Start your review of Greenlight:
  • 49 Customer Reviews
  • 41% Recommend This Company
2.7 out of 5
5 star: 40% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 55%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Card activation

    • By Pedro M.,
    • Florida,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The concept and the marketing are great. My experience was negative just because it took soooo much back and forth to get the card activated and then did not recognize my debit card even though I had to verify that very same card in order to activate it. I don't normally write reviews since I don't have time to do so, but I wasted so much time with Greenlight that I thought I needed to share my experience. Again, great concept and maybe I was just unlucky.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It’s good in theory

    • By Sarah M.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved the idea at first. But there are definitely a lot of frustrating things I’ve experienced in the few months we’ve been using it. For some reason, even though it’s an MC debit card, it won’t work with certain retailers online. Why not? It’s a debit card. Shouldn’t it work everywhere?! I don’t understand that. Plus my login is the same as my son's. Which means he also has access to the parent's wallet. If he wanted to, he could transfer money to himself or pull money from my bank account. Not that he would (I’d hope, lol), but any kid could. Again, huh? How does that make sense? I may cancel this and do something different. It’s infuriating to be paying a monthly fee for a debit card that ¼ of the time literally won’t work at random retailers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Greenlight Card is waste of investment

    • By Vijay K.,
    • Palm Beach Gardens, FL,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Greenlight card is a scam. Even if you don't use also, they charge you $5 on a monthly basis. Also, they tell you that you would get $20 as part of joining which is total lie. They hide all these while issuing the card. Later you will be shocked to know all these things.

    Please do not get this waste card!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not recommend anyone use this service!

    • By William R.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw this on a pop-up on Instagram, and since I have a minor child that resides in a different state than I do, it sounded like a good idea. I attempted to sign up for the free trial period, and when doing so, I realized I had made an error in my entry of my information. I tried to correct it, but the system would not allow me to go back to that screen. I stopped and called. The customer service agent said I had to send in all of these documents to fix it. I hadn’t even finished the set up of my account, why do I have to send in any documents? It was just 10 minutes after trying to set up the free account. I did get to the entering of my credit card information but didn’t approve the deposit amount yet.

    I decided at that point that this wasn’t for me. I told the agent to cancel everything and I didn’t want to try this service anymore. Two days later there is a charge on my card for $19.74. Why did they charge me when (1) it was supposed to be a free 30-day trial, (2) I didn’t complete the whole set up process, and (3) I canceled it 20 minutes after trying to set it up. Not even one day, and no, I didn’t even approve to get a card mailed out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Megan Boddie,
    • Ruston, LA,
    • Mar 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The limit to add to the card is $1000, and after adding $500 my account was sent to fraud protection. Ok, fine. I sent them all the info requested, and none of the info was good enough. They needed proof of address. I sent a utility bill and my lease. What more could they possibly need along with my ID? I canceled the electronic cards, and instead of reimbursing me my funds to my card, they stated they would send a check. LIKE seriously, you electronically took my payment, but sending me a paper check? No way. I, against my better judgment, sent my daughter with this card on a trip and she was unable to use it, and I had to wire her money.

    If I could pick zero stars, I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great product for tweens

    Overall Experience:

    My 12-year-old daughter has had this card for about a month, and so far we are thrilled! Children under 13 can’t get a standard debit card from our bank, but this card allows us to auto deposit her allowance and tracks her spending and money through the online app. It completely meets our needs and is helping teach our daughter about managing her finances.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Prepaid card

    • By Noelia R.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am super dissatisfied. I was very excited to be able to send money to my niece in California and make this process easy, but I was WRONG! Four different attempts to get the card activated. Last time I was told it was the magnetic strip. When the child never once used the card elsewhere but online!

    Meanwhile, I'm getting charged a monthly fee. So I'm getting charged a fee for y'all to decline my card! Do something different. Do not go with Greenlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wish I had researched it more

    • By Crystal O.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I thought it sounded simple enough and a great way for kids to have money for the summer. I put $10 on each of my kids' cards so I could test them out. I cannot get either card to work at three separate locations. If an adult cannot easily use this then how can a child? Considering that every store's register system is different, it's too difficult to explain to a kid when to hit debit/charge red/green, yes/no, enter pin.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great card for my son.

    • By Jennifer B.,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had some issues getting started, however, it was an issue on our end. A rep by the name of Maxy Cordova helped me via email, and she was able to fix the issue. The rep was very prompt in responding. I recommend the card.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Do NOT sign up! This is a scam.

    • By Robyn A.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent $200 to my parent wallet. After almost three weeks our cards arrived in the mail. Then when I tried to activate the cards, there is an account error that will not allow me to activate the card. So we basically have no access to the funds. In addition, they are unresponsive and asked for a picture of my ID and a bill or earnings statement. I don't trust this app at all! And the whole time they are charging me a fee of $5 a month. I tried to transfer my money back to my actual bank account and apparently, they don't "offer that feature." So they get to keep my money, charge me fees and not allow me/the kids to use the cards despite my multiple attempts to activate our cards. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Greenlight is great

    • By John H.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I find it hard to believe so many intense negative reviews on this site.

    We’ve been using Greenlight app and card for almost 2 years and have nothing but good things to say. My kids don’t carry cash anymore, just the Greenlight card, it’s easy to reload, easy to see where they are spending money and easy to turn off the card when they lose it...once.

    They use it online, Amazon and American Eagle and they have used it traveling in Mexico and Europe.

    I love and they do too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from Greenlight

      Hi John! It is so wonderful to hear your families experience using Greenlight. We love hearing that they have even done some traveling with their cards in hand. Excited to have you and your kids with us!


Showing 12-22 of 49

Write a Review for Greenlight!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Greenlight