Read 43 Greenlight Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Prepaid card

    • Texas,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am super dissatisfied. I was very excited to be able to send money to my niece in California and make this process easy, but I was WRONG! Four different attempts to get the card activated. Last time I was told it was the magnetic strip. When the child never once used the card elsewhere but online!

    Meanwhile, I'm getting charged a monthly fee. So I'm getting charged a fee for y'all to decline my card! Do something different. Do not go with Greenlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I would not recommend anyone use this service!

    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on a pop-up on Instagram, and since I have a minor child that resides in a different state than I do, it sounded like a good idea. I attempted to sign up for the free trial period, and when doing so, I realized I had made an error in my entry of my information. I tried to correct it, but the system would not allow me to go back to that screen. I stopped and called. The customer service agent said I had to send in all of these documents to fix it. I hadn’t even finished the set up of my account, why do I have to send in any documents? It was just 10 minutes after trying to set up the free account. I did get to the entering of my credit card information but didn’t approve the deposit amount yet.

    I decided at that point that this wasn’t for me. I told the agent to cancel everything and I didn’t want to try this service anymore. Two days later there is a charge on my card for $19.74. Why did they charge me when (1) it was supposed to be a free 30-day trial, (2) I didn’t complete the whole set up process, and (3) I canceled it 20 minutes after trying to set it up. Not even one day, and no, I didn’t even approve to get a card mailed out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great card for my son.

    • Florida,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had some issues getting started, however, it was an issue on our end. A rep by the name of Maxy Cordova helped me via email, and she was able to fix the issue. The rep was very prompt in responding. I recommend the card.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Gotcha!

    • New York,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is no easy way to get cash. None. You MUST use an ATM and pay a fee. The card DOES NOT WORK EVERYWHERE. That is just a plain lie. There is no way to money back into the funding account, and for some reason, you can't fund a securities account (like Stockpile) with this card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT sign up! This is a scam.

    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sent $200 to my parent wallet. After almost three weeks our cards arrived in the mail. Then when I tried to activate the cards, there is an account error that will not allow me to activate the card. So we basically have no access to the funds. In addition, they are unresponsive and asked for a picture of my ID and a bill or earnings statement. I don't trust this app at all! And the whole time they are charging me a fee of $5 a month. I tried to transfer my money back to my actual bank account and apparently, they don't "offer that feature." So they get to keep my money, charge me fees and not allow me/the kids to use the cards despite my multiple attempts to activate our cards. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful!

    • Arkansas,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this app and cards for a couple of years now. I have NEVER had a problem! I started out with two cards, and recently added two more (I have 6 kids). This app is so easy to operate from the dashboard weather you're a parent or a child! I have NEVER had any unsafe issues having it connected to the bank account. I can verify after using it for years it is safe! Very safe and super handy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from Greenlight

      Hi Aimee! We are so excited to hear that you and your kids are enjoying Greenlight. Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience and kind words. Your input very much appreciated. Happy to have you with us!


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Card activation

    • Florida,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The concept and the marketing are great. My experience was negative just because it took soooo much back and forth to get the card activated and then did not recognize my debit card even though I had to verify that very same card in order to activate it. I don't normally write reviews since I don't have time to do so, but I wasted so much time with Greenlight that I thought I needed to share my experience. Again, great concept and maybe I was just unlucky.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service! Do not work with this company!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Mar 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a few months of having cards for both of my daughters, I found that we just weren't using it as we thought.

    I called the customer service number to cancel the account, and the woman whom I was speaking with was so unbelievably rude! She had me answer questions to 'verify' my account, but wouldn't cancel my account until I verified the exact time and day my last deposit was and how the deposit was made. Then, she informed me that I would need to be transferred to someone else to close the account and I could leave a VM with my phone number for someone to call me back. Obviously, I began to get irritated at this point, and she told me that I had to be quiet before she would try to transfer me. I was on the phone nearly 30 minutes before someone picked up and asked me for all the same info the previous person already received. Unbelievable. This was the worst customer service I have ever seen!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Zero stars is more like it, terrible process

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This card is not a scam, but it's terrible. The current system in place sucks. They constantly freeze or lock up the card for simple things they could just as easily make a phone call to confirm. Like a person making a deposit into the account. They will take the money you load but not make it available and only send an email. If it's supposed to help make sure your child has funds available, they missed the point and make it very difficult. You're definitely better off using a regular bank account card. Or making an account specifically for the child with the parent's name and adding the child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Greenlight is great

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I find it hard to believe so many intense negative reviews on this site.

    We’ve been using Greenlight app and card for almost 2 years and have nothing but good things to say. My kids don’t carry cash anymore, just the Greenlight card, it’s easy to reload, easy to see where they are spending money and easy to turn off the card when they lose it...once.

    They use it online, Amazon and American Eagle and they have used it traveling in Mexico and Europe.

    I love and they do too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from Greenlight

      Hi John! It is so wonderful to hear your families experience using Greenlight. We love hearing that they have even done some traveling with their cards in hand. Excited to have you and your kids with us!


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It’s good in theory

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the idea at first. But there are definitely a lot of frustrating things I’ve experienced in the few months we’ve been using it. For some reason, even though it’s an MC debit card, it won’t work with certain retailers online. Why not? It’s a debit card. Shouldn’t it work everywhere?! I don’t understand that. Plus my login is the same as my son's. Which means he also has access to the parent's wallet. If he wanted to, he could transfer money to himself or pull money from my bank account. Not that he would (I’d hope, lol), but any kid could. Again, huh? How does that make sense? I may cancel this and do something different. It’s infuriating to be paying a monthly fee for a debit card that ¼ of the time literally won’t work at random retailers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 43

Write a Review for Greenlight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review