Greenlight Debit Card

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Greenlight

Overall Rating

2.8

54 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Greenlight is a useful tool for overseeing your child’s financial life and teaching them principles of saving, giving, spending, and how to balance what they earn with what they spend.

Pros

  • Provides child a parent-controlled debit card
  • Low monthly fee
  • Has allowance and chore features

Cons

  • Android app isn’t as good as the iPhone app
  • Bank transfers take 3 to 5 days
  • Can’t deposit cash via ATM’s

Customer Reviews

2.8 Stars out of 54 Reviews
5 Star:38% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:51%
41% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Greenlight:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 7, 2018

My child loves Greenlight

By Sam Maguire Jr, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Greenlight debit card has become part of my family's daily lifestyle. As a family, we set a monthly budget for clothes, candy, Amazon "doo-dads" and "kids stuff" all to fit in one bottom line number per month. The Greenlight card has helped our daughter become fiscally responsible and saves my wife and I a ton of angst each week trying to remember to have cash on hand! Keep up the improvements because we will have this card for many years to come!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 7, 2018

Great tool - got us out of several jams

By Del Ross, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

We were never comfortable just handing out cash to our kids, and giving them a credit card when they were young seemed very inappropriate and inconsistent with the kind of parents we want to be. Greenlight's control gives the kids the ability to spend without cash and gives us the oversight that we want.

On three occasions, we had a child stuck without cash and Greenlight saved the day. Transferring funds for specific purposes was simple and instant. We recommend this service without hesitation.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 7, 2018

Amazing solution for your kids!

By Sach Chitnis, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Anyone with kids and trying to teach them both how to be responsible and financial knowledge MUST get this! Not only do every parent I know get this after hearing about it, they all rave.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 7, 2018

Great way to teach teens about credit card responsibility!

By Angela Bonura, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I remember being a teen and finding myself frustrated at my inability to manage my own money. With only an ATM card and a couple of places to use it freely it felt like my money was always trapped. These days there are places that straight up don’t take cash for a multitude of reasons, electronic payments are more and more common and convenient and teens shouldn’t have to wait until they’re of legal age to practice using and maintaining debit cards. My niece and nephew are already excited to have more than gift cards in their wallets!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 7, 2018

Would recommend

By Angela Galzerano, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I enjoyed this service, and my kid does too. Thanks for providing it to your customers! An awesome way to teach your child responsibly, especially in the digital age. I would recommend to any parent out there.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Apr 4, 2018

Great product for tweens

By Katy Fressola, Hartford, CT, Verified Reviewer

My 12-year-old daughter has had this card for about a month, and so far we are thrilled! Children under 13 can’t get a standard debit card from our bank, but this card allows us to auto deposit her allowance and tracks her spending and money through the online app. It completely meets our needs and is helping teach our daughter about managing her finances.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 19, 2018

Great card for my son.

By Jennifer B., Florida, Verified Reviewer

We had some issues getting started, however, it was an issue on our end. A rep by the name of Maxy Cordova helped me via email, and she was able to fix the issue. The rep was very prompt in responding. I recommend the card.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2018

Horrible customer service! Do not work with this company!

By Dan LaParl, Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

After a few months of having cards for both of my daughters, I found that we just weren't using it as we thought.

I called the customer service number to cancel the account, and the woman whom I was speaking with was so unbelievably rude! She had me answer questions to 'verify' my account, but wouldn't cancel my account until I verified the exact time and day my last deposit was and how the deposit was made. Then, she informed me that I would need to be transferred to someone else to close the account and I could leave a VM with my phone number for someone to call me back. Obviously, I began to get irritated at this point, and she told me that I had to be quiet before she would try to transfer me. I was on the phone nearly 30 minutes before someone picked up and asked me for all the same info the previous person already received. Unbelievable. This was the worst customer service I have ever seen!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2018

Horrible

By Megan Boddie, Ruston, LA, Verified Reviewer

The limit to add to the card is $1000, and after adding $500 my account was sent to fraud protection. Ok, fine. I sent them all the info requested, and none of the info was good enough. They needed proof of address. I sent a utility bill and my lease. What more could they possibly need along with my ID? I canceled the electronic cards, and instead of reimbursing me my funds to my card, they stated they would send a check. LIKE seriously, you electronically took my payment, but sending me a paper check? No way. I, against my better judgment, sent my daughter with this card on a trip and she was unable to use it, and I had to wire her money.

If I could pick zero stars, I would!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 4, 2018

Not happy so far

By Dave Dionne, Gorham, ME, Verified Reviewer

I called 888-483-2645 to check on an incorrect charge on my daughter's debit card through Greenlight. I was distressed to find out that I was calling a representative in the Philippines to discuss my account (including security-based personal information, date of birth, last four digits of social security number, etc.).

My daughter's card had to be shut off due to a mysterious $99 attempted charge for Amazon Prime (twice) that neither my daughter or I authorized. There were two charges for $3.50 that appeared on my account for shutting off the card. This happened just a few days after the card was activated and used for 3 small purchases at The Maine Mall in South Portland, Maine. I know another cardholder who encountered the exact same mysterious charge ($99 Amazon Prime).

Is Greenlight based in the United States? Can I speak to someone in the United States about this weird $99 attempted charge?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted
Showing 45-54 of 54

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.