About Grassology

Grassology is a patent pending grass seed mix that claims to reduce mowing, fertilizing, watering, and weeding. In addition, Grassology claims to guarantee “great green grass,” while also defending against insects and disease.

You want the greenest grass on the block, and you probably just watched a commercial for Grassology, hosted by none other than Bob Vila. And it totally sounds awesome, right?

But is there any merit to these claims? Let’s find out in our review.

How Grassology Works

Grassology is a “dwarf height,” ultra-low maintenance grass seed mix that claims to grow a longer root structure than other types of grass seed. As a result, you’ll have to mow, fertilize, water, and weed less. On top of this, Grassology is even guaranteed to give you “great green grass,” while also defending against insects, and disease.

What about the Claims?

Are the claims true? Probably not and here's why: In short, Root length and growth rate often have much more to do with the amount of water your grass receives, not necessarily the type of seed you use. For a full explanation, please see the Bottom Line section.

Grassology Pricing & Refund Policy

Grassology is currently priced at $14.99 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second bag of Grassology for $9.99, at which point you’ll also receive a 25’ Pocket Hose Ultra.

Grassology comes with a 30-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-597-1622.

What are Consumers saying in their Grassology Reviews?

Based on a few months worth of Grassology Reviews we've accumulated, most customers complain of poor service, difficulty cancelling orders, and underhanded selling tactics. Regarding the product specifically, the most common complaints cite failure to work, poor seed quality, and that Grassology is simply a rebranded mix of Pearl’s Premium. Also, Because of the fescue and Kentucky bluegrass mix contained in Grassology, if you live anywhere in the Southern region where summer temperatures can be extreme, you may want to steer clear.

Bottom Line: Should you buy Grassology?

With all this in mind, what’s the deal with Grassology? We might hesitate to call it a scam, but there are definitely some red flags to consider. These include:

There is no seed mix list provided on the Grassology website, so you don’t know exactly what you’re putting on your lawn. On top of this, seed types are best suited to different climates (also known as “growing zones”), so you can’t be sure that the Grassology seed mix will even be ideal in your climate. However, it’s very likely that you could purchase a better quality mix specifically tailored to your climate at your local lawn maintenance store.

Next, while Grassology claims to come with a 30-day money back guarantee, this really isn’t enough time to see if it works for you. Because of this, we would highly recommend purchasing Grassology at your local Wal-Mart, Target, or Bed-Bath & Beyond. This way, you’ll be able to avoid poor customer service should you wish to return it.

Finally, keep in mind that if your lawn has numerous dead patches, excessive weed growth, or bald spots, Grassology will not be enough to make it green. Instead, you’ll need to apply additional lawn treatments beforehand.

Do you have your own experience with Grassology? If so, help others keep their lawns green—and maybe save some green as well—by writing a review!


Read 155 Grassology Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 7 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 155
Sort reviews by:

  • 119 out 153 people found this review helpful

    Pleased with the product

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 26, 2014

    I bought several bags at Bed, Bath & Beyond for use in a shady back yard where grass doesn't grow easily. I've had excellent results and plan to purchase another couple of bags to sow an area not previously sown.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful Lawn

    • Parachute, CO,
    • May 6, 2014

    I live in what is called 'High Desert' which in itself is funny since it generally snows here about 4 - 5 feet per year. I just purchased my second set of seeds. This has worked for me. My lawn is so thick it is actually hard to mow.

    I would like to state the following though. My lawn is actually the greenest and best looking one on the block and my neighbors ask what I did. Still grows high and requires same mowing. Still requires water every 3 - 4 days. Still get dead spots after winter where the animals have urinated. Still have to apply weed killer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Grassology is Fantastic. Love it.

    • Salina, KS,
    • Jul 5, 2015

    Looking at the poor reviews above, I'm not sure if they are using the same Grassology that I am. I think it is absolutely great and I encourage all my neighbors and friends to buy it.

    It came up quickly and looks perfect. I have an area in my yard that has Never held grass well. The owner before me even had expensive sod brought in and it died. I planted Grassology and now that spot is the envy of the entire block. To say I am completely satisfied and happy would be a great understatement.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Best seed I've ever put down

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    After reading other reviews I was worried about even putting this seed down. I tilled soil, added a little mushroom compost and work it into soil. Seeded and topped with a little top soil. Raked in seed a bit and watered. Kept moist and in 5 days the seed was sprouting. It's August 2014, not the best time to seed grass. It is now 11 days after seeding and I am looking at it right now from ground level and it looks very good (with pictures to prove it) and I am very pleased. Looking forward to re-seeding another part of my yard next month and will be using Grassology.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Good grass seed if planted right

    • Hilliard, FL.,
    • Sep 3, 2014

    I am well pleased with this grass seed. I sprayed my back yard with a good weed killer, waited about a week. Tilled up the soil, added some sand to the grass seed and spread it out, added some compost and raked it in. Now 3 months later I have a beautiful back yard.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Very happy

    • Malibu, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2015

    I feel this seed has performed as expected. I am ordering more now!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Woodland Hills, CA,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since most Californians are starting to get rid of their front lawns due to the water crisis. I thought I would give Grassology a try. It's been a few months since we tried the seeds and let me tell you my lawn is the greenest lawn on the block.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Live this grass

    • Seagoville, TX,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    Love this grass. At first, it takes a lot of water but after it starts I love it. I wish you would sell more around this area. I had a rent house and put this seed down and we had such a pretty yard. We bad to move because of the landlord and now I'm wanting to use Grassology at my new place. I try to buy Grassology on sale because I will need so much of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worked Great for Me

    • Larchmont, NY,
    • Jul 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I planted Grassology seed in my front yard after five unsuccessful attempts with other grass seed. In addition they did not have the shorter hose in stock so they sent me a longer one at no additional charge. After a harsh winter my yard has come roaring back this spring and looks great. Only downside is that I have to mow it. Going to order some for the rear yard.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Sewell, NJ,
    • May 11, 2015

    Planted the seed in the fall and now I have very nice green lawn where I planted it. I never could get grass to grow in this area before. Going to buy a few more bags of Grassology now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far Grassology is a great product.

    • Odessa, TX,
    • May 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I planted the Grassology almost two months ago and it's sprouting everywhere. I love the color and texture of the grass. It's a deep green thick grass, even though it just starting growing. I didn't order it from the actual company website because I purchased it from Walmart so I'm not sure how their customer service is, but the product is great so far.

    I will return to this site later to give an updated review once my lawn is full and has matured a little.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 155

Write a Review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review