About Grassology

Grassology is a patent pending grass seed mix that claims to reduce mowing, fertilizing, watering, and weeding. In addition, Grassology claims to guarantee “great green grass,” while also defending against insects and disease.

You want the greenest grass on the block, and you probably just watched a commercial for Grassology, hosted by none other than Bob Vila. And it totally sounds awesome, right?

But is there any merit to these claims? Let’s find out in our review.

How Grassology Works

Grassology is a “dwarf height,” ultra-low maintenance grass seed mix that claims to grow a longer root structure than other types of grass seed. As a result, you’ll have to mow, fertilize, water, and weed less. On top of this, Grassology is even guaranteed to give you “great green grass,” while also defending against insects, and disease.

What about the Claims?

Are the claims true? Probably not and here's why: In short, Root length and growth rate often have much more to do with the amount of water your grass receives, not necessarily the type of seed you use. For a full explanation, please see the Bottom Line section.

Grassology Pricing & Refund Policy

Grassology is currently priced at $14.99 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second bag of Grassology for $9.99, at which point you’ll also receive a 25’ Pocket Hose Ultra.

Grassology comes with a 30-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-597-1622.

What are Consumers saying in their Grassology Reviews?

Based on a few months worth of Grassology Reviews we've accumulated, most customers complain of poor service, difficulty cancelling orders, and underhanded selling tactics. Regarding the product specifically, the most common complaints cite failure to work, poor seed quality, and that Grassology is simply a rebranded mix of Pearl’s Premium. Also, Because of the fescue and Kentucky bluegrass mix contained in Grassology, if you live anywhere in the Southern region where summer temperatures can be extreme, you may want to steer clear.

Bottom Line: Should you buy Grassology?

With all this in mind, what’s the deal with Grassology? We might hesitate to call it a scam, but there are definitely some red flags to consider. These include:

There is no seed mix list provided on the Grassology website, so you don’t know exactly what you’re putting on your lawn. On top of this, seed types are best suited to different climates (also known as “growing zones”), so you can’t be sure that the Grassology seed mix will even be ideal in your climate. However, it’s very likely that you could purchase a better quality mix specifically tailored to your climate at your local lawn maintenance store.

Next, while Grassology claims to come with a 30-day money back guarantee, this really isn’t enough time to see if it works for you. Because of this, we would highly recommend purchasing Grassology at your local Wal-Mart, Target, or Bed-Bath & Beyond. This way, you’ll be able to avoid poor customer service should you wish to return it.

Finally, keep in mind that if your lawn has numerous dead patches, excessive weed growth, or bald spots, Grassology will not be enough to make it green. Instead, you’ll need to apply additional lawn treatments beforehand.

Do you have your own experience with Grassology? If so, help others keep their lawns green—and maybe save some green as well—by writing a review!


Read 155 Grassology Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 7 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 155
Sort reviews by:

  • 466 out 477 people found this review helpful

    Did not perform as advertised

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    I purchased the pearls grass in 2012 and I can say this product is not worth the packaging it's contained in. I am very surprised this company is not out of business. I have been planting grass for close to 30 years and have never seen a grass seed perform so bad especially for paying three times more than Scotts. Grassology seems to be just a repackaging of the pearls grass. I was duped.

    This grass is terrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 281 out 285 people found this review helpful

    SCAM ALERT

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Mar 16, 2014

    I am a retired investigator and called just to see what they would say. Like all "as seen on TV" too good to be true and they push other products more than the seed. They were very defensive when I asked about their refund policy, time frames for reimbursement, cost on my end to return. Also unable to provide sufficient detail on how well product performs in various climate zones, including my own area. All they want is your CC, personal data which they did confirm to be sold to a marketing firm (junk mail businesses).

    In sum -- too good to be true. If I were Bob Vila, I'd retract my endorsement - but again, he is a paid sponsor and could care less of product performance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 231 out 235 people found this review helpful

    Seed just did not perform as advertised.

    • Castle Rock, Georgia,
    • Mar 16, 2014

    Ordered one bag to check it out. Seed simply did not grow as advertised, nor did it endure after planting and following the rules.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 211 out 228 people found this review helpful

    Grassology scam

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I would not order Grassology again. It was a bad move on my part. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 202 out 207 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience

    • Missouri,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I placed the order online and all of a sudden at the final page of the process an extra bag and charge was added to the order. I attempted to remove the extra item and was not able to. I called the customer service line immediately with the website still opened and all of the information in front of me and was informed by an obviously outsourced representative and then an obviously outsourced supervisor that my order was not able to be canceled. Finally, I had to dispute the charges with my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 201 out 204 people found this review helpful

    SCAM! DO NOT BUY!

    • Dallas Texas,
    • Mar 19, 2014

    I ordered this and was mislead into adding an additional bag. I then called to cancel and they said I need to call a different number. Then I called them and was on hold for 20 minutes before they came back and said I need to wait 48 hours for the order to get in the system.

    Any company that takes your credit card and email BEFORE showing you what you are buying should not be trusted! This company and product is a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 165 out 178 people found this review helpful

    Better to smoke it then plant it!

    • Dallas Texas,
    • Mar 22, 2014

    This grass seed will not grow in Texas! I'm sure it wouldn't grow in Hawaii either. It's a vehicle to make money and Fox News should be ashamed duping their viewers with this crap! Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 165 out 169 people found this review helpful

    Save Your Money

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I just discovered the identical product for sale at Bed, Bath & Beyond for much less: a three-pound bag for $19.99. At the Grassology site, they charge $14 for a one-pound bag. They throw in a 25-foot long hose (how much use is that going to be?) and by the time I "upgraded" to three pounds I was on the hook for $50. They also tried to upgrade me to a longer hose. Ha.

    Long story short, I called today to cancel and was told by their India-based CSR that I had to wait 48 hours for the order to "show up in the system." To cancel immediately, I would have to give them my credit card number, which I refused to do. They specifically told me that the order number itself was useless for cancelation purposes.

    I will call again in 48 hours and just hope that I can actually get my money back. Bob Vila should be ashamed of himself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 158 out 162 people found this review helpful

    Grassology is a scam

    • Lampasas, TX,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    They get you on the phone, sell you a pound of seed and the TV ad says a free water hose, but it is extra. Then they offer you all kinds of other stuff and tell you not hang up. Then they off you a "free" cruise and when you try to decline a recording says they will bill your credit card for $59 and they hang up. I tried to cancel the whole order and they said I would have to call back in 48 hours. They are still calling the house trying to sell me things.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 158 out 163 people found this review helpful

    Delivery Time

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I just paid for the 3lb. bag and got a shock. For a low cost of 9.99 extra I would not have to wait the 3-6 weeks delivery time. So for extra a guy would put a shipping label on my bag instead of walking past the shelf with my bag for 3-6 weeks. Starting off like a scam will wait the time and rate this everywhere. Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 156 out 159 people found this review helpful

    terrible service

    • Florida,
    • Jun 7, 2015

    I ordered one evening and after getting thru the "shifty" website I realized that I really didn't want the product. guess what, I found that I had actually ordered the stuff. I called the very next morning to cancel and was told "no problem" a few days later I found a charge on my credit card, called again and was given the proverbial run around. finally I was told to refuse the shipment, which may not be an option, as I am not always around when the mail is delivered. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 155

Write a Review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review