Read 53 Green Gobbler Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 1 3 star: 5 2 star: 4 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    • By Brian D.,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the reviews and I thought I would try it on my kitchen sink. Poured one container in and let it sit for 2 hours and then poured boiling water down the drain...NOTHING! So I poured the 2nd bottle in and let it sit overnight. In the morning I again poured boiling water down the drain. Didn't work AGAIN...so I'm trying a different product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    TRY IT

    • By JP Y.,
    • California,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Try it, maybe it will work for you. It did not for me. Customer service sounded like he was on lunch and talking to me and still chewing his food. So unprofessional!! Now I have to go back to Home Depot for my refund, since it did not work for me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam - Don't waste your money

    • By Lisa,
    • Birginia,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    We used it and the only thing it did was form a solid blockage in our pipe. We went from slow drainage to no drainage! My husband had to take the pipe off and dig the junk out, all while breathing the fumes they claim are not from their product but a result of it eating the stuff in your clogged pipe. Bull! 6 hours later and we still smell it, and my husband has to constantly clear his throat. What cleaner have you ever used that tells you if the smell is too much to take-open your other drains and flush your toilet? And ventilate your house.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Ineffective

    • By Gayle,
    • G_hawk_eyes@hotmail.com,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    The four star rating on here are from the company that makes the product. I used this product on my toilet and like the other negative reviews, found that the powder simply collected and clumped at the bottom of the toilet. Even with hot water, the substance was nearly insoluble. It took several gallons of boiling water to dislodge the plug it made, and I'm fearful of the problems it has caused in places I can't see. I'm sure 5 glowing aggressive reviews will follow directing me to "read the instructions" as if that was the issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • By Rick Mac,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Strong terrible smell

    • By Trina,
    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • By Olga M,
    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • By Suzanne ,
    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I work for Home Depot and have seen the the Green Gobbler video over and over talking about how wonderful it is.

    So when my shower started draining slowly, I decided to purchase some and give it a try. I tried a pack, left it in for 30 minutes and ran hot water down it and NOTHING, no change.

    A couple of days later thought I'd give it another chance and use boiling water, like they recommend. NOTHING!

    Don't waste your money and time on this crap!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Drain still clogged

    • By Rick,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to Home Depot, saw this stuff, figured I'd give it a try. Ended up using all 3 packets with no avail, followed the directions, even gave it more time each time, and still had a clogged tub drain. I also noticed a very bad odor given off, smelled like raw sewage permeating through the house. Ended up back at Home Depot to buy my go to stuff that I know works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • By Venessa,
    • Maryville, TN,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased this yesterday, August 5th, at Home Depot and used all three packs and it does not work! Wasted ten dollars. Very disappointed! Does not do what it says and it will not touch a hair in the drain. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Did nothing

    • By Ellen Kirwin,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it on my clogged kitchen sink. I used one packet first and waited, as per package directions, it didn't do anything. I put the other two packets in, also as per package directions and waited several hours, again, it didn't do anything. I finally had to climb under the sink and undo the plumbing and unstop the drain myself.

    DO NOT waste your money on this product. I emailed their customer service because the container clearly states money back guarantee, and as of this writing, they have not responded, so that must be as big a load of hogwash as their product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 53

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review