Start your review of Greenlight:
  • 49 Customer Reviews
  • 41% Recommend This Company
2.7 out of 5
5 star: 40% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 55%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • It’s good in theory

    • By Sarah M.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved the idea at first. But there are definitely a lot of frustrating things I’ve experienced in the few months we’ve been using it. For some reason, even though it’s an MC debit card, it won’t work with certain retailers online. Why not? It’s a debit card. Shouldn’t it work everywhere?! I don’t understand that. Plus my login is the same as my son's. Which means he also has access to the parent's wallet. If he wanted to, he could transfer money to himself or pull money from my bank account. Not that he would (I’d hope, lol), but any kid could. Again, huh? How does that make sense? I may cancel this and do something different. It’s infuriating to be paying a monthly fee for a debit card that ¼ of the time literally won’t work at random retailers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is a scam

    • By Andrea R.,
    • Reno, NV,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This card is a total scam, and I’m concerned for the victims this company is scamming. I loaded money onto the card for my teenager and set it to the setting allowing him to spend the money anywhere. He went to an ATM and tried withdrawing funds and the card was declined. He came home and tried making purchases online. Again the card declined. I went to the app and Greenlight without my consent turned off his card.

    I called customer service and could barely understand what the lady was saying. I finally cracked the language barrier and understood "call morning 8 am, closed," so I called this morning and when they answered it sounded like pure chaos. It literally sounded as if I called someone during a raging concert and could barely communicate with the whatever foreigner on the other end. I wish I could have recorded the ridiculous background noise blaring in the background. After being transferred THREE times, I was told I had to fax them my bank statements and personal information to turn the card back on! GIANT RED FLAG. I informed the agent that this is highly illegal. I didn’t turn the card off and now they want my personal bank info? Super shady.

    After refusing to do so, she finally offered to transfer the funds back to my bank account and close the card. I’m filing a claim with consumer reports so people are aware of this shady business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wonderful!

    • By Aimee S.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using this app and cards for a couple of years now. I have NEVER had a problem! I started out with two cards, and recently added two more (I have 6 kids). This app is so easy to operate from the dashboard weather you're a parent or a child! I have NEVER had any unsafe issues having it connected to the bank account. I can verify after using it for years it is safe! Very safe and super handy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from Greenlight

      Hi Aimee! We are so excited to hear that you and your kids are enjoying Greenlight. Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience and kind words. Your input very much appreciated. Happy to have you with us!


  • Greenlight is great

    • By John H.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I find it hard to believe so many intense negative reviews on this site.

    We’ve been using Greenlight app and card for almost 2 years and have nothing but good things to say. My kids don’t carry cash anymore, just the Greenlight card, it’s easy to reload, easy to see where they are spending money and easy to turn off the card when they lose it...once.

    They use it online, Amazon and American Eagle and they have used it traveling in Mexico and Europe.

    I love and they do too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from Greenlight

      Hi John! It is so wonderful to hear your families experience using Greenlight. We love hearing that they have even done some traveling with their cards in hand. Excited to have you and your kids with us!


  • Worst experience ever!

    • By Michele F.,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don’t get this card! No security at all. Fraudulent charges made on my child’s account and blamed him from making online purchases. I called literally 2 minutes after the charge was made and they would not decline the charge so now who knows how long the dispute process will take. Get a normal bank account for your child! I will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau as well. Horrible customer service as well. Not helpful at all besides saying "thank you" over and over again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Negative psychological effect on kids

    Overall Experience:

    My daughter recently used the card in Glossier, LA. She's out with her friends for her friend’s bday celeb. To my daughter’s dismay, the card was declined! Not once but TWICE! My daughter was embarrassed by this and called me right away. Told me about the embarrassing situation THIS card has put her in. I immediately called Greenlight. An agent named Min answered. Min the agent said that the card is expired. I told Min that I just opened the account not too long ago how can it be expired? I 3-way call my daughter so she can tell Min of the expiration date of the card (the expiration is not until JULY 2023). Since I am not satisfied with the reasons of Min, I asked to be transferred to a supervisor. Hailey the supervisor answered the call. On Hailey's end, she said that my daughter put in an incorrect passcode number. My daughter on the other line said they run at as credit (not the first time it happened and it worked just fine in seat in restaurants BEFORE), and now the supervisor Hailey said because it is a "prepaid" card that it should not be run as credit. I said it was done numerous times before and it worked. Hailey said that she sees in her computer the wrong pin was entered. My daughter said to Hailey the store did not ask for a pin. I asked Hailey what is she seeing in her monitor?

    Is my money safe with Greenlight? Now I am not sure! The supervisor definitely cannot give me the answers I'm looking for! There's money in the account so how can it be declined. Greenlight should think and know that there is a psychological effect when kids get embarrassed! They should be held liable for the product they are selling because as a customer, I have funds in my kids’ account but I trusted them that the money of my kids will be safe, but they brought my daughter embarrassment and do not do anything about this! Shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • HORRIBLE! Do not use this service! Zero stars!

    • By Camdy L.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This service sounded great in theory. However, the card was ordered and linked to my personal bank account, but the app was never linked to my phone. I spoke to Greenlight support on numerous occasions to link the app to no avail. I asked in July 2018 for the accounts to be closed/canceled. They continued to charge my account the monthly service fee. I contacted them on December 9th and they assured my refund of all the charges and to cancel the cards. It never happened. They charged my account AGAIN on the 23rd! I spoke to another rep on the 28th. She apologized and stated that the request was never completed and that she would complete the request. It never happened. I spoke to another rep on January 15th. He stated that the best they could do is refund me $5. This company is a SCAM. Protect your money and account from this predator!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware, money can be taken straight from your bank account

    • By Natasha T.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using Greenlight, and long story short, it was awesome, until one of the kids tried to make a purchase. They didn't have enough funds, so Greenlight took money straight from my bank account, not the parent wallet, but my bank account, and put it into the child's card. So yes, it's very possible your child will try to make a purchase and even if there isn't enough money, Greenlight will snatch money out your bank account without you authorizing it! They say it's in their "cardholder agreement." Totally unacceptable! It defeats the purpose of having a parent funding wallet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fees are high, poor customer service

    • By Jennifer R.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    $5.99 per month fee on to of startup charges. That's more than most credit cards. There are no in-network ATM's, so you must pay a fee to the ATM operators, too. They do not inform customers of the $100/day withdrawal limit. I had my kids save their allowance for a PlayStation 4. In order for the two of them to get $150 each to give me to make the purchase, they paid a total of $20 just in ATM fees. Customer service was useless, just repeating the same line over and over on how that was the way it is and there were no remedies available. I'm switching to Busykid!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not recommend anyone use this service!

    • By William R.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw this on a pop-up on Instagram, and since I have a minor child that resides in a different state than I do, it sounded like a good idea. I attempted to sign up for the free trial period, and when doing so, I realized I had made an error in my entry of my information. I tried to correct it, but the system would not allow me to go back to that screen. I stopped and called. The customer service agent said I had to send in all of these documents to fix it. I hadn’t even finished the set up of my account, why do I have to send in any documents? It was just 10 minutes after trying to set up the free account. I did get to the entering of my credit card information but didn’t approve the deposit amount yet.

    I decided at that point that this wasn’t for me. I told the agent to cancel everything and I didn’t want to try this service anymore. Two days later there is a charge on my card for $19.74. Why did they charge me when (1) it was supposed to be a free 30-day trial, (2) I didn’t complete the whole set up process, and (3) I canceled it 20 minutes after trying to set it up. Not even one day, and no, I didn’t even approve to get a card mailed out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do NOT sign up! This is a scam.

    • By Robyn A.,
    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sent $200 to my parent wallet. After almost three weeks our cards arrived in the mail. Then when I tried to activate the cards, there is an account error that will not allow me to activate the card. So we basically have no access to the funds. In addition, they are unresponsive and asked for a picture of my ID and a bill or earnings statement. I don't trust this app at all! And the whole time they are charging me a fee of $5 a month. I tried to transfer my money back to my actual bank account and apparently, they don't "offer that feature." So they get to keep my money, charge me fees and not allow me/the kids to use the cards despite my multiple attempts to activate our cards. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 49

Write a Review for Greenlight!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Greenlight