Greenlight Debit Card

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Greenlight

Overall Rating

2.8

54 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Greenlight is a useful tool for overseeing your child’s financial life and teaching them principles of saving, giving, spending, and how to balance what they earn with what they spend.

Pros

  • Provides child a parent-controlled debit card
  • Low monthly fee
  • Has allowance and chore features

Cons

  • Android app isn’t as good as the iPhone app
  • Bank transfers take 3 to 5 days
  • Can’t deposit cash via ATM’s

Customer Reviews

2.8 Stars out of 54 Reviews
5 Star:38% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:51%
41% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Greenlight:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

Fine while I used it - but continued to charge after "confirming" my requested cancellation

By Carol W., Florida, Verified Reviewer

This service was ok while I used it. I canceled it - or at least tried to - TWICE after my kids got their "grown-up" bank accounts.

The first time, I was charged for a few months before I realized it. I called and requested a cancellation again. The lady I spoke with was nice and even refunded the charges and sent me a "confirmation email" stating they had canceled my account. But lo and behold! The very next month, I was CHARGED AGAIN!

This is getting pretty ridiculous.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 25, 2019

Greenlight Card is waste of investment

By Vijay K., Palm Beach Gardens, FL, Verified Reviewer

Greenlight card is a scam. Even if you don't use also, they charge you $5 on a monthly basis. Also, they tell you that you would get $20 as part of joining which is total lie. They hide all these while issuing the card. Later you will be shocked to know all these things.

Please do not get this waste card!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Wish I had researched it more

By Crystal O., Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

I thought it sounded simple enough and a great way for kids to have money for the summer. I put $10 on each of my kids' cards so I could test them out. I cannot get either card to work at three separate locations. If an adult cannot easily use this then how can a child? Considering that every store's register system is different, it's too difficult to explain to a kid when to hit debit/charge red/green, yes/no, enter pin.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on May 18, 2019

Card activation

By Pedro M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

The concept and the marketing are great. My experience was negative just because it took soooo much back and forth to get the card activated and then did not recognize my debit card even though I had to verify that very same card in order to activate it. I don't normally write reviews since I don't have time to do so, but I wasted so much time with Greenlight that I thought I needed to share my experience. Again, great concept and maybe I was just unlucky.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 18, 2019

Buyer beware

By Alan P., Fort Lauderdale, FL, Verified Reviewer

Do not use this service. I put $200 on my account and could never use it. They blocked my card for no reason. So I’m out $200. It’s a scam. And they wanted more personal information after they activated the card and took my money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2019

It’s good in theory

By Sarah M., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

I loved the idea at first. But there are definitely a lot of frustrating things I’ve experienced in the few months we’ve been using it. For some reason, even though it’s an MC debit card, it won’t work with certain retailers online. Why not? It’s a debit card. Shouldn’t it work everywhere?! I don’t understand that. Plus my login is the same as my son's. Which means he also has access to the parent's wallet. If he wanted to, he could transfer money to himself or pull money from my bank account. Not that he would (I’d hope, lol), but any kid could. Again, huh? How does that make sense? I may cancel this and do something different. It’s infuriating to be paying a monthly fee for a debit card that ¼ of the time literally won’t work at random retailers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2019

This is a scam

By Andrea R., Reno, NV, Verified Reviewer

This card is a total scam, and I’m concerned for the victims this company is scamming. I loaded money onto the card for my teenager and set it to the setting allowing him to spend the money anywhere. He went to an ATM and tried withdrawing funds and the card was declined. He came home and tried making purchases online. Again the card declined. I went to the app and Greenlight without my consent turned off his card.

I called customer service and could barely understand what the lady was saying. I finally cracked the language barrier and understood "call morning 8 am, closed," so I called this morning and when they answered it sounded like pure chaos. It literally sounded as if I called someone during a raging concert and could barely communicate with the whatever foreigner on the other end. I wish I could have recorded the ridiculous background noise blaring in the background. After being transferred THREE times, I was told I had to fax them my bank statements and personal information to turn the card back on! GIANT RED FLAG. I informed the agent that this is highly illegal. I didn’t turn the card off and now they want my personal bank info? Super shady.

After refusing to do so, she finally offered to transfer the funds back to my bank account and close the card. I’m filing a claim with consumer reports so people are aware of this shady business.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2019

Wonderful!

By Aimee S., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I have been using this app and cards for a couple of years now. I have NEVER had a problem! I started out with two cards, and recently added two more (I have 6 kids). This app is so easy to operate from the dashboard weather you're a parent or a child! I have NEVER had any unsafe issues having it connected to the bank account. I can verify after using it for years it is safe! Very safe and super handy!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Greenlight

Apr 10, 2019

Hi Aimee! We are so excited to hear that you and your kids are enjoying Greenlight. Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience and kind words. Your input very much appreciated. Happy to have you with us!

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2019

Greenlight is great

By John H., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I find it hard to believe so many intense negative reviews on this site.

We’ve been using Greenlight app and card for almost 2 years and have nothing but good things to say. My kids don’t carry cash anymore, just the Greenlight card, it’s easy to reload, easy to see where they are spending money and easy to turn off the card when they lose it...once.

They use it online, Amazon and American Eagle and they have used it traveling in Mexico and Europe.

I love and they do too.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Greenlight

Apr 10, 2019

Hi John! It is so wonderful to hear your families experience using Greenlight. We love hearing that they have even done some traveling with their cards in hand. Excited to have you and your kids with us!

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2019

Worst experience ever!

By Michele F., Spokane, WA, Verified Reviewer

Don’t get this card! No security at all. Fraudulent charges made on my child’s account and blamed him from making online purchases. I called literally 2 minutes after the charge was made and they would not decline the charge so now who knows how long the dispute process will take. Get a normal bank account for your child! I will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau as well. Horrible customer service as well. Not helpful at all besides saying "thank you" over and over again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2019

Negative psychological effect on kids

By Richie Anne D., Downey, CA, Verified Reviewer

My daughter recently used the card in Glossier, LA. She's out with her friends for her friend’s bday celeb. To my daughter’s dismay, the card was declined! Not once but TWICE! My daughter was embarrassed by this and called me right away. Told me about the embarrassing situation THIS card has put her in. I immediately called Greenlight. An agent named Min answered. Min the agent said that the card is expired. I told Min that I just opened the account not too long ago how can it be expired? I 3-way call my daughter so she can tell Min of the expiration date of the card (the expiration is not until JULY 2023). Since I am not satisfied with the reasons of Min, I asked to be transferred to a supervisor. Hailey the supervisor answered the call. On Hailey's end, she said that my daughter put in an incorrect passcode number. My daughter on the other line said they run at as credit (not the first time it happened and it worked just fine in seat in restaurants BEFORE), and now the supervisor Hailey said because it is a "prepaid" card that it should not be run as credit. I said it was done numerous times before and it worked. Hailey said that she sees in her computer the wrong pin was entered. My daughter said to Hailey the store did not ask for a pin. I asked Hailey what is she seeing in her monitor?

Is my money safe with Greenlight? Now I am not sure! The supervisor definitely cannot give me the answers I'm looking for! There's money in the account so how can it be declined. Greenlight should think and know that there is a psychological effect when kids get embarrassed! They should be held liable for the product they are selling because as a customer, I have funds in my kids’ account but I trusted them that the money of my kids will be safe, but they brought my daughter embarrassment and do not do anything about this! Shame on you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 54

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.