What Is Gravity Weighted Blanket?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: May 15, 2017

Similar to swaddling an infant, the Gravity Weighted Blanket is engineered to represent about 10 percent of your body weight and provide a ‘hugging’ sensation, delivering near-instant relief from stress and anxiety, increasing relaxation, and deepening REM sleep.

But the company is quick to point out that the Gravity Weighted Blanket isn’t just for sleep; it can also be used while reading in bed, relaxing on the couch, recovering from a long day, and even while meditating.

In fact, their Kickstarter pitch notes that weighted blankets in general (although not Gravity specifically) can be used to treat a variety ailments outside of stress and sleep, including insomnia, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, autism spectrum disorder (ASD), and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.

If weighted blankets have been used to provide meaningful benefits in medical settings for decades, it certainly seems that a consumer-focused version like Gravity is a product whose time is long overdue.

But can you expect it to deliver on its promises? Does it have any competition? If you decide to take the plunge, will you find that it’s “the most comfortable blanket you’ve ever experienced”?

Let’s get cozy and quickly discuss what we learned during our research so you can make a more informed decision.

How Does Gravity Weighted Blanket’s Deep Touch Pressure Stimulation Work?

Everything we hear, taste, feel, smell, and see (sensory input) helps us function effectively within our environment. However, there can be times—especially with our modern work habits and addiction to electronics—where our brains become overloaded with sensory input, thereby creating stress and anxiety.

To potentially help combat this overstimulation, Gravity uses something called proprioceptive input, or deep touch pressure stimulation, to stimulate pressure points on the body that may help focus our senses, relax the parasympathetic nervous system, reduce cortisol (stress hormone) levels, and boost serotonin production.

There are numerous device types that can provide this deep touch pressure stimulation in medical settings (used for those on the autism spectrum, as well as those with ADHD and depression), including weighted and pressure vests, weighted lap pads, and even specialized furniture.

What about Gravity’s Weighted Blanket?

What Materials Is the Gravity Weighted Blanket Constructed From?

The company describes Gravity as a 48" x 78", premium-grade, therapeutic weighted blanket that gently distributes deep pressure across the body to maximize relaxation and minimize body movement. It’s also engineered with breathable materials to help prevent overheating while you’re relaxing.

Inside Gravity’s 100 percent cotton inner shell you'll find high-density plastic poly pellets (HDPE), an odorless, nontoxic, food-grade material that adds weight, but is also soft enough to provide a nice texture. The company tells us they're also durable, pet and kid friendly, and washer and dryer safe.

Gravity Weighted BlanketWith an inner shell filled with high-density plastic poly pellets (HDPE) and an outer shell woven from microfiber fleece, Gravity Weighted Blanket’s deep touch pressure stimulation promises to help you relax. Image credit: Gravity Products, LLC

Gravity’s outer zippered shell is constructed from ultra-soft microfiber fleece that’s easily removable for washing, or for warmer months to help ensure you don’t overheat. It’s sewn in a grid-like pattern that promises to evenly distribute the poly pellets to “specifically target pressure points throughout your body.”

How Much Does the Gravity Weighted Blanket Cost?

As of writing, the Gravity Weighted Blanket was raising funds through a Kickstarter campaign ending May 30, 2017 (estimated delivery was Sept-Oct 2017). Just eight days in, however, they had already raised more than $2.5 million on an original goal of just $21,500.

In fact, they raised more than $30K just while we were researching the product.

Since we’re all different weights, Gravity is available in 15, 20, and 25-pound options for the following pledge amounts:

  • Single: $169, $189, or $209, depending on when you order
  • Couples Pack (2ct): $320
  • Store Pack (20ct): $2,800
  • Distributor Pack (40ct): $5,200

While their FAQ indicates Gravity might eventually be available in different colors, it’s currently only available in Space Grey.

Their FAQ also notes, “Because of the extensive discount that we're providing on Kickstarter, we're unable to offer a refund or return policy at this time.” So make sure you’re ready to hand over your money before processing your order.

Although Gravity wasn’t released at the time of our research, they seemed to have received quite a lot of media attention already, due in no small part to their smashing crowdfunding success thus far. Can we learn anything meaningful from these articles?

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Gravity Weighted Blanket?

Even on popular sites like Business Insider, Mashable, and Huffington Post, we found only high-level overviews for Gravity; little more than a reiteration of what’s listed on their Kickstarter campaign.

From a company perspective, the weighted blanket is brought to you by Gravity Products, LLC, a health technology company based out of Brooklyn, NY and headed by John Fiorentino.

According to their promo video, Gravity Weighted Blanket was developed over the course of 12 months after poring “over medical research and studies about the effects of weighted blankets on serious conditions like autism, PTSD, and insomnia.” Then, they translated this science into a consumer-focused product that could help everyone.

As it stands now, the company indicates that their manufacturing partners are ready to go; they just need the financial support from Kickstarter to help turn it into a readily available product.

Before creating Gravity, John founded the product creation company Good Ones, co-founded Podium, a digital advertising company, and worked as Product Manager for You Technology, Inc.

Clearly, there’s a great deal of unmet demand for Gravity. But are there other weighted blankets currently available that might provide much of the same deep touch pressure stimulation, but without the wait?

Gravity vs. Other Weighted Blankets

According to Gravity’s Kickstarter campaign, “Weighted blankets are well known within the medical community, where they’ve been used as a natural stress reliever for decades. However, society at large hasn’t had access to them.”

With a few clicks of your keyboard, though, you can quickly see that, while you might not be swimming in weighted blankets, there are several meaningfully similar options:

Brand Price Weight(s) Materials & Construction Size(s
Gravity Weighted Blanket $169-$209 15, 20, 25 lb Inner cotton shell, HDPE pellets, outer woven microfiber fleece shell 48" x 78"
Brookstone NAP $150 12 lb Cotton and polyester, PET pellets (BPA, phthalate, and lead-free) 54" x 72"
Mosaic Weighted Blankets $140-$215 5-20 lb Nontoxic poly pellets, fabric polyfill 42" x 72"
Autism-Products.com $75-$295 3-20 lb Nontoxic steel shot, softly textured fabric 30" x 40" - 58" x 58"
Sommerly Sleep Tight Weighted Blanket $150-$300 5-25 lbs 100% cotton fabric, PET pellets fill (BPA, phthalate, and lead-free), Polyester pellet bags, Pocketed construction 36" x 32" - 80" x 57"

In addition to these, we found more than a dozen different weighted blanket options available through independent Etsy shops, priced between $45 and $170, many of which were also constructed of cotton and fleece. Given all these options, how can you choose the right one for your needs?

According to Karen Moore, an occupational therapist in Franconia, N.H. interviewed for a Psychology Today article:

“The best weight depends on your body size and personal preference. However, 15 to 30 pounds is typical for adults.” Also, "Input from a doctor or occupational therapist is advised for elderly individuals and anyone with a medical condition."

Also, Karen notes that “weighted blankets are not recommended for people with respiratory, circulatory, or temperature regulation problems or those recovering from surgery.”

Given this, the right weighted blanket for you seems to largely come down to your specific needs and preferences. For example, if you’re focused on the least expensive option above, it seems that Autism-Products.com’s blankets start at $75, although this price will only provide you with a 3 lb blanket.

Speaking of weight, both Gravity and Sommerly’s blankets go up to 25 lbs, although at $300, the latter was also the most expensive on our list, followed closely by Autism-Products.com.

Size-wise, Sommerly’s weighted blanket was the largest at 80" x 57", and it, Mosaic, and Brookstone were each filled with PET pellets, while Gravity was the only one with HDPE (a more porous material that might—like the company claims—deliver improved breathability).

Autism-Products the only one with steel shot (a denser material that might not provide the same level of breathability).

Note: We didn’t test any of these weighted blankets firsthand, and used third-party online resources to provide these details.

Our Final Thoughts About the Gravity Weighted Blanket

Taking everything together, compared to the competition, the Gravity Weighted blanket is priced somewhere near the middle, features one of the larger designs, is available in three different weights, and is filled with a material we didn’t encounter anywhere else.

Perhaps the biggest downside? As it stands (assuming no delays occur, which is not uncommon with crowdfunded projects, although the company tells us their manufacturing partners are already prepared), Gravity won’t be available until late September or early October.

This means if you’re looking to test out deep touch pressure stimulation, a clinically validated treatment for stress and anxiety, you’ll have to be patients when it comes to Gravity.

Again, returning to the needs and preferences discussed in the last section, this means that only you can decide if the wait is worthwhile. Just keep in mind that, if you choose to back Gravity, there are also other methods of potentially addressing stress you could implement in the meantime to help you cope.

Finally, we’ve reached out to Gravity Products with a couple questions about their weighted blanket, and will be sure to update this article as soon as a response is received. So be sure to bookmark this page and check back often.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Consumer Reviews for Gravity Weighted Blanket

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • Gravity Blanket has a Chemical Smell

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my Gravity Blanket. The First thing I noticed was the odd smell. I am going to return it if Customer service replies back. I am not that picky but a blanket should not be off gassing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Got my blanket, but not evenly distributed

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited about this blanket. When it arrived, it was beautiful. But the pellets are absolutely not evenly distributed. They all fall to one side of the blanket. I paid on Kickstarter, and had to wait longer than the estimated ship date; however, that never bothered me because I expect delays on products just starting. With all this being said, I like the blanket enough to consider the cooling one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No customer support

    • Kentucky,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two blankets a couple of weeks ago and immediately realized I accidentally ordered the regular ones versus the cooling ones. Thus began my adventure attempting to contact customer service. I have emailed and texted numerous times to no avail. The regular blankets eventually came, and my daughter and I are pleased with the calming effect. However, I must turn the AC to 68 in order to be able to sleep without perspiring profusely. I would have given the blanket a 5-star value, but because the customer support was nonexistent, I gave it a 2.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Took my money, but never sent blanket

    • Austin, TX ,
    • Apr 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This blanket, that Gravity Blanket that they claim to have, doesn't reduce stress, it only adds to your stress. This company is scamming people. They scammed me out of $250. I selected to pay with my PayPal account and selected to be paid after delivery, and they never delivered it, but they sure took my money really fast! I placed the order in January and here it is April 17th, 2018, and I have nothing. THEY rarely respond to my emails, and if they do, they simply say there is nothing they can do about it. I ask several questions, and I get no answers. I ask them for a phone number, and they said they don't have a phone number for service. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 29, 2018

      Mark K.

      I got mine. They didn’t even charge my card until after it shipped.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I regret being a sucker.

    My mother and I purchased two blankets from them at over $300 on a special before Christmas, and it was going to be months before they were sent out. It became past the time for them to be sent as per the initial date they gave us. So we contacted the company. We heard nothing from them. We contacted the credit card company to make a complaint. They no doubt contacted the company and once having been prompted by officials who could take our money back they sent out our blankets. In the meantime, we decided that we weren’t sure we wanted to do business with the company because they seemed shady.

    You cannot contact them for a return. They only had the email address, no phone number, and no one was getting back with us. So what were we to do? We returned them. Two weighted blankets in boxes of that size sent USPS costs over $70. We were willing to take a $70 hit for a refund on the blankets.

    We were finally contacted by the company, no doubt only after threatening them via the credit card company, and they refused the return.

    Now they have the money for the blankets, the blankets, and were out a lot of money. They are free to resell the blankets to some other unsuspecting sucker.

    I implore you, don’t let it be you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    DO NOT buy directly from Gravity unless you are 100% sure you want this blanket. The return policy is this:

    “After inspection, you will be refunded within 5 to 7 business days.

    If the blanket needs to be cleaned or is damaged, you will receive a partial refund to cover the expenses of repacking and restocking the product.”

    Read that as if you open the bag to look at or try your blanket you’ll pay $80 when you return it for it to be re-stocked. No questions. My blanket was returned in perfect condition. I only took my blanket out of the package and realized instantly it wasn’t for me. So I returned it.

    Return postage cost me $65 from Chicago.

    Purchase price: $229.

    Return postage: $65.

    Re-stocking cost: $80.

    Out of pocket: $145.

    I’m sure for some people this blanket is great, but I really wish I hadn’t bothered. If there was somewhere else I could warn people not to buy unless they are sure they will not want to return the blanket I would post this review anywhere I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam!

    I ordered a Gravity Blanket in October 2017. I paid in full with my credit card. It is now April 2018. No Gravity Blanket. I received an email in December stating that my Gravity Blanket was on its way. I never received it. I've got a request into my Visa to get a refund, we'll see if that happens.

    Do NOT do business with Gravity Blanket, they like and steal your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Never received and no response.

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this blanket over 11 months ago. Despite numerous attempts to contact them over the last almost year, I’ve neither received a response (other than their mass emails saying they’re coming) nor do I have my blanket. I lost almost $200. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I ordered 2, got 1 almost 5 months later. I have never received the 2nd one.

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have written a dozen emails to Gravity (no phone number ANYWHERE) after ordering two blankets in the beginning of September 2017. After several emails, I finally received ONE just days before Christmas. I have never received my second blanket. I paid $250 for each, POST Kickstarter.

    Is there a civil suit somewhere that I can join?

    I continue to send unanswered emails. I'm livid. I have messaged and posted repeatedly on their Twitter site and Facebook page. They simply DO NOT CARE.

    DO NOT order from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever!

    • Oregon,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While a Gravity Blanket is a great thing (I ended up getting mine from Mosaic - amazing company), the company GravityBlanket.com has the absolute WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ever. No way to communicate with them. Multiple emails went unanswered. No packing slip in the box. No return address given for returns. No response from multiple for a request for the return address. If I had the choice of doing business with these people or a root canal with no anesthesia, I would choose the root canal in an instant. Most frustrating purchasing experience I ever had (can you tell?!). Do yourself a favor and choose another company because the Blanket idea is genius.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Draconian return policy

    • San Mateo, CA,
    • Mar 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Gravity Blanket and opened the bag to try it out. I felt it was too heavy and contacted them to return it. They told me if you open the bag, you can't return the item. I find that pretty outrageous.

    The return policy is buried in fine print and should be prominent in the order process. The Gravity Blanket didn't help me relax or sleep; it actually kept me awake longer than normal. I don't have a big issue with that because everyone is different, but I have a huge issue with the non-return policy. They say you can return the Gravity Blanket if you don't open the packaging/bag, but how else is a person going to know whether it is suitable or not?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a Review for Gravity Weighted Blanket!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review