About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.

What do you think? Did you buy Green Gobbler and it worked as promise or did it just “gobble” up your wallet? Let us know.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

41 Consumer Reviews for Green Gobbler

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 59% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Great product. Recommend it.

    • Texas,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I just Used Green Gobbler it was great. When I saw on it TV, I ordered three packages and it was great. It was really a nice experience to use it. Great product. Definitely recommend it for others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2014

      Tex,

      I don't buy anything sold by Telebrands.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Gobbling up your clogged dirt

    • Texas,
    • Sep 16, 2014

    Sudden clogging of sinks, showers etc. makes life very miserable. You will particularly agree with me if you have been in any such situation. For such issues, the manufacturers of green gobbler has brought a real good deal for those of us who suffers. The price is only $10 for 3 packages + $6.99 for delivery cost. The package amount is refundable should you ever change your mind about using green gobbler.

    Before listening to any negative comments, if you can afford it and if you need it of course, you should try one and see if it works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Carson, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    I love this product. I have used it on my shower drain and also my laundry drain. I had water backing up on both and I used as directed and it really work just like it said. I would recommend this product to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler

    • Santee, CA,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    This stuff works great. To the person that gave it a one star rating -- read the directions. Once it happened to me, having it clog up. That's because I left it in there too long. It says 15 minutes. Yes it puts out a smell, but after it does its job it goes away. If the smell doesn't go away put another one in. I've never used a better drain cleaner then "Green Gobbler". I'm sold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Hard to believe

    • Sun City, Arizona,
    • Aug 30, 2015

    Tried this product out of desperation as most other drain openers are useless. Pleasantly surprised as the drain opened. Bought mine at Home Depot for $9.95. Well worth the money since it worked. I have literally poured lots of money "down the drain" using other products over the years. This is my choice from now on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Drain cleared!

    • Oct 1, 2015

    This is unbelievable. Finally something that works. Not sure how it did it in only 20 minutes. Great job Green Gobbler. I'll definitely use this on a regular basis. Much easier than cleaning the drains the old fashioned way. BTW, the smell is not as bad as everyone says.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Branson, MO,
    • Oct 3, 2015

    I have had to have a plumber come twice a year for the last 13 years. My mother in law bought this from QVC and the first time I used it it was a blessing. I highly recommend this product. Have not seen a plumber in 2 years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Works

    • New Castle DE,
    • Oct 21, 2015

    Toilet clogged, no water passes. Tried electric snake, plungers, Drano, Liquid Plumber and with no success. Used the Green Gobbler, 2 packets, followed instructions, flushed with a bucket of scalding water the following afternoon, clog gone, good flush.

    Yes, it does work despite others reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff!

    • Roseburg, OR,
    • Dec 14, 2015

    We used this on a drain that had been clogged for so long that we had tried everything. We left the mean green stuff overnight and voila has worked perfectly ever since. Recently we had a toilet that backed up so we put the Green Gobbler in it and were back on line in no time. I swear by this stuff and use it as a good preventive, put half a pack in sink drains with boiling water and keeps them all running smoothly. This stuff does work! Thanks

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler worked for us!

    Our double-basin stainless steel kitchen sinks backed up, and traditional unclogging methods didn't work to dislodge the clog.

    Drāno didn't work, and removing the P-trap and snaking the drain from the inside didn't work.

    Snaking the drain at the clean-out port outside with both a regular drain snake and multiple attempts with a friend's power snake didn't appear to work either (nor did multiple attempts to flush the line with water from a water hose), but our friend saw a single dose (8.25 oz) packet of Green Gobbler when shopping for an extension part for his power snake, and he picked one up for us. Because our clog had been so persistent, we skipped the initial Instructions for Use, and we went straight to the instructions that read:

    Note: For tough clogs, use 2nd Pac and let stand in drain overnight, then flush with plenty of hot water. (For best results, use boiling water, if possible.)

    I called my husband this morning and asked if the Green Gobbler had been effective. I believe his words were, "Hot damn!" He said he'd poured about 10 gallons of boiling water (who knew we had that many containers for boiling water?) down the drain, and it hadn't shown any sign of backing up. He later told me that he'd also run cold water for several minutes, and that didn't appear to back up, either.

    So, at least for now, it appears that the clog was dissolved and that we don't need to contact the water district or call a plumbing company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worked better than any other product tried

    I had a slow drain in the kitchen sink since I moved into my apartment. Recently, the bathroom sink started slowing too. I put this (one packet) in the kitchen sink, left for six hours and flushed with boiling water. It must've worked its way through the pipes because both drains were cleared within hours of flushing the kitchen drain. Oh, I did not notice any kind of funky smell and my apartment was closed up overnight while it was working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review