Read 53 Green Gobbler Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 4 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Smells like sewage

    • By Greg,
    • Eugene, Oregon ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The gal at Home Depot said this worked for her. I bought this not for a clogged drain but another problem: drain flies. These flies live in the muck in my shower drain. Never heard of them? Me neither.

    I couldn't wait for the mail order drain fly killer, so I used this green gobbler.

    It made the house smell like sewage. I thought the smell was from the muck it was destroying but now I learned that the smell is the product itself. I didn't really care though. It went away.

    However, I haven't seen anymore drain flies. So for me, I didn't have to call an exterminator and I am okay with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • By Nasty Nate,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Ingredients

    • By Michael M,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just poured it into a clogged (slowly drains) toilet, so there are no results yet. I'm writing about the one listed ingredient, and I'll return after letting this sit overnight.

    The three-pack tube that I bought at Home Depot for $9.99 lists only "monosodium sulfate and other non-hazardous ingredients." Good luck Googling that chemical. The best I could come up with was in relation to hair conditioner, of all things: "Monosodium sulfate, also called sodium bisulfate, is a mild nontoxic acid, most likely there as a pH-balancer."

    That was written by someone just like you or me, a guy offering an opinion.

    I suspect it IS a very weak acid that slowly ("overnight") eats away at organic clogs. It's probably similar to boric acid, which is so weak that it's used directly in eyes to treat pink eye.

    I'll come back tomorrow with results. I'm clicking that I wouldn't recommend this because a click is required to post this. I rated it three stars for the same reason.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    The Green Gobbler

    • By Sharon R,
    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was seeking something effective to unclog hair from my bathroom shower stall. It was recommended by one of the sales staff at my local Home Depot for its effectiveness yet gentleness on the pipes, etc. I followed the instructions as outlined, however, two packs didn't do the trick. However, the third pack did along with some light plunging.

    Overall, it's a little pricey, but it did work, and there were hardly any smell or discoloration of the drain. I would use it again and recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Works good

    The product worked good for us. Our house is a very old family house with a septic tank. We replaced the tank and drain field about a year ago but haven't gotten to replacing the drain lines in the crawlspace. So needless to say, years of build up and adding new build up has led to slow drains and the occasional hairball clogged shower drain. I added the product to the shower and tub drains and to the sink drains and to my surprise after they were flushed out, the drainage was great.

    WARNING. This stuff stinks horribly! It smells of sulfuric acid/rotten eggs. But it works, and the smell goes away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Gobbling up your clogged dirt

    • By Richard P. Miller,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 16, 2014

    Sudden clogging of sinks, showers etc. makes life very miserable. You will particularly agree with me if you have been in any such situation. For such issues, the manufacturers of green gobbler has brought a real good deal for those of us who suffers. The price is only $10 for 3 packages + $6.99 for delivery cost. The package amount is refundable should you ever change your mind about using green gobbler.

    Before listening to any negative comments, if you can afford it and if you need it of course, you should try one and see if it works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • By MzRich612,
    • Carson, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    I love this product. I have used it on my shower drain and also my laundry drain. I had water backing up on both and I used as directed and it really work just like it said. I would recommend this product to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler

    • By Dan Kobrick,
    • Santee, CA,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    This stuff works great. To the person that gave it a one star rating -- read the directions. Once it happened to me, having it clog up. That's because I left it in there too long. It says 15 minutes. Yes it puts out a smell, but after it does its job it goes away. If the smell doesn't go away put another one in. I've never used a better drain cleaner then "Green Gobbler". I'm sold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Hard to believe

    • By Alan Wedding,
    • Sun City, Arizona,
    • Aug 30, 2015

    Tried this product out of desperation as most other drain openers are useless. Pleasantly surprised as the drain opened. Bought mine at Home Depot for $9.95. Well worth the money since it worked. I have literally poured lots of money "down the drain" using other products over the years. This is my choice from now on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Drain cleared!

    • By Joe,
    • Oct 1, 2015

    This is unbelievable. Finally something that works. Not sure how it did it in only 20 minutes. Great job Green Gobbler. I'll definitely use this on a regular basis. Much easier than cleaning the drains the old fashioned way. BTW, the smell is not as bad as everyone says.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 53

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review