About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.

What do you think? Did you buy Green Gobbler and it worked as promise or did it just “gobble” up your wallet? Let us know.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 45 Green Gobbler Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 24 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 62% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • Oh, yeah! Great results.

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have grandchildren and a daughter that go through a roll of toilet paper in a day. I don't skimp either. Due to this, my toilet had a clog from hell. I plunged and snaked my clogged toilet for over an hour. I was desperate for any kind of help.

    After my family left, I took a trip to my hardware store to find a solution. The ONLY thing on the shelf that stated it was for toilet use (everything else touted drains), was Green Gobbler. The name sounded gross, so I figure it had a gross job to do, and I purchased it.

    I came home, put a bag into the toilet, which was still clogged and the water level (and stuff) was almost to the top. I waited for about 30 minutes and plunged again. PRESTO! I heard that beloved gurgling sound as the whole bowl emptied.

    At $11.99 for 3 packets, it beat the heck out of a $150 plumber.

    I can't say it would work all the time for every occurance, but it did wonders for me. I am getting some for my daughter's home today. I have 2 packets left and will let you know if they produce the same outcome. Thanks Green Gobbler (sounds like a superhero and works like one!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Exceeded my expectations big time!

    • Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a small background in plumbing from a few years ago, so with that, I can do most handy work related to it, as well as do small plumbing jobs during renovations.

    My sink slowly stopped draining until it was clogged solid, I went to go spend $25 on a drain auger and happened to see Green Gobbler sitting right beside it on display for $12, I figured I’ll buy them both, try the Green Gobbler, and if it worked I could return the auger.

    I had my doubts though and assumed it was a scam. So I got home and poured a pack in the drain, let it set for 45 minutes and then used hot water. Low and behold it actually was draining a bit faster. With that I had hope. So I said to myself, I’ll put one more pack in and let it sit overnight. The next morning I boiled a pot of hot water and dumped it in the drain. Next thing I know it’s making a loud sucking noise as it vacuums the water in the sink down the drain at about the same speed as an F1 car passing by.

    I HIGHLY recommend this stuff for small clogs in your own home or empty rental units. The only downside is that it works best with the more time it’s left to sit, so not ideal to use to unclog a tenant's drains when they have kids and NEED to be able to use their drains.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    10 thumbs up!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My basement tub sink was very slow to drain. Then it stopped draining completely. I couldn't wash clothes. I went to Home Depot and bought the liquid Green Gobbler. I went shopping, came back and poured hot water in the drain, water went down immediately.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler is excellent

    • Massapequa, NY,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought several products in the Green Gobbler line. I can honestly say that I have never once been disappointed. I have bought the drain packs, the powder plunger, drain sticks and dissolve. All have done what they say. I really feel like this an innovative and cutting edge company. They have saved me thousands in repair bills at this point, being that I use the products at home, business and rental properties. Very simple directions and takes the guesswork out of using it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Doylestown, OH,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My shower drain clogs all the time, so I tried Green Gobbler as directed and to my surprise, it worked as advertised. I poured the product in the drain and followed directions and the clog was gone. Also used in my kitchen sink because it was slow draining and smelling and it took care of the clog and smell. My dishwasher clogged up and there was standing water and overflowing onto the kitchen floor. I poured the correct amount of liquid Green Gobbler into the bottom of the dishwasher and came back a little later and the standing water was gone. What a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Crap!

    • New Hartford, NY,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very unsatisfied. A slow drain is now completely stopped! Have spent hours trying to clear it. I can't afford a plumber and now our tub is unusable. Completely disgusted. I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Plugged up loo

    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using a plunger, snake, vinegar and baking soda, and dish soap, I finally went to Home Depot and bought the Green Gobbler. One treatment and letting it sit with a lot of hot water and no need for a plumber. So glad we found out about this stuff. Five stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Made it so much worse

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My kitchen sink was clogged and starting to back up, so I started pouring baking soda and vinegar and boiling water down the drains for a couple of days. The clog was starting to go away very very slowly, so I decided to go to the store and get a product that would solve the problem and remove the clog.

    I used this stuff as directed and it was WORSE THEN EVER. The clog was 10 times worse than in the beginning. Instead of taking an hour to drain, my sink took three days to drain the tiniest puddle of water. Running anything into either sink, it would immediately back up as if there was a plug in the sink.

    I went back to using vinegar and it finally began clearing after a few days, and then like an idiot I decided to use a second package like it recommended. My sink took over a week to drain anything and I needed to call a plumber. This product took what was the beginnings of an annoying clog and turned it into DEVIL DRAINS that would not let any water through at all. Destroyed my kitchen drains. I hate this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler works

    • Maryland,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a serious clog in my bathtub and sink. I purchased both the Green Gobbler liquid and granules. I scooped out most of the backed-up water from the tub and poured the granules down the drain. It was difficult getting the granules down the sink, and so I used the liquid. I left them for about 4 hours; boiled about 2 gallons of water and slowly poured it down the sink and tub, then I followed this with more hot water from the pipes. Problem solved! I plan to use it every six months or so to keep the drains flushed. I'm very happy with the product. Using boiling water helped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worked like a charm!

    • Texas,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While taking a shower, I heard my commode making a "gurgle" noise. I knew what was wrong from the same issue back in July. I paid a plumber $120 to snake my line out. After the recent major flooding in the Hill Country, we were without water for a day. Half water pressure the next day and still on boil notice. I HAD to shower this morning. Once I realized we had a clog once again, I thought we would need to call a plumber. With all of the damage from the flood, getting someone out would be difficult.

    I went to the Ace Hardware here in Kingsland, Texas. Told the employee what was going on. He and his wife had a similar issue caused from toilet paper. He suggested this product and I bought it.

    I came home to start working on clearing the line around 6 pm. The first time didn't work. Kept dumping hot water. Husband got an ogger and was able to break things loose, but it was still a slow drain in our grinder pump. I had poured another packet down the tub with more hot water (against my husband's wishes because he didn't think it was working). We finally gave up and I called a plumber to come the next morning at 7:48 pm.

    Around 8:50, I went into the bathroom and noticed the toilet was completely empty of water. I gave it a flush and it went "whoosh!" I was excited and yelled at my husband that I think it worked! He came in, we turned on ALL of the faucets in BOTH bathrooms. Sinks, tub, shower stall...EVERYTHING with HOT water. They were draining with NO problem. The hubby told me to go out to the grinder pump and on a count of "10," he would flush the toilet. I ran out, water was already flowing A LOT and when he flushed the toilet, it was a wave of water that came out, and the water was totally CLEAR!

    I sent a text to the plumber to tell him he could sleep in tomorrow because it seemed the problem got fixed.

    I would HIGHLY recommend this product! Everyone's situation will be different. Don't give up, give it time to work. It saved us a $145.00 service call from the plumber!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 12 people found this review helpful

    What the heck?

    • Oregon,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried using this month's ago for a clogged toilet. I have two kids, so I figured they put an excessive amount in the toilet. It did nothing! Literally! Six months later, my toilet overflowed with foam bubbles at 3 am, and it filled my entire bathroom. A small clog did come out, but the toilet is worse than ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review