• 55 Customer Reviews
  • 53% Recommend This Company
3.1 out of 5
5 star: 45% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 9% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 36%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scam - Don't waste your money

    • By Lisa,
    • Birginia,
    • Feb 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We used it and the only thing it did was form a solid blockage in our pipe. We went from slow drainage to no drainage! My husband had to take the pipe off and dig the junk out, all while breathing the fumes they claim are not from their product but a result of it eating the stuff in your clogged pipe. Bull! 6 hours later and we still smell it, and my husband has to constantly clear his throat. What cleaner have you ever used that tells you if the smell is too much to take-open your other drains and flush your toilet? And ventilate your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ineffective

    • By Gayle,
    • G_hawk_eyes@hotmail.com,
    • Jan 6, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    The four star rating on here are from the company that makes the product. I used this product on my toilet and like the other negative reviews, found that the powder simply collected and clumped at the bottom of the toilet. Even with hot water, the substance was nearly insoluble. It took several gallons of boiling water to dislodge the plug it made, and I'm fearful of the problems it has caused in places I can't see. I'm sure 5 glowing aggressive reviews will follow directing me to "read the instructions" as if that was the issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • By Rick Mac,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Strong terrible smell

    • By Trina,
    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • By Olga M,
    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Suzanne ,
    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I work for Home Depot and have seen the the Green Gobbler video over and over talking about how wonderful it is.

    So when my shower started draining slowly, I decided to purchase some and give it a try. I tried a pack, left it in for 30 minutes and ran hot water down it and NOTHING, no change.

    A couple of days later thought I'd give it another chance and use boiling water, like they recommend. NOTHING!

    Don't waste your money and time on this crap!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Drain still clogged

    • By Rick,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Went to Home Depot, saw this stuff, figured I'd give it a try. Ended up using all 3 packets with no avail, followed the directions, even gave it more time each time, and still had a clogged tub drain. I also noticed a very bad odor given off, smelled like raw sewage permeating through the house. Ended up back at Home Depot to buy my go to stuff that I know works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work

    • By Venessa,
    • Maryville, TN,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Purchased this yesterday, August 5th, at Home Depot and used all three packs and it does not work! Wasted ten dollars. Very disappointed! Does not do what it says and it will not touch a hair in the drain. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did nothing

    • By Ellen Kirwin,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be prepared to spend hours and money cleaning out a stain.

    Overall Experience:

    I used half a packet in first the sink and half a packet in the tub/shower. I poured in the product and waited half an hour, poured hot water in the sink, and went to get hot water for the tub. You would not believe the tub, it was brown; the bottom of the tub and up the sides to the overflow line. I've tried everything. The best results are Foaming Bubbles foaming bleach and scrubbing.

    I've spent 3 days trying to remove this stain. I believe that it is acid-etched as the tub was porous. I also believe that it had to be a gas to cover that much territory. I tried to call the only telephone number I could find, and no one answers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dangerous. Solidified inside pipe.

    • By Thomas Reed,
    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Dangerous product. Use at own risk. I had no sink for the weekend after using Green Gobbler.

    I used in my bathroom sink, which was running a bit slow. The product turned to concrete inside the pipe so no liquid of any kind would pass. I could not even snake it out myself and had to pay a plumber to come out and unclog. He almost had to take the pipe out but was just able to get it clear enough.

    Worst was yet to come. I contacted customer service about it four months ago, still no reimbursement. Initial calls and emails were not answered. After a while, I received automated messages, then finally a human. I was told 2-3 weeks for a claim. When that passed, I was then told the matter had to be handled by an outside insurance agency, and these cases were impossible to prove. I'm out $160 and had to deal with the initial disaster with no help.

    I can only state my experience, but it did not work, in fact, caused further problems that I never had to begin with. The company should stand behind their products and help out their customers. I was toyed with, then outright dismissed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Made it so much worse

    • By Echo M.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My kitchen sink was clogged and starting to back up, so I started pouring baking soda and vinegar and boiling water down the drains for a couple of days. The clog was starting to go away very very slowly, so I decided to go to the store and get a product that would solve the problem and remove the clog.

    I used this stuff as directed and it was WORSE THEN EVER. The clog was 10 times worse than in the beginning. Instead of taking an hour to drain, my sink took three days to drain the tiniest puddle of water. Running anything into either sink, it would immediately back up as if there was a plug in the sink.

    I went back to using vinegar and it finally began clearing after a few days, and then like an idiot I decided to use a second package like it recommended. My sink took over a week to drain anything and I needed to call a plumber. This product took what was the beginnings of an annoying clog and turned it into DEVIL DRAINS that would not let any water through at all. Destroyed my kitchen drains. I hate this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap!

    • By Karrie L.,
    • New Hartford, NY,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very unsatisfied. A slow drain is now completely stopped! Have spent hours trying to clear it. I can't afford a plumber and now our tub is unusable. Completely disgusted. I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Negative

    • By Andrea F.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tried product as recommended and it does not at all work. Waste of money, plus how can you return it dissatisfied if you don't use it? Lousy, lousy, lousy, lousy, lousy, smelly, smelly smells of sulfur.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This does not work

    • By Patricia F.,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a two-pack of 3 packages. Tried 3 times per directions. Bathroom sink. Could not be a "bad" block. Did not work at all. Worthless. Waste of $21.00! Never again. I will not recommend this product to anyone. I will try another national brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did not work...do not buy...zero stars!

    • By Manetta C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Dec 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Purchased Green Gobbler Power Plunger. Used as directed. Did not work! Also, I bought it because it said GUARANTEED! However, if it's open...no money back...I read that part after I used it and it DIDN'T WORK! DO NOT BUY. TERRIBLE guarantee! How will you know if it works or not if you DO NOT use it?! SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where? Does nothing!

    • By Diane G.,
    • Utica, NY,
    • Dec 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased Green Gobbler Drain Opener from QVC since I have a tough kitchen sink drain clog and it is supposed to be guaranteed to work. I specifically followed the directions but, the drain is still clogged, the product did absolutely nothing to unclog the drain.

    After using the product, I noticed that it discolored the inside of the sink drain. I had also used Green Gobbler in my bathroom sink because the water was going down slowly but, Green Gobbler did not work. Nonetheless, the bathroom sink has a mechanism above the drain that rises up and down when the lever on the faucet is pressed if you want to fill the sink with water. The mechanism is a deep bronze color, which matches the faucet but, after using Green Gobbler, it removed the bronze color from the mechanism and now the mechanism is a brass color.

    Throughout the years, I have used drain uncloggers and none of them have ever caused any damage. I am very disappointed not only because the drain is still clogged but, because of the damages the product caused in my two sinks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is useless

    • By Pat B.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This has got to be the worst drain cleaner for any amount of money. I have used 2 packs gallons of hot water and still it's clogged. You people are making money scamming people. This stuff should be taken off of the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This product is useless.

    • By Pauline E.,
    • Pembrokeshire, Wales, United Kingdom,
    • Apr 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought this last week hoping it would unblock my toilet, followed the instructions carefully, left it overnight as suggested, flushed the toilet the next morning, result - nothing! Toilet is still blocked and I’ve wasted money on a completely useless product?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not helpful

    • By Michelle L.,
    • Illinois,
    • Apr 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Not only did this product not un-clog my kitchen drain problem, but when trying to get a refund from the company so far after 2 and 1/2 weeks I have had no luck. In addition to not yet getting my refund I went on a chat page with the company and so so rudely spoken to and berated from customer service manager Anthony Ferraro that I can't believe he even holds that position. He is a terrible choice for representation of customer service for this company. I started out asking for an updated status on my refund as it has been 2 weeks since I completed my refund form as asked. When Anthony came into the chat he asked for my patience and said the process would be prolonged due to my lack of having a receipt and the COVID-19 crisis. He then went on to be even more nasty and say "maybe you have heard of it, it's going on in the country right now." It was completely uncalled for and very nasty. He continued to say things with attitude when I never said anything to him in such a manner. He then proceeded to say maybe I was projecting something onto him. I could not believe this man works in customer service. I will continue to pursue my rightful refund as they claim a money-back guarantee and I will never buy any products from this company or recommend to anyone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It didn't work

    • By Kara P,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 10, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this for my toilet, and to make a long story short,  it didn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What the heck?

    • By Misti E.,
    • Oregon,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried using this month's ago for a clogged toilet. I have two kids, so I figured they put an excessive amount in the toilet. It did nothing! Literally! Six months later, my toilet overflowed with foam bubbles at 3 am, and it filled my entire bathroom. A small clog did come out, but the toilet is worse than ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't work

    • By Brian D.,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read the reviews and I thought I would try it on my kitchen sink. Poured one container in and let it sit for 2 hours and then poured boiling water down the drain...NOTHING! So I poured the 2nd bottle in and let it sit overnight. In the morning I again poured boiling water down the drain. Didn't work AGAIN...so I'm trying a different product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TRY IT

    • By JP Y.,
    • California,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Try it, maybe it will work for you. It did not for me. Customer service sounded like he was on lunch and talking to me and still chewing his food. So unprofessional!! Now I have to go back to Home Depot for my refund, since it did not work for me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    Overall Experience:

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Smells like sewage

    • By Greg,
    • Eugene, Oregon ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The gal at Home Depot said this worked for her. I bought this not for a clogged drain but another problem: drain flies. These flies live in the muck in my shower drain. Never heard of them? Me neither.

    I couldn't wait for the mail order drain fly killer, so I used this green gobbler.

    It made the house smell like sewage. I thought the smell was from the muck it was destroying but now I learned that the smell is the product itself. I didn't really care though. It went away.

    However, I haven't seen anymore drain flies. So for me, I didn't have to call an exterminator and I am okay with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It works

    • By Nasty Nate,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 55

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Green Gobbler