About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

288 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 185 4 star: 84 3 star: 9 2 star: 6 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 288
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Does Total Restore have carbs? I count carbs and need to know so I can adjust my insulin.

    • Cedar Rapids, IA,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Total Restore. I’m awaiting all the great benefits! I have gastroparesis, so I’m hoping this bloating and pain goes away or eases. I have read all reviews and like the customer that got double billed that happened to me too. I think their website has a fluke in it. It said my cart timed out so I redid it and that’s how I got 5 bottles! I just need to know how many carbs are in one capsule!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I'm sticking with it!

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't like writing enough to go into long extensive details, however, I can say I am happy with the Total Restore supplements. I'm taking and I am very happy with the way I'm looking, the weight I've lost, and my belly continually getting flatter.

    Not only would I recommend it to a friend, I have recommended it to many friends and some total strangers as well.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2018

      Cara B.

      I have been taking Total Restore for almost two months and have lost almost seven pounds of my stubborn fat on my belly. Being over 55, it has been so hard to remove it and finally the belly fat is coming off. Thank you Dr. Gundry, from an RN that understands the medical behind the product!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful marketing

    • Perth, Western Australia, Australia,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After listening to Gundry's full story/history, I proceeded to purchase three bottles.

    His story and history are exceptionally convincing and honest. This is where, in my opinion, it becomes deceitful. After agreeing to purchase three bottles, you are then offered a deal at a better rate purchasing six bottles. So I agreed to purchase six bottles. However, what has actually occurred is six bottles were purchased. I checked my online credit card minutes later thinking..."I'm not feeling comfortable about what just happened," only to confirm that in actual fact two transactions had taken place totaling $574 Australian currency for nine bottles of this stuff.

    I am not a happy camper. I have taken this to my bank to deal with. There was also no confirmation of order before agreeing to purchase. It's BS! This only happened two hours ago, and straight away I'm feeling ripped off. Any thought of thinking this is really good and he's an amazing doctor went straight out the window with the deceitful marketing strategy, which was not necessary if the product was genuine. Who in their right mind wd buy nine bottles of this stuff, let alone $574 worth! Even agreeing to purchase six bottles was pretty damn reckless of me, but nine! Piss off and the exchange rate...you get ripped off there too.

    I hope my bank can get the transaction reversed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    What did I do before Restore

    • Northport, NY,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you so much for this product. After 3 months of faithfully taking Restore, I ran out. I then decided I must be cured and could try some other recommended products. While after 3 days without Restore, it can't come quick enough. How horrible it is to have those pains and bloating. Never knowing what kind of situation you'll be in when you leave the house. I'm waiting on my order now and have now put myself on automatic delivery. Again, thank you for this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    After H Pylori, very happy

    • Newport Beach, CA,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After about a year of thinking I was dying, I was finally diagnosed with H Pylori (a harsh stomach bacteria). I figure I had had H Pylori for over 5 years and it really harmed my stomach, digestive system, liver, and overall health. I had horrible digestion, absorption, fatigue, acid/GERD, pain, anxiety, etc. I was prescribed the triple antibiotic therapy for 3 weeks and a PPI (omeprazole) for over 1 and 1/2 years.

    My wife ordered Total Restore and convinced me to try. I take it with my "Digest All" digestive enzymes. I have been taking this combo for 60 days. The first obvious effect, is a healthy BM, no diarrhea or loose stool like before. I also feel energy 2 hours after taking pills. No real weight loss. Less bloating. I am no longer taking omeprazole. Seems to be very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    I've had stomach issues for years, they are now gone

    • Connecticut,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a firm believer in The Plant Paradox. I've been taking Total Restore for three weeks and the results are outstanding. Hardly any bloating or IBS symptoms. I've been bragging about the books to all my friends, they all say I should work for Dr. Gundry. Anyway, he has changed my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Awesome results

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered with IBS my entire life...I am 64. I have taken Total Restore for three months and have been symptom-free, no diarrhea! During this time I have been on vacation a total of three weeks, which means eating out, and I have had no issues as I have had in my past.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Impact

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total Restore has replaced my daily medication Nexium tablets to help with an upset stomach. I now take these tables every morning without fail and feel great. I enjoy watching Dr. Gundry's short videos and they inspire me to keep good health, especially after having a 5-way bypass this January 2018 at the age of 48. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic!

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely love it! My stomach no longer looks like I am pregnant! And feel so much better. The only problem that I had is taking three pills a day. I can handle one pill a day. I will continue using this product! I have tried all of the "belly fat" pills with no luck. It's even helping lower my blood pressure! I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore REALLY WORKS!

    • Lost Nation, IA,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know most products sold online don't stand up to their claims. I'm not one to believe in such claims or purchase such products. However, Dr. Gundry's long list of medical credentials, his impeccable career as a trailblazer in cardiac medicine, and the many, many lives he has saved during his illustrious career as one of the world's leading heart surgeons got my attention.

    My mother died at 65 from pancreatic cancer. She was diagnosed stage 4 and sent home with painkillers to die. Most live 4-6 months at best. I did extensive research and found a Dr. Hilda Clarke, whom herself had an arm's length of credentials, who studied the affected organs of hundreds of cancer patients. She found that 100% had either parasites or flukes. She devoted her life to this research and developed a recipe of natural ingredients that can still be found online. I followed her recipe and, for months, ground these ingredients, filled capsules, and gave them to my mom. She lived nearly 18 months! I've always credited Dr. Clarke's recipe.

    I also lost my baby sister in January to cholangiocarcinoma. She was 54. This cancer started in her gallbladder and metastasized to her liver. She lived 3 and 1/2 years and was diagnosed at stage 4. These cancers were both parts of the digestive system.

    I, personally, have lived on OTC stomach pills for years. They can cause cancer. I have also had large, dark patches on the outside of both of my lower legs for years. My sister's oncologist once told me that is a sign of liver problems. YIKES! Not being able to afford health insurance scared me.

    I watched Dr. Gundry's video on Facebook. He suggested that all health problems originate in the digestive system. Specifically from leaky gut. I had been diagnosed with leaky gut syndrome in the 1980s, but never treated medically. I guess they considered it untreatable back then.

    Then I watched a cancer webinar with 5 of the world's leading doctors, ranging from oncologists to holistic medicine physicians. The information I heard from these doctors astounded me. They too were talking about leaky gut syndrome being the culprit that leads to other diseases, including cancer. They gave specifics on prevention, foods to avoid and foods, spices, vitamins, minerals and other natural ingredients that could heal leaky gut and prevent other health issues. I took frantic notes and spent hours watching. Then a light bulb went off...what's in Dr. Gundry's Total Restore? I went back and looked...

    I was astonished and excited. Many of the ingredients were those I ground and encapsulated for my mother. Plus many more that were in my notes from the cancer webinar. I was sold and ordered immediately.

    I couldn't wait to receive my shipment, which arrived within a week. I have taken it for a month now and am awaiting my second bottle. Within 2 weeks I was able to stop taking the OTC lansoprazole stomach pills. Although I still get burning in my stomach, it's tolerable. Before Total Restore I couldn't function without it, the burning was so unbearable. Also, those dark patches on my legs are nearly gone

    Sorry, I've been so long-winded, but I truly believe in this product. Total Restore contains all of the ingredients, plus many more, to heal leaky gut, which I am experiencing as I write this. Although Dr. Gundry states no claim that Total Restore can prevent cancer, I can tell you it contains many of the same things that I know can.

    Thank you Dr. Gundry! Total Restore is working for me. I'm a believer! I have told all my friends and family about it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Hoping to continue to improve

    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am feeling better than I was before taking Total Restore although it has only been a couple of weeks. I look forward to continued improvement. My abdomen is feeling less flabby, and that feels really good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 288

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review