About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.

What do you think? Did you buy Green Gobbler and it worked as promise or did it just “gobble” up your wallet? Let us know.


Read 49 Green Gobbler Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 24 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 3 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 57% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Did nothing

    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Crap!

    • New Hartford, NY,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very unsatisfied. A slow drain is now completely stopped! Have spent hours trying to clear it. I can't afford a plumber and now our tub is unusable. Completely disgusted. I would NOT recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Strong terrible smell

    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous. Solidified inside pipe.

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dangerous product. Use at own risk. I had no sink for the weekend after using Green Gobbler.

    I used in my bathroom sink, which was running a bit slow. The product turned to concrete inside the pipe so no liquid of any kind would pass. I could not even snake it out myself and had to pay a plumber to come out and unclog. He almost had to take the pipe out but was just able to get it clear enough.

    Worst was yet to come. I contacted customer service about it four months ago, still no reimbursement. Initial calls and emails were not answered. After a while, I received automated messages, then finally a human. I was told 2-3 weeks for a claim. When that passed, I was then told the matter had to be handled by an outside insurance agency, and these cases were impossible to prove. I'm out $160 and had to deal with the initial disaster with no help.

    I can only state my experience, but it did not work, in fact, caused further problems that I never had to begin with. The company should stand behind their products and help out their customers. I was toyed with, then outright dismissed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worked like a charm!

    • Texas,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While taking a shower, I heard my commode making a "gurgle" noise. I knew what was wrong from the same issue back in July. I paid a plumber $120 to snake my line out. After the recent major flooding in the Hill Country, we were without water for a day. Half water pressure the next day and still on boil notice. I HAD to shower this morning. Once I realized we had a clog once again, I thought we would need to call a plumber. With all of the damage from the flood, getting someone out would be difficult.

    I went to the Ace Hardware here in Kingsland, Texas. Told the employee what was going on. He and his wife had a similar issue caused from toilet paper. He suggested this product and I bought it.

    I came home to start working on clearing the line around 6 pm. The first time didn't work. Kept dumping hot water. Husband got an ogger and was able to break things loose, but it was still a slow drain in our grinder pump. I had poured another packet down the tub with more hot water (against my husband's wishes because he didn't think it was working). We finally gave up and I called a plumber to come the next morning at 7:48 pm.

    Around 8:50, I went into the bathroom and noticed the toilet was completely empty of water. I gave it a flush and it went "whoosh!" I was excited and yelled at my husband that I think it worked! He came in, we turned on ALL of the faucets in BOTH bathrooms. Sinks, tub, shower stall...EVERYTHING with HOT water. They were draining with NO problem. The hubby told me to go out to the grinder pump and on a count of "10," he would flush the toilet. I ran out, water was already flowing A LOT and when he flushed the toilet, it was a wave of water that came out, and the water was totally CLEAR!

    I sent a text to the plumber to tell him he could sleep in tomorrow because it seemed the problem got fixed.

    I would HIGHLY recommend this product! Everyone's situation will be different. Don't give up, give it time to work. It saved us a $145.00 service call from the plumber!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler works

    • Maryland,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a serious clog in my bathtub and sink. I purchased both the Green Gobbler liquid and granules. I scooped out most of the backed-up water from the tub and poured the granules down the drain. It was difficult getting the granules down the sink, and so I used the liquid. I left them for about 4 hours; boiled about 2 gallons of water and slowly poured it down the sink and tub, then I followed this with more hot water from the pipes. Problem solved! I plan to use it every six months or so to keep the drains flushed. I'm very happy with the product. Using boiling water helped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Made it so much worse

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My kitchen sink was clogged and starting to back up, so I started pouring baking soda and vinegar and boiling water down the drains for a couple of days. The clog was starting to go away very very slowly, so I decided to go to the store and get a product that would solve the problem and remove the clog.

    I used this stuff as directed and it was WORSE THEN EVER. The clog was 10 times worse than in the beginning. Instead of taking an hour to drain, my sink took three days to drain the tiniest puddle of water. Running anything into either sink, it would immediately back up as if there was a plug in the sink.

    I went back to using vinegar and it finally began clearing after a few days, and then like an idiot I decided to use a second package like it recommended. My sink took over a week to drain anything and I needed to call a plumber. This product took what was the beginnings of an annoying clog and turned it into DEVIL DRAINS that would not let any water through at all. Destroyed my kitchen drains. I hate this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam - Don't waste your money

    • Birginia,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    We used it and the only thing it did was form a solid blockage in our pipe. We went from slow drainage to no drainage! My husband had to take the pipe off and dig the junk out, all while breathing the fumes they claim are not from their product but a result of it eating the stuff in your clogged pipe. Bull! 6 hours later and we still smell it, and my husband has to constantly clear his throat. What cleaner have you ever used that tells you if the smell is too much to take-open your other drains and flush your toilet? And ventilate your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review