About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.

What do you think? Did you buy Green Gobbler and it worked as promise or did it just “gobble” up your wallet? Let us know.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Green Gobbler

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 1 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awesome product

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried everything to un-clogg my bathroom sink drain. Vinegar and baking soda, extra long snake, Liquid Drano, etc., and nothing worked. I went to Home Depot and saw a display of Green Gobbler. It cost me $9.99, so I said, "what do I have to lose other than 10 bucks?"

    So I poured the 1st pack down, waited and nothing happened for 6 hours. So then I poured the 2nd package down and left it overnight as per the instructions on the box. In the morning, my bathroom sink was completely clear, and as a result, a huge backwash of pipe junk shot up through the pipes into my shower stall. Oh boy, now my shower drain was clogged, hmm. So I used a plunger and cleared the shower drain manually. I did clear the shower drain and did not need to use my 3rd package in any way.

    So in my experience, I have to say Green Gobbler worked for me and definitely saved me $200 + to hire a plumber. Thank you Green Gobbler. I do recommend this product and will definitely use it again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler worked for me.

    • Dearborn, MI,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Green Gobbler in a retail store as my kitchen sink was badly backed up. I used one bag, and it didn't clear the drain. I used a second bag as recommended for stubborn blockage and it worked quite quickly. I paid $10 for three bags, which was way, way cheaper than calling a plumber.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Did nothing

    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I prayed and it worked!

    Before trying, I YouTubed videos and found the original demo helpful, so I bought it. My tub was backed up, and I finally got it to go down at a snail pace by plunging and shop-facing the drain debris that surfaced in the dark water. I followed the instructions and video. I made sure I only put enough boiling water onto the powder until it cleared. I waited half an hour and poured boiling water down. Still a snail pace.

    Then with my fresh pair of maintenance eyes and plumbing theory thinking, I concluded that the clog just might be a double or triple clog. In our bathroom, the sink, tub, and toilet are all connected making way to the stack. My sink was draining slow when large amounts of water were added. So I decided to go from the other side and treat the sink. I treated the sink and flushed both the tub and sink with buckets of hot water. Just then the sink water went down so fast and my tub water followed with it. I also treated my toilet with the third pack and that opened up my drain even more. With the three packs provided, I was able to treat all three drains that connected together to get the job DONE.

    P.S. I was patient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The Green Gobbler

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was seeking something effective to unclog hair from my bathroom shower stall. It was recommended by one of the sales staff at my local Home Depot for its effectiveness yet gentleness on the pipes, etc. I followed the instructions as outlined, however, two packs didn't do the trick. However, the third pack did along with some light plunging.

    Overall, it's a little pricey, but it did work, and there were hardly any smell or discoloration of the drain. I would use it again and recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ingredients

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just poured it into a clogged (slowly drains) toilet, so there are no results yet. I'm writing about the one listed ingredient, and I'll return after letting this sit overnight.

    The three-pack tube that I bought at Home Depot for $9.99 lists only "monosodium sulfate and other non-hazardous ingredients." Good luck Googling that chemical. The best I could come up with was in relation to hair conditioner, of all things: "Monosodium sulfate, also called sodium bisulfate, is a mild nontoxic acid, most likely there as a pH-balancer."

    That was written by someone just like you or me, a guy offering an opinion.

    I suspect it IS a very weak acid that slowly ("overnight") eats away at organic clogs. It's probably similar to boric acid, which is so weak that it's used directly in eyes to treat pink eye.

    I'll come back tomorrow with results. I'm clicking that I wouldn't recommend this because a click is required to post this. I rated it three stars for the same reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Michael M

      UPDATE on 8/24/17: Left two doses in the toilet overnight. Nothing. I followed the instructions and added one more bag and waited overnight. Nothing. Then, drained the water and scooped out the undissolved powder. Later, I added one dose of evil chemical drain opener. Ten minutes later had a cleared clog.

      This stuff is weak enough to brush your teeth with.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Maryville, TN,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased this yesterday, August 5th, at Home Depot and used all three packs and it does not work! Wasted ten dollars. Very disappointed! Does not do what it says and it will not touch a hair in the drain. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worked better than any other product tried

    I had a slow drain in the kitchen sink since I moved into my apartment. Recently, the bathroom sink started slowing too. I put this (one packet) in the kitchen sink, left for six hours and flushed with boiling water. It must've worked its way through the pipes because both drains were cleared within hours of flushing the kitchen drain. Oh, I did not notice any kind of funky smell and my apartment was closed up overnight while it was working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works good

    The product worked good for us. Our house is a very old family house with a septic tank. We replaced the tank and drain field about a year ago but haven't gotten to replacing the drain lines in the crawlspace. So needless to say, years of build up and adding new build up has led to slow drains and the occasional hairball clogged shower drain. I added the product to the shower and tub drains and to the sink drains and to my surprise after they were flushed out, the drainage was great.

    WARNING. This stuff stinks horribly! It smells of sulfuric acid/rotten eggs. But it works, and the smell goes away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler worked for us!

    Our double-basin stainless steel kitchen sinks backed up, and traditional unclogging methods didn't work to dislodge the clog.

    Drāno didn't work, and removing the P-trap and snaking the drain from the inside didn't work.

    Snaking the drain at the clean-out port outside with both a regular drain snake and multiple attempts with a friend's power snake didn't appear to work either (nor did multiple attempts to flush the line with water from a water hose), but our friend saw a single dose (8.25 oz) packet of Green Gobbler when shopping for an extension part for his power snake, and he picked one up for us. Because our clog had been so persistent, we skipped the initial Instructions for Use, and we went straight to the instructions that read:

    Note: For tough clogs, use 2nd Pac and let stand in drain overnight, then flush with plenty of hot water. (For best results, use boiling water, if possible.)

    I called my husband this morning and asked if the Green Gobbler had been effective. I believe his words were, "Hot damn!" He said he'd poured about 10 gallons of boiling water (who knew we had that many containers for boiling water?) down the drain, and it hadn't shown any sign of backing up. He later told me that he'd also run cold water for several minutes, and that didn't appear to back up, either.

    So, at least for now, it appears that the clog was dissolved and that we don't need to contact the water district or call a plumbing company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review