About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

259 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 166 4 star: 76 3 star: 9 2 star: 5 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 259
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Total and vital product

    • Hudson, NH,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before trying Total Restore and Vital Reds, I was always tired. I have tried other products. It was short lived. I have started working out, I'm not tired, my belly is not bloating anymore, and I am having my husband taking Total Restore and Vital Reds and he has noticed a tremendous amount of energy, and we're in our late fifties. We love these products. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stomach problems

    • Hollywood, FL,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been having problems in my stomach, had a tear in the lining of my stomach, so everything I ate made me sick and nothing was flowing right. Since I've been taking Total Restore, the lining of my stomach has healed. And I changed my diet; I don't eat foods with lectins in them anymore and now I feel GREAT! Everything is flowing properly.

    Thank you Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Rancho Mirage, CA,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so grateful to be able to find Total Restore. I have Hashimoto’s disease, which is an autoimmune illness caused by a leaky gut, and I trust Doctor Gundry’s supplements because I’ve been using them for a while and they really work. With my condition, it is very frustrating not having options to eat, and having to be in a strict diet affects even my mood because I love to cook and eat, and I have to confess that not always I do the best choices of food, in terms of health. We recently came from vacation, which is one of the times when you really want to enjoy yourself with not too many restrictions, and I am taking Total Restore for about two months and can tell the difference on the impact the food is having on me. Even though my judgment of options during my vacations wasn’t the best. I can really tell the difference with the past, when I did the same and I felt horrible afterward, including symptoms like skin rash, heartburn, lack of energy, muscle pain, among others.

    I truly recommend Total Restore to everyone having in consideration that the general health of your entire body depends on your gut.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Total Restore and Lectin Shield

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A year ago I was hospitalized for five nights due to septicemia for having E Coli Gram in my blood. I decided to buy Total Restore and Lectin Shield to keep the infectious bacteria from leaving my leaky gut. I assume that my leaky gut got me sick and now I am feeling better after taking these pills. I just started taking these pills and I already feel that they are providing me with better energy. I recommend these to anyone that has a family history of colon tearing or leaky gut.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Maryland,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently ordered two bottles of Total Restore, and I am very pleased with this product.

    I am a healthy person and hope to stay that way. In recent months, I had not been exercising as much as usual and was feeling a bit sluggish. I feel more energetic since starting this supplement and have already managed to lose a few stubborn pounds I had put on over the last six months.

    This is a great supplement, and I plan to continue using it.

    Thank you for creating it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Mansfield, OH,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was having trouble with my gut and I could actually feel my food moving through my colon. It was very painful, and I also have diverticulitis and I could feel it sitting in pockets, so I decided to try Total Restore and after two weeks, I no longer notice any pain. I would have spent more money going to the doctor. And I recommend this to my family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Feeling better

    • Shrewsbury, NJ,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am taking Restore for two weeks and my digestion problems are much better. Certainly, I feel lighter and my overall health has greatly improved. A great product that I will take daily now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Everything I have been needing

    • Florida,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been developing difference issued through my mid-30s, and into now my mid-40s, and everything is seemingly reversing. I have been taking the Total Restore and have combined it with the diet laid out in The Plant Paradox. I feel great, have tons of energy, and CAN NOT WAIT to get my next lab results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore works

    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three months ago I had severe gut pain with everything I eat! I could only tolerate Kefir! I saw Dr. Gundry on the internet, ordered three months worth, and took it for immediate relief. I take it every day now!

    I do take it daily, and when I forgot to take it while on vacation I could feel the dull sensation of pain coming back! Yes! Prior Total Restore I change my diet, but that did not help. Since taking Total Restore, I do not experience that dull gut pain when food hits my stomach! I recommend it highly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not what I was hoping for, very sad!

    • Carlisle, OH,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had IBS for years. I was so excited to see the doctor's video! I ordered 12 Total Restore, was positive this was going to help me. I ordered the prebiotics, Lectin Shield, and Vital Reds. I was ALL in!

    I have used them all for two months now and am still waiting for a change. I also ordered his book and cookbook!

    I am so sad to report I don't feel any difference! Oh how I wish I did! I had such a positive attitude, so excited after one month. I thought maybe I'm really bad and will give it more time. I am still waiting! I started craving ice cream. I have gained 6 pounds! Anyone else having this problem? Sorry, Dr. Gundry, I so wish I had better results!

    I'm still taking them, they cost too much money to throw them out! Maybe after three months, I'll see something happening.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Lanette, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving the prebiotics, Lectin Shield and Vital Reds a try! Many of our customers see the most changes after 90 days of consistent use, but we do understand that everybody is different and these supplements may work well for some but not others. I encourage you to continue giving these a try but if you continue to be unchanged, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Healthy gut

    • Texas,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hardly know where to begin. Total Restore has given me such digestive relief. My appetite is under control. After all these years, constipation is a thing of the past. Happily, I just have a healthy gut!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 259

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review