Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Apr 30, 2020

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher claims to combat many forms of skin discoloration, including age spots, sun spots, and liver spots. This advanced serum promises to transform a blotchy, uneven skin tone to restore your skin and give you a more youthful appearance.

Dr. Gundry is an American doctor and author who formerly worked as a cardiac surgeon. He’s written numerous books on holistic wellness through a better diet and has released a line of supplements and skincare products designed to keep you looking young and feeling healthy.

The Dark Spot Diminisher’s formula contains a range of ingredients that will purportedly improve your skin’s health without adverse side effects, meaning that you can use it for the long term.

These claims aren’t unique within the anti-aging skincare industry. Does the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher stand out from other options? Our analysis of this premium product will help you decide if it is a good option for you.

Pros
  • Ingredients show clinical evidence for reducing dark spots
  • Minimal side effects associated with ingredients
  • Positive customer reviews indicate it works for many
Cons
  • Confusing pricing information
  • No ingredients that stand out compared to other dark spot treatments

How to Use It

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is a skincare serum designed for twice-daily use. The company suggests you apply it to your trouble spots twice daily in the morning and evening.

You can start by applying a dime-sized amount to your dark spots and surrounding areas, massaging it into your skin with gentle circular motions.

Make sure you leave it on for as long as possible before showering or otherwise rinsing it off so that the active ingredients have time to work.

Analysis of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher act as emollients, exfoliants, skin lightening agents, humectants, thickening agents, preservatives, natural sources of antioxidants, and other skin conditioning agents.

A few deserve a second look.

Bacillus ferment is an enzyme-based skin exfoliant that is used as an alternative to alpha hydroxy acid (AHA), a class of compounds that are often used to plump and smooth the skin while visibly brightening dark spots. Some people experience adverse side effects from AHA’s like burning, itching, or even blisters, so bacillus ferment is often used as a milder alternative with less risk of irritation.

Diglucosyl gallic acid, also known as trihydroxy benzoic acid alpha-glucoside, is a patented molecule that’s used to lighten skin pigmentation and brighten your overall skin tone. It can reduce dark spots and prevent new ones from forming.

Sodium hyaluronate is a common ingredient in anti-aging products because it will purportedly increase your collagen production to improve your skin’s elasticity and fill in fine lines and wrinkles. Clinical evidence shows that it will work as described, but only when taken as injections. There’s less evidence right now that it will work when used topically in a skin cream.

Diamond powder is often added to skincare products, both to increase their perceived value and to act as a natural exfoliant. The powder is commonly used as a brightener to disguise fine lines and wrinkles by reflecting light off your skin. However, this ingredient is listed low in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher, so you shouldn’t assume there’s much in it.

Finally, the serum includes a range of plant extracts that are known as polyphenols. Renowned for their high antioxidant content, polyphenols applied topically are considered an effective way to combat some of the causes of aging skin, including environmental damage and free radical exposure.

Overall, many ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher show promise for working as described to moisturize your skin and lighten your dark spots.

Possible Side Effects

According to the company website, all Dark Spot Diminisher ingredients are 100% safe for topical use and won’t lead to skin irritation when used correctly.

We didn’t uncover any known side effects throughout the research process, and in at least one case—bacillus ferment—a milder version of a popular ingredient is used to reduce irritation further.

If you tend to have sensitive skin, it’s still a good idea to perform a patch test before using this product. Dab a small amount on your arm and watch how your skin responds over 24 hours before applying it to your face.

Pricing and Money-Back Guarantee

Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is currently listed on the company’s official website at the following prices:

  • One Bottle: $120
  • Two Bottles: $228
  • Three Bottles: $324

However, we also found an “internet only promotion” offer from the company where the same-sized bottles of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher cost the following:

  • One Bottle: $49
  • Two Bottles: $86 ($43 each)
  • Three Bottles: $120 ($40 each)

In other words, you may want to shop around.

Shipping seems to be free for all purchases, and you can expect two to seven-day delivery.

All orders from the company website qualify for a 90-day money-back warranty that comes into effect on the day you make the purchase. Keep in mind that purchases from other retailers such as Amazon don’t qualify for this refund and that you’ll need to pay any return shipping costs.

You can initiate this process by contacting customer service at (800) 852-0477 or support@gundrymd.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

We have almost 500 reviews of the Gundy MD here at HighYa, and the product has averaged an impressive 4.2 stars, with 89% of users saying that they would recommend to it a friend. Here’s a closer look at what these customers want you to know:

Common Compliments:

  • Began to reduce dark spots within a week of use
  • Left hands looking younger after treatment
  • Works well if you prep your skin beforehand

Common Complaints:

  • Didn’t work as promised to lighten dark spots, even after months of use
  • The scent was too strong for some users
  • Results were too subtle for the cost
  • Left a reddish tone on some user’s skin
  • Some experienced delayed shipping

Popular Alternatives

Plenty of options are available today, promising to restore your skin and even out its coloring. Here’s a summary of how it compares to two popular products: the Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector and the City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector.

Gundry MD Polyphenol Dark Spot Diminisher Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector
Cost $120 per bottle (1-oz) $129.95 per bottle (1-oz) $72 per bottle (1-oz)
Key Ingredients Bacillus ferment, Diglucosyl gallic acid, Sodium hyaluronate, polyphenols Kakadu Plum, DermalRx, Daisy Flower Extract, Niacinamide Alpha Arbutin, Sepiwhite-MSH, Resveratrol
Average HighYa Rating 4.2, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.5, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.3, 89% would recommend to a friend

As this chart shows, both the Gundry MD and Beverly Hills MD dark spot treatments cost approximately the same amount, at over $120 per 1-oz bottle. The City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot is comparatively affordable at almost half the cost.

What’s interesting is that all three products rely on significantly different ingredients to achieve the same aim—fading dark spots on the skin. One consistency between them is that each contains a plethora of plant-based ingredients that act as natural sources of antioxidants and polyphenols to improve your skin naturally.

Each has also earned a stellar review from HighYa readers, averaging more than four stars and close to nine out of 10 readers recommending them to others.

In our estimation, this means that you can’t go wrong with experimenting with any one of these dark spot removers. Each company also offers a no-questions-asked return policy, so you will only be out the cost of shipping if you decide it isn’t right for you.

The Bottom Line: Is It Worth It?

Overall, the Gundry MD Dark Spot Corrector seems to be a viable option for improving your skin and fading dark spots. None of the product’s ingredients raised any red flags from a safety standpoint, and many show clinical evidence for improving your skin texture and tone so that you look younger.

One thing to be aware of is that this product seems to be sold at wildly varying price points across the web – even from the official company. We found savings of almost 60% per bottle on different websites, so we recommend shopping around before committing either way.

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher was a positive purchase for many reviewers, and there’s a good chance that you will have a similar experience. Just keep in mind that there are plenty of similar products available that will likely deliver the same level of results, so it’s worth shopping around.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher:
  • 540 Customer Reviews
  • 89% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 52% 4 star: 34% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 6%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Don't waste your money

    • By Randy R.,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using this stuff religiously, day and night, for over four months. It has done absolutely nothing. My dark spots have not faded even a little. This product is a complete ripoff. Do NOT waste your money on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hey Randy, I'm very sorry to hear that our Dark Spot Diminisher did not work for you! We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • Fraud

    • By Barbara A.,
    • Elmira, NY,
    • Jan 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this item that was to remove or lighten dark spots on your hands. I used the product exactly as directions called for. I used it for weeks and saw absolutely no difference. I feel this is nothing but a money game for this so-called doctor. As far as getting a refund, I never saw it. I complained and heard nothing back. Anyone who chooses to buy this, beware it is no different than a hand cream. He must be laughing all the way to the bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 6, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Barbara, I'm very sorry to read that our Dark Spot Diminisher was not the right fit for you. We understand that our products may work well for some but not others, which is why we will always honor our money-back guarantee. I want to thank you for giving this product a try and ask that you email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can take care of your order immediately. Thank you!


  • I did not see any results

    • By Meghan O.,
    • Washington,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I decided to use this product after enormous amounts of money trying to get rid of my dark spots. I have decided it will never go away and have made peace with it. I have been using this product for over a month and nothing has emerged from it. I would advise not to purchase this product. It smells good but it does not work. I will be taking them up on the 90-day return policy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Meghan, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. For best results, we recommend our customers use the product consistently for 90 days, but it sounds like you've given this product a thorough try. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. I'm sorry our Dark Spot Diminisher was not the right fit.


  • Disappointed in results

    • By Nancy B.,
    • Missouri,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have faithfully applied Gundry Dark Spot Diminisher for the past three months in hopes of seeing some results on my arms and my face. I so wanted it to work; however, there was no difference from when I first started using it. To say I am very disappointed is an understatement!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Nancy, I'm sorry that our Dark Spot Diminisher was not the right fit for you. Thank you for giving the product a try! I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number attached to this review. Please expect a return confirmation within the next 1-2 business days. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • Did not work for me

    • By Jim K.,
    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Dec 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I thought when ordering the dark spot remover it really would make a difference to my forehead and backs of hands which have a lot of dark spots gained over the past few years. I received 3 bottles and have been applying religiously as advised twice a day for the past two months and am now well into my third bottle.

    Well, it has not made a difference at all and my age/sun spots remain the same.

    So I am very disappointed in the results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Jim, thank you for giving our Dark Spot Diminisher a try! I'm sorry it was not the right fit for you - please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund. Thank you!


  • No noticeable results after 1.5 bottles used!

    • By Steve M.,
    • Sun Lakes, AZ,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So far, I have been using Dr. Grundy's Polyphenol Dark Spot twice daily as recommended with zero results after 1.5 bottles used. I purchased 3 bottles and am quite disappointed as of this time. I intend to apply for a full refund either once the bottles have all been exhausted OR prior to the refund date...whichever occurs first. I'm both running out of time and patience so, I certainly hope this product begins to work soon before I reach either deadline as referenced. I'm being quite fair with my decision-making process but time is running out. My wife suggested I take before/after pictures for comparison purposes but I can tell the spots have not changed in appearance whatsoever. If the results should change, I will gladly repost with a favorable review. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Steve, I'm sorry to read that you haven't experienced the results you had hoped from our Dark Spot Diminisher. We understand that this product may work for some but not others which is why we have our money-back guarantee in place. Thank you for giving the product a try! I've gone ahead and shared your order number with our customer service team. Please keep an eye out for a refund confirmation email within the next 1-2 business days. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you. Thank you!


  • Don't waste your hard-earned money

    • By Jane B.,
    • Eagan, MN,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Dark Spot Gundry product was a complete waste of my money. I have continually used it because it was expensive, but not one shade difference in my dark spots. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT. You're only wasting your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Jane, I'm very sorry to hear this. Many of our customers have seen success using our the Dark Spot Diminisher but we understand that everybody is different. Therefore, we will always stand by our money back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund!


  • No improvements

    • By Heather B.,
    • California,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After using for 2 months, I still have dark marks on my forehead...with no improvements. So disappointed! I bought 3 bottles, but going to return them...hopefully without any problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Heather, I'm sorry our Dark Spot Diminisher wasn't the right fit for you! Thank you for giving it a try. I've gone ahead initiated a refund for the order number attached to your review. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com with any other questions or concerns.


  • Disappointed

    • By Julia R.,
    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am sorry to say that after going through two bottles of the Dark Spot Diminisher in a period of 45 days or so, I see no difference and I did as suggested and photographed the areas on my face and forearms that I wanted to address.

    I used the product every day, twice a day faithfully and see absolutely no change. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 6, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Julia, thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm very sorry to read that our Dark Spot Diminisher wasn't the right fit for you. Thank you for giving the product a try! I will go ahead and initiate a refund for the order number you attached to your review. Please keep an eye out for an email from the Customer Relations team. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • Does not work

    • By Marita M.,
    • California,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the three-month supply after reading the reviews and watching the long sales pitch. I have used it religiously as directed for the past 2 months with zero effect. I will say I like that the lotion has no awful scent and is very moisturizing. Unfortunately, this is not the purpose of my purchase. I will need to ask for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 6, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Marita, thank you for sharing your feedback and for giving the product a try! I've initiated your refund so please be on the lookout for a refund confirmation email from our Customer Relations team. If you have any questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.


  • Saw no results.

    • By P. L. H.,
    • Utah,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wish I could say it works. I have used it on my face and back of hand twice a day for a number of months and can't see any difference. I was told to rub in it, which I have done and still no fading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi P.L., thank you so much for your honest review. I am so sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. As with all products, we do understand that the Dark Spot Diminisher may work well for some and not for others, but this is why we honor our 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. Please e-mail me at Aria@GundryMD.com and I can issue you a full refund right away. Thank you for giving our product a try and I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


Showing 1-11 of 540

Write a Review for Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review