Gravity Weighted Blanket Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Gravity Weighted Blanket

Overall Rating

1.4

50 Customer Reviews

Summary

Using cotton, microfiber fleece, and food-grade high-density plastic poly pellets (HDPE), Gravity Weighted Blanket claims to provide stress and anxiety reduction.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 50 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:86%
12% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Gravity Weighted Blanket:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 19, 2018

Buyer beware

By Hayley Taylor, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

DO NOT buy directly from Gravity unless you are 100% sure you want this blanket. The return policy is this:

“After inspection, you will be refunded within 5 to 7 business days.

If the blanket needs to be cleaned or is damaged, you will receive a partial refund to cover the expenses of repacking and restocking the product.”

Read that as if you open the bag to look at or try your blanket you’ll pay $80 when you return it for it to be re-stocked. No questions. My blanket was returned in perfect condition. I only took my blanket out of the package and realized instantly it wasn’t for me. So I returned it.

Return postage cost me $65 from Chicago.

Purchase price: $229.

Return postage: $65.

Re-stocking cost: $80.

Out of pocket: $145.

I’m sure for some people this blanket is great, but I really wish I hadn’t bothered. If there was somewhere else I could warn people not to buy unless they are sure they will not want to return the blanket I would post this review anywhere I could.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 20, 2018

I regret being a sucker.

By Kenton Forshee, Maryville, TN, Verified Reviewer

My mother and I purchased two blankets from them at over $300 on a special before Christmas, and it was going to be months before they were sent out. It became past the time for them to be sent as per the initial date they gave us. So we contacted the company. We heard nothing from them. We contacted the credit card company to make a complaint. They no doubt contacted the company and once having been prompted by officials who could take our money back they sent out our blankets. In the meantime, we decided that we weren’t sure we wanted to do business with the company because they seemed shady.

You cannot contact them for a return. They only had the email address, no phone number, and no one was getting back with us. So what were we to do? We returned them. Two weighted blankets in boxes of that size sent USPS costs over $70. We were willing to take a $70 hit for a refund on the blankets.

We were finally contacted by the company, no doubt only after threatening them via the credit card company, and they refused the return.

Now they have the money for the blankets, the blankets, and were out a lot of money. They are free to resell the blankets to some other unsuspecting sucker.

I implore you, don’t let it be you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 16, 2017

Horrible

By J Yates, Lincoln, NE, Verified Reviewer

An overpriced blanket that is made and shipped from China, so plan on several months before you receive the product. Good luck trying to cancel the order because that simply won’t happen. Then, if you decide you don’t want it, you have to ship it in its original packaging, unopened, to FRANCE. That’s right, France. And yep, on your dime. If you have opened it, you will only get 80% of what you paid for it refunded. This company is the worst to deal with, and have very sketchy business practices.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gravity Products, LLC.

Nov 22, 2017

Hello,

My name is Amy, I work on the Gravity Blanket customer service team. We appreciate your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you have had a frustrating experience. I wanted to address some of the frustrations and provide you our return policy to clear up and confusion which you can find below.

Return Policy

-Items must be returned unopened in their original bag (you can open your box) and not damaged, just like you received them.

-Returns made within 7 days of delivery date will be issued a full refund in the form of original payment. Returns made within 8-14 days will be issued as future credit for Gravity products.

-If your item(s) has a manufacturing defect or damage you can return within 30 days of purchase for an exchange.

Please note that customers will bear the responsibility of return shipping costs, and should address returns to the warehouse address listed on your shipping label. (All warehouses are located in the USA.) Please reach out to our customer service team at contact@gravityblankets.com so we can help resolve these issues. Thank you.

Best, Amy

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2017

Not happy

By Kathy Spangler, Fresno, CA, Verified Reviewer

With so many other options, I’d definitely use another company. I ordered in early August and was certainly prepared to wait until late September or early October for delivery. However, we are now a week into November and multiple attempts to get this company to give me a shipping update have gone unanswered. Very unprofessional and now I am considering contacting my credit card company for a reversal of charges.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gravity Products, LLC.

Nov 22, 2017

Hi Kathy,

My name is Amy, I work for the Gravity Blanket customer service team. Sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. I want to provide you with an update on shipping, all orders placed before November 1st will arrive in time for Christmas. Once you blanket ships you will receive an email confirmation with a tracking number.

We are very grateful for your support of Gravity and appreciate your patience. If you have any other questions please reach out to our customer service team at contact@gravityblankets.com. Thank you, Amy.

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2018

I ordered 2, got 1 almost 5 months later. I have never received the 2nd one.

By BJ Lang, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I have written a dozen emails to Gravity (no phone number ANYWHERE) after ordering two blankets in the beginning of September 2017. After several emails, I finally received ONE just days before Christmas. I have never received my second blanket. I paid $250 for each, POST Kickstarter.

Is there a civil suit somewhere that I can join?

I continue to send unanswered emails. I'm livid. I have messaged and posted repeatedly on their Twitter site and Facebook page. They simply DO NOT CARE.

DO NOT order from this company!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 15, 2018

This company is a scam!

By Christy Spearman, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a Gravity Blanket in October 2017. I paid in full with my credit card. It is now April 2018. No Gravity Blanket. I received an email in December stating that my Gravity Blanket was on its way. I never received it. I've got a request into my Visa to get a refund, we'll see if that happens.

Do NOT do business with Gravity Blanket, they like and steal your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2017

Never received it

By Anna Andersen, Hawaii, Verified Reviewer

The density blanket never even made it to my address, it sat at FedEx with shipping dates constantly changing. I paid $300 for it and now it's being shipped back to China. I'm requesting a refund. False advertisement, poorly executed, and I'm out $300 as of today.

I would not recommend this to anyone. I hope they honor their customers and give me a refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2018

Scam! Never received and no response.

By Lori L, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this blanket over 11 months ago. Despite numerous attempts to contact them over the last almost year, I’ve neither received a response (other than their mass emails saying they’re coming) nor do I have my blanket. I lost almost $200. BEWARE!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 28, 2018

Worst customer service ever!

By Becca Niday, Oregon, Verified Reviewer

While a Gravity Blanket is a great thing (I ended up getting mine from Mosaic - amazing company), the company GravityBlanket.com has the absolute WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ever. No way to communicate with them. Multiple emails went unanswered. No packing slip in the box. No return address given for returns. No response from multiple for a request for the return address. If I had the choice of doing business with these people or a root canal with no anesthesia, I would choose the root canal in an instant. Most frustrating purchasing experience I ever had (can you tell?!). Do yourself a favor and choose another company because the Blanket idea is genius.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 23, 2018

Took my money, but never sent blanket

By Melissa R., Austin, TX , Verified Reviewer

This blanket, that Gravity Blanket that they claim to have, doesn't reduce stress, it only adds to your stress. This company is scamming people. They scammed me out of $250. I selected to pay with my PayPal account and selected to be paid after delivery, and they never delivered it, but they sure took my money really fast! I placed the order in January and here it is April 17th, 2018, and I have nothing. THEY rarely respond to my emails, and if they do, they simply say there is nothing they can do about it. I ask several questions, and I get no answers. I ask them for a phone number, and they said they don't have a phone number for service. SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2018

If you got scammed do a credit card chargeback

By Andy Fang, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Crappy product, and they will not agree to a refund. Beads will run to the side, so it feels like a regular blanket, not a weighted one. For $240 is this an utter scam.

Refunds are not an option despite what their Kickstarter promised. Do a chargeback if you bought one. Don't let them get away with this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2018

Do not buy from this company!

By Paul Vigar, Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

I ordered two Gravity Blankets in October. One 20-pound for my girlfriend and one 25-pound for myself.

I was charged in October when the order was placed. I believe it was some time in November when they sent an email saying that there would likely be delays but if you had ordered by a certain date (I ordered prior to this cut off) it would likely be delivered by Christmas.

Fast forward to the end of December. I get an email saying both my blankets have shipped. And they would be delivered on December 22nd. December 22nd comes, and I only get one item, the 20-pound blanket.

I emailed them about this and got no response.

About a week later, I followed up. All they said was that their system showed it was delivered and sent me my tracking number. They didn't address that in my email I said I only received one.

I keep going back and forth with them, getting lots of silence, and a couple of deflective responses. Finally, they tell me at the beginning of January that they won't be able to resolve my issue until early to mid-January (it was already early January). I decided to be patient, believing they would resolve it in that time frame.

I waited until the end of January (the 29th) to follow up again. Rather frustrated, demanding my blanket or a refund. It has been seven days, and I have no response thus far. I filed a request for a refund on PayPal.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 13, 2018

Horrible

By Amelia R, New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

Well, to start off, the blankets were supposed to ship in October, but mine didn't ship until the 3rd of February when I was told I would have it much sooner. The beads move around far too much. The blanket is not the size they listed but a smaller version than what's on the website; it's actually 68x46 not 72x48. I am 5'5" and it's not big enough.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

Gravity Blanket scam?

By Tom Kerr, Omaha, NE, Verified Reviewer

Suffice it to say, every negative review about poor customer service and returns from Gravity Blanket has also happened to us going back to October 2017. The matter is still being contested as of this writing (March 2018). It is impossible to speak to a human being at the company, and email responses are pure delaying tactics. We have provided them with written confirmation from UPS that the product has been delivered and accepted by them and they still have not sent a refund for the product or the shipping.

The company needs to be investigated by the authorities so future consumers can be protected.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2018

Be warned, don’t buy it!

By Mary W., Metro Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

I would have provided zero stars if it was an option.

I loved the idea of this blanket. I ordered it through the Kickstarter program. It was a long time coming, and when it finally arrived, I put the box aside for this season. Opening the box last night was the biggest purchase disappointment to date!

First, I was expecting (and paid for) a queen/king sized blanket. $250. What I received was not large enough to cover a single bed. Secondly, it was poorly packed, and there were no instructions. Though the duvet covered the weighted part, it wasn’t secured. It took some time to unzip the duvet, find ties and loops and put it together. The zipper is poorly made and sewn in, such that it will seem impossible to launder.

I contacted customer service and expressed my disappointment at their product, and though the response was timely, it appeared to be a prepared automatic response that, among other unhelpful things, told me they are working on a queen-sized version. Why was I not notified and asked if a smaller size would work for me? I would have shipped it back to the manufacturer, telling them to keep it, but refuse to spend another cent on the fiasco.

Do not purchase this item!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 15, 2018

Draconian return policy

By S Miller, San Mateo, CA, Verified Reviewer

I received my Gravity Blanket and opened the bag to try it out. I felt it was too heavy and contacted them to return it. They told me if you open the bag, you can't return the item. I find that pretty outrageous.

The return policy is buried in fine print and should be prominent in the order process. The Gravity Blanket didn't help me relax or sleep; it actually kept me awake longer than normal. I don't have a big issue with that because everyone is different, but I have a huge issue with the non-return policy. They say you can return the Gravity Blanket if you don't open the packaging/bag, but how else is a person going to know whether it is suitable or not?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 5, 2018

Do not buy from this company

By Susan R., Lewiston, NY, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a blanket in May 2017 from Kickstarter, and I have yet to receive it. They created a UPS tracking number in October, but UPS has no record of it in their system. They changed the size of the blanket (it’s now smaller) but did not offer their backers a way out of the purchase if this no longer suited their needs.

Their customer service dept gives canned responses to our protests. They have refused me a refund because I ordered through Kickstarter, yet there are some others who ordered through Kickstarter that have received a refund. They expect us to receive the blanket, then pay high shipping costs to return it for a refund. Keep in mind, it hasn’t been shipped yet.

The product is defective per some people who have received it. Run, run, run in the opposite direction if you run into anyone associated with Gravity Blanket. I strongly suggest you do a Google search for the names involved.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 26, 2017

Never got it

By Diane Mc5, Kaneohe, HI, Verified Reviewer

I would love to review my Gravity Blanket. However, I have never received it. I backed it as a Kickstarter on April 2017 to the tune of $169. Seeing people who ordered in the fall get their blankets is very frustrating.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2017

Shady, shady, shady

By Shari U, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I am one of the backers of this project that was on Kickstarter earlier this year. I paid for this blanket back in May. It's nearly January and still no blanket.

This company continues to advertise and sell these blankets from their website as well as through Sleep Number, and I have seen people buying and receiving blankets from these sources before most of the backers have received anything! They keep pushing back the dates as we were first promised the product in the fall, then it was postponed until before the holidays, now they say by the end of January. We all gave these people money to begin the project. We should have been FIRST in line to receive what we paid for!

They also changed the size of the blanket without telling anyone! So we all paid for a larger blanket than will be shipped, if that ever happens. You try to contact them, and they ignore you. They will not issue any refunds to those who have requested that option. This is out of hand. The blankets may or may not be nice (likely won't ever find out) but I will NOT give this company, with horrible business practices, any of my money ever again and people should be cautioned. They clearly do not care about their customers, especially the ones who helped get this idea off the ground.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 12, 2018

Say no to Gravity blankets. A bunch of crooks!

By Niyati Mehta, New York, Verified Reviewer

DON'T BUY. Seriously, you'll thank me.

I bought mine in August and was excited. I finally got it around the 20th of December (which was a huge wait, and I was charged in August itself, so it's not like they charged me when they finally sent it out for delivery). I had it a couple of nights before I tried it 3 nights later. New York was going through an arctic freeze, and it was really cold, the perfect time to try the product.

It was WAY too hot and short, so my legs stuck out! I mean, if it's that hot in the winter, summer would be ridiculous.

So I wrote to them on the 23rd that I wanted to send it back and requested a refund, as I tried to try the product for one night, but could not go past maybe 2 hours! They said they were busy then, and that I should write back in February, which I did. Come February, they refuse to give me a refund. They said they give refunds only if the product has not been used! And it is still in the bag, unopened. I don't know about you but, I am not in the habit of buying something just to return it.

Who does that?! Who has a policy to not give refunds if a customer is not happy with the purchase and responses in a timely fashion? Well, people who don't stand behind their own product, that's who.

So do yourself a favor, and don't buy something a company themselves does not stand behind.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 13, 2018

Bad customer service

By Flora Fiorillo, San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Hi everyone. I wanted to try the Gravity Blanket, so I spent the money hoping it was worth it. I got the 15 pounds version of it.

I asked customer service to change the shipping address and they didn't. Luckily I was still at my old address when the blanket arrived.

This product didn't work for me.

Their return policy is absurd for such a pricey product. Now I am stuck with something that takes a LOT of space, and I'm out $350. Please see below:

Items must be returned unopened (in their original bag - you can open your box) and undamaged, just like you received them.

Returns made within 7 days of delivery date will be issued a full refund in the form of original payment. Returns made within 8-14 days will be issued as future credit for Gravity products.

If your item(s) has a manufacturing defect or damage you can return within 30 days of purchase for an exchange.

Please note that customers will bear the responsibility of return shipping costs, and should address returns to the warehouse address listed on your shipping label.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 6, 2018

Worst experience I've ever had!

By Ryan, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

Follow the other one-star reviews, don’t buy this product. Stephanie from the customer service line has been by far some of the worst interactions with a business I’ve ever had! Don’t go through the same mistake I did.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2018

Gravity Blanket - NOT worth the money!

By Nicole Willing, Geneva, IL, Verified Reviewer

The product was not worth the wait. Not at all what we expected; much smaller than anticipated (no dimensions provided) and the "weight" shifts in the blanket. Extremely disappointing!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 16, 2018

Gravity Blanket has a Chemical Smell

By Jeff F., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I just received my Gravity Blanket. The First thing I noticed was the odd smell. I am going to return it if Customer service replies back. I am not that picky but a blanket should not be off gassing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2017

Shady company

By Alexis Puckett, Minot, ND, Verified Reviewer

I backed the project in May, just a few weeks before it was fully funded. I have yet to receive my blanket. People that have purchased theirs, at full price, through the Gravity or Sleep Number website have received theirs. The people who have gotten them have mentioned that it's not the size that was originally promised. When that was brought up to the creator and the company, they just made contradictory claims and basically said "oh well."

Run, don't walk, far away from this company! They won't offer refunds, and most people can't even file a chargeback with their bank because it's been ALMOST A YEAR since it was purchased.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 31, 2017

Stay far away from Gravity

By Amy Cotton, Tacoma, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this (two of them, actually) through Kickstarter in May 2017. It is now December 29th and I’ve received NOTHING, not even one of those phony tracking numbers they’ve been using to try to pacify the customers.

I actually don’t even want it anymore. They’ve significantly reduced the size from 78” to 72”, although I’ve seen photos on Twitter and Facebook of people getting blankets as short as 68”. I would never have given them my money if they had been honest and upfront about the size. The 78” was a major factor in my decision to place an order.

I’ve asked to cancel, but my emails and tweets are ignored. The short answer seems to be that Kickstarter purchasers are out of luck. I might get a blanket someday, and I have no idea how short it will be.

The people behind Gravity Blankets are not people I’d recommend doing business with.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2018

Do not support Gravity - they don't care about you

By Veronica Yanxie, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I ordered my Gravity Blanket back in October, and I can safely say this is some of the worst customer service I've had in a long time. There were a ton of issues, but it really ultimately boiled down to poor communication and stringing their customers along.

For those who don't want to read my whole experience, this is basically their formula for dealing with customers:

-TIME OF PURCHASE: Transaction goes through, they send you a promised delivery date (i.e., you will receive your blanket by the holidays).

- IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE YOUR PURCHASE IN TIME: No communication. No one will tell you what's happening. In order to get an update of any sort, you need to go on their website and use the chat system to contact them (Intercom).

- CONNECTING WITH THEIR REPS: Their reps are bound by templated emails, which I'm assuming they are not allowed to tailor to responses. Don't expect them to help with your unique situation.

- DEALING WITH YOUR MISSED DELIVERY DATE: The rep will likely tell you something about them having way too many orders and offer you a new delivery date (mine was the end of January 2018). If you agree, that will be the end of the interaction.

- REQUESTING A REFUND: If you ask for a refund, they will counter with an offer to refund 10% of your purchase for your trouble. I highly recommend going to this stage first, as they don't seem to offer any compensation for their mistakes and issues unless you threaten them with this.

- ACTUALLY GETTING A REFUND: If you insist on a refund, you'll get it. At least I did - no real apology beyond the template or anything. Remember, you are a pawn to them.

Here's my actual experience:

Once I placed my initial order, I received a notice that I would receive my order by the holidays. I started a customer support thread with their representative, Kristi, who assured me that my order would arrive by the promised date. That never happened.

I sent a rather frustrated email to Kristi, who sent another email saying that they were backlogged and would have it delivered by end of January. I let them know that I would hold them to that date, and if they did not fulfill their promise, I would be pursuing a refund.

This is where I realized that Gravity's customer service reps do not actually tailor their email responses to each individual customer. In fact, every email I have received from Gravity was a templated message which did not quite fit my inquiry. My above message was responded to with a message, essentially saying "I see you want a refund. Have a $25 (10%) refund on us for your troubles." That's not what I was asking for. This happened a lot during our back and forth conversations over the months.

Ultimately, they never did deliver by the end of January, and I demanded a refund. They unceremoniously gave it to me and went on their way.

TL;DR The company does not provide updates on your order unless you badger them. They will only provide templated responses to your questions. If you threaten a refund, they will offer your 10% back on your purchase to stop you from leaving. Ultimately, they have not delivered on any of their promised delivery dates.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 50

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.