Read 155 Grassology Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 7 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 155
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice Product

    • Reno, NV,
    • May 22, 2015

    I bought Grassology it at Walmart for $10. Good price by comparison. Most grass seed runs from $9 to $16 for the 3 lb bag. I have a 10X30 bare patch in my front yard that I have tried several time to seed with Scotts and Pennington and it would not grow. Even after I replaced the topsoil I still couldn't get grass to grow. After one last ditch effort, I replaced the topsoil and seeded with Grassology. I finally got the area to grow. Except for a few spots in the middle and along the edge, most likely due to birds and washout, that area now has some pretty nice grass on it. Northern Nevada a is cooler part of the desert, but it is pretty dry and hard to get grass to grow, but this grass did.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worked for us

    • Summerville, SC,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I seeded two years ago and little by little. It chocked out weeds and clover. It is a low growing grass, so less mowing. Lawn looks great. I'm to buy more and seed the back yard in the fall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    We love our Grassology lawn!

    • Eagle Mountain, Utah,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    We have a Sandy hillside lot. I wanted a lawn that didn't require as much water or need to be mowed as often. We used Grassology. My neighbors have been envious of our lawn. It is low growing, requires a fraction of the water as our neighbors lawns, and maintains a dark green color. We couldn't be more pleased. We bought the seed at Wal-Mart, but have not been able to find it there anymore. I would like to expand our lawn. It us better and nicer than expected.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • Dontana, CA,
    • Oct 9, 2015

    I saw the bag of Grassology and bought it. I thought why not. I have nothing but dirt and I really want grass. So I read the directions and went for it. 4 days later I see grass appearing. I couldn't believe it. Bright, lime green grass. Wow! Everyday it gets thicker and more shows up. Thank you Grassology.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Very Happy

    • Washington DC,
    • Nov 10, 2015

    Had nothing but weeds, used weed killer and seeded with Grassology and got great results. Will definitely use it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love Grassology

    Grassology was planted alongside my house that rarely sees the sun. It was very bare, and I had tried everything, including sod, and it just would not grow. Grassology, however, grew in fast and thick and beautiful! I've used it in bare spots in other areas of my yard, and again, I had good luck. In fact, I am ordering more today. It requires little attention, and it works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Pretty Good

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    I Prepped the yard planted the seed. I had a full crop in short order. I was able to easily take care of it. Still have a green lawn.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Grassology missleading

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    The turf type for Grassology is tall fescue. While some of the traits being true, this seed can be purchased for 2 to 3 dollars a pound. Price depends on variety. I think this is all just a fancy market scheme. I use to sell professional seed. Buy it local but read a university bulletin first on turf type tall fescue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    This is a hype

    • Rocky Mount, NC,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I received my two bags of seeds today. Opened the box and read the contents of the seeds. It is basically red creeping fescue with other types of grass mixed in. I have some creeping red fescue I sowed and it does very well in the heat and in the shade. The thing that gets me is that this Grassology seed brand is nothing more than seeds you can pick up anywhere and mix together. I prefer the straight creeping red fescue and centipede grass. This really isn't worth the money for what you get. I believe the advertisement is a bit misleading. I am sure the seeds will do fine as I do like creeping red fescue. But I don't think the roots of this grass grows four feet down into the soil.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    So far, so good

    • Desoto, TX,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    This will be short and to the point. Today in Desoto it was 100 degrees. Hot. My backyard has kind of resembled a desert for quite some time. Except for the occasional winter grass seed that I might use from time to time. Bare. I used a spreader to spread Grassology on August 17. Today is Aug. 22 and the grass seed has already germinated, and grass has began to grow. Probably 1/4 inch. I am impressed. A friend of mine used it, but he he did not cover the seed with any soil, and water everyday, it did not work. I only water once per day for about 10 minutes, and I already see results. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Try it for yourself. And oh yeah, follow the directions. I only rated it a 3 because it's only been 5 days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Planted both a bare area and over-seeded an existing lawn.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    Grassology sprouted in seven days during the summer and nine days in the cooler winter months which is as expected. It took twice as much seed as the package directions indicate but once it gets established, it's pretty thick. I seeded a small area that was bare and it came up fine. I then over-seeded my front and side lawns which do have weeds and Saint Augustine grass. It's been only four weeks since I over-seeded the area and so I'm hoping that it will take over the St. Augustine and weeds but don't know if it will work. Wish me luck.

    This summer will be the real test when I cut back my watering to once a week or less. The Jury is still out on whether or not Grassology performs as advertised. I would love to speak to a real live human being in customer service to ask a few questions.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 155

Write a Review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review