What Is Gravity Weighted Blanket?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: May 15, 2017

Similar to swaddling an infant, the Gravity Weighted Blanket is engineered to represent about 10 percent of your body weight and provide a ‘hugging’ sensation, delivering near-instant relief from stress and anxiety, increasing relaxation, and deepening REM sleep.

But the company is quick to point out that the Gravity Weighted Blanket isn’t just for sleep; it can also be used while reading in bed, relaxing on the couch, recovering from a long day, and even while meditating.

In fact, their Kickstarter pitch notes that weighted blankets in general (although not Gravity specifically) can be used to treat a variety ailments outside of stress and sleep, including insomnia, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, autism spectrum disorder (ASD), and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.

If weighted blankets have been used to provide meaningful benefits in medical settings for decades, it certainly seems that a consumer-focused version like Gravity is a product whose time is long overdue.

But can you expect it to deliver on its promises? Does it have any competition? If you decide to take the plunge, will you find that it’s “the most comfortable blanket you’ve ever experienced”?

Let’s get cozy and quickly discuss what we learned during our research so you can make a more informed decision.

How Does Gravity Weighted Blanket’s Deep Touch Pressure Stimulation Work?

Everything we hear, taste, feel, smell, and see (sensory input) helps us function effectively within our environment. However, there can be times—especially with our modern work habits and addiction to electronics—where our brains become overloaded with sensory input, thereby creating stress and anxiety.

To potentially help combat this overstimulation, Gravity uses something called proprioceptive input, or deep touch pressure stimulation, to stimulate pressure points on the body that may help focus our senses, relax the parasympathetic nervous system, reduce cortisol (stress hormone) levels, and boost serotonin production.

There are numerous device types that can provide this deep touch pressure stimulation in medical settings (used for those on the autism spectrum, as well as those with ADHD and depression), including weighted and pressure vests, weighted lap pads, and even specialized furniture.

What about Gravity’s Weighted Blanket?

What Materials Is the Gravity Weighted Blanket Constructed From?

The company describes Gravity as a 48" x 78", premium-grade, therapeutic weighted blanket that gently distributes deep pressure across the body to maximize relaxation and minimize body movement. It’s also engineered with breathable materials to help prevent overheating while you’re relaxing.

Inside Gravity’s 100 percent cotton inner shell you'll find high-density plastic poly pellets (HDPE), an odorless, nontoxic, food-grade material that adds weight, but is also soft enough to provide a nice texture. The company tells us they're also durable, pet and kid friendly, and washer and dryer safe.

Gravity Weighted BlanketWith an inner shell filled with high-density plastic poly pellets (HDPE) and an outer shell woven from microfiber fleece, Gravity Weighted Blanket’s deep touch pressure stimulation promises to help you relax. Image credit: Gravity Products, LLC

Gravity’s outer zippered shell is constructed from ultra-soft microfiber fleece that’s easily removable for washing, or for warmer months to help ensure you don’t overheat. It’s sewn in a grid-like pattern that promises to evenly distribute the poly pellets to “specifically target pressure points throughout your body.”

How Much Does the Gravity Weighted Blanket Cost?

As of writing, the Gravity Weighted Blanket was raising funds through a Kickstarter campaign ending May 30, 2017 (estimated delivery was Sept-Oct 2017). Just eight days in, however, they had already raised more than $2.5 million on an original goal of just $21,500.

In fact, they raised more than $30K just while we were researching the product.

Since we’re all different weights, Gravity is available in 15, 20, and 25-pound options for the following pledge amounts:

  • Single: $169, $189, or $209, depending on when you order
  • Couples Pack (2ct): $320
  • Store Pack (20ct): $2,800
  • Distributor Pack (40ct): $5,200

While their FAQ indicates Gravity might eventually be available in different colors, it’s currently only available in Space Grey.

Their FAQ also notes, “Because of the extensive discount that we're providing on Kickstarter, we're unable to offer a refund or return policy at this time.” So make sure you’re ready to hand over your money before processing your order.

Although Gravity wasn’t released at the time of our research, they seemed to have received quite a lot of media attention already, due in no small part to their smashing crowdfunding success thus far. Can we learn anything meaningful from these articles?

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Gravity Weighted Blanket?

Even on popular sites like Business Insider, Mashable, and Huffington Post, we found only high-level overviews for Gravity; little more than a reiteration of what’s listed on their Kickstarter campaign.

From a company perspective, the weighted blanket is brought to you by Gravity Products, LLC, a health technology company based out of Brooklyn, NY and headed by John Fiorentino.

According to their promo video, Gravity Weighted Blanket was developed over the course of 12 months after poring “over medical research and studies about the effects of weighted blankets on serious conditions like autism, PTSD, and insomnia.” Then, they translated this science into a consumer-focused product that could help everyone.

As it stands now, the company indicates that their manufacturing partners are ready to go; they just need the financial support from Kickstarter to help turn it into a readily available product.

Before creating Gravity, John founded the product creation company Good Ones, co-founded Podium, a digital advertising company, and worked as Product Manager for You Technology, Inc.

Clearly, there’s a great deal of unmet demand for Gravity. But are there other weighted blankets currently available that might provide much of the same deep touch pressure stimulation, but without the wait?

Gravity vs. Other Weighted Blankets

According to Gravity’s Kickstarter campaign, “Weighted blankets are well known within the medical community, where they’ve been used as a natural stress reliever for decades. However, society at large hasn’t had access to them.”

With a few clicks of your keyboard, though, you can quickly see that, while you might not be swimming in weighted blankets, there are several meaningfully similar options:

Brand Price Weight(s) Materials & Construction Size(s
Gravity Weighted Blanket $169-$209 15, 20, 25 lb Inner cotton shell, HDPE pellets, outer woven microfiber fleece shell 48" x 78"
Brookstone NAP $150 12 lb Cotton and polyester, PET pellets (BPA, phthalate, and lead-free) 54" x 72"
Mosaic Weighted Blankets $140-$215 5-20 lb Nontoxic poly pellets, fabric polyfill 42" x 72"
Autism-Products.com $75-$295 3-20 lb Nontoxic steel shot, softly textured fabric 30" x 40" - 58" x 58"
Sommerly Sleep Tight Weighted Blanket $150-$300 5-25 lbs 100% cotton fabric, PET pellets fill (BPA, phthalate, and lead-free), Polyester pellet bags, Pocketed construction 36" x 32" - 80" x 57"

In addition to these, we found more than a dozen different weighted blanket options available through independent Etsy shops, priced between $45 and $170, many of which were also constructed of cotton and fleece. Given all these options, how can you choose the right one for your needs?

According to Karen Moore, an occupational therapist in Franconia, N.H. interviewed for a Psychology Today article:

“The best weight depends on your body size and personal preference. However, 15 to 30 pounds is typical for adults.” Also, "Input from a doctor or occupational therapist is advised for elderly individuals and anyone with a medical condition."

Also, Karen notes that “weighted blankets are not recommended for people with respiratory, circulatory, or temperature regulation problems or those recovering from surgery.”

Given this, the right weighted blanket for you seems to largely come down to your specific needs and preferences. For example, if you’re focused on the least expensive option above, it seems that Autism-Products.com’s blankets start at $75, although this price will only provide you with a 3 lb blanket.

Speaking of weight, both Gravity and Sommerly’s blankets go up to 25 lbs, although at $300, the latter was also the most expensive on our list, followed closely by Autism-Products.com.

Size-wise, Sommerly’s weighted blanket was the largest at 80" x 57", and it, Mosaic, and Brookstone were each filled with PET pellets, while Gravity was the only one with HDPE (a more porous material that might—like the company claims—deliver improved breathability).

Autism-Products the only one with steel shot (a denser material that might not provide the same level of breathability).

Note: We didn’t test any of these weighted blankets firsthand, and used third-party online resources to provide these details.

Our Final Thoughts About the Gravity Weighted Blanket

Taking everything together, compared to the competition, the Gravity Weighted blanket is priced somewhere near the middle, features one of the larger designs, is available in three different weights, and is filled with a material we didn’t encounter anywhere else.

Perhaps the biggest downside? As it stands (assuming no delays occur, which is not uncommon with crowdfunded projects, although the company tells us their manufacturing partners are already prepared), Gravity won’t be available until late September or early October.

This means if you’re looking to test out deep touch pressure stimulation, a clinically validated treatment for stress and anxiety, you’ll have to be patients when it comes to Gravity.

Again, returning to the needs and preferences discussed in the last section, this means that only you can decide if the wait is worthwhile. Just keep in mind that, if you choose to back Gravity, there are also other methods of potentially addressing stress you could implement in the meantime to help you cope.

Finally, we’ve reached out to Gravity Products with a couple questions about their weighted blanket, and will be sure to update this article as soon as a response is received. So be sure to bookmark this page and check back often.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Gravity Weighted Blanket

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't know what's worse, the blanket or the company!

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really wish I could give them a zero; they do not deserve a single star!

    I ordered the blanket, and it took months to get here (not a huge deal, but disappointing).

    The blanket itself looked fine, but I instantly noticed the zipper on the shell was defective (bummer, but still not a deal breaker considering how long I waited, so I was willing to overlook the defect).

    Trying the Blanket out was even more disappointing. The pockets that hold the weighted beads in place are so large that when you lay down with it, you end up with all the beads laying beside you! NONE of the weight actually STAYS on you! So you end up laying down with what feels like a totally normal blanket.

    The company is even worse than the defective and useless blanket they charged me $300 for!

    Gravity makes a huge deal about being Canadian and does everything they can to try and make you think the blankets are made in Canada, but look closely and you'll see they never actually say it! Why? Because the blankets are made in China; they come in a box marked made in China, and inside that box is the blanket also clearly marked made in China. This wouldn't really bother me if it wasn't for the great lengths they go trying to make it seem like they are selling a Canadian product.

    The Gravity website has reviews that are intentionally deceptive! I have no proof that the reviews are all fake, although I find them highly suspicious, BUT what I do know for sure is that they delete any and all unfavorable reviews! I have tested it and without fail my less than favorable reviews never made onto the site, even checking backs weeks later only positive reviews are posted!

    And then there's the return policy! They say money-back guarantee, then they say to Facebook book them for details, so I did, and they blocked me! And not only did they block me, but they had time to check their Facebook, delete my comment on their Facebook profile picture (a blanket and a maple leaf). My comment just says Gravity is intentionally using deceptive marketing to make you think their blankets are made in Canada but they are made in China. So yes, they deleted my comment and instead of responding to my message and giving me details of how to return their horrible product, they blocked me!

    I have since sent an email to get information on how to return their worthless product, but I am still waiting for a response, so looks like the return policy is just more false advising from Gravity!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Exactly what I was looking for

    • Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Jan 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is exactly as described. It makes you feel instantly calm and relaxed, like a great big hug! I’d buy shares in the company. As an adult with ADHD I have struggled my whole life to fall asleep. I’m so grateful for this product that helps me block everything out and just breathe. Thanks Gravity!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't buy

    I bought this for the wife for Christmas, ordered in June on the Kickstarter campaign.

    The beads in the blanket will all fall to one side, like water in a Ziploc bag. To redistribute them evenly, before each use, is just silly.

    I wrote to the company, they asked for a picture, which I sent.

    The response:

    Hello,

    I apologize for the delay in response. The Blanket may need to be shaken out from time to time to even it back out. This should allow the pellets to fall back into their pockets.

    We're sorry for the inconvenience this has brought.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • This is theft!

    I spent a lot of money on this blanket in May of 2016, and as of this writing in January of 2018, I have yet to receive it! I have communicated with them MANY, MANY time with only one reply saying it was coming soon, and that was six weeks ago. They must be filthy rich taking people's money and running!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy from this company

    • Lewiston, NY,
    • Jan 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a blanket in May 2017 from Kickstarter, and I have yet to receive it. They created a UPS tracking number in October, but UPS has no record of it in their system. They changed the size of the blanket (it’s now smaller) but did not offer their backers a way out of the purchase if this no longer suited their needs.

    Their customer service dept gives canned responses to our protests. They have refused me a refund because I ordered through Kickstarter, yet there are some others who ordered through Kickstarter that have received a refund. They expect us to receive the blanket, then pay high shipping costs to return it for a refund. Keep in mind, it hasn’t been shipped yet.

    The product is defective per some people who have received it. Run, run, run in the opposite direction if you run into anyone associated with Gravity Blanket. I strongly suggest you do a Google search for the names involved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Stay far away from Gravity

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Dec 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this (two of them, actually) through Kickstarter in May 2017. It is now December 29th and I’ve received NOTHING, not even one of those phony tracking numbers they’ve been using to try to pacify the customers.

    I actually don’t even want it anymore. They’ve significantly reduced the size from 78” to 72”, although I’ve seen photos on Twitter and Facebook of people getting blankets as short as 68”. I would never have given them my money if they had been honest and upfront about the size. The 78” was a major factor in my decision to place an order.

    I’ve asked to cancel, but my emails and tweets are ignored. The short answer seems to be that Kickstarter purchasers are out of luck. I might get a blanket someday, and I have no idea how short it will be.

    The people behind Gravity Blankets are not people I’d recommend doing business with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Shady, shady, shady

    • Illinois,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am one of the backers of this project that was on Kickstarter earlier this year. I paid for this blanket back in May. It's nearly January and still no blanket.

    This company continues to advertise and sell these blankets from their website as well as through Sleep Number, and I have seen people buying and receiving blankets from these sources before most of the backers have received anything! They keep pushing back the dates as we were first promised the product in the fall, then it was postponed until before the holidays, now they say by the end of January. We all gave these people money to begin the project. We should have been FIRST in line to receive what we paid for!

    They also changed the size of the blanket without telling anyone! So we all paid for a larger blanket than will be shipped, if that ever happens. You try to contact them, and they ignore you. They will not issue any refunds to those who have requested that option. This is out of hand. The blankets may or may not be nice (likely won't ever find out) but I will NOT give this company, with horrible business practices, any of my money ever again and people should be cautioned. They clearly do not care about their customers, especially the ones who helped get this idea off the ground.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Run! Do not buy the Gravity Blanket if you expect to actually receive it.

    I ordered two Gravity Blankets on May 1st and have still not received them. I was promised multiple times that they would arrive before Christmas. In November I was assured they would come in time for Christmas, but the week before, that tune changed. Plus, I understand from the few people that have received the blankets that they changed the size AFTER I had already purchased. There have been two stories given about that. John (the "inventor") says it was done to more evenly distribute the weight of the blanket. Someone from customer service says the original ad was a typo. Either way, they have advertised a larger size since May.

    Bottom line: Look for another more reputable seller that will stand behind their product and actually deliver.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Shady company

    I backed the project in May, just a few weeks before it was fully funded. I have yet to receive my blanket. People that have purchased theirs, at full price, through the Gravity or Sleep Number website have received theirs. The people who have gotten them have mentioned that it's not the size that was originally promised. When that was brought up to the creator and the company, they just made contradictory claims and basically said "oh well."

    Run, don't walk, far away from this company! They won't offer refunds, and most people can't even file a chargeback with their bank because it's been ALMOST A YEAR since it was purchased.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don’t purchase from Gravity

    I purchased my blanket months ago, I have yet to receive it. I have emailed the company several times and no response.

    My purchase was made via Kickstarter. I paid $169 for a blanket to be delivered in October 2017. Here we are December 27th with no blanket and no response to my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service, no blanket received

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst customer experience ever, and if it was possible to give zero stars, I would.

    I’m a Kickstarter backer, and this was the first and last time I will back anything because of this experience.

    First, I’ve never received my blanket and my tracking info doesn’t exist. When asked about when I could expect my blanket, I received a canned response from Alexis telling me that new tracking numbers are being added daily. Secondly, when I backed this project, the blanket dimensions were 48x78. People who ordered from the website received their blankets before the backers and both the few backers that did receive the blanket and website orders received blankets that were 6 or more inches shorter than what we agreed to.

    What’s worse is John, the founder who visited the manufacturer in September, saw production and samples and never said anything until December 21st where he added at the end on another update unrelated to the topic listed under the update that he had made the decision to go with the smaller size for better weight distribution. Why wasn’t this included in the update after he visited the manufacturer? Why weren’t we offered a refund or discount?

    I’m still waiting for a response to emails, half a dozen emails, that I started sending in August. Not a single email response. I had to message them through Facebook, and then I received the canned response from Alexis. At this point, I’ve reported their business practices to BBB, FTC and State Attorney General’s office. I suffer from anxiety and PTSD. This has made it worse. I will be contacting a lawyer about the fraudulent claims of this blanket and the additional emotional and physical distress this has caused.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Gravity Weighted Blanket!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review