Read 43 Greenlight Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE! Do not use this service! Zero stars!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This service sounded great in theory. However, the card was ordered and linked to my personal bank account, but the app was never linked to my phone. I spoke to Greenlight support on numerous occasions to link the app to no avail. I asked in July 2018 for the accounts to be closed/canceled. They continued to charge my account the monthly service fee. I contacted them on December 9th and they assured my refund of all the charges and to cancel the cards. It never happened. They charged my account AGAIN on the 23rd! I spoke to another rep on the 28th. She apologized and stated that the request was never completed and that she would complete the request. It never happened. I spoke to another rep on January 15th. He stated that the best they could do is refund me $5. This company is a SCAM. Protect your money and account from this predator!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Beware, money can be taken straight from your bank account

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Greenlight, and long story short, it was awesome, until one of the kids tried to make a purchase. They didn't have enough funds, so Greenlight took money straight from my bank account, not the parent wallet, but my bank account, and put it into the child's card. So yes, it's very possible your child will try to make a purchase and even if there isn't enough money, Greenlight will snatch money out your bank account without you authorizing it! They say it's in their "cardholder agreement." Totally unacceptable! It defeats the purpose of having a parent funding wallet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Fees are high, poor customer service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    $5.99 per month fee on to of startup charges. That's more than most credit cards. There are no in-network ATM's, so you must pay a fee to the ATM operators, too. They do not inform customers of the $100/day withdrawal limit. I had my kids save their allowance for a PlayStation 4. In order for the two of them to get $150 each to give me to make the purchase, they paid a total of $20 just in ATM fees. Customer service was useless, just repeating the same line over and over on how that was the way it is and there were no remedies available. I'm switching to Busykid!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I would not recommend anyone use this service!

    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on a pop-up on Instagram, and since I have a minor child that resides in a different state than I do, it sounded like a good idea. I attempted to sign up for the free trial period, and when doing so, I realized I had made an error in my entry of my information. I tried to correct it, but the system would not allow me to go back to that screen. I stopped and called. The customer service agent said I had to send in all of these documents to fix it. I hadn’t even finished the set up of my account, why do I have to send in any documents? It was just 10 minutes after trying to set up the free account. I did get to the entering of my credit card information but didn’t approve the deposit amount yet.

    I decided at that point that this wasn’t for me. I told the agent to cancel everything and I didn’t want to try this service anymore. Two days later there is a charge on my card for $19.74. Why did they charge me when (1) it was supposed to be a free 30-day trial, (2) I didn’t complete the whole set up process, and (3) I canceled it 20 minutes after trying to set it up. Not even one day, and no, I didn’t even approve to get a card mailed out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT sign up! This is a scam.

    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sent $200 to my parent wallet. After almost three weeks our cards arrived in the mail. Then when I tried to activate the cards, there is an account error that will not allow me to activate the card. So we basically have no access to the funds. In addition, they are unresponsive and asked for a picture of my ID and a bill or earnings statement. I don't trust this app at all! And the whole time they are charging me a fee of $5 a month. I tried to transfer my money back to my actual bank account and apparently, they don't "offer that feature." So they get to keep my money, charge me fees and not allow me/the kids to use the cards despite my multiple attempts to activate our cards. A complete waste of time and money. Do NOT sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Zero stars is more like it, terrible process

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This card is not a scam, but it's terrible. The current system in place sucks. They constantly freeze or lock up the card for simple things they could just as easily make a phone call to confirm. Like a person making a deposit into the account. They will take the money you load but not make it available and only send an email. If it's supposed to help make sure your child has funds available, they missed the point and make it very difficult. You're definitely better off using a regular bank account card. Or making an account specifically for the child with the parent's name and adding the child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Gotcha!

    • New York,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is no easy way to get cash. None. You MUST use an ATM and pay a fee. The card DOES NOT WORK EVERYWHERE. That is just a plain lie. There is no way to money back into the funding account, and for some reason, you can't fund a securities account (like Stockpile) with this card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Prepaid card

    • Texas,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am super dissatisfied. I was very excited to be able to send money to my niece in California and make this process easy, but I was WRONG! Four different attempts to get the card activated. Last time I was told it was the magnetic strip. When the child never once used the card elsewhere but online!

    Meanwhile, I'm getting charged a monthly fee. So I'm getting charged a fee for y'all to decline my card! Do something different. Do not go with Greenlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great idea, terrible service!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up, gave a lot of information and the app did not work, and I attempted to reach customer service multiple times with no help. Just a nice person in the Philippines saying sorry without solutions. No one picks up at the next line of service. Do not sign up for it. I feel unsafe now because they have a lot of my information and I can't communicate with anyone there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    They don't care about you.

    • Kentucky,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Greenlight through my company as it was a promotion on our employee's website. Well, they keep turning my kid's card. Earlier this year my 16-year-old was on a school trip in Washington, and they turned his card off without any notification all because I added a few hundred dollars to my parent account then transferred to his card. My son couldn't use his card, and it was a panic mode for me as his mother who was 1200 miles away, and I had to asked his teacher to pay for his food and i paid her back once they arrived home.

    I requested to have my account deactivated and refund me any credit, and it has been three months and no credit from Greenlight. This company does not care about you and your kids, they will takes days to respond to your request, and you can hardly get anyone on the phone. My fellow parents, do NOT use this company. There are other companies out there that offer the same and better service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love Greenlight!

    I use Greenlight for my older children and distant younger sibling and I absolutely love it! It comes in so handy and makes my life so much easier. I have such a piece of mind having this awesome tools at my families fingertips. Thank you Greenlight!

    Sincerely,

    One happy mama!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 43

Write a Review for Greenlight!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review