Read 45 Green Gobbler Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 24 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 62% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Exceeded my expectations big time!

    • Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a small background in plumbing from a few years ago, so with that, I can do most handy work related to it, as well as do small plumbing jobs during renovations.

    My sink slowly stopped draining until it was clogged solid, I went to go spend $25 on a drain auger and happened to see Green Gobbler sitting right beside it on display for $12, I figured I’ll buy them both, try the Green Gobbler, and if it worked I could return the auger.

    I had my doubts though and assumed it was a scam. So I got home and poured a pack in the drain, let it set for 45 minutes and then used hot water. Low and behold it actually was draining a bit faster. With that I had hope. So I said to myself, I’ll put one more pack in and let it sit overnight. The next morning I boiled a pot of hot water and dumped it in the drain. Next thing I know it’s making a loud sucking noise as it vacuums the water in the sink down the drain at about the same speed as an F1 car passing by.

    I HIGHLY recommend this stuff for small clogs in your own home or empty rental units. The only downside is that it works best with the more time it’s left to sit, so not ideal to use to unclog a tenant's drains when they have kids and NEED to be able to use their drains.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Oh, yeah! Great results.

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jul 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have grandchildren and a daughter that go through a roll of toilet paper in a day. I don't skimp either. Due to this, my toilet had a clog from hell. I plunged and snaked my clogged toilet for over an hour. I was desperate for any kind of help.

    After my family left, I took a trip to my hardware store to find a solution. The ONLY thing on the shelf that stated it was for toilet use (everything else touted drains), was Green Gobbler. The name sounded gross, so I figure it had a gross job to do, and I purchased it.

    I came home, put a bag into the toilet, which was still clogged and the water level (and stuff) was almost to the top. I waited for about 30 minutes and plunged again. PRESTO! I heard that beloved gurgling sound as the whole bowl emptied.

    At $11.99 for 3 packets, it beat the heck out of a $150 plumber.

    I can't say it would work all the time for every occurance, but it did wonders for me. I am getting some for my daughter's home today. I have 2 packets left and will let you know if they produce the same outcome. Thanks Green Gobbler (sounds like a superhero and works like one!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Works good

    The product worked good for us. Our house is a very old family house with a septic tank. We replaced the tank and drain field about a year ago but haven't gotten to replacing the drain lines in the crawlspace. So needless to say, years of build up and adding new build up has led to slow drains and the occasional hairball clogged shower drain. I added the product to the shower and tub drains and to the sink drains and to my surprise after they were flushed out, the drainage was great.

    WARNING. This stuff stinks horribly! It smells of sulfuric acid/rotten eggs. But it works, and the smell goes away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Smells like sewage

    • Eugene, Oregon ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The gal at Home Depot said this worked for her. I bought this not for a clogged drain but another problem: drain flies. These flies live in the muck in my shower drain. Never heard of them? Me neither.

    I couldn't wait for the mail order drain fly killer, so I used this green gobbler.

    It made the house smell like sewage. I thought the smell was from the muck it was destroying but now I learned that the smell is the product itself. I didn't really care though. It went away.

    However, I haven't seen anymore drain flies. So for me, I didn't have to call an exterminator and I am okay with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Ingredients

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just poured it into a clogged (slowly drains) toilet, so there are no results yet. I'm writing about the one listed ingredient, and I'll return after letting this sit overnight.

    The three-pack tube that I bought at Home Depot for $9.99 lists only "monosodium sulfate and other non-hazardous ingredients." Good luck Googling that chemical. The best I could come up with was in relation to hair conditioner, of all things: "Monosodium sulfate, also called sodium bisulfate, is a mild nontoxic acid, most likely there as a pH-balancer."

    That was written by someone just like you or me, a guy offering an opinion.

    I suspect it IS a very weak acid that slowly ("overnight") eats away at organic clogs. It's probably similar to boric acid, which is so weak that it's used directly in eyes to treat pink eye.

    I'll come back tomorrow with results. I'm clicking that I wouldn't recommend this because a click is required to post this. I rated it three stars for the same reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The Green Gobbler

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was seeking something effective to unclog hair from my bathroom shower stall. It was recommended by one of the sales staff at my local Home Depot for its effectiveness yet gentleness on the pipes, etc. I followed the instructions as outlined, however, two packs didn't do the trick. However, the third pack did along with some light plunging.

    Overall, it's a little pricey, but it did work, and there were hardly any smell or discoloration of the drain. I would use it again and recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It didn't work

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 10, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this for my toilet, and to make a long story short,  it didn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 16 people found this review helpful

    What the heck?

    • Oregon,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried using this month's ago for a clogged toilet. I have two kids, so I figured they put an excessive amount in the toilet. It did nothing! Literally! Six months later, my toilet overflowed with foam bubbles at 3 am, and it filled my entire bathroom. A small clog did come out, but the toilet is worse than ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam - Don't waste your money

    • Birginia,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    We used it and the only thing it did was form a solid blockage in our pipe. We went from slow drainage to no drainage! My husband had to take the pipe off and dig the junk out, all while breathing the fumes they claim are not from their product but a result of it eating the stuff in your clogged pipe. Bull! 6 hours later and we still smell it, and my husband has to constantly clear his throat. What cleaner have you ever used that tells you if the smell is too much to take-open your other drains and flush your toilet? And ventilate your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 45

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review