About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order, you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Green Gobbler:
  • 55 Customer Reviews
  • 53% Recommend This Company
3.1 out of 5
5 star: 45% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 9% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 36%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Did nothing

    • By Ellen Kirwin,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • By Olga M,
    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap!

    • By Karrie L.,
    • New Hartford, NY,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very unsatisfied. A slow drain is now completely stopped! Have spent hours trying to clear it. I can't afford a plumber and now our tub is unusable. Completely disgusted. I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Did not work...do not buy...zero stars!

    • By Manetta C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Dec 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased Green Gobbler Power Plunger. Used as directed. Did not work! Also, I bought it because it said GUARANTEED! However, if it's open...no money back...I read that part after I used it and it DIDN'T WORK! DO NOT BUY. TERRIBLE guarantee! How will you know if it works or not if you DO NOT use it?! SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • By Rick Mac,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where? Does nothing!

    • By Diane G.,
    • Utica, NY,
    • Dec 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Green Gobbler Drain Opener from QVC since I have a tough kitchen sink drain clog and it is supposed to be guaranteed to work. I specifically followed the directions but, the drain is still clogged, the product did absolutely nothing to unclog the drain.

    After using the product, I noticed that it discolored the inside of the sink drain. I had also used Green Gobbler in my bathroom sink because the water was going down slowly but, Green Gobbler did not work. Nonetheless, the bathroom sink has a mechanism above the drain that rises up and down when the lever on the faucet is pressed if you want to fill the sink with water. The mechanism is a deep bronze color, which matches the faucet but, after using Green Gobbler, it removed the bronze color from the mechanism and now the mechanism is a brass color.

    Throughout the years, I have used drain uncloggers and none of them have ever caused any damage. I am very disappointed not only because the drain is still clogged but, because of the damages the product caused in my two sinks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dangerous. Solidified inside pipe.

    • By Thomas Reed,
    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dangerous product. Use at own risk. I had no sink for the weekend after using Green Gobbler.

    I used in my bathroom sink, which was running a bit slow. The product turned to concrete inside the pipe so no liquid of any kind would pass. I could not even snake it out myself and had to pay a plumber to come out and unclog. He almost had to take the pipe out but was just able to get it clear enough.

    Worst was yet to come. I contacted customer service about it four months ago, still no reimbursement. Initial calls and emails were not answered. After a while, I received automated messages, then finally a human. I was told 2-3 weeks for a claim. When that passed, I was then told the matter had to be handled by an outside insurance agency, and these cases were impossible to prove. I'm out $160 and had to deal with the initial disaster with no help.

    I can only state my experience, but it did not work, in fact, caused further problems that I never had to begin with. The company should stand behind their products and help out their customers. I was toyed with, then outright dismissed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Strong terrible smell

    • By Trina,
    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Made it so much worse

    • By Echo M.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My kitchen sink was clogged and starting to back up, so I started pouring baking soda and vinegar and boiling water down the drains for a couple of days. The clog was starting to go away very very slowly, so I decided to go to the store and get a product that would solve the problem and remove the clog.

    I used this stuff as directed and it was WORSE THEN EVER. The clog was 10 times worse than in the beginning. Instead of taking an hour to drain, my sink took three days to drain the tiniest puddle of water. Running anything into either sink, it would immediately back up as if there was a plug in the sink.

    I went back to using vinegar and it finally began clearing after a few days, and then like an idiot I decided to use a second package like it recommended. My sink took over a week to drain anything and I needed to call a plumber. This product took what was the beginnings of an annoying clog and turned it into DEVIL DRAINS that would not let any water through at all. Destroyed my kitchen drains. I hate this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This does not work

    • By Patricia F.,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a two-pack of 3 packages. Tried 3 times per directions. Bathroom sink. Could not be a "bad" block. Did not work at all. Worthless. Waste of $21.00! Never again. I will not recommend this product to anyone. I will try another national brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 55

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Green Gobbler