About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

291 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 186 4 star: 84 3 star: 10 2 star: 6 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 95% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 291
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Works very, very well! Amazed at results!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very skeptical, however, after two months, no more IBS/Colitis symptoms and my nightly use of Zantac for GERD is no longer needed! Who knew? This product has given me extra energy, and I am now exercising again along with the Total Restore. I am feeling much better. Of course, as a clinician, I am aware of Placebo effects and emperical evidence, so I am convinced and will keep using! Thank you Dr. Gundry! I will also try other products because his worked so well!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not convinced yet

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One week on it...I have not seen anything changed yet...bad or worse.

    Maybe too early to discuss, thus I am still skeptical...

    So at this time, I would not recommend, but if things improve, I will update my comments.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Allergies

    • Lafayette, IN,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Total Restore as soon as I watched the video about it. I got my three bottles in a few days. I was super excited about it. I immediately started taking them three times a day. However, my body is very sensitive to the new medications. I always have the rare side effects whenever I use a new medication. I have been reading the reviews to see if anyone else had any side effect problems for taking Total Restore. I couldn't find any. Well! I think I will be the first one. On the 4th day, I started having an allergic reaction on my body. Some parts of my arms turned to a red color, and I have a burning/itching feeling. It might be because of the berries or the mushroom in the Total Restore. I will stop taking them for a few days and hope the allergies will go away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 4, 2018

      Rebekah H.

      Do you think you're allergic reaction might have something to do with the fact that you were taking three pills per day? It's supposed to be one a day.

    • Nov 5, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Sinem, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you might have had an allergic reaction to an ingredient in Total Restore. This is extremely uncommon with any Gundry MD products, as they are 3rd party laboratory tested for quality and purity. We always disclose any major allergens on the label and website. Please discontinue use immediately and consult your physician to help rule out what may be causing your reaction. In the meanwhile, I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com Thank you.

    • Nov 13, 2018

      Becky G.

      I've been using Dr. Gundry's Total Restore for a month now and half-way through, I added the Vital Reds. I have Crohn's Disease and asked both, my GI specialist and my endocrinologist about their product to make sure it was okay for me to take. Well, my GI doctor wasn't familiar with the product, and even though I explained what it was for and that the product was developed by a world-renowned cardiothoracic surgeon, she wouldn't comment either way. She wouldn't tell me if it was okay to take the product. Granted, I didn't have the product with me to show her because it hadn't arrived yet.

      Anyway, the endocrinologist had heard of Dr. Gundry but wasn't familiar with the product, so she wouldn't comment either. He just told me to find a diet that worked and to stick with it. I decided to try Total Restore and have been working with a dietitian on my diet and calories, mainly trying to reduce carbs and figure out how much I should be eating in conjunction with the amount of exercise I've been doing. I have been impressed at how well the Total Restore has helped me with elimination, and how the Vital Reds seems to help with energy. I did lose five inches this last month, but my weight is still the same, probably fat turning to muscle.

      Unfortunately, I have all of a sudden been constipated for five days now and one other issue I've experienced in the last month is dryness up in my gums and on my tongue no matter how much water I take. I am drinking 64-72 oz. a day. Has anyone else experienced these side effects? I'm just trying to eliminate possibilities. Thank you in advance.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Dennis R.

      I need Dr. Gundry's office phone number.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 50 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    I have been using Total Restore for 3.5 months now and have a total loss of 21 inches off my body: 4 inches off the chest, 4 inches off the waist, 4 inches off the hips, 2 inches off each arm, and 2.5 inches off each thigh. I have not changed my eating habits (which average to be 1400-1450 calories a day) and have not changed my exercise regimen (neighborhood walking daily).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      LoReah B.

      So you weren't following the diet really strictly? Just wondering if this will help even if I'm not super strict on the diet.

    • Oct 25, 2018

      Bridgette H.

      Hi LoReah. The quick answer to your question is no. Long answer, I have maintained my eating regimen of about 1450 calories a day for 3.5 months now. I am happy to report more an inch loss over my body, four inches off the chest, four inches of the chest, four inches off the hips, two inches off each arm, and two and a half inches off each thigh (21 inches total). I have also lost about 24 pounds. While the price for the product seems pricey, my body must require the supplements. I am not sure if this would work for you, but it has for me. Good luck in whatever you choose to do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Aug 28, 2018

    Happily surprised

    I have been faithfully taking Total Restore for one month. I have not changed any other approach towards my caloric intake or exercise. That being said, I am happy to report a loss of inches off my body (1 inch in the waist, 1 inch in the hips, 1 inch for each thigh, and 1 inch for each arm, 7 inches overall). Wow! I have noticed reduced evening heartburn and less bloating overall. I suffer from advanced chronic idiopathic gastroparesis, so having these positive results is amazing! I am happily surprised by how this supplement actually worked for me, nothing else has.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Does Total Restore have carbs? I count carbs and need to know so I can adjust my insulin.

    • Cedar Rapids, IA,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Total Restore. I’m awaiting all the great benefits! I have gastroparesis, so I’m hoping this bloating and pain goes away or eases. I have read all reviews and like the customer that got double billed that happened to me too. I think their website has a fluke in it. It said my cart timed out so I redid it and that’s how I got 5 bottles! I just need to know how many carbs are in one capsule!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    I'm sticking with it!

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't like writing enough to go into long extensive details, however, I can say I am happy with the Total Restore supplements. I'm taking and I am very happy with the way I'm looking, the weight I've lost, and my belly continually getting flatter.

    Not only would I recommend it to a friend, I have recommended it to many friends and some total strangers as well.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2018

      Cara B.

      I have been taking Total Restore for almost two months and have lost almost seven pounds of my stubborn fat on my belly. Being over 55, it has been so hard to remove it and finally the belly fat is coming off. Thank you Dr. Gundry, from an RN that understands the medical behind the product!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful marketing

    • Perth, Western Australia, Australia,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After listening to Gundry's full story/history, I proceeded to purchase three bottles.

    His story and history are exceptionally convincing and honest. This is where, in my opinion, it becomes deceitful. After agreeing to purchase three bottles, you are then offered a deal at a better rate purchasing six bottles. So I agreed to purchase six bottles. However, what has actually occurred is six bottles were purchased. I checked my online credit card minutes later thinking..."I'm not feeling comfortable about what just happened," only to confirm that in actual fact two transactions had taken place totaling $574 Australian currency for nine bottles of this stuff.

    I am not a happy camper. I have taken this to my bank to deal with. There was also no confirmation of order before agreeing to purchase. It's BS! This only happened two hours ago, and straight away I'm feeling ripped off. Any thought of thinking this is really good and he's an amazing doctor went straight out the window with the deceitful marketing strategy, which was not necessary if the product was genuine. Who in their right mind wd buy nine bottles of this stuff, let alone $574 worth! Even agreeing to purchase six bottles was pretty damn reckless of me, but nine! Piss off and the exchange rate...you get ripped off there too.

    I hope my bank can get the transaction reversed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Kim, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear about your experience ordering Total Restore. It is never our intention to confuse or mislead our customers. We offer add-ons to your order at a great price so that our customers can maximize savings for their favorite Gundry MD products. I am more than happy to fully refund your order if you find that you don't want to keep it. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 28 people found this review helpful

    What did I do before Restore

    • Northport, NY,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you so much for this product. After 3 months of faithfully taking Restore, I ran out. I then decided I must be cured and could try some other recommended products. While after 3 days without Restore, it can't come quick enough. How horrible it is to have those pains and bloating. Never knowing what kind of situation you'll be in when you leave the house. I'm waiting on my order now and have now put myself on automatic delivery. Again, thank you for this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    After H Pylori, very happy

    • Newport Beach, CA,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After about a year of thinking I was dying, I was finally diagnosed with H Pylori (a harsh stomach bacteria). I figure I had had H Pylori for over 5 years and it really harmed my stomach, digestive system, liver, and overall health. I had horrible digestion, absorption, fatigue, acid/GERD, pain, anxiety, etc. I was prescribed the triple antibiotic therapy for 3 weeks and a PPI (omeprazole) for over 1 and 1/2 years.

    My wife ordered Total Restore and convinced me to try. I take it with my "Digest All" digestive enzymes. I have been taking this combo for 60 days. The first obvious effect, is a healthy BM, no diarrhea or loose stool like before. I also feel energy 2 hours after taking pills. No real weight loss. Less bloating. I am no longer taking omeprazole. Seems to be very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    I've had stomach issues for years, they are now gone

    • Connecticut,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a firm believer in The Plant Paradox. I've been taking Total Restore for three weeks and the results are outstanding. Hardly any bloating or IBS symptoms. I've been bragging about the books to all my friends, they all say I should work for Dr. Gundry. Anyway, he has changed my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Awesome results

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered with IBS my entire life...I am 64. I have taken Total Restore for three months and have been symptom-free, no diarrhea! During this time I have been on vacation a total of three weeks, which means eating out, and I have had no issues as I have had in my past.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 291

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review