Start your review of Greenlight:
  • 45 Customer Reviews
  • 44% Recommend This Company
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 44% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 51%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worst experience ever!

    • By Michele F.,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t get this card! No security at all. Fraudulent charges made on my child’s account and blamed him from making online purchases. I called literally 2 minutes after the charge was made and they would not decline the charge so now who knows how long the dispute process will take. Get a normal bank account for your child! I will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau as well. Horrible customer service as well. Not helpful at all besides saying "thank you" over and over again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Negative psychological effect on kids

    My daughter recently used the card in Glossier, LA. She's out with her friends for her friend’s bday celeb. To my daughter’s dismay, the card was declined! Not once but TWICE! My daughter was embarrassed by this and called me right away. Told me about the embarrassing situation THIS card has put her in. I immediately called Greenlight. An agent named Min answered. Min the agent said that the card is expired. I told Min that I just opened the account not too long ago how can it be expired? I 3-way call my daughter so she can tell Min of the expiration date of the card (the expiration is not until JULY 2023). Since I am not satisfied with the reasons of Min, I asked to be transferred to a supervisor. Hailey the supervisor answered the call. On Hailey's end, she said that my daughter put in an incorrect passcode number. My daughter on the other line said they run at as credit (not the first time it happened and it worked just fine in seat in restaurants BEFORE), and now the supervisor Hailey said because it is a "prepaid" card that it should not be run as credit. I said it was done numerous times before and it worked. Hailey said that she sees in her computer the wrong pin was entered. My daughter said to Hailey the store did not ask for a pin. I asked Hailey what is she seeing in her monitor?

    Is my money safe with Greenlight? Now I am not sure! The supervisor definitely cannot give me the answers I'm looking for! There's money in the account so how can it be declined. Greenlight should think and know that there is a psychological effect when kids get embarrassed! They should be held liable for the product they are selling because as a customer, I have funds in my kids’ account but I trusted them that the money of my kids will be safe, but they brought my daughter embarrassment and do not do anything about this! Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HORRIBLE! Do not use this service! Zero stars!

    • By Camdy L.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This service sounded great in theory. However, the card was ordered and linked to my personal bank account, but the app was never linked to my phone. I spoke to Greenlight support on numerous occasions to link the app to no avail. I asked in July 2018 for the accounts to be closed/canceled. They continued to charge my account the monthly service fee. I contacted them on December 9th and they assured my refund of all the charges and to cancel the cards. It never happened. They charged my account AGAIN on the 23rd! I spoke to another rep on the 28th. She apologized and stated that the request was never completed and that she would complete the request. It never happened. I spoke to another rep on January 15th. He stated that the best they could do is refund me $5. This company is a SCAM. Protect your money and account from this predator!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware, money can be taken straight from your bank account

    • By Natasha T.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Greenlight, and long story short, it was awesome, until one of the kids tried to make a purchase. They didn't have enough funds, so Greenlight took money straight from my bank account, not the parent wallet, but my bank account, and put it into the child's card. So yes, it's very possible your child will try to make a purchase and even if there isn't enough money, Greenlight will snatch money out your bank account without you authorizing it! They say it's in their "cardholder agreement." Totally unacceptable! It defeats the purpose of having a parent funding wallet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fees are high, poor customer service

    • By Jennifer R.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    $5.99 per month fee on to of startup charges. That's more than most credit cards. There are no in-network ATM's, so you must pay a fee to the ATM operators, too. They do not inform customers of the $100/day withdrawal limit. I had my kids save their allowance for a PlayStation 4. In order for the two of them to get $150 each to give me to make the purchase, they paid a total of $20 just in ATM fees. Customer service was useless, just repeating the same line over and over on how that was the way it is and there were no remedies available. I'm switching to Busykid!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not recommend anyone use this service!

    • By William R.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on a pop-up on Instagram, and since I have a minor child that resides in a different state than I do, it sounded like a good idea. I attempted to sign up for the free trial period, and when doing so, I realized I had made an error in my entry of my information. I tried to correct it, but the system would not allow me to go back to that screen. I stopped and called. The customer service agent said I had to send in all of these documents to fix it. I hadn’t even finished the set up of my account, why do I have to send in any documents? It was just 10 minutes after trying to set up the free account. I did get to the entering of my credit card information but didn’t approve the deposit amount yet.

    I decided at that point that this wasn’t for me. I told the agent to cancel everything and I didn’t want to try this service anymore. Two days later there is a charge on my card for $19.74. Why did they charge me when (1) it was supposed to be a free 30-day trial, (2) I didn’t complete the whole set up process, and (3) I canceled it 20 minutes after trying to set it up. Not even one day, and no, I didn’t even approve to get a card mailed out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do NOT sign up! This is a scam.

    • By Robyn A.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sent $200 to my parent wallet. After almost three weeks our cards arrived in the mail. Then when I tried to activate the cards, there is an account error that will not allow me to activate the card. So we basically have no access to the funds. In addition, they are unresponsive and asked for a picture of my ID and a bill or earnings statement. I don't trust this app at all! And the whole time they are charging me a fee of $5 a month. I tried to transfer my money back to my actual bank account and apparently, they don't "offer that feature." So they get to keep my money, charge me fees and not allow me/the kids to use the cards despite my multiple attempts to activate our cards. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Zero stars is more like it, terrible process

    • By Martin B.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This card is not a scam, but it's terrible. The current system in place sucks. They constantly freeze or lock up the card for simple things they could just as easily make a phone call to confirm. Like a person making a deposit into the account. They will take the money you load but not make it available and only send an email. If it's supposed to help make sure your child has funds available, they missed the point and make it very difficult. You're definitely better off using a regular bank account card. Or making an account specifically for the child with the parent's name and adding the child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Gotcha!

    • By Jay H.,
    • New York,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is no easy way to get cash. None. You MUST use an ATM and pay a fee. The card DOES NOT WORK EVERYWHERE. That is just a plain lie. There is no way to money back into the funding account, and for some reason, you can't fund a securities account (like Stockpile) with this card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Prepaid card

    • By Noelia R.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am super dissatisfied. I was very excited to be able to send money to my niece in California and make this process easy, but I was WRONG! Four different attempts to get the card activated. Last time I was told it was the magnetic strip. When the child never once used the card elsewhere but online!

    Meanwhile, I'm getting charged a monthly fee. So I'm getting charged a fee for y'all to decline my card! Do something different. Do not go with Greenlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great idea, terrible service!

    • By Beatrix B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up, gave a lot of information and the app did not work, and I attempted to reach customer service multiple times with no help. Just a nice person in the Philippines saying sorry without solutions. No one picks up at the next line of service. Do not sign up for it. I feel unsafe now because they have a lot of my information and I can't communicate with anyone there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 45

Write a Review for Greenlight!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Greenlight