the underside is it is a beast to clean. I would not tell anyone to buy one. I am taking mine back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Indoor smokeless grill by Gotham

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used it every day since I got it. It's not an outside grill, so I do not turn it up on high right off the bat. I did porterhouse steaks to perfection. Of course, you are going to get a little smoke when you burn the meat's surface right off the bat. I love it, and my husband says the meat tastes great...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The biggest scam of the century

    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worse gift I had on my birthday. Doesn’t cook even, food stick, is smelly and it is not easy to wash it. Titanium? Lol, it’s a cheap metal...do you think you can buy a titanium at that size for less than a $ 100.00? Fake, fake, fake news.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Nope

    • Utah,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this grill last year for Christmas. Needless to say, I was very disappointed the first time I used it. It not only smoked bad, food stuck to the surface. The grill itself does not wipe clean, I had to soak it to clean it. So next time I used it, I sprayed the surface with cooking spray, but that didn't help, even on a lower temp. I would definitely only give one star, if that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2019

      Kylie B.

      Did you put water in the bottom pan? The instruction manual says to put a half cup of water in the cooling pan. In doing so, I have never had food stick or smoke at all. I've had no issues just wiping mine clean, either.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Should've done more research

    • Cary, NC,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not impressed. When I used my flat grill this morning to cook eggs, they stuck right away, hey, but wait, the commercial showed everything sliding off without the use of oil...hummm. Yea, I'm a little disappointed. I guess I will just have to get used to using oil. But it's not good business to lie to the consumer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    The grill, which isn't as good as I hoped

    • Glenrothes, Fife, Scotland,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the Gotham Steel Grill for just under two months. I purchased it after watching the advertising on High Street TV. I already own a George Foreman Grill, but I wanted something bigger, which I thought would give a better cooking result - the perfect indoor grill.

    First impressions: When I removed it from the box I thought the drip tray and frame were a bit flimsy, however, it goes together easily. I decided to use it to cook steak, tomatoes, and onions for its first use. I have to say that it cooked the steak perfectly and this was delicious, however, the tomato and onions did not cook so well, and they stuck to the grill. There was also a fair bit of smoke. The grill had a lot of black residue after use, and this was difficult to clean - it did not all come off.

    I have used it on several occasions since to cook meat and vegetables. Mostly the meat cooks reasonably to very well, however, it often sticks, so I have to coat everything with oil before cooking. Vegetables vary in their success. The more it has been used, the harder it is to clean, especially the underside, and now when I use it, there is lots of smoke, so I have to open a window and use the extractor fan.

    I do not think it is virtually smoke-free, and it is hard to keep clean. It certainly, in my opinion, does not wipe clean as advertising would suggest.

    I rate this grill as 2/5. It's okay; although I don't think it was worth the £49.95 I paid for it. In contrast, my George Foreman grill cooks meat just as well and vegetables better, it IS virtually smoke-free, nothing sticks to it, and it is a breeze to clean and keep clean. It was cheaper to buy, and I use it much more. I'd choose George Foreman over Gotham Steel any time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Terrible purchase

    • Florida,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This smokeless grill is not even close to what it's advertised as. Do yourself a favor and don't even think about buying this junk. Food sticks to it, it takes forever to cook. Just a piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a Review for Gotham Steel Smokeless Grill!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review