About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

178 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 108 4 star: 58 3 star: 8 2 star: 2 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 97% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 178
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • So far so good

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had bloating, pain in my lower stomach, not having regular bowel movements, gas pains, loss of appetite. All, with the exception of the bowel movements not being regular, have improved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Total Restore WORKS!

    • Newnan, GA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m just into my second month of taking Total Restore, and it’s working! No reflux, much less gas, I’m sleeping sounder and feeling better. No more diarrhea after some meals- that is so great! I’m feeling younger than I have in years! At 70 that’s is such a good thing!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it!

    • Napa, CA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I stumbled across this product and thought I’d give it a try. I just finished my first bottle so I’ve been taking it everyday for 30 days. I also have a consistent yoga practice and for the first time ever, I was able to activate my abdominal muscles in an intermediate arm balance. I believe Total Restore has started to reduce the inflammation in my gut helping make that experience possible. I can’t wait to see how I feel six months from now. So grateful I decided to give it a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore is simply amazing!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try Total Restore after watching Dr. Gundry’s video on his product. Plus it had a money back guarantee so what did I have to lose?

    It is absolutely amazing what it has done for me. First I noticed my bowels were much more regular, thus I could stop taking my fiber tablets. My hearing is more acute, I am not craving junk food, and my brain fog has lifted. I am going to talk to my doctor about stopping my antidepressant medication. I was also taking turmeric (which is quite expensive) because Total Restore has that in it as one of its natural ingredients. I have been heavily involved in a move from one city to another and have been lifting heavy boxes ecteria so who knows what other effects I will notice when I actually give my body a well-deserved rest.

    I started Total Restore exactly one month ago today and have already recommended it to three friends and family members. They are still awaiting the arrival of their Total Restore. I am anxious to hear how they feel after using it for two weeks to a month.

    Kudos to Dr. Gundry for this wonderful product. It is all natural and can provide these results. What could be better? I cannot thank you enough for giving up your Cardiac practice and doing all the required testing to get this awesome product out to the public. I’m sure your life has changed dramatically, and I thank you for taking time from your family to do seminars to get the word out to the public. You are a celebrity of sorts, whether you ever wanted to be or not.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The life style change experiment is working for the better.

    • New York,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over the past year, I have been slowly gaining weight. There was and is much stress in my life being in a very demanding profession. I felt that I had to eat to cope with the stress and be able to function through the situations. I tried to cut down my food but I either could not function or felt even worse.

    When I sat in a chair too long, mostly at meetings, my back was stiff and painful having difficulty standing upright. I usually stand up at my computer. The toes on my right foot became numb and I knew if I continued on this path I would never make it to retirement.

    I read the Diet Evolution and have committed to the teardown phase for at least a year. The diet is helping greatly. I take Total Restore twice a day and I have not had dizzy or brain fog experiences as I had before. I noticed after one month that I was becoming more tired (yes, I am very overdue for a vacation). I decided to try Vital Reds with breakfast in the morning. I have so much energy to get going when I start the workday. The experiment is clearly working for the better. It has been 2.5 months and I have lost 15 lbs. I have a long way to go but I am feeling much better. My back is better and the numbness in my toes is gone! Thanks so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Total Restore review

    • Utah,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking the Total Restore for three weeks now, and I am feeling alright. I do not appear to have as many acid reflux moments as before. I will be taking the remaining of the Total Restore until complete. There have not been any known side effects that have surfaced from taking the Total Restore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Rebecca, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to hear that you have seen an improvement with your acid reflux. I encourage you to continue taking Total Restore as many of our customers experience maximum benefits 90 days into consistent use. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com with any questions or concerns!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Asbury, NJ,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I started using, and we love it. More energy and no allergies! Thank you for great product!

    We have also lost a lot of weight and are recommending to our friends. I noticed a calmer stomach too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The information in the video made some sense, so I decided to order a trial three-bottle supply for three of us in the family, so to evaluate the results. Both my wife (60 years) and my mother (96 years) experienced an unmentioned and unintended consequence.

    Every day for as long as I have known my wife (27 years) every morning she would be congested when she woke up and hacked and spewed for about 15 minutes. I hated it! After taking Total Restore for just two days, she did not wake up congested. It took me several more days before I realized what was different. Hacking and spewing were absent in our house. Oh joy!

    I gave my mother a bottle of Total Restore to try out at the same time my wife started taking hers. For mom's entire life her nose would drip nearly constantly. She carried a hanky tucked in her collar all the day to address the drips. After I noticed my wife's change, and about seven days later from when mom started taking Total Restore, I asked her how her nose drip was, since I noticed she did not have her hanky tucked in her collar. When asked, she said her drips stopped on the second day after taking the capsules. She is ever so grateful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Feeling so much better!

    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After taking Total Restore for over 30 days now, I feel much better than I have in years! I have more energy and don't have that sluggish feeling I used to have. I truly recommend this to everyone. By using this and cutting out certain foods that are recommended has made a huge difference in my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Good gut bugs are winning the battle!

    • Texas,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't notice any change at first. I am now on my second bottle and realized there is something changing. I am sleeping through the night but still have a little trouble going to sleep. I have noticed I have started to have more energy throughout the day.

    In January I got a stress fracture in my meniscus and haven't been moving as much as I was. Needless to say, sitting a lot does not do much for the rest of your body! But the last few weeks I have started to take walks with my dog and have been doing more around the house. I do not eat a lot of junk but love my bread. After reading The Plant Paradox, I realize the bread could be a big problem. I am trying to change that, and with the help of the Total Restore, things are improving.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I have not lost weight but I believe it is making a difference

    • St. Cloud, MN,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have noticed a difference in eating cravings, and my bowel movements have changed to consistently more firm. I was considering ordering some to use in conjunction to help with weight loss.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 178

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review