• 55 Customer Reviews
  • 53% Recommend This Company
3.1 out of 5
5 star: 45% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 9% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 36%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Green Gobbler worked for me.

    • By Karen Fuller,
    • Dearborn, MI,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought Green Gobbler in a retail store as my kitchen sink was badly backed up. I used one bag, and it didn't clear the drain. I used a second bag as recommended for stubborn blockage and it worked quite quickly. I paid $10 for three bags, which was way, way cheaper than calling a plumber.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Did nothing

    • By Ellen Kirwin,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I prayed and it worked!

    Overall Experience:

    Before trying, I YouTubed videos and found the original demo helpful, so I bought it. My tub was backed up, and I finally got it to go down at a snail pace by plunging and shop-facing the drain debris that surfaced in the dark water. I followed the instructions and video. I made sure I only put enough boiling water onto the powder until it cleared. I waited half an hour and poured boiling water down. Still a snail pace.

    Then with my fresh pair of maintenance eyes and plumbing theory thinking, I concluded that the clog just might be a double or triple clog. In our bathroom, the sink, tub, and toilet are all connected making way to the stack. My sink was draining slow when large amounts of water were added. So I decided to go from the other side and treat the sink. I treated the sink and flushed both the tub and sink with buckets of hot water. Just then the sink water went down so fast and my tub water followed with it. I also treated my toilet with the third pack and that opened up my drain even more. With the three packs provided, I was able to treat all three drains that connected together to get the job DONE.

    P.S. I was patient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The Green Gobbler

    • By Sharon R,
    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was seeking something effective to unclog hair from my bathroom shower stall. It was recommended by one of the sales staff at my local Home Depot for its effectiveness yet gentleness on the pipes, etc. I followed the instructions as outlined, however, two packs didn't do the trick. However, the third pack did along with some light plunging.

    Overall, it's a little pricey, but it did work, and there were hardly any smell or discoloration of the drain. I would use it again and recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Ingredients

    • By Michael M,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just poured it into a clogged (slowly drains) toilet, so there are no results yet. I'm writing about the one listed ingredient, and I'll return after letting this sit overnight.

    The three-pack tube that I bought at Home Depot for $9.99 lists only "monosodium sulfate and other non-hazardous ingredients." Good luck Googling that chemical. The best I could come up with was in relation to hair conditioner, of all things: "Monosodium sulfate, also called sodium bisulfate, is a mild nontoxic acid, most likely there as a pH-balancer."

    That was written by someone just like you or me, a guy offering an opinion.

    I suspect it IS a very weak acid that slowly ("overnight") eats away at organic clogs. It's probably similar to boric acid, which is so weak that it's used directly in eyes to treat pink eye.

    I'll come back tomorrow with results. I'm clicking that I wouldn't recommend this because a click is required to post this. I rated it three stars for the same reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work

    • By Venessa,
    • Maryville, TN,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Purchased this yesterday, August 5th, at Home Depot and used all three packs and it does not work! Wasted ten dollars. Very disappointed! Does not do what it says and it will not touch a hair in the drain. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It works

    • By Nasty Nate,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worked better than any other product tried

    Overall Experience:

    I had a slow drain in the kitchen sink since I moved into my apartment. Recently, the bathroom sink started slowing too. I put this (one packet) in the kitchen sink, left for six hours and flushed with boiling water. It must've worked its way through the pipes because both drains were cleared within hours of flushing the kitchen drain. Oh, I did not notice any kind of funky smell and my apartment was closed up overnight while it was working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works good

    Overall Experience:

    The product worked good for us. Our house is a very old family house with a septic tank. We replaced the tank and drain field about a year ago but haven't gotten to replacing the drain lines in the crawlspace. So needless to say, years of build up and adding new build up has led to slow drains and the occasional hairball clogged shower drain. I added the product to the shower and tub drains and to the sink drains and to my surprise after they were flushed out, the drainage was great.

    WARNING. This stuff stinks horribly! It smells of sulfuric acid/rotten eggs. But it works, and the smell goes away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Green Gobbler worked for us!

    Overall Experience:

    Our double-basin stainless steel kitchen sinks backed up, and traditional unclogging methods didn't work to dislodge the clog.

    Drāno didn't work, and removing the P-trap and snaking the drain from the inside didn't work.

    Snaking the drain at the clean-out port outside with both a regular drain snake and multiple attempts with a friend's power snake didn't appear to work either (nor did multiple attempts to flush the line with water from a water hose), but our friend saw a single dose (8.25 oz) packet of Green Gobbler when shopping for an extension part for his power snake, and he picked one up for us. Because our clog had been so persistent, we skipped the initial Instructions for Use, and we went straight to the instructions that read:

    Note: For tough clogs, use 2nd Pac and let stand in drain overnight, then flush with plenty of hot water. (For best results, use boiling water, if possible.)

    I called my husband this morning and asked if the Green Gobbler had been effective. I believe his words were, "Hot damn!" He said he'd poured about 10 gallons of boiling water (who knew we had that many containers for boiling water?) down the drain, and it hadn't shown any sign of backing up. He later told me that he'd also run cold water for several minutes, and that didn't appear to back up, either.

    So, at least for now, it appears that the clog was dissolved and that we don't need to contact the water district or call a plumbing company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Smells like sewage

    • By Greg,
    • Eugene, Oregon ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The gal at Home Depot said this worked for her. I bought this not for a clogged drain but another problem: drain flies. These flies live in the muck in my shower drain. Never heard of them? Me neither.

    I couldn't wait for the mail order drain fly killer, so I used this green gobbler.

    It made the house smell like sewage. I thought the smell was from the muck it was destroying but now I learned that the smell is the product itself. I didn't really care though. It went away.

    However, I haven't seen anymore drain flies. So for me, I didn't have to call an exterminator and I am okay with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Drain still clogged

    • By Rick,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Went to Home Depot, saw this stuff, figured I'd give it a try. Ended up using all 3 packets with no avail, followed the directions, even gave it more time each time, and still had a clogged tub drain. I also noticed a very bad odor given off, smelled like raw sewage permeating through the house. Ended up back at Home Depot to buy my go to stuff that I know works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Suzanne ,
    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I work for Home Depot and have seen the the Green Gobbler video over and over talking about how wonderful it is.

    So when my shower started draining slowly, I decided to purchase some and give it a try. I tried a pack, left it in for 30 minutes and ran hot water down it and NOTHING, no change.

    A couple of days later thought I'd give it another chance and use boiling water, like they recommend. NOTHING!

    Don't waste your money and time on this crap!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    Overall Experience:

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • By Olga M,
    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Strong terrible smell

    • By Trina,
    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • By Rick Mac,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ineffective

    • By Gayle,
    • G_hawk_eyes@hotmail.com,
    • Jan 6, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    The four star rating on here are from the company that makes the product. I used this product on my toilet and like the other negative reviews, found that the powder simply collected and clumped at the bottom of the toilet. Even with hot water, the substance was nearly insoluble. It took several gallons of boiling water to dislodge the plug it made, and I'm fearful of the problems it has caused in places I can't see. I'm sure 5 glowing aggressive reviews will follow directing me to "read the instructions" as if that was the issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great stuff!

    • By Dixie Anderson,
    • Roseburg, OR,
    • Dec 14, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We used this on a drain that had been clogged for so long that we had tried everything. We left the mean green stuff overnight and voila has worked perfectly ever since. Recently we had a toilet that backed up so we put the Green Gobbler in it and were back on line in no time. I swear by this stuff and use it as a good preventive, put half a pack in sink drains with boiling water and keeps them all running smoothly. This stuff does work! Thanks

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works

    • By Barbara L. Zeigler,
    • New Castle DE,
    • Oct 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Toilet clogged, no water passes. Tried electric snake, plungers, Drano, Liquid Plumber and with no success. Used the Green Gobbler, 2 packets, followed instructions, flushed with a bucket of scalding water the following afternoon, clog gone, good flush.

    Yes, it does work despite others reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Karen Kirk,
    • Branson, MO,
    • Oct 3, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have had to have a plumber come twice a year for the last 13 years. My mother in law bought this from QVC and the first time I used it it was a blessing. I highly recommend this product. Have not seen a plumber in 2 years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Drain cleared!

    • By Joe,
    • Oct 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This is unbelievable. Finally something that works. Not sure how it did it in only 20 minutes. Great job Green Gobbler. I'll definitely use this on a regular basis. Much easier than cleaning the drains the old fashioned way. BTW, the smell is not as bad as everyone says.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It didn't work

    • By Kara P,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 10, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this for my toilet, and to make a long story short,  it didn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hard to believe

    • By Alan Wedding,
    • Sun City, Arizona,
    • Aug 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Tried this product out of desperation as most other drain openers are useless. Pleasantly surprised as the drain opened. Bought mine at Home Depot for $9.95. Well worth the money since it worked. I have literally poured lots of money "down the drain" using other products over the years. This is my choice from now on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Green Gobbler

    • By Dan Kobrick,
    • Santee, CA,
    • Aug 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This stuff works great. To the person that gave it a one star rating -- read the directions. Once it happened to me, having it clog up. That's because I left it in there too long. It says 15 minutes. Yes it puts out a smell, but after it does its job it goes away. If the smell doesn't go away put another one in. I've never used a better drain cleaner then "Green Gobbler". I'm sold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great Product

    • By MzRich612,
    • Carson, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I love this product. I have used it on my shower drain and also my laundry drain. I had water backing up on both and I used as directed and it really work just like it said. I would recommend this product to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam - Don't waste your money

    • By Lisa,
    • Birginia,
    • Feb 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We used it and the only thing it did was form a solid blockage in our pipe. We went from slow drainage to no drainage! My husband had to take the pipe off and dig the junk out, all while breathing the fumes they claim are not from their product but a result of it eating the stuff in your clogged pipe. Bull! 6 hours later and we still smell it, and my husband has to constantly clear his throat. What cleaner have you ever used that tells you if the smell is too much to take-open your other drains and flush your toilet? And ventilate your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 55

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Green Gobbler