Read 155 Grassology Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 7 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 155
Sort reviews by:

  • 151 out 155 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • Oklahoma,
    • Mar 24, 2014

    Received my order, put it out in my country yard as specified, although my yard has some sandy spots, there was nothing. It appears this is yet another rip off released on the public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 145 out 146 people found this review helpful

    Ordering was a nightmare. Cancelled immediately

    • Salimar, Florida,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    Kept adding extras and couldn't stop or talk to anyone. Didn't give order number or total price. Was just a bad experience all around. Would have liked to be able to talk to a person instead of phone prompts that didn't have a way to stop.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 135 out 135 people found this review helpful

    Criminal sales tactics on the phone and on the website.

    • Los Angeles,
    • Apr 6, 2014

    I called to order.. hoping that I would not have to deal with an add on by the minute website. The phone call was robotic and WORSE! It is designed to confuse... and only give you half of what you thought you were going to get... with other unwanted things also thrown in. THEN, they tell you that they are sending your credit card information to another company and that you will get this unasked for thing for 30 days. YOU have to remember, and then call in to cancel, otherwise you will be charged. I didn't want this disaster. I immediately called my credit card company to cancel the order.

    I called twice and it appears to take 48 hours to show up on their system. I will fight it... and NEVER EVER buy anything on TV again. This practice of on loading should be ILLEGAL. The practice of taking your personal info and card info and giving it to another company with the responsibility of having to cancel something you never asked for.... should be considered a criminal offense by the seller. THIS PRACTICE IS A SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 126 out 127 people found this review helpful

    Tried to sell me everything else

    • Texas,
    • Apr 7, 2014

    I have not even gotten the seed yet and they have already called me wanting to send me earrings and a necklace (the earrings are free and I only pay shipping and the necklace is for me to look at and see if I want to pay for it.) I thought this might be legitimate since Bob Villa was advertising it, but obviously he has fallen on hard times and is advertising for the money, and not so concerned for his reputation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 119 out 153 people found this review helpful

    Pleased with the product

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 26, 2014

    I bought several bags at Bed, Bath & Beyond for use in a shady back yard where grass doesn't grow easily. I've had excellent results and plan to purchase another couple of bags to sow an area not previously sown.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 117 out 121 people found this review helpful

    Paid way too much!

    • East Coast,
    • Apr 9, 2014

    I purchased the grass seed and ended paying $14.99 for the first bag, $14.99 for the second, and paid for the 50' hose. All in all my final bill was 52 dollars and change. Did not know the final cost until I put my card information in. Not happy about the method but did receive the products. I'll give it a try but don't expect much if I have to try to collect on the guarantee. Can't believe Bob Villa has stooped so low?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 116 out 117 people found this review helpful

    Expedite charge is a scam

    • Fort Thomas, KY,
    • Apr 5, 2014

    I ordered this product on March 29 and I paid an additional $9.99 to expedite the shipping. Eight days have passed since I placed the expedited order and the product has not shipped. Do not incur the additional cost to expedite shipping if you order this product. Bob Vila has become an "As Seen On TV" embarrassment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 103 out 103 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Westminster, CO,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    I ordered the grass seed, a week later when I check the order status online it showed no order placed, I got a confirmation number 102647609. I called and they said it went on the wrong computer on their end. Told try back in a few days and I should see the order tried and still can't see the order. Called back again and I was told the order will be shipped the middle of may. That is too late for me. I canceled the order. Bob Villa stop advertising for this fly by night company. Don't buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 84 out 85 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste time or money

    • Jun 28, 2015

    Cons: Grass only grows in clumps. (Think men with plugs for hair transplants) Does not create a lawn. Empty space between clumps needs to be nuked to prevent weeds. Extraordinarily over priced. Buyer beware, ie: rip-off. Pros: when you look at area where there should be a lawn don't look down from above, it'll be 60-70 empty, look at from 10 degree angle, it will then appear only 30% empty.

    I feel more like a victim than customer. I wasted a lot of time working to make this "theory of a lawn seed" work. Epic fail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 74 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Charged twice

    • Akron, OH,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    I have not received order. Was charged twice and also charged for the 25' of hose (twice). I have tried to cancel and was told to call back in 72 hours, because that is when system will be updated. The only reason we know we were charged is because we checked our bank account. I did not even receive an email confirming the order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 67 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Not good for SE USA.

    • Biloxi, MS,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    I would not bother ordering this product if I lived south of the Kentucky/Tennessee border. My neighbor purchased a bag from the local Walmart. It started dying once the temps started climbing in mid may. It was brown and dead by the end of June. The best gardening advice I ever received came from my grandfather. He told me to know my zone and plant fruits and vegetables that thrive in it. The best gardener in the world can't grow pineapples naturally in Wisconsin for example.

    The same thing applies to grass. If you live in the deep south, Bermuda and centipede strains are best for areas that receive a lot of sunlight. St. Augustine grass will thrive in shady areas.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 155

Write a Review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review